We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

Hotel website
Hotel packages
5401 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    61
    26
    30
    26
See reviews for
155
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (221)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

WARNING!! The employees here are extremely rude. In particular an employee named Dennis who must work with the golf cart rentals. We took our cart back because it would not charge after having it on the charger for 4 hours (only had the cart for 10 hours, 4 trips to the pool). He told us it takes 8 hours to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. The golf cart rentals are a separate company from PirateLand but it sounds like maybe a PirateLand employee was trying to help you after their rental office had closed for the day? I'm unsure and we do not have record of your complaints at our office. All of our employees are here to help... More 

Shickshinny, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our trip here to Pirateland campground. Staff is friendly and courteous. We stayed in the 600 area our door faced away from the ocean. First couple of days weather was great easy access to beach. Then tropical storm came ashore. Nothing no one could do about that. We will definitely be back next year and maybe even stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bridgewater, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the largest camp ground that we have ever been to. Everyone was nice, but when we checked in they didn't tell us that the lot we chose was having construction being done both days we visited there. It was noisy from 8:00am to 3:30pm each day. It was hard to sit outside and enjoy the weather with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a vacation rental at Pirateland for 5 nights this week. My husband was in charge of finding a place to stay and well, he failed. We ended up at Pirateland late on Sunday, just before a severe thunderstorm hit. Luckily they had plenty of availability and after I told the clerk what we wanted, he came up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boiling Springs, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

We stayed here for 8 days the first of this month and enjoyed every minute of it. We stayed on site 731 and were one site back from the beach. I must say the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the electricity at first but Madison in Maintenance was very nice to keep a check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We greatly appreciate your kind words and it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

we booked to have a premium pull thru with concrete pad!. But like most oceanfront campgrounds $$ rules and space on our site was just barely wide enough for out awning. Grass had NOT be cut since last year. Roads are similar to other oceanfront campgrounds very narrow to allow for more sites and campers. Indoor pool was terrible and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. The campground is oceanfront and as you said, most private oceanfront campgrounds utilize the space to the max. Not something we try and hide; anyone can see the campground in a variety of ways online. Anyone in the area can certainly take a tour of the park before staying. I suggest first time visitors at least... More 

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

we stayed for 10 days and only got a warm shower once unless we walked to a different bath house. The bathrooms were always dirty and tp was always missing. When we called to let them know they told us to just go to a different bath house. Some of the staff was great but a lot were rude and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. It’s disheartening that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. When we get a call that a bathhouse needs attention our protocol is to send someone there to take care of the issue. I would like to know with whom you spoke so we can ensure our staff is giving the customer service... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

No campfires or even fires in your grill. No scooters and no personal golf carts.I suppose this is for them to sell rentals. Sewer smell issue. FiND another place. The truth............................

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Some of what you have said is not really “the truth”. I apologize if you were misinformed about any of our policies. During the dates of your stay we were allowing open wood burning campfires (we stop for the busy time of the year which this year was April 1st;... More 

Virginia
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
66 hotel reviews
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Stayed here for a week. Overall, enjoyed the stay. We were 50 yards from the beach. This is a large park but it was the off season so there were plenty of spaces available. Paved internal roads with enough room for our 40' MH. Our site had a long and level cement pad but was a little tight and narrow.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

We found this campground had little to offer compared to those down the street. Campground needs much TLC and lacks many amenities compared to others in the area. Beach access was a plus. Satellite signal had no issue. Verizon phones are able to maintain a 4g signal. Pull-thru sites are available. Campsites include a covered patio with picnic table. Campground... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It's great to hear some of your positive comments but we're sorry you were not totally satisfied with your experience, We are smaller than the other two parks you mentioned and in November a lot of our seasonal amenities are closed. Currently our indoor pool is open and our seasonal... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities