We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 214 Myrtle Beach hotels

Forest Dunes Resort

5511 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (431)
  • Photos (375)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (100)
  • Location
  • More
Forest Dunes Resort
Ranked #38 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    102
    49
    30
    28
See reviews for
181
112
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Forest Dunes Resort and the only negative was it was listed as Ocean Front yet was across the street from the Ocean. It was a nice place and had a very friendly staff with good furnishings and a beautiful view, but as I mentioned our expectations was there would be nothing but beach between the ocean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were overjoyed with our stay....we loved the customer service from Dona, Traci and Billie when we arrived...they welcomed us with a smile and friendly conversation...and whatever we needed we received it quickly...the beach was fantastic...everything was great!! It was our first time at Myrtle Beach and at forest dunes and we are already planning to come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kettering, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was our fourth year staying at Forest Dunes. It has remarkably gone down hill since 4 years ago. Our room was very outdated. It smelled like mildew & we had to ask the maids to clean it throughout the week. Very disappointed & will not be back. Although, the bar downstairs "Buckets" was the only thing good about this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I will say that at first our visit was a nightmare. We check in and saw our room a mess mildew on pillows, clothes rack falling, hole on sofa cushins and the list goes on. We spoke to a manager Doug Piel and can I tell you customer service is not on the top of his list. We asked him... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. I appreciate your feedback as I intend to absorb your input to learn to do a better job next time. I apologize I was not able to deliver better service from the beginning, but will emphasize I did all the legwork prior to handing over the responsibility to Teresa when she... More

Cleveland, Oh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a week recently and found the overall facility to just be ok. The condo we stayed in was fantastic and truly did not fit in this building. I say this because I got to see some of the others while we were there and we definitely had the nicest place out of all the ones I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had initially just booked a suite with 1 bedroom with a queen bed and sofa bed in living room for 4 of us. It was a little cramped and we really needed a second bathroom, so we were able to get another room just down from ours with 2 double beds and a bath and a half for 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We appreciate you and your feedback. We are sorry your first condo was not as nice as the condo you moved into. Please be assured our owners are constantly investing in updates and improvements. All condos are evaluated for continual improvement and every condo on our rental program has been improved... More

Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very clean, great space, loved the views. I loved that we were away from the busy part of the Grand Strand but close to everything. We stayed on the 16th floor and the floor to ceiling windows were awesome. We will definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes. We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed it here for saying you "WILL STAY HERE AGAIN". We really appreciate you and miss you already - look forward to seeing you again. Please keep in touch with us on facebook where you will find daily posts and pictures to share with your friends... More

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I chose this hotel because it was affordable, and it looked like a nice place to stay. I wrote in the extra details section that I was celebrating MY BIRTHDAY and hoping for an extra special stay. Nobody seemed to have read that detail because it wasn't acknowledged. Instead, I received awful customer service from a woman named Misty, who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay. We are sorry to hear about your less than average experience and assure you the product and service you described here are not typical of Forest Dunes, in fact, they are the exact opposite of what the majority of our guests report. We really appreciate you and wish your birthday experience had... More

Connelly Springs
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have only been here for one night and came in fairly late but am disappointed at the room so far. The A/C does not work too efficiently. We have already found a roach in the kitchen and a spider in one of the beds when we turned back the covers. The furniture is old and stained. The glasses had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments about your stay with us. We are sorry we dropped the ball on meeting your expectations. We wish you had requested to speak to a manager on duty. Had our front desk realized you were not satisfied with their service they would have asked a manager to contact you while you were still with us in... More

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a gesture of bonding and building memories, my Mother booked a room with Forest Dunes. This vacation serves two purposes, a well needed vacation as well as a means of meeting up so my daughter can go back home with my Mother for the summer. Upon arrival to Forest Dunes, my daughter was so excited to see that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Our inspection records indicate the entry door worked properly prior to your arrival and the maintenance technician indicated the lock was damaged by using the deadbolt to keep the door from closing. Slamming the door with the deadbolt out will cause damage to the lock and strike plate alignment. We are sorry you had to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Forest Dunes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Forest Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dunes Resort

Address: 5511 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
Forest Dunes Myrtle Beach

375 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (217)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (66)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (52)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Beach (11)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (68)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach #38 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach #38 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach #39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach #40 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unique oceanfront highrise resort in exclusive Cabana Section, close to everything. One of only a very few non-smoking resorts in Myrtle Beach. Quiet, open beach along residential "Golden Mile". Expansive apartments in cozy complex, amenities of larger resort, stunning Grand Strand views. We enjoy and are proud of our condo's, so you'll find true vacation homes, not sterile rooms. Lots of little extras, with attentive, friendly, full hotel service. Easy parking, excellent bar and grill, exercise trail, year round vacation enjoyment. One and three bedroom units. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
134

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Forest Dunes Resort to your Saves list