We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tropical Seas Hotel

Hotel website
2807 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropical Seas Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tropical Seas Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    40
    47
    31
    16
    25
See reviews for
52
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (159)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Waycross, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is right on the beach which was very nice. Has two swimming pools and one hot tub. An older Motel and uses the old fashion key for your room. It was clean and the hotel workers are very nice and helpful. No coffee pot in the room but you can get coffee in the office in the mornings. Also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to let us know about your stay. We look forward to having you and your family again in the future. More 

High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel June 4th through the 6th and it was nice. The environment was clean and smelled fresh, even the outside pool area was clean and kept up nice. Several times I would notice maintenance coming around to pick up trash. Everything worked, pools elevator etc, and everything was up to date even the tv in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Also thank you for noticing the changes we have made and hard work my staff does. We look forward to seeing you in the future. More 

Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed June 3-June5, 2015 and I have to say I was excited that my room was directly facing the beach. That's what I wanted. As for the room - it was average, at best. For the price, it's what I expected. We were there for an event so was not in the room much. The top bedding had mildew... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.I'm not sure what was wrong with your bedspread during your stay but I do apologize and will personally look into this. If known we would have taken care of this matter. My housekeeping staff makes sure every bedspread is washed after a check out also this causes... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Hotel is old. Muggy. Outdated. You open the hotel room door with an actual key.... Hotel staff at the desk were very friendly and nice, but this is one of the old hotels, the hallways were carpeted and always wet and damp...with only ONE elevator. We waiting and waited forever, we just ended up taking the stairs to go up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Since your trip in August 2014 we have removed all hallway and stairwell carpets and we have a non slip painted surface now and it looks wonderful. Yes we are an older hotel and still use real keys but our housekeeping staff does a wonderful job with keeping our rooms cleaned. We hope you will give us another chance when... More 

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

If you don't plan on spending much time in your room, and you want to stay in South Myrtle Beach location on the beach, and close to restaurants and things to do, this place works. Less than a 5 minute drive to Market Commons dining and shopping, in addition to various restaurants around the hotel. The front desk ladies were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Tropical Seas. Our team truly values your business along with your feedback and comments. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More 

Stanley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We were so excited about our weekend getaway. Pulled into the parking lot and saw the pizza sign on the building and got excited about having a pizza place in our building. Walked in to find the check-in area torn up for renovations. Got to the room, opened the door and was taken back to the 50's. The carpet was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. There is no good time for renovations when a property is open all year. I apologize for the inconvenience. More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

I booked this hotel for Valentine weekend and It was so awful. The bed was so low that I felt like I was on the floor. There was no microwave in the room at all. A mini fridge that was broken in the inside. The heated was blowing out cold air the whole night. My husband and myself almost froze.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

A manager is on duty everyday. I wished you had spoke with someone while you were here so we could address your problems then. All units in the hotel have microwaves except for the cheaper side view units. When reserving online or with a reservationist it is told just a small refrigerator is included with these rooms. I had our... More 

SC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Okay place, good location but old hotel and very dated, not kept in the best condition. Okay for a 1 night stay. Open hallways and units open to these halls. No staff on duty day we went and front office closed for checkin. had to go to tenant room who gave us a key. not very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize if there was any confusion. Like a lot of properties, during the winter season our front desk is closed from 11pm until 7am. When arriving after hours we do have someone stay on property for late arrivals. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We hope to see you in the future. More 

Bath, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Upon our arrival at Tropical Seas, we were fooled by the exterior; however, the inside was so outdated and unclean. The location was excellent, the staff was excellent, and the price was good. We were upgraded to ocean view because of a misunderstanding. If this company took the time to update linens, beds, and did some painting it would improve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Last year we spent most of the season upgrading the outside of our property, with a few exceptions of new 42" Tv's in rooms and hallway painting and lights. This year we plan on working more on the inside.Thank you for the comments and for letting us know where improvement is needed. More 

Graham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

This is an older hotel but very clean and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Some friends had recommended it, they stay here often. Not a fancy hotel and is definitely showing signs of aging, but directly on the ocean and very clean and friendly. We will stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments about the hotel and staff. We do continue to upgrade our property and yes the building itself is older. Since last spring/summer we have painting the building, repaved the parking lot, resurfaced both pools and jacuzzi, all new 42" flat screen TVs, all new hallway lights and as always free wifi. We look forward... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay