We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charleston Plaza Hotel

GreenLeadersSilver level
4770 Goer Dr., North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly InnPlace Charleston Airport Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Share an Experience

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    29
    15
    13
See reviews for
14
33
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
There are newer reviews for Charleston Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Whitby, Ontario
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

This hotel is at the north end of the city and far from the downtown area that you want to see. The rooms are on the small side. Not unclean, but nothing fancy. Being isolated in North Charleston, there are no restaurants you can reach on foot. If you don't have a vehicle, you have to depend on the lounge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carol M, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a feedback in regards to your recent stay. It’s great of you to recognize our clean rooms and nice lobby. However, I am sorry you were not made aware that we not only provide free transportation to and from the airport, but also within a 3 mile... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I went here with my husband and we took our small dog with us. To start, I just want to say that the customer service is absolutely horrendous. The employees looked extremely unprofessional, did not smile at all, and they were not friendly. They looked like they were tending to the property rather than working for guest services. The lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen N, Thank you for choosing the Charleston Plaza Hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I read your comments thoroughly and would like to offer our sincere apologies for the inconveniences during your stay. I was very disappointed to hear that my staff was not attentive to your needs and did not provide the level of service and hospitality... More 

Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I stayed on a business trip at this hotel, it has a very bland ambiance. The staff is friendly, I want to thank Anthony from banquets he was a great help to our conference.The hotel is out a 15 minute drive to downtown Charleston which is a beautiful historic city. The rooms are your standard hotel room, nice and clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good Day sebastian y, I am glad to hear that your business trip to Charleston was enjoyable and my associates were courteous and met your expectations. We're happy to read you liked our historic city, clean rooms and were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle. We're delighted to hear that you received excellent help from Anthony during the... More 

Chico, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

The rooms were roomy and nice. Overall the hotel was a nice place to stay and near the airport. However, if you don't have a car (we didn't) it isn't convenient to historic downtown Charleston. We were attending a conference being held at this venue. I did have a problem obtaining room service; they never answered the phone. I learned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nannygoat778, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Charleston Plaza and am glad to hear that your overall stay was good and you liked our location. However, I do apologize that your breakfast experience with us was not exceptional. I am very sorry that it was not communicated that although, the buffet may be... More 

Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

This place is a little past it's best years. It still has a grand lobby, although a TV was playing quite loudly and interfered with my attempts to resolve a reservation problem. The restaurant was a disappointment. The hotel was reasonable at the on-line price I found.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good Day Ken A, That was so nice of you to choose the Charleston Plaza for your recent accommodation needs. I'm glad you felt we're fairly priced and our lobby to be dignified. However, I'm sorry to hear that the boisterous noise from the television disturbed your conversation and you were not satisfied with our restaurant food. As you stated,... More 

Harrow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

This is a funny old place, and I think it unfortunately perhaps demonstrates the pitfalls of staying in a mid-tier independently owned hotel, which tries hard to be great, but probably falls down simply because there a) isn't the financial investment to keep the place well maintained and b) there isn't the quality of training you get in a major... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Charleston Plaza Hotel. We were truly disappointed to read that we failed to provide you with an exceptional stay during your recent visit. We’re sorry you were disheartened with the performance of our staff, as well as, the cleanliness and maintenance near the pool. We... More 

Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Checked in and went up to my room. The hallways were old and dirty with torn carpet etc. opened the door to my room and was shocked to find bathroom counters with makeup on them (not even wiped by housekeeping) nightstands with coffee mug rings (not even wiped by housekeeping), trash in the waste basket, personal items and BIG dust... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AMXdreamer, Many thanks to you for choosing the Charleston Plaza for your recent stay and I'm glad that you found our Front Desk staff to be friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we appreciate you letting us know our housekeeping service opportunities. Please accept our sincere apologies for having cleanliness issues with... More 

Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

My stay at this hotel was terrible!!! When I arrived there was no one at the desk to greet me. The staff looked terrible; very unkempt. I was given the wrong room, a downgrade from what I paid for, and had to be moved. The second room was filthy!!! The walls were badly scuffed, the furniture was dirty and dated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Charleston Plaza Hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I appreciate your candid feedback and please accept our apologies that we did not live up to your expectations. I have taken notes and have shared your concerns with my management team, many of which have already been addressed. The fitness center damage from a... More 

South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in October2014, which was less than 5 miles from the airport. The staff there was very pleasant and the check-in process was seamless. We arrived at the hotel and were checked in our room within 5 minutes. The room was very clean and well stocked. At the time, the hotel was in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good Day jensing, Thank you very much for posting your fantastic review on Trip Advisor. I am truly pleased that you had a positive experience at the Charleston Plaza during your recent stay. It was wonderful to note your happiness with the sequential check in, friendly staff, warm welcome and immaculate rooms. I am also happy to hear that our... More 

Bel air
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for convenience, updated and clean rooms, friendly staff and organization....look elsewhere. You will not find it here. This hotel is located near the airport, not within walking distance of anything. If you don't have a car, you are stuck. The hotel says they offer shuttle service, but there are all kinds of conditions depending on where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Betty S for your recent stay and taking the time to share your observations from your visit. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. I was very disappointed to hear that my staff was not attentive to your needs and did not provide the level of service and hospitality they have been trained to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question