We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tropical Seas Hotel

Hotel website
2807 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropical Seas Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tropical Seas Hotel
Add Your Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    46
    29
    15
    25
See reviews for
51
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Stanley, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were so excited about our weekend getaway. Pulled into the parking lot and saw the pizza sign on the building and got excited about having a pizza place in our building. Walked in to find the check-in area torn up for renovations. Got to the room, opened the door and was taken back to the 50's. The carpet was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

I booked this hotel for Valentine weekend and It was so awful. The bed was so low that I felt like I was on the floor. There was no microwave in the room at all. A mini fridge that was broken in the inside. The heated was blowing out cold air the whole night. My husband and myself almost froze.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

A manager is on duty everyday. I wished you had spoke with someone while you were here so we could address your problems then. All units in the hotel have microwaves except for the cheaper side view units. When reserving online or with a reservationist it is told just a small refrigerator is included with these rooms. I had our... More 

SC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Okay place, good location but old hotel and very dated, not kept in the best condition. Okay for a 1 night stay. Open hallways and units open to these halls. No staff on duty day we went and front office closed for checkin. had to go to tenant room who gave us a key. not very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize if there was any confusion. Like a lot of properties, during the winter season our front desk is closed from 11pm until 7am. When arriving after hours we do have someone stay on property for late arrivals. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We hope to see you in the future. More 

Bath, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Upon our arrival at Tropical Seas, we were fooled by the exterior; however, the inside was so outdated and unclean. The location was excellent, the staff was excellent, and the price was good. We were upgraded to ocean view because of a misunderstanding. If this company took the time to update linens, beds, and did some painting it would improve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Last year we spent most of the season upgrading the outside of our property, with a few exceptions of new 42" Tv's in rooms and hallway painting and lights. This year we plan on working more on the inside.Thank you for the comments and for letting us know where improvement is needed. More 

Graham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

This is an older hotel but very clean and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Some friends had recommended it, they stay here often. Not a fancy hotel and is definitely showing signs of aging, but directly on the ocean and very clean and friendly. We will stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments about the hotel and staff. We do continue to upgrade our property and yes the building itself is older. Since last spring/summer we have painting the building, repaved the parking lot, resurfaced both pools and jacuzzi, all new 42" flat screen TVs, all new hallway lights and as always free wifi. We look forward... More 

Watha, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Prices and front desk were great. Front desk helps with anything you need with a smile and good attitude. Very nice. Very helpful. Need to ask for balcony to be unlocked to go out Indoor pool, which we did not use, because it was so cold outside and hall doors were open the first day, not the second day, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments hope to see you back in the near future. Hopefully we will have warmer weather the next time. More 

Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

My family and I stayed at the tropical seas hotel in august and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. All of the staff was great, parking was great and it you don't pay as much as other hotels and you get just as good service etc...I think the only thing I would change is have key cards instead of actual keys and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. We did put microwaves in the oceanfront rooms too, so now all oceanfront rooms have them. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Johnsonville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We are here now for a Carolina Opry get-away-wkend. If you are looking for a high dollar RESORT...may not be for you; however, if you appreciate quaint, clean, friendly (the front desk people were ALL super friendly) off-season value then you will be ok here! We only live 1.25 hours away & we WILL return during the winter when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you back in the near future. Happy Holidays More 

Niagara Falls
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We stayed for 10 days near the end of October and beginning of November. It is an older hotel but they are constantly updating. The exterior was freshly painted and they have flat screen TV's. We had an ocean front room on the fifth floor with a small kitchen and plates, siver ware, coffee maker etc. The beds were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you back. We are in the process of working on the hallways now. More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a few years ago, and it was ok....but it was much better this time!! They have painted , and upgraded the televisions to flat screens!!! Still a few rust spots on the things on the bathroom door. The room is really nice and cozy, and the sunrise was beautiful!!! I will stay here again!!! The only suggestion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your stay and giving us another opportunity for making us your choice hotel when in the Myrtle Beach area. Yes we are in the process of putting microwaves in the oceanfront rooms with just a small refrigerator. We are still in the process of updating the interior of the hotel. We only have good... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question