We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Myrtle Beach accommodations

Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

Save Saved
You added Pirateland Oceanfront Campground to your Saves list
5401 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (201)
  • Photos (86)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (24)
  • Location
  • More
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    53
    24
    29
    23
See reviews for
144
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

For the most part, we enjoyed our time here. The pool temperature was perfect and we never wanted to leave it. The lazy river was really too warm though, especially considering there was a heat wave when we were there. Like taking a too hot bath. The kids loved the pirate ship play area, it was really nice. The pools... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our third year at Pirateland and each time we've had a wonderful time. We rented a camper from Coastline RV Rental all three years and have always have good luck with our rental camper. The campground is clean and safe. There is on site security who ride the entire campground on golf carts. This year we had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Campground is pretty well located on the strip. 15 min drive down to the boardwalk area and a 15-20 min to Murrells Inlet area and about 1 hr 25 min to Charleston. We camped here early July 2014, we had a site in the Beach Area (yellow sites on the map). There are a lot of people here and while... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

OK let's start with I am girly! So camping even with a camper did not sound fun. This place changed my mind. First its ocean front. Second each campsite is spacious.(With super clean bath houses) Their there's no reason to have to leave as there is plenty to do. The obvious, the beach, with access right there. There's a mini... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ithaca, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the vacation rentals, 1003. We were pleasantly surprised upon entering the camper. Keep in mind this is essentially a mobile home, it has a spacious common area, a bunk room and two bedrooms, a very functional bathroom and a full kitchen and fridge. There is an eating area and a couch, plus a TV. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family went the weekend of 8-10-14 most patrol people were rude. I was told to go home when I was walking to the restroom about 11:00pm, we brought our own golf cart not knowing you have to rent from them, I called & asked them before hand. Went to office after my son was punctured in the ankle by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay; especially that your son was stung by a stingray in the ocean as that is a very painful and terrifying experience. Also not very common in this area; we more often see jellyfish stings. I apologize if any of our crew members were rude to you and/or gave you incorrect... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a great family place to enjoy with everybody. The RV site are nice and roomy. The swimming pool and lazy river are relaxing. The new kiddy pool and pirate ship is a blast. The beach has easy access and is very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the first time we had camped here. I must say I was shocked at the small size of the campsites. I have never stayed at a campground that was this crowded before, but we gave it a try. It's a very busy campground, lots of golf carts. We were only about 100 yards from the beach so that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've been coming since I was a baby. It's still great. It's big but easy to get around. Roads are busy with gold carts but not overcrowded. Everybody who camps here is very friendly. pools, lazy river, store, arcade and more. The beach is beautiful and clean. Bathrooms/bathhouse are what you would expect, not gonna be perfect but that's camping.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review the park! We are very lucky to border such a beautiful part of the coast and it's really great to hear your family enjoys many aspects of the campground! Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to your next visit! More

Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very dirty site had all kinds of litter. had to clean before we parked. sites are small. poor planning went into sewer and water access. not located at the back of site as you would expect take extra sewer and water hose.bathhouses are small damp and no hot water after checking many times during the week.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

We are sorry about the inconveniences you experience. We are in receipt of your email and as stated in our response we wish you would have let us know while you were here. We would have gladly sent someone to take care of any issues. It looks like you have stayed with us several times. Great suggestion about extra cords/hoses... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Pirateland Oceanfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

Address: 5401 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Myrtle Beach

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Myrtle Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pirateland Oceanfront Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer