We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 214 Myrtle Beach hotels

Affordable Family Resort

2300 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Monte Carlo Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (67)
  • Photos (45)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Affordable Family Resort
Ranked #130 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    12
    8
    26
See reviews for
44
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I was very skeptical about staying at this hotel after reading several bad reviews and only a few good reviews but I must say I was very pleased with what I had. We stayed in the king suite, the TVs were small and so was the pool but if you're at the beach you should not be in be room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband, 3 girls (10-15yr old) and myself stayed for the weekend. Yes the hotel is outdated and could use a "face lift" but thats ok... however, the pool was disgusting! The filth and grime around the top edge was comming off on my kids hands. The ladder comming from the deep end, wasn't attached to the concrete on one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After being mislead by a larger hotel just down the street we decided to stay elsewhere. Affordable Family Resort was the first place we stopped.Upon entering the lobby we were greeted by a friendly staff .The room was nice and very clean.The pools were also nice.The staff was very professional . We found NO bugs of any kind in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AFRadmin, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Affordable Family Resort and for your review. We hope to see you again in the future. More

Union, South Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

From the reviews, I was really nervous of what id walk in to. The room was actually clean. I still felt dirty because things in there seemed super old and used. After wiping things down in Clorox, I was ok. Still really clean before, I'm just ocd. No bugs or bed bugs. The comforters were worn and dirty looking so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
AFRadmin, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As for the Spread we do replace a floor every year and sometimes an older spread gets put back in circulation. The commercial washer and dryers take their toll on all linen form the constant washing. I will check an make sure the older spreads are not in our inventory any more. More

Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My family & I have stayed at this hotel for the past 3 years & will continue to stay there for each & every future visit. The staff is friendly & amazing. The rooms are clean, spacious & affordable. No it doesn't have all the luxuries of the bigger resorts, but that isn't what we go to the beach for.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AFRadmin, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for that review, We are happy to have you come stay with us. I have just posted some new promo codes for our new online booking. save 5 to 10 per night by using promo codes june14, july14, or august14. More

Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed last weekend 4/12-4/13 and we have stayed at this motel in the past. It was bad, carpets were dirty,took a shower walked from the bathroom to the bed and my feet were black from dirt, beds were awful, towels felt like sand paper. TV was fuzzy. It was noisy. Wont be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
AFRadmin, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Sorry your stay was not satisfactory. I looked in the history and the only room that match was on the first floor. One of our Double suites. We have our subcontractors once a month check the our washers to make sure the are dispensing the correct amount of fabric softener. I hope this resolved that issue. Here are some promo... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

The location is great and the grounds (picnic area, slides, pool) are nice. But...the rooms are VERY dirty. We used to stay here every year as a big family get-together but every year the place just gets dirtier and dirtier. This last time, after getting ate up with bed bugs , I decided to never stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
AFRadmin, Owner at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Own December 9th of 2013. We made contact with this reviewer via Tripadvisor and on December 31th we have not received a response. We asked the reviewer to provide us with information on their stay so we could investigate the matter. Keep in mind the review was not posted until 3 months after the stay. When I checked with the... More

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My church family and I stays every October and we never have any complaints. . The staff is friendly and respectful..I love this hotel. We never had a problem with bugs. The pruce is affordable and the rooms are clean

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
AFRadmin, Owner at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for you post on Tripadvisor and we wish you a very Happy New Year. We at Affordable Family Resort are focused on customer retention. Please fill free to call and speak to the new General Manager with any issues or positive comments. More

Plumtree, North Carolina, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff was very nice. Our room was nice for the amount we paid. Alot of budget hotels are terrible but this one is doable. If your looking for fancy this one isn't for you but if your looking for something decent and spacious on a budget this one can't be beat.....it could use so e updates but nothing like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AFRadmin, Owner at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for you post on Tripadvisor and we wish you a very Happy New Year. We at Affordable Family Resort are focused on customer retention. Please fill free to call and speak to the new General Manager with any issues or positive comments. More

Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel almost made our family vacation a nightmare. They advertise "large and clean suites" but this is far from the truth. We arrived to a VERY DATED cottage, but the large space was great so we decided to make due. However upon pulling the sheets back to the beds we discovered dirty stained sheets and covers with hair on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Steven J, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

The "Little old lady" Is the owner. We did check the room after guest stayed check-in at 2:45 pm on 8-7-13 and first complaint was at around 1:00am 8-8-13. refunded at 6:07am the next morning. Did not leave until 4:48am per their words on the 8-8-13. Here are notes from the night shift: "At approximately 12:40am I got a call... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Affordable Family Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Affordable Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affordable Family Resort

Address: 2300 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Monte Carlo Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Affordable Family Hotel Myrtle Beach

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Everything located on one city block between 23rd Ave South and 24th Ave South. Now even closer drive to Airport since the extension of Harrelson Blvd. Less than 2 miles from Myrtle Beach Internation Airport. Just accross street from ocean with serval condos we manage in the building in front of us. We check and inspect all complaints. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
65

See which rooms travelers prefer

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Affordable Family Resort to your Saves list