We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Newberry hotels

Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Nance Street, Newberry, SC 29108
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
83%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newberry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Patricia K Swainsboro, United States
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    55
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
53
51
16
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swainsboro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for the SC ElvisFest convention, which was held across the street in the Newberry Opera House. We were able to walk right across the street to the events. That was so nice! The downtown area (Main Street) had several restaurants within walking distance. Very enjoyable experience!

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goose Creek, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I love Hamptons and count on them always when I travel for my son's sports. This time I was disappointed. The air conditioning was FREEZING, so much so that we needed to turn on the heat. Then at around midnight, there was some horrid buzzing, grinding noise that carried on for over an hour - I had to be up... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cynthia V, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review

Melissa, Thank you for your review and the emails we have shared. The thermostat for the air conditioners are on the wall not the air-conditioning unit itself and can be adjusted like you would at home. This information is given with each guest's key jackets with other important information as well. Front Desk is also always available if you need... More

GIDDINGS, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love the location of this hotel in historic downtown Newberry, SC. It was great to be able to walk to shops and restaurants. As always a wonderful night rest with fantastic beds. This would have been an excellent review if renovations hadn't cause NO hot water from 7PM-5AM our 2 night stay. Would stay again!!!!

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia V, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful downtown of Newberry! We apologize that we unexpectedly had a pipe burst and the hotel had to shut off the hot water while the pipe was being fixed. We let guest know about the situation as quickly as we could or when they... More

Centreville, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This company does not stick to their customer satisfaction policy. We booked suites and were checked into rooms that were not. The staff did nothing to correct the mix up. Most of the staff members were rude.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia V, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were not happy with your room assignment during your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all reservations but occasionally cannot meet every room request. When a reservation is made, we guarantee a room but cannot always guarantee room type, room location or floor room is located on. We... More

Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel across the street from the wonderful Newberry Opera house. The hotel is very clean, has spacious rooms, good gym, and a great complimentary breakfast. It is in the heart of beautiful, historic, Newberry, SC.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia V, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review

Dear Great Place to Stay, We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the various amenities that the hotel has to offer. We are located downtown right in the heart of the town with many wonderful restaurants within walking distance and a variety of novelty and antique shops. The Opera House is a wonderful, fun and exciting p[lace... More

Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent the weekend at Hampton and I was VERY disappointed. First, the hot water was taken off, later that night, ALL of the water was turned off. That alone, was a huge inconvenience. That next day, I wanted to get some work done on my laptop before my next job (photography). The maid came in and said we couldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia V, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review

Dear Kim, We are so sorry that we had a water pipe bust and that the repairs required the hot water to be turned off. As soon as we knew this was needed to assist with the repairs, we let guest in the hotel know and those as they came in at check-in. The plumber was kind enough to do... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After an 8 hour drive, I arrived at the hotel. After checking in, I attempted to enter my room. The key flashed red and there were people talking in the room. When I reported the issue to the front desk, the front desk person asked if I had asked the people in the room who they were? Unbelievable. ... After... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia V, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review

Dear Freedup, We are so glad that your family chose to stay with us for their family reunion and we are so sorry about the pipe busting. We know many of your family are very unhappy with a situation we wish we could have predicted but did try to resolve as quickly as we could. The new girl on front... More

Hope Mills, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I arrived after 3:00PM my rooms where not ready, when room where ready, it was the wrong rooms that I had set up before Aug 15 no hot water in bathroom sink, toilet had to be flush several times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia V, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review

Dear Jennette, When you arrived, we had 2 rooms ready for you, a suite and a QQ room. You said both rooms were suppose to be a suite and the General Manager did change the second room to a suite and offered to leave the rate for it at the standard room rate. We apologize that it took a few... More

Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I only give this experience an average because of what I had to deal with with housekeeping staff. Upon arrival we FOUND OUT (not told) that there was no hot water from 8:00 pm until next morning only to go from no hot water to no water at all. Then the issues with housekeeping was terrible, won't clean the rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia V, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review

Dear Phyllis, We are deeply sorry that we had a pipe burst unexpectedly at the hotel and a part had to be ordered. The plumber was kind enough to come back in the evening after hours so the lack of hot water wouldn't effect as many people. Front Desk did hand out a flyer informing guest what to expect and... More

Lithia Springs, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There was a water leak during our stay that resulted in no hot water. Light in the room non-operational. Hotel could use more detailed up-keep. Overall experience mediocre at best! Check out experience much more positive than the check in experience. We will not stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia V, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review

Dear Nancy, On behalf of our entire Hampton Inn Team and General Manager, we are deeply apologetic that your arrival was during a time that we had a pipe burst. I wish we could have predicted this to keep it from happening but unfortunately we were not able to predict it or plan for it. The plumber was kind enough... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House

Address: 1201 Nance Street, Newberry, SC 29108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Newberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House Hotel Newberry
Newberry Hampton Inn

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Newberry with
any amenities