We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carolinian Beach Resort

Certificate of Excellence
2506 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Hotel amenities
3 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carolinian Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
Add Photo

1,994 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    912
    756
    155
    95
    76
See reviews for
721
591
74
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1994)
  • Mar-May only
    (475)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (728)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (476)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (315)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Our family of 4 drove 18 hours to enjoy making family memories. We were told a bellman would come with a cart and never did so instead we took several loads to our very small room. When we walked into our room it smelled of burnt smoke. Maintence came 45 minutes later to tell us the heat was left on.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here from 21-26 July in a 1 bedroom suite. It was our 3rd stay at the Carolinian and it remains reliably affordable, clean, and friendly. We like this location because it's away from much of the noise, yet close enough to walk to many places, including the boardwalk. This was the first stay where they offered (or we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our unit was on the beach side which was a positive for us. Although we are "young" mid-sixties", we only had a two night stay and we did not take time to go to the beach. However, we did sit on the balcony and watched the beautiful waves and people enjoying the beach. It was our anniversary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvest, Al
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked our stay for 4 nights. Upon arriving, our bathroom door did not shut correctly or lock and with teenagers that didnt fly. They were able to accommodate us to another room. Pool area and lazy river was nice. They had activities everyday for guests. The staff did a wonderful job keeping the floors and outdoors area clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laurens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great time at the beach. Hotel accommodations were very nice. Staff very attentive to our request in a timely manner. Rooms were large with a perfect view of the ocean. Facilities were clean. Even with sooooo many other travelers, the atmosphere was quiet and comfort. Staff very friendly. YES...I would stay here again and again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warner Robins, Georgia
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Location and valet parking are the only good things about this place. The maid service was awful, we ended up buying our own kleenex and toilet paper because they would not replenish them and you never know if you are going to get enough towels and washcloths. The wi-fi was mediocre at best. It didn't work most of the time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at Carolinian Beach Resort. We are sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay and have shared your feedback with management. The WiFi is an issue with our service provider and one that we are evaluating. It's often difficult to maintain a great signal in large, concrete structures but we appreciate... More 

Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The only thing going for this hotel is the location on the beach. The front desk staff was efficient and prompt in our check in. The parking facility is block away and there is no security there. The elevators were old and rickety. The wifi was not consistent. The breakfast was sub-par for hotel breakfasts and very noisy and crowded.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at the Carolinian Beach Resort. It is disappointing to hear that you were not pleased and we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during your visit with us. Guest feedback is a valuable resource for us and we can assure you the concerns you have shared will be... More 

Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

our room was right next to the housekeeping office but we didnt hear them at all. didnt have an oceanfront room but it was spacious. there was a mini fridge, iron and ironing board, coffee maker, tv and blow dryer. the free breakfast in the morning was not a very big spread and didn't have a lot of options. very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at Carolinian Beach Resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with your accommodations. We value the feedback our guests provide and thank you for taking time to review our resort. We look forward to having you as a return guest in the future. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our four night stay during senior week; all of the housekeepers and maintenance guys were super nice and friendly. Only suggestion I have is for the breakfast buffet line to be altered so that the waffle machines have their own line to keep the entire line from being backed up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at the Carolinian. We value guest feedback and are happy to hear you were pleased with our staff, resort, and your accommodations. Your recommendation regarding breakfast has been shared with management. We look forward to having you as a return guest in the future. More 

Mayodan, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Helpful, friendly staff. Loved the room and the ocean view we had was beautiful. The cleaning staff went out of their way to be helpful! Breakfast was a little crowded, but could take it back to the room. Parking was a little different - a block over from the Resort, but wasn't a problem. We would love to visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(33)
  • Lazy river(22)
  • Parking garage(20)
  • Ocean views(16)
  • Full kitchen(15)
  • Great location(11)
  • Water park(9)
  • Living room(8)
  • Front desk staff(7)
  • Bedroom suite(6)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

682 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (379)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (73)
Viewed
View from room (70)
Viewed
Room/suite (101)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
3:13
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (74)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (299)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Beach (4)
Viewed
Covered Pool (8)
Viewed
Main Pool (6)
Viewed
Oceanfront One Bedroom 2 Queen Suite (31)
Viewed
Oceanfront One Bedroom Condo (54)
Viewed
Oceanfront One Bedroom King Suite (30)
Viewed
Oceanfront Two Bedroom Condo (51)
Viewed
Oceanview One Bedroom 2 Queen Condo (38)
Viewed
Oceanview One Bedroom 2 Queen Suite (22)
Viewed
Oceanview One Bedroom King Condo (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay