We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Summer Wind Inn & Suites

2.0 of 5 1903 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly A Summer Wind Motel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer Wind Inn & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Summer Wind Inn & Suites
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    15
    10
    62
See reviews for
52
32
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Canton, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We were looking for a place to stay a couple nights at Myrtle Beach and we had a coupon for this motel, so we gave it a try. The person at the front desk was very friendly and gave us a room on the 3rd floor. First of all the outside of the motel is run down looking, there is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We didn't make a reservation and called to find out if there was a room. Jason told me he had a few side rooms available and would hold one until we arrived. He quoted a rate over the phone and discounted that once I showed him the coupon book. We ere close to the beach, able to park right outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clover, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The title says it all, this motel is CHEAP! Last year a friend and I went to the beach for July 4th. Because we were on a budget and booked last minute we decided to give this place a try. Before we even left for vacation we went out and bought our own sheets and bug bombs because we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Cassie B, Thank you for staying at Summer Wind. We regret that you experienced an issue with your refrigerator during your stay. It is our maintenance team's goal to insure that items in the room are in working order and we apologize for this inconvenience. More

Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This place is just horrible!!! It is highly expensive for such a rundown place. The stove didn't work and the water in the shower cuts on and off and the hot water isn't hot. I had warmer water with the cold. Roaches began to crawl and they don't allow no extra towels for a family of 7, yet along extra... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Dawn M, We apologize that you were dissatisfied with the accommodations at Summer Wind Inn & Suites. While it is our maintenance team's goal to insure that everything is in good working order, we apologize that there were maintenance issues in your room. Also, we are terribly sorry that other guest's behavior disturbed your vacation. The management team treats... More

Shelbyville, Kentucky
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

this was a very cheap hotel with a high price , is dyer need of a major over haul needs lots of paint , new carpets , my sister went without her shoes and in just a few minutes her feet were black , and they vaccumed that morning , that's how nasty it was , never again will I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Ronda M, Thank you for staying at a non-franchised hotel. We apologize that the accommodations did not meet your expectations, but appreciated that you noted that the hotel was affordably price. As will note from other reviews, we are not a new hotels, but our staff is committed to clean accommodations, and good guest service. We are not a... More

Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

The lady at check in was wonderful & very kind. That was the ONLY thing good there. First we payed to stay night...checked out at 5pm due to roaches. The woman who checked me out was rude as hell...all but accused me of stealing towels. I told her that they were in a pile near tub. I had to wait... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear MzAdrienne, I apologize that the accommodations at Summer wind did not meet your expectations, and further regret that you found the checkout process to be unsatisfactory. On behalf of the entire management team, we were perplexed by your reference to stolen CC information. We treat these allegations seriously, and adhere to best hotel practices when they are made. No... More

Golden, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My son chose Myrtle Beach for his 21st birthday. We stayed @ Summer Wind. It is right on the beach and has an outdoor pool. There are several Putt Putt golf courses, an arcade and amusement park all within walking diatance. The room had a fridge and microwave so we were able to prepare food during the week. Grocery store... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear E Louise, Happy belated birthday to your son! Thank you for celebrating the special occasion at Myrtle Beach and for staying at Summer wind Inn & Suites. Sometimes, we are remiss in not sharing our close proximity to many attractions. I'm sure that other readers will find your review helpful. We hope that you make it tradition and return... More

Morristown, Tennessee, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When my sister and friend arrived the air was not working.We watched them replace it. We changed our clothes got our things DOUBLE CHECKED the door and went to the beach. We stayed from 1:00-4:00 got ready to go eat and discovered that I had $500 and my friend had $400 MISSING out of our purses.Our purses were in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Terry A, We are terribly sorry that money was missing from your room. Our management team fully cooperated with the Police in this investigation, and followed best hotel operating practices. While we are prohibited from commenting in an open forum about a police matter, other Trip Advisor readers should know that Summer Wind upgraded the room locks and key... More

Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We reserved non-smoking... first room smelled like cigarettes, 2nd room smelled like weed, 3rd room still smelled like cigarettes, but we gave up because the desk person Michael was obviously disinterested in our satisfaction. Very unpleasant and uncomfortable to be in the room, so we ended up leaving early even though we couldn't get a refund. The hotel is next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear DC Travels, We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay at Summer Wind. Many hotels no longer allow any smoking in the guestrooms, and while we continue to strive to accommodate the needs of all guests, we are terribly sorry that you were inconvenienced by a previous guest who did not observe the non-smoking... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here this past weekend and I must say this was one of the most awful place I've ever encountered. The rooms are old,carpet is old, strain and smells. To top it off, they only have 3 irons in this entire nasty motel. So my advice to anyone is don't stay here go some where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at Summer Wind Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Ohajia, We are sorry that you were disappointed in the Summer Wind Inn & Suites. As noted throughout Trip Advisor, Summer Wind is an older oceanfront motel. Each staff member strives to provide excellent guest service, and our housekeeping team adheres to best hotel cleaning practices to insure cleanliness. For guests who are looking for franchised hotel type amenities,... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Summer Wind Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Wind Inn & Suites

Address: 1903 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly A Summer Wind Motel)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Wind Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Summer Wind Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Summer Wind Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel a Summer Wind

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay