We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Reef at South Beach

2101 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel amenities
The Reef at South Beach
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #104 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
A recent review
Add Photo Write a Review

395 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    122
    91
    44
    54
    84
See reviews for
183
74
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (395)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (220)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked our room over a month in advance and requested a higher floor. We were in communication with the hotel before arrival and were told to mention our request at check in. When we got there, Phillip (whom was very lacking in customer service) says we are on the next floor up and every room is booked. Bummed but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you have read more than one review on the Reef you know it is not a new hotel by any means. The Reef was standing and in business when I was 8 years old, but the place I stayed as a kid was destroyed by a Hurricane so for trips to Myrtle Beach the Reef has been my go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The only nice thing about this hotel was that it was ocean front. The room was dirty, the bathroom was small, the manager, not sure her name, was very rude to us while we were waiting to check in. Told us we were making the hotel look trashy because we were lounging on the couch in the lobby. The sliding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

bedspreads were old, carpets not clean, kitchen cabinets greasy on the outside, tub didn't drain well, wouldn't allow Family to sit on sofa or chair until they were covered with clean sheets. Air conditioner worked Great. Layout of the room was great. When I entered the Lobby I was very pleased and expected the rooms would be nice also. Pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 3 nights and were happy with the hotel. The wifi and the elevators are slow. Other than that we were satisfied. The room had a great view and was clean. The pools were also well kept and clean. We would definately stay here again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Gabby, Thank you for staying at the Reef! We appreciated you mentioning our clean rooms and competitive rates. We look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I visited The Reef hotel in June of 2015. PROS: Oceanfront property. We had a balcony that over looked the beach and pool. Kiddie pool for little children separate from main pool. CONS: The elevators where slow at the hotel and was quicker to take the stairs to the 3rd floor where our room was. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan, We're sorry that you were disappointed in the Reef. The hotel adheres to strict SC pool operation management in accordance with DHEC. We address these concerns seriously. Thank you for noting the location of the children's pool and the full ocean views. We do hope that your travels will bring you back to beautiful and fun Myrtle Beach. More 

Corydon, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stayed at The Reef in Myrtle Beach and was very disappointed. The rooms were not very clean, elevators were very slow, never could connect to the free wifi, and when booking online it did not disclose that a $100 dollar deposit was required at check-in... I will not be staying there anymore.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Moofar, We regret that you were disappointed in the hotel. When booking an online reservation though reefmyrtlebeach.com, the disclaimer states that a $100 cash security is required at check-in, so we cannot isolate where the confusion arose from. We hope that your travels bring you back to the beautiful Grand Strand again in the future, and wish you a... More 

Columbus, Ohio
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is run down, dirty,paint is peeling off the walls and bottom of the swimming pool. Problems occurred in the pool area where towels were put on chairs saving chairs even when people were not present for most of the day. Football throwing took place in the pool when pool was busy making it hard to enjoy being in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Buckeye, First, thank you for your past loyalty and business. We regret that he behavior of other guests disturbed your enjoyment of our beautiful oceanfront and indoor pool. While the Reef is an older hotel, and priced competitively to reflect it's age, we strive to offer clean, comfortable accommodations. We regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations. More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Worse hotel on the beach! Black mold growing in the rooms . Unsafe and unfriendly staff. No parking room . Overpriced !!!! Not worth 20.00 a night let along $200.00. You have been warned , this place isn't fit for stray animals let along human beings !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Kenny the cable guy. We regret that you were dissatisfied with your stay. The hotel offers an upper and lower parking deck adjacent to the hotel. An additional parking lot is located across the street. Your review and statements are inflammatory. We will professionally refrain from addressing those unsubstantiated statements. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed from july 10-12. Loved the room. Two beds pull out sofa bed and full kitchen. Loved it was right on beach. Only thing didnt care for was elevator it was very slow. One bed had a dent. Husband slept in other bed I slept on sofa

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Reef! We appreciated you mentioning that our location is right on the beach. Every guestroom has a full ocean view. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (139)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#113 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#112 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 627 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#100 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#110 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
0.9 mi away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#99 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay