We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bluewater Resort

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
2001 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Bluewater Resort
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #139 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014
Jennifer G Knoxville, Tennessee
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    48
    37
    38
    74
See reviews for
121
30
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (251)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (150)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family has stayed at this hotel over the past 10 years. This past trip was a major disappointment for my family. It has actually caused us to consider staying elsewhere on our next visit. We stayed in room 1108. This was the first time that we ended up in a room with a mini fridge- being that we brought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in room 1207 at the Blue Water Resort after seeing a facebook ad for book bio.com which is a timeshare presentation And now I believe that bed bugs have eaten me alive. I slept in the bed furtherest away from the front door. -Kwanza

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jim R, Director of Operations at Bluewater Resort, responded to this review

The unit was checked by a professional bug company and no signs of Bed Bugs were found. All units have bed bug protectors on the mattresses and box springs and all units go through an annual inspection with an outside firm to insure they are free of them. The last inspection was in February of this year. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Do not book this hotel through priceline. They say you are getting a great room . The pics obviously are from the nicer rooms. But they give you the run down side that smells. Asked to be moved, as I am here for 10 more days for work, they said they are booked up. However, when I called they had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

We stayed at the Bluewater Resort through an individual VRBO, so this review will be about the building itself, not about the room. The best thing about the resort is that it's right on the beach. You step outside and you're there, on the sand, in the water. The resort itself was clean. When we arrived, we noticed flyers hanging... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Resort was nice. We stayed in room #616. The only thing that was irritating was check in.We arrived between 2:30-3:00 and we were not able to check in until 4:00. The lady at check in said that housekeeping had not turned in the keys for that room yet. Ok so we left our number to call when room was ready.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We drove down the myrtle beach without any reservations on what turned out to be a busy weekend . We found room available at the Blue Water Resort which turned out to be a good place to stay . Our room was a little dated but it was clean and it had plenty of room. Pools, hot tubs & saunas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Wilkes Barre PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We rented a condo from the owner not the resort. The resort was ok, nothing to brag about. They state they have a lazy river, however, it is across the street from the main bldg, and it was so small it actually made me laugh. There are 2 pools on the side of the building, but they never get any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Jim R, Dir of Operations at Bluewater Resort, responded to this review

Since this is a condo hotel, all units are owned by different owners and the common areas are controlled by the Homeowners Association. These comments will be passed on to them. The office is controlled by a management team that has only half of the units under its control. We only service guests of our units. The rest must consult... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This hotel was on the ocean and had a bar and grill out back, with a pool. If there was a day the ocean was too rough you could just hop into the pool. The resort has 2 buildings and 5 pools. I stayed here with my daughter and my friends and their kids. Not a bad price if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

My family stayed in room 616 which was the worst stay I have ever had on Myrtle Beach since I've been visiting for the last 20 years. I will never stay at your resort ever again not even for free. There was sand on the floors, mold in the shower, rust on the refrigerator and the bathroom and dishwasher smelled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Jim R, Dir of Operations at Bluewater Resort, responded to this review

After this blistering report on this unit, I had to see what was wrong with this unit. The unit is in very good shape with tile floors and updated furnishings. Could there have been sand on the floor, yes but the bath showed no signs of mildew. If a guest that is a late arrival, fails to check in the... More 

Chesapeake, VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed in room 205 on the Ocean Front and the AC didn't work right. The TVs were from 1999. The room was dusty and barely clean. The worst place out of seven trips. Stay away from this place. You can do better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Jim R, Dir of Operations at Bluewater Resort, responded to this review

The assessment of this unit is not correct. To say that it is old is true but to call it a dump is not correct. Each unit is individually owned and because of that, each owner is responsible for all furnishing. Some of the owners do a great job of keeping their units up to date while others do not.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

156 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (136)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question