We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

North Charleston Inn

2934 West Montague Avenue, Interstate Highway 26 and West Montague Ave., North Charleston, SC 29418
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
North Charleston Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
North Charleston Inn
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    80
    39
    34
    65
See reviews for
83
68
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (296)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Chicago
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
65 hotel reviews
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As you can see from prior reviews, two things some to be consistent: negative guest reviews and vanilla management response. I used the headline "enigma" for a reason. On the positive side, the site has a perfect location for the airport and the interstate. It is VERY easy to use this place as a hub for the entire area. Next,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The adage begs, "If you can't say something nice, don't say anything", however, after our experience at this establishment, I must, as I would hate for another person to be in the position that my husband, new born, and I were in. The website does not reflect reality. The facade is charming, but the staff was not. The other customers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Irene P, Front Office Manager at North Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Thank for your recent review. The experiences you encountered during your stay is definitely not the type of accommodations or level of customer service we strive to provide to all of our guest. Please feel free to contact management at the hotel to further discuss your experience. Your feedback is very important to us. We apologize for the experiences you... More 

vancouver island
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this location because we had a very early flight out, and wanted to be close to the airport. It was one of the lower priced places in the area, but we found it to be worn out and quite dirty. Just pay a little more for somewhere else

Was this review helpful? Yes
Irene P, Front Office Manager at North Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your most valuable feedback. Many of our guest enjoy the close proximity to the Charleston International Airport be a great convenience. We apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. We hope that you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations on your future travels back to the Charleston area. More 

Brunswick, GA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have never posted a review like this, but I believe this hotel completely deserves it. I booked through Expedia. Upon arriving, the hotel was advertising a nightly rate on their sign that was half what I paid. They refused to honor the lower price. I should have known then that this would be a horrible experience. I rented two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was awful. I booked through Travelocity and prepaid. The room was dirty, the bathroom door didn't close properly, there was graffiti written on the furniture. We told the front desk we decided not to stay and they didn't ask why-just said we were all set. Spend $20 more and stay at the Courtyard Marriott just down the road.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Irene P, Front Office Manager at North Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your most valuable feedback. We take your feedback very seriously. We are disappointed that you could not stay and enjoy our accommodations, we understand that you had some concerns with your room, and we apologize that our staff did not try to find a more suitable room for you. Your experience is definitely not the quality of... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room 115- entry door opens only half way cob webs near the roof ceilings has cracks. Has HD TV but no channel's in hd. Furniture is worn out. Called desk to get more sheets cause they where dirty they never showed. Few good things where good thing is bed was comfortable, and lady who checked us in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Irene P, Front Office Manager at North Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We take your comments very seriously. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Many of our guest enjoy our new Simmons pillow-top beds. I am glad that you were able to experience the great customer service that we all strive to provide here for all of our guest. We... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

It's reasonably priced and clean. It's perfect for exploring Charleston all day and having somewhere to lay your head and night. Don't expect any frills. No problems with staff...I'd probably stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Irene P, Front Office Manager at North Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. The North Charleston Inn strives to provide all of our guest with clean, affordable accommodations at a great price with great service, and we are glad that you were able to experience all that we had to offer. More 

Smyrna, Georgia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

This property is an older motel that has been converted forma chain property to an independent "inn". While the staff is friendly and helpful, the bones of this hotel are still an old motor lodge. The walls are thin and the they clearly cater to contract work crews during the week. That means, more noise late at night (must have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Irene P, Front Office Manager at North Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take your comments very seriously. We apologize if we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We are glad to hear that our great staff was helpful and friendly, and hopefully helped make your stay a bit more enjoyable. Although this hotel was built in the 70's, we... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We've been at the North Charleston Inn for 9 days now and I must say we have no complaints! Our room was clean the beds were comfortable and the staff was amazing! Its only 15 mins from downtown, and great shopping and restaurants are right around the corner! I would definitely stay here again! Ps... Ann is awesome! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Irene P, Manager at North Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy that you were able to enjoy a few good nights of rest on our comfortable beds in a clean room. I agree with you that our staff is amazing and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I would only ever stay in this hotel again if it was the last available option. We stayed on a holiday weekend so it was hard to find availability. If you've never been to Charleston before, i suggest you do more research, there are hotels EVERYWHERE down there and i was kicking myself the whole time for trusting the internet.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Irene P, Manager at North Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. Your feedback is critical to our operations. I apologize that rooms were not ready when you came to check in. We have shared your comments with the appropriate members of our housekeeping and front desk staff so that we may better service you and all of our future guests. I am... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question