We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Summer Wind Inn & Suites

1903 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly A Summer Wind Motel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer Wind Inn & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Summer Wind Inn & Suites
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    15
    10
    63
See reviews for
52
32
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

if you or a loved one are gonna stay here, make sure you have cell phones handy! Can't get anyone to answer to direct your calls AND they don't show the courtesy to put on the automated thing! If you have an emergency and need to reach anyone staying here, FORGET IT!! they also can't call out most the time!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We were looking for a place to stay a couple nights at Myrtle Beach and we had a coupon for this motel, so we gave it a try. The person at the front desk was very friendly and gave us a room on the 3rd floor. First of all the outside of the motel is run down looking, there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We didn't make a reservation and called to find out if there was a room. Jason told me he had a few side rooms available and would hold one until we arrived. He quoted a rate over the phone and discounted that once I showed him the coupon book. We ere close to the beach, able to park right outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clover, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The title says it all, this motel is CHEAP! Last year a friend and I went to the beach for July 4th. Because we were on a budget and booked last minute we decided to give this place a try. Before we even left for vacation we went out and bought our own sheets and bug bombs because we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Cassie B, Thank you for staying at Summer Wind. We regret that you experienced an issue with your refrigerator during your stay. It is our maintenance team's goal to insure that items in the room are in working order and we apologize for this inconvenience. More 

Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This place is just horrible!!! It is highly expensive for such a rundown place. The stove didn't work and the water in the shower cuts on and off and the hot water isn't hot. I had warmer water with the cold. Roaches began to crawl and they don't allow no extra towels for a family of 7, yet along extra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Dawn M, We apologize that you were dissatisfied with the accommodations at Summer Wind Inn & Suites. While it is our maintenance team's goal to insure that everything is in good working order, we apologize that there were maintenance issues in your room. Also, we are terribly sorry that other guest's behavior disturbed your vacation. The management team treats... More 

Shelbyville, Kentucky
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

this was a very cheap hotel with a high price , is dyer need of a major over haul needs lots of paint , new carpets , my sister went without her shoes and in just a few minutes her feet were black , and they vaccumed that morning , that's how nasty it was , never again will I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Ronda M, Thank you for staying at a non-franchised hotel. We apologize that the accommodations did not meet your expectations, but appreciated that you noted that the hotel was affordably price. As will note from other reviews, we are not a new hotels, but our staff is committed to clean accommodations, and good guest service. We are not a... More 

Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The lady at check in was wonderful & very kind. That was the ONLY thing good there. First we payed to stay night...checked out at 5pm due to roaches. The woman who checked me out was rude as hell...all but accused me of stealing towels. I told her that they were in a pile near tub. I had to wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear MzAdrienne, I apologize that the accommodations at Summer wind did not meet your expectations, and further regret that you found the checkout process to be unsatisfactory. On behalf of the entire management team, we were perplexed by your reference to stolen CC information. We treat these allegations seriously, and adhere to best hotel practices when they are made. No... More 

Golden, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

My son chose Myrtle Beach for his 21st birthday. We stayed @ Summer Wind. It is right on the beach and has an outdoor pool. There are several Putt Putt golf courses, an arcade and amusement park all within walking diatance. The room had a fridge and microwave so we were able to prepare food during the week. Grocery store... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear E Louise, Happy belated birthday to your son! Thank you for celebrating the special occasion at Myrtle Beach and for staying at Summer wind Inn & Suites. Sometimes, we are remiss in not sharing our close proximity to many attractions. I'm sure that other readers will find your review helpful. We hope that you make it tradition and return... More 

Morristown, Tennessee, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When my sister and friend arrived the air was not working.We watched them replace it. We changed our clothes got our things DOUBLE CHECKED the door and went to the beach. We stayed from 1:00-4:00 got ready to go eat and discovered that I had $500 and my friend had $400 MISSING out of our purses.Our purses were in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Terry A, We are terribly sorry that money was missing from your room. Our management team fully cooperated with the Police in this investigation, and followed best hotel operating practices. While we are prohibited from commenting in an open forum about a police matter, other Trip Advisor readers should know that Summer Wind upgraded the room locks and key... More 

Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We reserved non-smoking... first room smelled like cigarettes, 2nd room smelled like weed, 3rd room still smelled like cigarettes, but we gave up because the desk person Michael was obviously disinterested in our satisfaction. Very unpleasant and uncomfortable to be in the room, so we ended up leaving early even though we couldn't get a refund. The hotel is next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear DC Travels, We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay at Summer Wind. Many hotels no longer allow any smoking in the guestrooms, and while we continue to strive to accommodate the needs of all guests, we are terribly sorry that you were inconvenienced by a previous guest who did not observe the non-smoking... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question