We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ocean Bay Club

201 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Hotel amenities
The Ocean Bay Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014
Betty L Plattsburgh, New York
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    15
    20
    16
See reviews for
50
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Relaxing vacation we have been looking forward to all year ruined by construction in condo by ours. Awful noise and drilling and hammering all day yesterday and today. The walls are paper thin and we can hear everything. I mean EVERYTHING!! I just called CondoLux and was told there was nothing they could dO. The rep I spoke to from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We rented the Penthouse Suite for my wedding thinking it was going to be great. When we got to our condo, it was filthy. We called maintenance and they swept a little, but we had to go back and do it ourselves. Three chairs broke at the table on the first day. They said they would bring us new chairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these North Myrtle Beach hotels

Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

I rented a Penthouse Suite for a the month of October as they called it a Luxury Suite, but this unit is far from a Luxury Suite, we are still here because the contract we signed would not let us out which is with Elliott Resorts a rental agency for this place. We arrived to find the floors sticky and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Plattsburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

First we rented this through Condo Lux. We did not take out the insurance which we should have...we rented it at noon on Friday, we were to visit a friend who passed on Saturday about noon. We called on Saturday and even though the reservation had been in only about 24 hours and there was 2 weeks before our reservation,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We stayed in Unit 205 for a week. We had 10 in our group, and we found the unit to have plenty of space to accommodate our group. The beachfront location was the highlight of staying at this property, and we enjoyed the beautiful view of the beach from the balcony. The interior of the unit could stand some TLC.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lima, OH
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The location right in downtown North Myrtle Beach is great. The Condo itself was OK. The decor was So-So and it was fairly clean but not immaculate. The balcony views are awesome. The check-in process was easy, as the office is right across the street. They had carts to help with luggage. The pool facilities were decent enough also, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Floors were filthy. We tried to clean them but the mop was just short of nasty. Only 1 usable shelf in the refrigerator. the top shelf was missing and the bottom shelf was broken and would not support any weight. If you are a smoker or if cigar and cigarette smoke does not bother you, then the pool area may... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Eldersburg, Md
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed at Ocean Bay Club in Unit 603 from 8/2 to 8/16. We have been staying at Ocean Bay Club for 12 years now and have never stayed in a unit this run down and disgusting. First off, when we checked in, there was grease all over the kitchen cabinets and counter. Also, two of the smoke detectors were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ElliottRealty, Property Manager at The Ocean Bay Club, responded to this review

We are so sorry to learn that your vacation was not as enjoyable as it should have been and we thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. Had we been notified we would have taken care of the cleaning and maintenance issues you encountered. We will be sure to follow up on your concerns to prevent this happening... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed in room 307 the week of August 9th, 2014. The condo was perfect for our large group. Unfortunately, the thing I looked forward to most (sitting on the balcony and enjoying the ocean) was ruined due to the stench of marijuana or cigarettes from the adjacent balconies. This facility allows smoking at their pool and lazy river. Such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The room was ok. Spacious for 7 people... Could fit more comfortably...but needs updates- decor a bit old fashioned. Appliances worked. All beds were hard and they creaked. We couldn't check in til 7:30pm... Room was not ready and after a 16 hr drive it was bad way to start vacation. Hoping we get some type of refund but waiting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ElliottRealty, Guest Relations Manager at The Ocean Bay Club, responded to this review

Tricia B., Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns and experience with the online community. We are so sorry that you were unable to check-in until later in the evening. It looks like our office manager has submitted your refund to the accounting department. We will let the homeowner know that the beds were not very comfortable.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay