We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carolinian Beach Resort

Certificate of Excellence
2506 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Hotel amenities
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Carolinian Beach Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

2,058 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    922
    784
    169
    100
    83
See reviews for
761
604
75
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2058)
  • Mar-May only
    (475)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (788)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (480)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (315)
All months
Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have been staying at the Carolinian now for 3 years always in the suites. The suites are very nice 1 or 2 bedrooms with ocean front views. I used to get Best Western points on my rewards card but was not able to get any this time as Wyndham has bought it. The hotel elevators when we checked in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OceanaResorts, Marketing Coordinator at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to review your stay at Carolinian Beach Resort. We appreciate your business as a return guest, and are truly sorry to hear that your room wasn't as clean as it was in the past. We would also like apologize for the inconvenience with the elevators, which are all being completely replaced in the coming months.... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My family and I stayed here as a Hilton Grand Vacation discount stay. There was a great view from the 10th floor and the 1 bedroom suite was spacious and comfortable. However the rooms themselves and common areas were a little outdated and they jave breakfast in what appears to be a cleared suite on the second floor. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OceanaResorts, Marketing Coordinator at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to review Carolinian Beach Resort. We are glad to hear that you found your room to be spacious and comfortable, and that you were pleased with the front desk staff. We are constantly updating and improving Carolinian Beach Resort and hope that you will notice these changes during your next visit with us in... More 

London, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in a room with an ocean view -which was very nice. Our bed was not very comfortable but room was decently clean and everyone was very nice. Our room was directly in front of the swimming pool which would have been perfect if our kids were with us, but it didn't leave us much privacy on the balcony, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OceanaResorts, Marketing Coordinator at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to let us know about your stay at Carolinian Beach Resort, and thank you for choosing us for your anniversary trip. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your view and our staff. We are sorry to hear that you didn't have enough privacy. We do ask any guest who is not happy... More 

Poland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel twice already and thoroughly enjoyed both visits. This time, however, when we arrived, we had to return to the front desk 4 times before our room was ready. We pre-checked prior to 4:00 p.m. and when we returned to pick up our key, we were told our room wasn't ready and to come back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OceanaResorts, Marketing Coordinator at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Carolinian Beach Resort. We are happy to hear that you had a great time hear and plan on returning. However, it is disappointing to hear that you were not impressed by our front desk team. We've shared these comments with management and will aim to improve... More 

East Ridge, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Really pleased with the room and the view of the ocean. Pleasantly surprised that the wait for an elevator was not bad considering there were only three for 20 stories. Wish the pools that were "inside" were heated just a little. Too cold to enjoy those but did enjoy the outdoor pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at Carolinian Beach Resort. We are so happy to read that you had a great family vacation and were pleased with your accommodations. Your feedback has been shared with management and we will be evaluating the indoor pools. Again, we thank you for your stay and feedback. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel was reasonably priced and I found it to be suitable for our needs. We stayed two nights. The bed was comfortable. I wanted to stay in the "new" tower but no rooms were available there. (July 6, 2015). Still we had a good view of the beach and I was able to capture lovely pictures of the sunrise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at Carolinian Beach Resort. We are happy to hear that you found our resort to be reasonably priced and well-suited to your needs. We value the feedback our guests provide and have shared yours with management. We are sorry to hear that you encountered some issues with another guest over breakfast. We are evaluating... More 

Lillington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I semi-enjoyed my stay at Carolinian Beach Resort, I went the last weekend of July 2015. Check-In process was easy, but then it went downhill from there. Both elevators were broke (and stayed broke majority of the weekend), we were on the top floor (tenth) and I am a girl needless to say it was miserable carrying ALL my luggage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

We truly appreciate the fact that you chose to stay with us at Carolinian Beach Resort and would like to extend our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. We have plans to replace the elevators this fall as they have caused us some problems this summer. This is a huge undertaking but work will begin over... More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in an oceanfront 1 bedroom condo with 2 full size beds... The beds were the biggest mistake that was my mistake on booking, that I wish we could have changed... Way too small and not very comfortable! Other than the beds I thought the room was pretty nice! Loved the kitchen! The pools were nice, but not much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OceanaResorts, Marketing Coordinator at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Carolinian Beach Resort. We are happy to hear that overall you had a great vacation with us. We do have many different room types with different combinations of bedding, so be sure to check out our website for layouts and descriptions when booking your next stay.... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I spent our 23rd anniversary at the Carolinian Beach Resort. I was a little disappointed that I would not get Wyndham points because they had not completed the transfer. We also ended up on the second floor right above the pool. The staff was wonderful and this may be a place to keep in mind in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OceanaResorts, Marketing Coordinator at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Carolinian Beach Resort, and happy anniversary! We are glad you enjoyed the staff here at the Carolinian. We apologize for not being able to give you any points, however this is due to the fact that we are part of Wyndham Vacation Rentals and not Wyndham Hotel... More 

Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Carolinian Beach Resort. The breakfast was pretty good, the pool and hot tub area was nice, the workout room was ok, could've used more than one treadmill. They have complimentary golf that was a big hit with our family. We also loved the free admission to Wild Water & Wheels waterpark.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OceanaResorts, Marketing Coordinator at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to let us know about your stay at Carolinian Beach Resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the pools, mini golf, water park admission and other amenities. We shared your comments about more treadmills with management and we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(33)
  • Lazy river(22)
  • Parking garage(20)
  • Ocean views(16)
  • Full kitchen(15)
  • Great location(11)
  • Water park(9)
  • Living room(8)
  • Front desk staff(7)
  • Bedroom suite(6)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

693 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (390)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (80)
Viewed
View from room (70)
Viewed
Room/suite (103)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
3:13
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (76)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (299)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Beach (4)
Viewed
Covered Pool (8)
Viewed
Main Pool (6)
Viewed
Oceanfront One Bedroom 2 Queen Suite (31)
Viewed
Oceanfront One Bedroom Condo (54)
Viewed
Oceanfront One Bedroom King Suite (30)
Viewed
Oceanfront Two Bedroom Condo (51)
Viewed
Oceanview One Bedroom 2 Queen Condo (38)
Viewed
Oceanview One Bedroom 2 Queen Suite (22)
Viewed
Oceanview One Bedroom King Condo (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.5 mi away
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#32 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,297 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay