We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
1201 Nance Street, Newberry, SC 29108
Special Offer
Save up to 15% Book Early
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    80
    20
    13
    7
See reviews for
76
75
19
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (253)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just needed a good place to spend the night traveling from FL back to KY. WOW! Were we surprised by a wonderful Hampton Inn in the wonderful little town of Newberry, SC. Can't say enough good about our experience! Inn is beautifully decorated and very clean. Our rooms were white glove clean and very comfortable. Everyone on the staff that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liberty, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a great place to stay !! The hotel was very clean with a very helpful staff ! The rooms were clean and quiet. The breakfast was hot and fresh ! The hotel staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was a good one.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newberry, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay was very nice. There was a mix-up with the dates of my stay. I was not able to get a refund for the other night although I didn't stay. The manager called Hampton and wasn't able to assist me. I was very disappointed as I've been a member for 15 plus years.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia V, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review

Bonnita, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking into your reservation, it showed that your reservation was made online as Advance Purchase which is a non-refundable discounted rate. We empathize with your frustration and with the non-refundable rate. We are so happy that we were able to find a room for you for the date you needed. We... More 

2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

it was nice to have this hotel in such a small town. Everything was great. i was in newberry for my uncles birthday. it was a pleasure. the room was clean, the breakfast was great. and everyone was so nice. t

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia V, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review

Happy Birthday to your uncle and so glad we were able to accommodate your family during this special celebration. We look forward to more future family celebrations and the opportunity to accommodate you as you build many more special memories. In all your journeys we wish you safe travels always! More 

Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a typical Hampton Inn. Front desk was friendly and helpful. We were there for a wedding so the hotel was full. When we checked in to our room, it was not the room we requested and it smelled like cigarette smoke. There were no other rooms available, but the clerk did adjust our rate. We were in room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia V, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review

Dear Christina, We are so glad you stayed with us for the wedding this past weekend. It was a beautiful event. Earlier this year we went 100% non-smoking and have had those former smoking rooms professionally cleaned. We continue to remind all guest at check-in that there is a $250 fine for smoking in our rooms. Thank you for sharing... More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband, daughter and I stayed one night on the way to Charleston. Fast Check-in. Very nice, clean and nicely decorated. Great coffee with good breakfast. Very pleased and I'm picky about hotels. Would definitely stay again. Love Hampton Inns because they are consistently nice places to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia V, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review

Dear Lady Janis, We are so glad that you chose to visit us on your way to Charleston for a family vacation. We are delighted that you are familiar with our brand and the standards that our hotels exemplify. We are thankful for you loyalty and your time in responding to this review so that other travelers will consider staying... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed a couple of nights here. The room was nice - funky layout, the bathroom door and room door collide. Everyone was friendly, and the breakfast in the mornings was one of the better free hotel breakfasts I have had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia V, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review

Dear "Nice Place To Stop", We are so glad you chose to stay with us and appreciate you sharing your experience with other future travelers whose journey may bring them our way. We believe Breakfast is an important start to the day and try to offer something for everyone so all guests have the best start to their day whether... More 

Leesville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a mixup at check in all was very pleasant. They took care of correcting the matter. Wonderful accomadations and the Newberry Opera House is right across the street. The room was very clean and provided all we needed. So much history in Newberry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia V, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review

Dear Robin, We love that you chose to stay with us. Our staff will do their best to accommodate you and make sure your stay is great. We are glad you were able to enjoy a show across the street at the Opera House. We appreciate you sharing your review and hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you.... More 

Cumming
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a group trip planned for the Opera House and made reservations at the Hampton Inn. They were great to work with for a group rate. The hotel is very nice, and we were able to walk over to the show. I would not hesitate to stay there again on the next trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia V, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl, Thank you for choosing us and allowing us the opportunity to accommodate you and the group you traveled with to visit Newberry and see a show at the Opera House under a group rate. It was my pleasure to work with your group and our staff enjoyed having you here and making sure your accommodations were refreshing and... More 

Gwinnett, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Please beware of the front desk manager who is rude and has no respect for paying customers. Absolutely horrible service from Cayce Graham. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, but the value of the stay decreases when you have to deal with incompetent and rude employees that do not have customer service skills and is very confrontational. Also, make sure you... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia V, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review

Dear Dionne, Thank you so much for your review. I have shared your concerns with our management team to follow up on. I looked into your reservation and noticed that your charges were split between two credit cards. Each time a guest checks in their credit card is authorized for the total room amount and $50 authorization for incidentals. 72... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay