We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2311 Ashley Phosphate Rd., North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly Country Hearth Inn Charleston)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Rodeway Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #56 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    9
    8
    23
See reviews for
12
15
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Graniteville, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

it is never quiet at this hotel, the workers are rude, people knocking on my window, prostitutes every where, black people digging in the trash, drugs in my room

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rodewayinnnorthcharl, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, While we cannot stand for racist or disparaging comments, I’m sincerely sorry if we failed to satisfy you in some way. We take pride in this hotel and have even improved it greatly since the time of your stay. I cannot approve of your comments, but I still apologize that we failed to meet your needs. Sincerely, Hotel... More

Sumter, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

i had planned to stay for five days i had a upcoming medical procedure in a few months at MUSC and said why not take the family and make a vacation out of it . The room i booked had a microfridge combo it did not have one i nformed the manager she said she would take care of it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rodewayinnnorthcharl, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry your experience with us did not completely meet your needs. We take great pride in this hotel and are always working to make it better. In fact, we’ve improved it significantly in recently months. In any cases, I apologize that we failed to meet your needs and hope you will give us... More

charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

I guess the word "budget" is key? I arrived to find the bathroom towels (clean towels, but still.....) fallen on the floor, dirt in the corners, mold in the bathroom, baked on food in the microwave. An unusual smell out in the parking lot...I'm guessing from stagnant bay waters nearby? To its credit, the front desk staff was friendly upon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rodewayinnnorthcharl, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m very sorry we failed to meet your needs in this cases. That’s very unfortunate because we satisfy so many guests each month. In addition, we’ve made significant improvements since your stay. Still, I apologize that we weren’t at our best when you visited and hope you will try us again now that we’ve improved. Sincerely, Hotel Manager More

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

First off, let's start by saying that this is a budget hotel. It sounds like many people expect this to be a Comfort Suites or something. We found a great deal on Orbitz and stayed there for the 4th of July weekend with our little dog. We were immediately pleased to see that the property looked maintained and clean, albeit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlotte, nC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

This inn is awful! starting with the nasty carpets that I was afraid to put my feet on. room was dirty with other people personal belongings still underneath the bed; swimming pool was just a hole in the ground, no water with light hanging out and chairs in it; Pepsi machine was out of order; mattress and boxsprings were marred... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rodewayinnnorthcharl, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m sorry that we failed to meet your needs during your visit to us. We take great pride in this hotel and always have. In recent months, we’ve even been making changes and improvements to serve you and other guests better. I hope you will try us again. We’d look forward to serving you again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager More

florida
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
26 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

Our overall experience wasn't terrible but we won't be staying here again for a number of reasons. While the room was relatively clean (except the sticky tile in the sink area!) and the beds were pretty comfortable, the overall experience left us deciding to spend the extra $30-$40 for a better hotel and area. The shower pressure was terrible! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rodewayinnnorthcharl, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m sorry that we failed to meet your needs, but thanks for the feedback. We take all comments seriously and use them as we change and improve, something we’ve done a lot of in recent months. We hope you will try us again and see that we’re better than ever. We would enjoy serving you again. Sincerely, Hotel... More

California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for a week and found it to be one of the worst hotels I had ever stayed in. When I first walked into the hotel the front desk assosc. was sitting on the computer with internet in the lobby and behaved as if how dare I interrupt what he was doing by coming in to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2006

When we checked in, the hotel clerk first had difficulty verifying that the room had been prepaid through Orbitiz. As it turns out, we were still charged for the room (a second time) on the credit card that was suppose to be used for identification only -- currently in dispute. We asked for a non-smoking room and was assured we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catonsville, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2005

We took our parents there for his Birthday, and to visit the area. Loved Charleston, but hated this motel/hotel. It was dusty all over in the lobby, refinishing/remodeling or something, lid was off the cereal so dust/germs could get in it. NEVER ate the continental breakfast that was suppose to come with the deal!!!People standing around, no where to sit.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2005

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. I knew that it was economy, so I wasn't expecting much, but they could atleast clean the place. We got there 3 hours after check in time and our room still wasn't ready. When we finally got our room we were almost knocked down by the pesticide smell.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 2311 Ashley Phosphate Rd., North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly Country Hearth Inn Charleston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hearth Inn Charleston Hotel North Charleston
Country Hearth Hotel Charleston
Country Hearth Motel Charleston

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay