We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carolinian Beach Resort

Certificate of Excellence
2506 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carolinian Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    734
    153
    93
    73
See reviews for
701
580
73
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1957)
  • Mar-May only
    (468)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (698)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (476)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (315)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Its a great location, right on the beach. It was Reasonably priced. The room was clean and spacious. There are two elevators so no long wait. The beds were comfortable and the shower had good water pressure. The staff were very nice, but you couldn't book activities with them Breakfast included. Free parking. Would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rented a 2 room suite for the first weekend of May. The pics didn't do the room justice. So many windows and a fantastic view of the beach and a lot of sunlight into the room. Very courteous staff who kept a tidy hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Elevator Stopped 1.5" below First Floor = Not a good sign. Oceanside Room had a musty smell. The room was In disrepair. Drywall Corner-bead busted & rusted at balcony. Balcony carpet ripped. No screen door for balcony door. Food in kitchenette sink. Tub had cheap, chipped, loose refinishing paint & hair in tub. Garbage bucket on washroom sink. Furniture was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OceanaResorts, Marketing Coordinator at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience with the Carolinian Beach Resort. We apologize for the issues you experienced with your room, and are talking to management about your concerns. If you would reach out to us at Marketing@OceanaResorts.com so that we may gather some more information about your stay and resolve these issues, we would appreciate it.... More 

Siler City, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

clean rooms, great view, got us in a little before check in time. handled all of our request, would stay here again. Love the valet parking since the parking deck was across the street. Mgmt was nice and helped with all request.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Carolinian for our Anniversary. We drove from Maryland and was pretty tired when we arrived. It was early and we were lucky that our room was ready at 2:00 pm. My first impression of the room was a good one. It was very clean. We had a wrap around porch and a great view. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent Anniversary stay at Carolinian Beach Resort. We're happy to hear the staff were accommodating after your long journey here and glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you for a return trip in the future. More 

Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The front desk was very busy and there was only one person behind the counter. other wise my stay was okay. This hotel should detail their rooms they are in need of some TLC. The bathroom and living room area's are lacking some important detail.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at Carolinian Beach Resort. We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with feedback. We are sorry to hear the front desk staff were a bit busy. Staffing is something we are always evaluating and we will discuss your concerns with resort management. Maintenance is ongoing and we are working hard to... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Traveled to Myrtle Beach in early April for an Easter vacation with my family and I can't say enough about the Carolinian. The moment we checked I. We knew we had made a good choice, the clerk was extremely nice and helpful and when we inquired about the room view she knew exactly what we would be looking at which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Carolinian Beach Resort. We are happy that you found your room and view to be fantastic and to hear that our staff were helpful and friendly. We hope to see you for a return trip soon! More 

Stanley, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a short stay with the family during Spring Break. The hotel is going thru a transition from Best Western to Wyndham Vacation Rentals. The best thing about our stay was the free breakfast each morning for the most part. The waffle maker was out one day and it got crowded most mornings. The front desk typically only had one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Carolinian Beach Resort. We are sorry to hear that you encountered some issues with regard to housekeeping and front desk staff shortages. We will be sharing these with the resort management team and making changes as needed. We hope that you will return and enjoy the lazy river, complimentary breakfast, convenient location and... More 

Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked our stay weeks in advance and were given the worst room in this sold-out hotel. We were on the first floor, room 108, by the exit, people were loudly coming and going all night long. My daughter's sheet had a large blood stain. One of the front desk staff, a woman, was sweet and nice the other was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Carolinian Beach Resort. We are sorry to hear that you were less than pleased with your stay. We are sharing your comments and feedback with the resort staff and will be following up to ensure your concerns are addressed. We hope you will reconsider and allow us the opportunity to serve you as... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had such a wonderful stay! We were in room #336 which was very close to the elevator, it was perfect and literally 30 seconds from the beach, pool, hot tub and wave pool. The room was beautiful and very modern with a full kitchen, garden tub, and huge wrap around balcony! Free Breakfast everyday on the 2nd floor; waffles,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(33)
  • Lazy river(22)
  • Parking garage(20)
  • Ocean views(16)
  • Full kitchen(15)
  • Great location(11)
  • Water park(9)
  • Living room(8)
  • Front desk staff(7)
  • Bedroom suite(6)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

722 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (377)
Viewed
Room/suite (101)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (36)
Viewed
View from room (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
3:13
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (73)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (299)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Beach (4)
Viewed
Covered Pool (8)
Viewed
Main Pool (6)
Viewed
Oceanfront One Bedroom 2 Queen Suite (31)
Viewed
Oceanfront One Bedroom Condo (54)
Viewed
Oceanfront One Bedroom King Suite (30)
Viewed
Oceanfront Two Bedroom Condo (51)
Viewed
Oceanview One Bedroom 2 Queen Condo (38)
Viewed
Oceanview One Bedroom 2 Queen Suite (22)
Viewed
Oceanview One Bedroom King Condo (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question