We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3640 Dorchester Road/I-26, North Charleston, SC 29405
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn to your Saves list
Clarion Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
37%
Ranked #46 of 58 hotels in North Charleston
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Nondrea M
  • Overview
  • Reviews (104)
  • Photos (35)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    23
    11
    31
See reviews for
34
25
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As I write this I'm in the room. It's ghetto! I mean really bad, on par with the bad motels you see in movies. If you do insist on staying here, don't forget the bug spray and your flip flops because you won't want to touch the carpet. This place doesn't need a renovation, it needs a bulldozer. I'm pretty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you like disgusting then this is the place for you not only nasty but worn down outdated and an unorganized staff .I was there on business this past Tuesday and I wanted to stay near my site visit as to where I did not have to rush the following morning. I should have known this was going to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Faulk44, Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the inconviences you experienced at our property we are activley striving to improve every aspect of our facility. We appreciate your feedback as to correct the issues as diligently as we can More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you like a pig pen, this is your place. The lobby is the only place there is so-so. The rest there isn't enough words to describe. There breakfast area is filthy. The room smelled bad. Whatever you pay above $30 is too much. I really wonder how anybody gave 5 star for this place. Probably was done by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Faulk44, Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

We are apologetic that we not able to have you as a happy customer. We are making an effort to improve our facility. We will notify the resturant owners about the breakfast not being up to par we hope you give us an opportunity to make it up to you More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It stands out in an urban neighborhood you wouldn't want to be in after midnight. Inside, the front desk clerk was uncooperative, the internet server did not work and the floor and bathroom was dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here over the weekend and was automatically displeased when I was checking in. The woman at the front desk was very rude but I wasn't going to let that ruin my trip. When my husband and I entered the room it was nice but as we looked around it was such a disappointment. Our sheets and blankets were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Faulk44, Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

We sincerly apologize that your stay was not satisfactory we do not tolerate rudeness in any form or fashion the issue has been addressed we do hope in the future you will give us another chance to make it up to you More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I was kind of undecided to keep our reservation over the 4th of July weekend however we followed our first mind and stayed. Let me tell you never judge a book by its cover nor let someone else opinion determine your judgment we had a wonderful time and lovely and peaceful vacation that's to Ms Vivian Faulk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Faulk44, Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for your kind words we strive daily to give all of our cutomers great service. We hope to see you in the future More

Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my stay. The staff accomodated me my entire visit. I noticed a police car on the premises for a couple days. I inquired with the front desk. They stated he's on duty. That really makes a single traverler feel safe. During my stay I also noticed the lobby was pleasant to enjoy quite time as well sitting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Faulk44, Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that our partime officers on duty made you feel more at home even though he was working the desk. We hope you will come visit us in the future More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All of the reviews about the neighborhood have nothing to do with the actual hotel and service they provide. This isn't necessarily a great hotel for family's, but I was here on business for a week and had no issues with the "neighborhood". The employees and management are doing the best they can for what they are given. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Faulk44, Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are striving to improve our establishment daily we are getting new carpet before the end of the year so i hope you come back to visit us and see our improvements More

Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

As long as a place is clean, I am usually satisfied. This place looked clean but SMELLED HORRIBLE!! I literally looked under the bed to see if there was a corpse. Breakfast - on the website that I found this hotel it said it was $2.50 per person. Actually changed to $5 but not updated on all websites. So we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

While it was greatly priced and we just did a quick stop there on our way to Hilton Head, SC, it definitely looked super sketchy. We were glad that we only stood there late at night. It did the trick but I would have never stood there if it wasn't a quick stop. The good points - it's very close... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Clarion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 3640 Dorchester Road/I-26, North Charleston, SC 29405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel North Charleston
Clarion Hotel Charleston

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in North Charleston with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
128

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer