We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carolina Tarheel Motel

1801 Withers Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel amenities
Carolina Tarheel Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #128 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Chessiemaye Dunnsville, Virginia
Add Photo Write a Review

10 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    4
    2
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (10)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Dunnsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It is a good hotel , good value,very clean rooms,close to all , i will stay there again when in Myrtle Beach,the staff is very friendly. it is worth saving the extra money from staying on the beach, it is across the street from the beach walking distance to the board walk, and restaurants,for a cheap get away it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William B, Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am going to start with the positives here: my family (2 adults, 2 teens and 1 child) booked this motel for 2 night's arriving on July 9th. The room was basic but large, with 2 queen size beds and lots of space around them, a good size bathroom and a good size kitchen area and it was very clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
William B, Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the lack of a phone in the room. It is in the process of being resolved. We are currently working with our internet provider to increase our or wife's range and speed. More 

Banner Elk, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a nice stay at the Carolina Tarheel Motel. It is an older motel, but very clean, quiet and in a great location. Can't beat it for the price. The staff was friendly, the ac was cold and it had a family-friendly atmosphere. We will be staying again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
William B, Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do strive to maintain a family-friendly atmosphere, and we hope that you will return to see us again soon. More 

3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked accomodation on Expedia, turned up & was told my booking was cancelled even though I had text & email confirmation from Expedia. The family run hotel had no rooms left, obviously got a better rate from a walk in....left stranded it cost us an extra $40US to find something else. Most of all he couldn't care less....DO NOT STAY... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
William B, Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

We would never cancel a reservation because we thought we could get a better rate from someone else. You had a text that confirmed that you made a reservation through Expedia. The hotel had not confirmed your reservation due to an issue with your credit card. I provided you with the cancellation letter through Expedia. It is unfair to say... More 

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Stockholm, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

To start off. . The tub drainer has paint over it to hide the rust Mirror cracked and peeling Room smells like chlorine Ac not properly installed(you can see outside from inside) TV is clearly broken and has a purple green fade to it Bedspread smelt like dirty laundry Office was not open for us to check in and get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William B, Manager at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I wish you would have expressed these concerns with management while you were here. We do use bleach to clean the bathrooms, and it is possible that is the chlorine smell you referred to. I would also like to apologize if your room was not ready upon your arrival. We... More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

After shopping weekly room rates for weeks I decided to stay at The Carolina Tarheel based on the price and location. My room including the refrigerator and microwave is spotless and my shower curtain is brand new. When I checked in my window air conditioning unit did not turn on. when I reported it to the Manager on Duty he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
north carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

The big NO REFUND sign when we checked in should have warned me. But the price seemed reasonable. ($50 per night). I asked about the pool when we checked in because the sign said heated pool but the pool looked dirty. He said it wasn't open yet. I asked him did that make people change their minds he said the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
CarolinaTarheelMB, owner at Carolina Tarheel Motel, responded to this review

Not once did this guest come to management with any complaints. If they weren't satisfied when they checked into their room, they should have come right back to the office and explained why they were not content. They easily could have been moved to another room or given a refund. We have never denied a valid refund request. The pool... More 

North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

We were able to get away to Myrtle Beach for a weekend and we ended up staying at the Carolina Tarheel. We checked rates across the street at an oceanfront hotel, and they wanted over $100 a night, but the rate at the Carolina Tarheel was only $45 plus tax. It's a nice, small, family-owned property, and it was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

OK, to be fair let me first say that this is not the kind of accomodations I would normally stay in. We were actually in Myrtle Beach looking for an Oceanfront place to relocate to. Because of complications at another hotel, we ended up staying at the Tar Heel for a night because it was the first place we could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2006

We recently stumbled upon the Carolina Tarheel at 1801 Withers Drive. This quaint motel is just a block away from Ocean Blvd., so it's much quieter than motels on the Blvd., but we could still see the ocean from our window and walk across the street to the beach. A lot of the rooms have the most beatifully tiled floors,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.5 mi away
Wave Rider Resort
Wave Rider Resort
#140 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Grand Strand
Days Inn Grand Strand
#144 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
3.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Clarion Hotel & Conference Cente...
#104 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
5.1 mi away
Super 8 Myrtle Beach/Market Common Area
Super 8 Myrtle Beach/Market Comm...
#138 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hurl Rock Motel
Hurl Rock Motel
#132 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay