We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Affordable Family Resort

Hotel website
2300 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Monte Carlo Inn)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Affordable Family Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Affordable Family Resort
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    12
    10
    31
See reviews for
48
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

by far the dirtiest hotel ive ever stayed in. carpet may as well been a dirt floor. spend the extra cash and avoid this place. there are many pet friendly hotels on the strip and though they aren't 5 star most are far better than this pig sty.who ever owns this establishment has no clue how to run a hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenda A, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

I have checked our records for May and I do not show a room registered in the name you have listed and I can not find a complaint from a guest about a dirty carpet for the month of May. We do clean our carpets on a rotation basis or as needed. It would be helpful if we had more... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited this hotel and it was very displeasing and disgusting, the dishes were dirty, toilet broken, air condition wasn't working, and they with drew 25 dollars after i checked out for dirty dishes and chipped bed rail for a room i didnt stay in i wouldn't recommend this hotel for someone i dislike, my kids couldn't enjoy the pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glenda A, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

According to our records, this room was checked in on 05/02/15 and out on 05/04/15. There were no notes or complaints from this room listed on their folio. When housekeepers entered the room after checkout, there were dirty dishes and food on floors, walls, and furniture. We do charge a clean-up fee when the room if left in this manner.... More 

Spring Lake, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I began writing this review very Angry, and after much thought...I've come to the realization that people only do what they know. If you're a Dog Lover, this place is fine for you..all the fleas and ticks you can sleep with! When I called Travelocity, I reserved 3 rooms on the Ocean Front, clearly this is NOT! The housekeeper had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

My family and I really enjoyed ourselves. Our room was very clean. Management and Staff were very accommodating. This place is great for family . They have several things you can utilize. We chose to use the grill in the picnic area (there are 3) , the kid pool (for the children) and the larger pool. They also have other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

First of all the clerks and employees were super nice to us especially the owner Glenda she showed us the many variety of rooms they had there. For the price you can not beat it. Will defiantly check back again!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

The staff was extremely helpful and considerate. I am staying with friends and we love the location and the easy access to the beach. This is a great place for families who are looking for an affordable and fun place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

My husband and I stay here this weekend and words can not explain how uncomfortable I was there. Where do I begin....front room: the carpent was dirty, the cushion chairs where dirty on the arm rest and head rest, the table was sticky and dirty, and a loud humidifie ran constantly. I understand why you would need one but does... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Roebuck, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

This hotel has went down hill since the last time we stayed here in 2007. Upon arrival we found our room to be very dirty. Sticky red liquid dripping down the bedside table. The tub was full of hair and there was something brown all around the walls. One of the lamp shades were broken and COVERED in dust. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

My family and I visited for the second time. The first time was last year at the same time as this year and this motel has gone down hill drastically. Very out dated but clean. There was what seemed to be a family reunion that booked most of the rooms here and were very disrespectful. There was no one in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This hotel was very nice the first time I stayed which was about 5-8 years ago. It has definitely went down hill. The pool was very dirty with old nasty bandaids laying on the deck the whole stay! I was very disappointed. The shower walls were moldy and the the mattresses were comfortable but old! Tv only had a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities