We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 214 Myrtle Beach hotels

Summer Wind Inn & Suites

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1903 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly A Summer Wind Motel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Summer Wind Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Summer Wind Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
43%
Ranked #168 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013
E Louise L Golden, Colorado
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    15
    9
    58
See reviews for
49
31
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My son chose Myrtle Beach for his 21st birthday. We stayed @ Summer Wind. It is right on the beach and has an outdoor pool. There are several Putt Putt golf courses, an arcade and amusement park all within walking diatance. The room had a fridge and microwave so we were able to prepare food during the week. Grocery store... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear E Louise, Happy belated birthday to your son! Thank you for celebrating the special occasion at Myrtle Beach and for staying at Summer wind Inn & Suites. Sometimes, we are remiss in not sharing our close proximity to many attractions. I'm sure that other readers will find your review helpful. We hope that you make it tradition and return... More

Morristown, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When my sister and friend arrived the air was not working.We watched them replace it. We changed our clothes got our things DOUBLE CHECKED the door and went to the beach. We stayed from 1:00-4:00 got ready to go eat and discovered that I had $500 and my friend had $400 MISSING out of our purses.Our purses were in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Terry A, We are terribly sorry that money was missing from your room. Our management team fully cooperated with the Police in this investigation, and followed best hotel operating practices. While we are prohibited from commenting in an open forum about a police matter, other Trip Advisor readers should know that Summer Wind upgraded the room locks and key... More

Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We reserved non-smoking... first room smelled like cigarettes, 2nd room smelled like weed, 3rd room still smelled like cigarettes, but we gave up because the desk person Michael was obviously disinterested in our satisfaction. Very unpleasant and uncomfortable to be in the room, so we ended up leaving early even though we couldn't get a refund. The hotel is next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear DC Travels, We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay at Summer Wind. Many hotels no longer allow any smoking in the guestrooms, and while we continue to strive to accommodate the needs of all guests, we are terribly sorry that you were inconvenienced by a previous guest who did not observe the non-smoking... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here this past weekend and I must say this was one of the most awful place I've ever encountered. The rooms are old,carpet is old, strain and smells. To top it off, they only have 3 irons in this entire nasty motel. So my advice to anyone is don't stay here go some where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Ohajia, We are sorry that you were disappointed in the Summer Wind Inn & Suites. As noted throughout Trip Advisor, Summer Wind is an older oceanfront motel. Each staff member strives to provide excellent guest service, and our housekeeping team adheres to best hotel cleaning practices to insure cleanliness. For guests who are looking for franchised hotel type amenities,... More

Johnson City, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The main reason I chose Summer Wind was because it is pet friendly.Even though the motel is a little old and outdated,it was clean(no pet smells) and the OF Eff was well stocked with everything I needed.My room had recently been refurbished,with new paint,carpet,new mattress,and pillows.I was really surprised at such a GREAT DEAL..Hope to visit again..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Janrp1960, Thank you for staying at Summer Wind Inn & Suites and for taking the time to write a review of your experience. I'm sure that other TripAdvisor readers will find your mention that we are a Pet Friendly Myrtle Beach motel helpful. We appreciated your business and hope that you can return again, soon. More

Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Cockroaches, tiles falling off, dirty pool, doors are screwed up so bad you can stick a pencil through the gap. The room has a old smell to it and if your on the first floor your right behind the people at the pool...eye to eye. Doors must be slammed into in order to open. Cockroaches alone disgusted me...women said "I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Tim B, We deeply regret that we did not meet your vacation expectation. We were disturbed to read your review that indicated that there was an issue with some bugs in your room. When our management company assumed the operations of Summer Wind earlier this year, we immediately outsourced the pest control to a leading commercial pest prevention company,... More

Catawba, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We made our reservations then came across the reviews online. But we decided to stay anyway and give the new owners a chance since the reviews we all old. I'm glad we did! For the price the rooms were very clean and well stocked (we were in a full efficiency room). The only complaints I have really were that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear EricaB, Thank you for staying at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, and for taking the time to write a review. I'm sure that other readers will find your review helpful as well as your photos. We look forward to you returning to the motel again soon. More

Westfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

First off we are not very picky. If the hotel is clean and appears safe we are happy. Overall the room was clean but very outdated. No big deal but the hallways smelled of urine of some sort and the elevator is one you might see in a run down New York City apartment building The girls were nervous at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Ikeee5, We regret that the Summer Wind Inn & Suites did not meet your expectations. You are correct that the hotel is an older oceanfront motel, so it does not have the updates as newer hotels. Our rates are of value and do reflect that. It is unusual that there was no an extra roll of toilet paper, and... More

Athens, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

At the last minute we decided to get away for the 4th of July weekend. After looking everywhere (SC, NC, GA, FL, AL) for a reasonably-priced hotel or vacation rental that was near the ocean and finding nothing available under $170/night, I somehow found this one online. I went ahead and booked because it was <$100/night and oceanfront. Too good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Kaseyjkb, Thank you for staying at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, and for writing an honest review of your stay. In February, Summer Wind of Myrtle Beach contracted with a new management company. We appreciated you noting the room condition, and the team is working hard to improve the motel and guest service. We hope to see you soon! More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had an excellent time here also. There is nothing to complain about. These other peoples reviews, must be crazy. The staff was nice and meant all our needs. The rooms are very clean!! We did not see one bug and we could not say one bad thing about summer wind. We plan on staying here again and would recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Becky, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review of your experience. Summer Wind is an older motel that is located directly on the oceanfront. It is a small independent property. We strive to offer oceanfront rooms at a value, in a desired section of Myrtle Beach. We hope that you can... More

Been to Summer Wind Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Wind Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
a Summer Wind Hotel Myrtle Beach
a Summer Wind Hotel
Hotel a Summer Wind
Address: 1903 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly A Summer Wind Motel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#168 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Wind Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh and relax in our pool and hot tub with the tropical warm breeze of the Summer Wind on the oceanfront in world famous Myrtle Beach, South Carolina! Our South Ocean Boulevard location provides a laid-back family atmosphere and quick access to all the popular Myrtle Beach attractions. In fact, the Summer Wind is within walking distance of restaurants, fishing pier, miniature golf, Par 3 golf, 18 hole Championship golf, water parks, miniature stockcar race track, shopping malls, and many other attractions. Public transportation comes by the Summer Wind every 20 minutes during the summer months, making access to the entire city, including Broadway at the Beach, a quick and pleasurable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Summer Wind Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Wind Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.