We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 214 Myrtle Beach hotels

Sands Ocean Club Resort

2.5 of 5 Resort   |   9550 Shore Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Hotel website
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Summer Deals!
Save Saved
You added Sands Ocean Club Resort to your Saves list
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
53%
Ranked #113 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
1spw Va
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    130
    70
    95
    117
See reviews for
231
133
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clemmons, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Attended this hotel on a golf outing. Built in the late 1960's (I estimate), the best friend for this property is the ball of a wrecking ball. Front Desk Staff - - surly, not rude but certainly not happy to see me and my $850. Décor - Welcome to a time warp. Oh, they added ceramic to the lobby floor,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Va
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We just stayed a week on the 10th floor, updated room, great view. Could use new carpet, and updated furniture and linens, other than that rooms were clean, maid service came every day. Food in Windows Restaurant and River Cafe was very good! Awesome Burgers! We enjoyed the music and the time we stayed here! Band was great. Great song... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rising Fawn, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Old building that is poorly maintained and dirty. Our first room smelled bad, carpet was torn, black spots on the bed and our feet stuck to the tile floor. Terrible room. We were moved to another room that was better, but nothing special. Housekeeping is terrible and the employees are cell phone zombies. They walk around starring at their phones... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize that the hotel interior was not up to your standards. We also apologize for the housekeeping issues and the rudeness of employees on cell phones. We strive at Sands to accommodate our guests and will certainly look into these issues. We do continue to improve our resort and we hope you will return... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Only live club on the beach, great golf packages, clean, some of the best burgers at the beach on premises, free afternoon hor'deuvres in a different bar. Could use an update, but the price is right. Np doubt, we will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for spending your vacation with us at Sands and thank you for the honest review We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope you return to one of our Resorts very soon. We will continue to update our property as it is an ongoing process. More

Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

In a short review: Very disapointed! They overbooked so we got a much smaller suite. The next day we finally got the one we booked, which had been booked many months before. The new room came with pass keys that didn't work, this had to be remedied several times that week, including a morning of waiting for them to install... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

We thank you for your review. First may we apologize for the room switch on your first day. Glad this was resolved along with the room key issue. We are so sorry you had a problem with insects. Will you please email us your room # so we can look into this and have it remedied. We do hope you... More

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Oceanfront room with a private balcony perfect for beach lovers. The room was a little dated but the restaurant was clean and had good food. Overall great experience and I would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Sands Resorts and we thank you for your review We are pleased your enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you return in the very near future You are right about the balcony, NOTHING like an ocean view. More

Moosic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have stayed at the SOC for the past several years, sometimes in a timeshare and other times renting units that are privately owned. We have not had very many issues with the units we have stayed in but the resort itself needs to do something about the maintenance and upkeep. When something breaks it takes an awful long time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize that the hotel interior was not up to your standards. We also apologize for the time it took to get the gym equipment fixed. We strive at Sands to accommodate our guests in a timely manner and will certainly look into this maintenance issue. We do continue to improve our resort and we... More

Texico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed at the Sands Ocean Club for a week, and enjoyed every minute of it! The views of the beach and ocean are breath taking! We walked the beach several times a day, and found so many nice shells! Our suite was clean, and had 2 balconies. Everything we needed was right there! Loved the hot tubs and heated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We are also glad you got to enjoy the Spa, it's so nice to get a message while on vacation! Hope you come back again. More

Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I LOVE the Sands Ocean Club. I have stayed in several of the units over the past few years. The best one is 1019 (but no ocean view), other nice ones are 433 and 830. I am sure there are many more. I understand that many of the units are "independently owned" and I have read the reviews below. If... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review! Yes, we agree some units are nicer than others, but that is because many of them are owned by a private owner. We are so glad you enjoy our resort and all of it's amenities. Please be sure to share with your friends as well! Thanks again and... More

Coshocton, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Was concerned upon seeing some bad reviews, but decided to take a chance. Bad move. First room we were given was so dirty refused to stay. Front desk did give us another room that had been updated, but after being in it for a night or two, things did not look that updated. (We stayed a week). Shower/tub unit had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review

We are so very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time staying with us. Please forward us your name and check in date so we may look into your room issues. The next time you come to Myrtle Beach please check out our Sand Dunes property as it is more updated. Thank you for taking the time to... More

Been to Sands Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Lazy river(4)
  • Hot tub(3)
  • Outdoor pool(3)
  • Parking garage(3)

Additional Information about Sands Ocean Club Resort

Address: 9550 Shore Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Ocean Club Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sands Ocean Club two bedroom units come with full kitchens, a king bed, and two double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sands Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Ocean Club Hotel
Sands Ocean Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Club
Sands Ocean Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Club Resort Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Ocean Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.