We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Affordable Family Resort

Hotel website
2300 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly Monte Carlo Inn)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Affordable Family Resort
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Affordable Family Resort
Add Photo

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    13
    13
    12
    35
See reviews for
55
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My 3 children and I loved the place we will definitely return for another visit we really enjoyed the room an the accommodations. was an older motel but it worked perfect for me and my family.thank you to the staff for being so friendly and helping us with all of our needs we really enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was horrible! This was the worst place I have ever stayed in. The walls looked like food had been tossed on them and had never been cleaned. The floors were disgusting they were supposed to be tan carpeting but instead the were grey. The room stunk! It smelled like wet dog. The beds were dirty. I would not recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This is horrible service we need to cancel the room due to not being able to go because of an emergency and they refuse to return the deposit. I will never again go to this place. So rude I cannot believe it

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were there for the week-end of June 12-14. When we arrived, the place was chaotic. There must have been 70 people in the pool. They were mostly adults. All of the 'families' were in their rooms. The pool looked cloudy. The next morning, the pool was absolutely FILTHY! There was a thick scum on the top! GROSS! There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pictures are so very deceiving! Very dirty & out dated. Thought I was staying in government housing! They left the pool open til 3 am with people screaming & acting crazy. Even called to ask them why it was open passed 10 & they said they let it stay open late sometimes.. Not ok. I have children trying to sleep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glenda A, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Our pools close at 10pm and our slides close at 6pm. Some guests decides to not follow the rules even though they are posted in the pool area. They are asked to leave the pool area when brought to our attention. We are a small hotel so our pool may not be as large as they are at larger hotels.... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked this room a while back. From what the website showed I figured it would be worth it. The pros being... it was a short walk to the beach, the housekeeping staff was friendly and the housekeeping staff gave us all of the towels, shampoo and toilet paper we needed and the air worked great. The cons being...there were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After all the reviews, I decided to check the room out before checking in because of kids with medical issues. There was bleach used to disguise the smell, mold around the window, no ac in the elevator, and the property was not up to par. I was not pleased. This put us in a bad place looking for a hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Glenda A, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

We always show the room before checking in if the guest requests and if they do not want to stay for any reason, we cancel the reservation at that time and refund the deposit before checking guest into room. In this case the deposit was refunded back to the card immediately while the guest was still in the office. The... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Honestly after reading all these negative reviews I was very very skeptical , this hotel is something you must see for yourself ! I can almost guarantee you will NOT find a better place with a better location and room size for these prices ! not only did we get an awesome deal on a awesome room ( one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glenda A, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for looking past the reviews and staying at Affordable Family Resort. We appreciate your business and your positive review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Myrtle Beach and hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I visited Myrtle Beach this past weekend and we normally stay on South Ocean Blvd,we searched for resorts which were all booked up. So after looking@the mixed reviews about the Affordable Family Resort we decided to give them a try. We lucked up on a cottage "504" which was clean no problems and actually looked great. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glenda A, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for looking past the reviews and staying at Affordable Family Resort. We appreciate your positive review of our hotel. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay in Myrtle Beach and hope to see you again soon. More 

Charleston, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

by far the dirtiest hotel ive ever stayed in. carpet may as well been a dirt floor. spend the extra cash and avoid this place. there are many pet friendly hotels on the strip and though they aren't 5 star most are far better than this pig sty.who ever owns this establishment has no clue how to run a hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Glenda A, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

I have checked our records for May and I do not show a room registered in the name you have listed and I can not find a complaint from a guest about a dirty carpet for the month of May. We do clean our carpets on a rotation basis or as needed. It would be helpful if we had more... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay