We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 215 Myrtle Beach hotels

Tropical Seas Hotel

2807 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel amenities
Tropical Seas Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Tropical Seas Hotel to your Saves list
60%
Ranked #76 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
296mary Ironton, Ohio
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    44
    25
    12
    24
See reviews for
49
40
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (141)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Ironton, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

stayed here sept. 2014. nice clean rooms. two pools and a hot tub facing the ocean. staff friendly. will stay here again. prices very low in early september. get the side view rooms closest to the crown reef, better views than other side. bed was comfy. had a pizza place right in the building. nice hot tub.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just stayed here for 2 nights and first impression was not good. I booked over a month ago and requested 3rd floor or higher. To my disappointment when I checked in I was given in my mind the worst room. It was on the first floor by the lobby, elevator and stairs. When I asked for another room they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

I want to first apologize for finding crumbs and food on the floor of your room, that is not common for our housekeeping staff. Also not having a higher floor to move you to. Yes we were completely full due to the large group we have year after year that books all upper floors and penthouses. I am glad the... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the more affordable places at Myrtle, and you get what you pay for, people. Some people are complaining and saying it's "terrible"? You don't get 5 star quality for a 1 star price, OK? The rooms were OK, yes, a little damp, but hey this is the BEACH! There are nice ocean front balconies to enjoy the sunrise,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your stay. We did complete renovations outside and now we are focusing on the interior of the building. When you are back in the Myrtle Beach area please allow us to be your chose hotel. More

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed the weekend on 9/5-9/7/14. Terrible. Cannot believe after staying here 2 years ago how run down the room was. The room smelled. Palmetto bugs crawling everywhere..... Very disappointed! Will not stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

I do apologize for the disappointment in the rooms. We will be focusing on updating all rooms in the coming months. On the positive side we did complete the painting of the building (new color), balconies, new parking lot, both pools and installed all new 42" flat screen TVs. More

Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is terrible. When I walked in the door I knew it was not where I wanted to stay. The staff and maintenance were very nice. However, they sent a guy out to get our baggage who just hung around there. The entire hotel was brick walls including the rooms. The balcony had the carpet tore up and rocks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

I want to apologize for the inconvenience of the outside construction on the balconies during your stay in June. There is never a good time for revocations and I am sorry the construction lasted as long as it did. I am glad to say the balcony construction is completed and we will be focusing on the inside (rooms) next. I... More

Milton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was actually very quiet for the area, the pools were very well kept, although occasionally kids would walk from the beach directly into the pools or hot tub with beach sand and spoil it a little. The walkout to the beach is amazing. The service staff very friendly. I would give the rooms a 3 out of 10... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay. Now that we have completed the outside construction renovations we can focus on the rooms next. When booking again in the Myrtle Beach area we look forward to having you again as our guest. More

Haysi, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for about a week and the staff here is wonderful, I've never stayed at a place with a more friendly staff. The cleaning staff did wonderful, our room was spotless, and the hotel was always clean including the pools. We paid for a oceanfront room and the only things I disliked about the room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the food from Mama Mia's. I will let the owner of Mama Mia's know as well. We are still on going with renovations to improve our hotel. Again thank you and we look forward to having you in the future. More

Owen Sound
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My wife and I are snowbirds travelling from Canada to Tropical Seas for Jan to Apl.1st. 2015 (if all goes as planned) will be our 8th winter there,and we are so looking forward to it. We are treated like family, and really have no major complaints. Yes we can all find something that perhaps is not quite what we like,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Neville & Janet. We look forward to seeing you both this winter. More

Lenoir, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The only negative thing I can say about our stay is that they only have one elevator (the steps where faster....that's if you were on the lower floors). My family had a wonderful time. I was pleased with our oceanfront room (gorgeous balcony view). We stayed on the 3rd floor. They have 2 swimming pools and a hot tub. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you again in the future. More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was our first visit to Tropical Seas, although we had stayed next door at the Crown Reef (which use to be its sister hotel until the Crown was bought out). We were always able to use the pools at the Tropical Seas, and we loved it because it was clean and never crowded. We decided to stay here because... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for deciding to stay with us. I will address the issue about the shower curtain with our executive housekeeper. I hope in the future you choose us as your choice hotel in Myrtle Beach. More

Do you own or manage Tropical Seas Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tropical Seas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Seas Hotel

Address: 2807 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tropical Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropical Seas

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay