We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Myrtle Beach accommodations

Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

Save Saved
You added Pirateland Oceanfront Campground to your Saves list
5401 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (197)
  • Photos (86)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (24)
  • Location
  • More
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    51
    24
    29
    23
See reviews for
142
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in one of the vacation rentals, 1003. We were pleasantly surprised upon entering the camper. Keep in mind this is essentially a mobile home, it has a spacious common area, a bunk room and two bedrooms, a very functional bathroom and a full kitchen and fridge. There is an eating area and a couch, plus a TV. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family went the weekend of 8-10-14 most patrol people were rude. I was told to go home when I was walking to the restroom about 11:00pm, we brought our own golf cart not knowing you have to rent from them, I called & asked them before hand. Went to office after my son was punctured in the ankle by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great family place to enjoy with everybody. The RV site are nice and roomy. The swimming pool and lazy river are relaxing. The new kiddy pool and pirate ship is a blast. The beach has easy access and is very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the first time we had camped here. I must say I was shocked at the small size of the campsites. I have never stayed at a campground that was this crowded before, but we gave it a try. It's a very busy campground, lots of golf carts. We were only about 100 yards from the beach so that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been coming since I was a baby. It's still great. It's big but easy to get around. Roads are busy with gold carts but not overcrowded. Everybody who camps here is very friendly. pools, lazy river, store, arcade and more. The beach is beautiful and clean. Bathrooms/bathhouse are what you would expect, not gonna be perfect but that's camping.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review the park! We are very lucky to border such a beautiful part of the coast and it's really great to hear your family enjoys many aspects of the campground! Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to your next visit! More

Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very dirty site had all kinds of litter. had to clean before we parked. sites are small. poor planning went into sewer and water access. not located at the back of site as you would expect take extra sewer and water hose.bathhouses are small damp and no hot water after checking many times during the week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

We are sorry about the inconveniences you experience. We are in receipt of your email and as stated in our response we wish you would have let us know while you were here. We would have gladly sent someone to take care of any issues. It looks like you have stayed with us several times. Great suggestion about extra cords/hoses... More

Joppa, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family has been coming here for years .. my kids have made so many friends they meet same time every year. The beach the atmosphere the friendliness is perfect.the sites are great . The golf cart ride at night is so fun. Everyone loves it . I think if you dont like the music or the kids having fun... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing you experience with future travelers! It's great to hear your family enjoys the summer atmosphere here and we are very lucky to border such a beautiful beach! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again! More

Corinth, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our third year staying at Pirateland RV park and I can't say enough regarding family fun. Sure, the campground is rather full, but that is because everyone wants to go there. There are numerous amenities for adults and children including the Lazy River, two swimming pools, miniature golf, basketball, fishing, paddleboating, and the beautiful beach. Everyone from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to review your stay! It's great to hear your family enjoys the park and our facilities! Great suggestion about booking early! The summer does book up pretty quickly especially July! We look forward to seeing you again and really appreciate your feedback! More

Hickory
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It isn't the best campground I've been to, but I enjoyed the golf carts and beach. Cruising is always a good time, even though patrol has seemed to take over. Pool is always overcrowded and there are some rambunctious teens, but overall it's usually a good stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
south bend, in
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We camp a lot....and usually have great luck in finding campgrounds that work for our family. This one is loved by others, but it was definitely NOT what we were expecting. It is HUGE. Seriously. HUGE. It felt more like a giant parking lot than a campground. We were there in mid-July 2014 and found it to be very crowded.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay! Your comments lead me to wonder how many campgrounds in Myrtle Beach you have stayed in. We are a large park (one among many in the area) and we are the smallest of the three oceanfront parks on the south end of Myrtle Beach. The park is about 180 acres. Being oceanfront, sites are... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Pirateland Oceanfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

Address: 5401 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Hotel Myrtle Beach
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground Myrtle Beach

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (23)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Myrtle Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pirateland Oceanfront Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer