We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hurl Rock Motel

2010 S Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel amenities
Hurl Rock Motel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #112 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Destrari D Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    63
    14
    14
    26
See reviews for
95
54
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (149)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My name is Destrari Duncan and I stayed at Hurl Rock this past winter. Me and my fiancé and been on the strip all day going to several weeklys, trying to find a great one. We found Hurl Rock and Loved It.!!! The staff there was really nice Mrs. Karen in the office took really good care of us, especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karyn G, Guest Relations Manager at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Destrari for your wonderful comments. We enjoyed have you stay here with us during the winter months. I hated to see you leave. We hope you will come to visit and if you are ever in need of a room just give me a call More 

Ronneby, Sweden
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
29 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I arrived early here and I understand that they have a check-in time so I asked for a starbucks or any other place that I could hang out for a few hours with WI-FI. They didn't seem to help me that much and just pointed me to a starbucks over 10 blocks away. I managed to find a subway 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The rooms were great and so are the workers everyone has made me my husband and kids feel like family and they will work with you in any way they can believe me they helped us out alot I would recommend hurl rock to anyone and they are cheap to

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Karyn G, Guest Relations Manager at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you chose to stay with us. we do care about our guest and want you to feel welcome here.We do want we can to help. Hope to see you soon. More 

Buzau, Romania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

My friends and I stayed here while working the whole summer. Pest control came a couple of times to spray the place for roaches and bedbugs but even they said that the place is beyond what they could do. When we left(we checked out ourselves, we did not get evicted) they refused to give us our deposit back, the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

This motel is terrible. The rooms are dirty and full of bugs and bedbugs. We had a room for the summer, they sent the housekeeping only once a month( Please remember that in the first month we had to ask for room service, in the following months the housekeeping arrived at 8:00 AM when everybody was sleeping, we told them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karyn G, Front Office Manager at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review

If this hotel is so terrible why did you stay for 3 months?? your room was filthy and we have pictures if you would like to see them!! . We have a professional pest control who is licensed, insured and bonded who came and checked you room several times for bed bugs. They sprayed your room many times for roaches... More 

Cool Ridge, WV
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Our stay was fine. Management and staff where nice and funny. It was a descent room for the price. This was the only hotel I could afford on Labor Day weekend. We already had reservations for September 1 though 5 but decided last minute we wanted to come early. If it wasn't for this motel that would not have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karyn G, Front Office Manager at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review

I glad that we were able to help you when you needed a room. Thank you for staying with us and hope next time you will stay your entire time with us. More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I made a reservation over the phone for a one night stay. I had to pay in full, no deposit, and I wasn't told about any cancellation policy. Unfortunately now we have a family member who is dying, so I called to cancel and get my money refunded. The man I spoke to then informed me that they have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Karyn G, Front Office Manager at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review

Ms. Cat, I am sorry to hear that you have sickness in your family. I am the one who made your reservation. I always tell the guest about our refund policy. We only charge for the first night this is what we consider a deposit to guarantee and hold your room. I am glad to did get to stay with... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I really don't understand all these negative reviews. We stayed there August 14-17. Everyone was very nice. Room was clean, housekeeping cleaned if we wanted it done or just brought us towels when we needed them. Pool was clean. Right across street from beach. My only complaint was it was kind of loud at night but that was really because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karyn G, Front Office Manager at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and for spending your vacation with us here at Hurl Rock. We enjoyed having you and hope to see you again soon!!! More 

Bluff City, Tennessee, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stay at this hotel and it was nasty,Nothing like picture on Internet ,People went through my stuff and ,Was kicked out for smoking ,And we don't smoke ,All Our belongings were in trash bag ,Gm of hotel ,India ,Far East ,Said nothing was charged to my Credit Card ,Which was a Lie got back home called Credit Card Company ,My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Karyn G, Front Office Manager at Hurl Rock Motel, responded to this review

Mr. Cox. We do not just evict someone because we want to or just because they smoked in a room. As I have stated before to your wife who also posted a comment, we charge a smoking fee if smoking in a non smoking room. We have a zero tolerance for smoking marijuana or doing any kind of drugs in... More 

2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We booked room stayed one night and had to move to another hotel. They stole one of may husbands prescription. I would recommend staying somewhere else. Bedding was also nasty. Didn't want to go without any shoes on carpet. Had a lamp with duct tape on bottom and the shade was totally broken. The bathroom sink was in the bedroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question