We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 214 Myrtle Beach hotels

Summer Wind Inn & Suites

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1903 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly A Summer Wind Motel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Summer Wind Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Summer Wind Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
42%
Ranked #175 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
  • Overview
  • Reviews (141)
  • Photos (46)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    15
    9
    61
See reviews for
51
31
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is just horrible!!! It is highly expensive for such a rundown place. The stove didn't work and the water in the shower cuts on and off and the hot water isn't hot. I had warmer water with the cold. Roaches began to crawl and they don't allow no extra towels for a family of 7, yet along extra... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Shelbyville, Kentucky
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

this was a very cheap hotel with a high price , is dyer need of a major over haul needs lots of paint , new carpets , my sister went without her shoes and in just a few minutes her feet were black , and they vaccumed that morning , that's how nasty it was , never again will I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Ronda M, Thank you for staying at a non-franchised hotel. We apologize that the accommodations did not meet your expectations, but appreciated that you noted that the hotel was affordably price. As will note from other reviews, we are not a new hotels, but our staff is committed to clean accommodations, and good guest service. We are not a... More

Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

The lady at check in was wonderful & very kind. That was the ONLY thing good there. First we payed to stay night...checked out at 5pm due to roaches. The woman who checked me out was rude as hell...all but accused me of stealing towels. I told her that they were in a pile near tub. I had to wait... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear MzAdrienne, I apologize that the accommodations at Summer wind did not meet your expectations, and further regret that you found the checkout process to be unsatisfactory. On behalf of the entire management team, we were perplexed by your reference to stolen CC information. We treat these allegations seriously, and adhere to best hotel practices when they are made. No... More

Golden, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My son chose Myrtle Beach for his 21st birthday. We stayed @ Summer Wind. It is right on the beach and has an outdoor pool. There are several Putt Putt golf courses, an arcade and amusement park all within walking diatance. The room had a fridge and microwave so we were able to prepare food during the week. Grocery store... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear E Louise, Happy belated birthday to your son! Thank you for celebrating the special occasion at Myrtle Beach and for staying at Summer wind Inn & Suites. Sometimes, we are remiss in not sharing our close proximity to many attractions. I'm sure that other readers will find your review helpful. We hope that you make it tradition and return... More

Morristown, Tennessee, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When my sister and friend arrived the air was not working.We watched them replace it. We changed our clothes got our things DOUBLE CHECKED the door and went to the beach. We stayed from 1:00-4:00 got ready to go eat and discovered that I had $500 and my friend had $400 MISSING out of our purses.Our purses were in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Terry A, We are terribly sorry that money was missing from your room. Our management team fully cooperated with the Police in this investigation, and followed best hotel operating practices. While we are prohibited from commenting in an open forum about a police matter, other Trip Advisor readers should know that Summer Wind upgraded the room locks and key... More

Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We reserved non-smoking... first room smelled like cigarettes, 2nd room smelled like weed, 3rd room still smelled like cigarettes, but we gave up because the desk person Michael was obviously disinterested in our satisfaction. Very unpleasant and uncomfortable to be in the room, so we ended up leaving early even though we couldn't get a refund. The hotel is next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear DC Travels, We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay at Summer Wind. Many hotels no longer allow any smoking in the guestrooms, and while we continue to strive to accommodate the needs of all guests, we are terribly sorry that you were inconvenienced by a previous guest who did not observe the non-smoking... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here this past weekend and I must say this was one of the most awful place I've ever encountered. The rooms are old,carpet is old, strain and smells. To top it off, they only have 3 irons in this entire nasty motel. So my advice to anyone is don't stay here go some where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Ohajia, We are sorry that you were disappointed in the Summer Wind Inn & Suites. As noted throughout Trip Advisor, Summer Wind is an older oceanfront motel. Each staff member strives to provide excellent guest service, and our housekeeping team adheres to best hotel cleaning practices to insure cleanliness. For guests who are looking for franchised hotel type amenities,... More

Johnson City, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The main reason I chose Summer Wind was because it is pet friendly.Even though the motel is a little old and outdated,it was clean(no pet smells) and the OF Eff was well stocked with everything I needed.My room had recently been refurbished,with new paint,carpet,new mattress,and pillows.I was really surprised at such a GREAT DEAL..Hope to visit again..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Janrp1960, Thank you for staying at Summer Wind Inn & Suites and for taking the time to write a review of your experience. I'm sure that other TripAdvisor readers will find your mention that we are a Pet Friendly Myrtle Beach motel helpful. We appreciated your business and hope that you can return again, soon. More

Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Cockroaches, tiles falling off, dirty pool, doors are screwed up so bad you can stick a pencil through the gap. The room has a old smell to it and if your on the first floor your right behind the people at the pool...eye to eye. Doors must be slammed into in order to open. Cockroaches alone disgusted me...women said "I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Tim B, We deeply regret that we did not meet your vacation expectation. We were disturbed to read your review that indicated that there was an issue with some bugs in your room. When our management company assumed the operations of Summer Wind earlier this year, we immediately outsourced the pest control to a leading commercial pest prevention company,... More

Catawba, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We made our reservations then came across the reviews online. But we decided to stay anyway and give the new owners a chance since the reviews we all old. I'm glad we did! For the price the rooms were very clean and well stocked (we were in a full efficiency room). The only complaints I have really were that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear EricaB, Thank you for staying at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, and for taking the time to write a review. I'm sure that other readers will find your review helpful as well as your photos. We look forward to you returning to the motel again soon. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Summer Wind Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Summer Wind Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Wind Inn & Suites

Address: 1903 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly A Summer Wind Motel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Wind Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Summer Wind Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Summer Wind Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel a Summer Wind

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach #175 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach #175 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refresh and relax in our pool and hot tub with the tropical warm breeze of the Summer Wind on the oceanfront in world famous Myrtle Beach, South Carolina! Our South Ocean Boulevard location provides a laid-back family atmosphere and quick access to all the popular Myrtle Beach attractions. In fact, the Summer Wind is within walking distance of restaurants, fishing pier, miniature golf, Par 3 golf, 18 hole Championship golf, water parks, miniature stockcar race track, shopping malls, and many other attractions. Public transportation comes by the Summer Wind every 20 minutes during the summer months, making access to the entire city, including Broadway at the Beach, a quick and pleasurable experience! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
42

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer