We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 214 Myrtle Beach hotels

Tropical Seas Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2807 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
End of Year Savings!
Tropical Seas Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tropical Seas Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #82 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
MDMcClain Rock Hill, South Carolina
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    44
    29
    12
    24
See reviews for
51
42
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (148)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My family and I stayed at the tropical seas hotel in august and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. All of the staff was great, parking was great and it you don't pay as much as other hotels and you get just as good service etc...I think the only thing I would change is have key cards instead of actual keys and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnsonville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We are here now for a Carolina Opry get-away-wkend. If you are looking for a high dollar RESORT...may not be for you; however, if you appreciate quaint, clean, friendly (the front desk people were ALL super friendly) off-season value then you will be ok here! We only live 1.25 hours away & we WILL return during the winter when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you back in the near future. Happy Holidays More 

Niagara Falls
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We stayed for 10 days near the end of October and beginning of November. It is an older hotel but they are constantly updating. The exterior was freshly painted and they have flat screen TV's. We had an ocean front room on the fifth floor with a small kitchen and plates, siver ware, coffee maker etc. The beds were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you back. We are in the process of working on the hallways now. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We stayed here a few years ago, and it was ok....but it was much better this time!! They have painted , and upgraded the televisions to flat screens!!! Still a few rust spots on the things on the bathroom door. The room is really nice and cozy, and the sunrise was beautiful!!! I will stay here again!!! The only suggestion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your stay and giving us another opportunity for making us your choice hotel when in the Myrtle Beach area. Yes we are in the process of putting microwaves in the oceanfront rooms with just a small refrigerator. We are still in the process of updating the interior of the hotel. We only have good... More 

Knoxville, TN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Just returned from a trip to Myrtle Beach and stayed at the Tropical Seas. I had stayed there about 10 years ago and always enjoyed it then so I figured I would stay there again. I took my 80 year Mother with me for a mother-daughter trip. I had requested a room above the third floor so she would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with everyone. We would like to thank you for staying with us and are happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you and your mother again. More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 via mobile

Just got through with a four-night stay at this hotel just this past weekend (11th-14th). The staff was nice and the room was ok but left some details to be desired. We had no microwave and no coffee maker but we did have a huge refrigerator. The outside deck flooded when it rained which made it unsafe to even stand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. Our hotel does have rooms with a stove, microwave, full size refrigerator, toaster and coffee maker. They are our efficiency units. A standard room has just a refrigerator. There is 1 elevator that does run a bit slower when we have more people in house. I apologize... More 

North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

The employees at this hotel could not have been more pleasant and accommodating. Our room was very clean but unfortunately reflects the age of this somewhat neglected facility. The pizza sounded good but we were disappointed to learn at check-in that it is closed for the "season" (read winter). Yes, this is a somewhat less expensive ocean-front facility but with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our team values your business along with your feedback. This past summer Tropical Seas has had many updates. To name a few we had 42" flat screen TV's put in all rooms. The building has been painted along with new balconies. And our North pool and fencing has been replaced.... More 

Ironton, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

stayed here sept. 2014. nice clean rooms. two pools and a hot tub facing the ocean. staff friendly. will stay here again. prices very low in early september. get the side view rooms closest to the crown reef, better views than other side. bed was comfy. had a pizza place right in the building. nice hot tub.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with everyone. Thank you for staying with us and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to ensure every guest has an outstanding vacation. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

I just stayed here for 2 nights and first impression was not good. I booked over a month ago and requested 3rd floor or higher. To my disappointment when I checked in I was given in my mind the worst room. It was on the first floor by the lobby, elevator and stairs. When I asked for another room they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

I want to first apologize for finding crumbs and food on the floor of your room, that is not common for our housekeeping staff. Also not having a higher floor to move you to. Yes we were completely full due to the large group we have year after year that books all upper floors and penthouses. I am glad the... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

One of the more affordable places at Myrtle, and you get what you pay for, people. Some people are complaining and saying it's "terrible"? You don't get 5 star quality for a 1 star price, OK? The rooms were OK, yes, a little damp, but hey this is the BEACH! There are nice ocean front balconies to enjoy the sunrise,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your stay. We did complete renovations outside and now we are focusing on the interior of the building. When you are back in the Myrtle Beach area please allow us to be your chose hotel. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tropical Seas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Seas Hotel

Address: 2807 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Seas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tropical Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropical Seas
Hotel Style:
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay