We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charleston Plaza Hotel

3.5 of 5 4770 Goer Dr., North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly InnPlace Charleston Airport Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Charleston Plaza Hotel
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
12
28
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Harrow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a funny old place, and I think it unfortunately perhaps demonstrates the pitfalls of staying in a mid-tier independently owned hotel, which tries hard to be great, but probably falls down simply because there a) isn't the financial investment to keep the place well maintained and b) there isn't the quality of training you get in a major... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked in and went up to my room. The hallways were old and dirty with torn carpet etc. opened the door to my room and was shocked to find bathroom counters with makeup on them (not even wiped by housekeeping) nightstands with coffee mug rings (not even wiped by housekeeping), trash in the waste basket, personal items and BIG dust... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AMXdreamer, Many thanks to you for choosing the Charleston Plaza for your recent stay and I'm glad that you found our Front Desk staff to be friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we appreciate you letting us know our housekeeping service opportunities. Please accept our sincere apologies for having cleanliness issues with... More 

Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My stay at this hotel was terrible!!! When I arrived there was no one at the desk to greet me. The staff looked terrible; very unkempt. I was given the wrong room, a downgrade from what I paid for, and had to be moved. The second room was filthy!!! The walls were badly scuffed, the furniture was dirty and dated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Charleston Plaza Hotel for your recent accommodation needs. I appreciate your candid feedback and please accept our apologies that we did not live up to your expectations. I have taken notes and have shared your concerns with my management team, many of which have already been addressed. The fitness center damage from a... More 

South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in October2014, which was less than 5 miles from the airport. The staff there was very pleasant and the check-in process was seamless. We arrived at the hotel and were checked in our room within 5 minutes. The room was very clean and well stocked. At the time, the hotel was in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good Day jensing, Thank you very much for posting your fantastic review on Trip Advisor. I am truly pleased that you had a positive experience at the Charleston Plaza during your recent stay. It was wonderful to note your happiness with the sequential check in, friendly staff, warm welcome and immaculate rooms. I am also happy to hear that our... More 

Bel air
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for convenience, updated and clean rooms, friendly staff and organization....look elsewhere. You will not find it here. This hotel is located near the airport, not within walking distance of anything. If you don't have a car, you are stuck. The hotel says they offer shuttle service, but there are all kinds of conditions depending on where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Betty S for your recent stay and taking the time to share your observations from your visit. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. I was very disappointed to hear that my staff was not attentive to your needs and did not provide the level of service and hospitality they have been trained to... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Tried to check-in at this hotel (which I had prepaid) but was told that they had oversold. They arranged for us to stay across the highway at the Charleston Plaza hotel, apparently their sister property, which is a dive (stains on the carpets, outdated rooms, dubious washroom) - why I mention the quality of the other hotel in this review... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Julia L for taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay. We value your comments and utilize these as training tools for our improvement. We are thankful we had the opportunity to provide your accommodations when the Crowne Plaza was unable to meet your needs. I am terribly sorry we did not meet your expectations... More 

Oneida, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

When you walk in, the hotel is very inviting. You can tell they have done remodeling. Room was very spacious and very clean. Small bathroom. They have a fabulous shuttle van and driver (Percy) that will pick you up from airport and drive you to other local restaurants and stores. The hotel is nice, it's just that if you look... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good day apr68, Thank you for your recent stay at the Charleston Plaza Hotel and sharing your comments online. It was pleasing to read that you were satisfied with your accommodation, clean rooms and facilities. I am also happy to know that you liked our shuttle service and I will pass on your comments to Percy. Please accept my and... More 

Calabasas, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

After reading reviews of this property I was somewhat skeptical when our Navy ship's reunion group decided to book our four day stay there. We did not personally encounter any of the various problems mentioned in reviews we have read. The room we received was older, but clean, and had a reasonably sized bathroom. We were high enough in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good Day OTCarter1, Thank you for choosing the Charleston Plaza Hotel for the recent Navy reunion and I am delighted to hear that your group's needs were met and all the attendees were taken care of. It is always pleasing for a General Manager to read that a guest was very satisfied with their accommodations, clean rooms, facilities and everything... More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed for three days and were extremely disappointed. We booked on priceline and was 100% NOT a 3 star hotel. The only nice part, was the lobby, and even that had a leak in the ceiling. Our first room had chips out of the wall, patch marks left over that needed to be painted, a broken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Brandy S. for sharing your candid feedback for our growth and improvement. We appreciate you staying with us at the Charleston Plaza and want to offer our sincerely apologies for falling short in making your stay exceptional. Our staff takes pride in offering clean and comfortable rooms to our guests and on nights when we are at capacity... More 

Yukon, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

A shout out to our very personable Shuttle driver, Percy. He was excellent. Almost always had a smile and was quick to help us out if we ever needed it. My wife had suffered a broken ankle prior to our booking, so we needed it. We had other shuttle drivers, but Percy was the main man. Couple of problems with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Charleston Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good Day astrohorn, Thank you for your recent stay at the Charleston Plaza Hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. Percy has passion for great service and I will share your kind words with him and acknowledge his efforts during our staff meeting. Please accept my and our housekeeping... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Charleston Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Plaza Hotel

Address: 4770 Goer Dr., North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly InnPlace Charleston Airport Hotel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charleston Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel North Charleston
Sheraton Charleston
Charleston Sheraton
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in North Charleston

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay