We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charleston Plaza Hotel

GreenLeadersSilver level
4770 Goer Dr., North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly InnPlace Charleston Airport Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    33
    43
    21
    20
See reviews for
23
48
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Most reviews I had read were mixed reviews, so I didn't really know what to expect. Charleston plaza is a large hotel, it is an older hotel but very clean and well kept. Also it is conveniently located in Charleston. Didn't eat at the restaurant, so can't offer advice on that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel seems to need renovation which hasn't yet been done. Has it recently changed ownership? It was adequate. Nothing special, but not really bad. Reception could have been more personable....the welcome seemed to be by rote as he recited the "company requirements" but very little attempt to be helpful. Room was, again, adequate but nothing special. The location, however,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. I am pleased to inform you that we are in the beginning stages of renovation; to be completed in 2016 that will convert all of our rooms to double/queens and upgrade all areas of the hotel to the most up to date facility. I am truly sorry on behalf of... More 

Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for several days with one of my good friends. It was a very unpleasant experience. My girlfriend and I left a "Do Not Disturb" sign on our door, and the cleaning staff came in any way while we were gone. When we returned from our outing on Saturday, I realized my expensive special edition Nike... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your unpleasant experience with us. We strive as a team to always provide a nice clean facility with a level of exceptional service we have all been trained to deliver. I would like to share that our courteous, long term room attendant only entered the room on 4th July... More 

Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband booked this thru priceline. It was a little trek from most of the tourist spots but easily accessible. We called to make sure our room was going to be held as we were going to be rather late and they ensured us we had a room waiting for us. We checked in about 11 pm and had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit. We are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with the lack of parking space when you arrived. We always try to accommodate our valued guests to the best of our abilities, so I am sorry that you encountered this frustration during your visit. I am disappointed that you had certain... More 

stockholm
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lobby, pool and restaurant/bar area is very nice with a clean, modern look. Awesome staff, especially at the bar. The rooms are, as others have noted, in bad need of an upgrade. When that's done, I'll be happy to come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your overnight stay at our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know that our staff was amazing and our lobby left you with a good impression. We agree with your observation of our rooms needing an upgrade and am happy to share that we are beginning a full renovation of our facility in... More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our Marine Corps Reunion was held at this hotel and was selected because they were recommended as being very military friendly. They were definitely friendly and helpful staff and we would highly recommend this hotel to other reunion groups. It may not be in Old Charleston but they have a shuttle that will take you anywhere in a five mile... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Charleston Plaza Hotel for the Military reunion. It was a pleasure reading your comments praising the staff for the service they provided. They work very hard to make every guests stay wonderful and I will share your feedback with all the departments that you have mentioned which will be very encouraging for them to hear.... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just spent the 4TH of July weekend here, as we arrived I knew I had chosen the wrong hotel. We checked into our room, very dirty, stained carpet, , tissue in the toilet, so I went back to the front desk and ask for a cleaner room, which I was given without hesitation, ( desk clerk was very apologetic)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I would start by apologizing for your recent unpleasant experience at our hotel. I am sorry that you had to switch your room due to cleanliness issues. On behalf of the entire Housekeeping team, please accept our sincerest apologies for the same. Our housekeeping staff take great pride in what they do daily and we also have processes in place... More 

Sumter
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was set up at this hotel for a 2 week class in North Charleston, it was booked through work and online it appeared to be a decent place. Upon check-in, my co-worker and I were rather disappointed. The room had 2 Queen, possibly double beds, I'm not sure, one small dresser and a clothes rod type closet area, with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. Let me start off by apologizing for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay due to several issues. I am heartily sorry that we were lacking in providing you with the bathroom amenities and I have addressed this with my housekeeping department to know... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was very busy as we were visiting Charleston for an AAU Girls Basketball Tournament, there was a dance recital and the hotel itself was hosting a Gaming Convention. So the lobby was nice and my room was nice. The beds was comfy and the linen was clean. My complaints would be the floors in the hallways were a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay while you were here for a Basketball Tournament. Although I am happy to hear that you liked your room, our lobby and our service. I am sorry for some cleanliness issues you encountered. I am happy to share that we are beginning a full renovation of our facility in a few... More 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stay here a couple of days every other week. Staff is great hotel is clean nice and always busy. Love the lounge staff. Bartenders are great. Buffet breakfast staff is awesome. Love this hotel. Laundry service. Room service and all

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

We are honored to hear that you are a regular guest at our hotel and we value your loyalty. There is no greater compliment for a General Manager than to have a return guest who chooses us over our competitors due to their previous experience. I am pleased to hear all the positive comments you have mentioned and will surely... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport
Radisson Hotel Charleston Airpor...
#39 of 59 in North Charleston
3.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Convention Center
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Con...
#26 of 59 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott North Charleston Airport/Coliseum
Courtyard by Marriott North Char...
#23 of 59 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#40 of 59 in North Charleston
3.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport a...
#4 of 59 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Airport/Convention Center
Holiday Inn Charleston Airport/C...
#7 of 59 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay