We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pirateland Oceanfront Campground

Hotel website
Hotel packages
5401 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575
Pirateland Oceanfront Campground
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    59
    26
    30
    25
See reviews for
152
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Boiling Springs, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 8 days the first of this month and enjoyed every minute of it. We stayed on site 731 and were one site back from the beach. I must say the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the electricity at first but Madison in Maintenance was very nice to keep a check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We greatly appreciate your kind words and it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we booked to have a premium pull thru with concrete pad!. But like most oceanfront campgrounds $$ rules and space on our site was just barely wide enough for out awning. Grass had NOT be cut since last year. Roads are similar to other oceanfront campgrounds very narrow to allow for more sites and campers. Indoor pool was terrible and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. The campground is oceanfront and as you said, most private oceanfront campgrounds utilize the space to the max. Not something we try and hide; anyone can see the campground in a variety of ways online. Anyone in the area can certainly take a tour of the park before staying. I suggest first time visitors at least... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed for 10 days and only got a warm shower once unless we walked to a different bath house. The bathrooms were always dirty and tp was always missing. When we called to let them know they told us to just go to a different bath house. Some of the staff was great but a lot were rude and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. It’s disheartening that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. When we get a call that a bathhouse needs attention our protocol is to send someone there to take care of the issue. I would like to know with whom you spoke so we can ensure our staff is giving the customer service... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No campfires or even fires in your grill. No scooters and no personal golf carts.I suppose this is for them to sell rentals. Sewer smell issue. FiND another place. The truth............................

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Some of what you have said is not really “the truth”. I apologize if you were misinformed about any of our policies. During the dates of your stay we were allowing open wood burning campfires (we stop for the busy time of the year which this year was April 1st;... More 

Virginia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
57 hotel reviews
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Stayed here for a week. Overall, enjoyed the stay. We were 50 yards from the beach. This is a large park but it was the off season so there were plenty of spaces available. Paved internal roads with enough room for our 40' MH. Our site had a long and level cement pad but was a little tight and narrow.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

We found this campground had little to offer compared to those down the street. Campground needs much TLC and lacks many amenities compared to others in the area. Beach access was a plus. Satellite signal had no issue. Verizon phones are able to maintain a 4g signal. Pull-thru sites are available. Campsites include a covered patio with picnic table. Campground... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
VCarmody, Rental Manager at Pirateland Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It's great to hear some of your positive comments but we're sorry you were not totally satisfied with your experience, We are smaller than the other two parks you mentioned and in November a lot of our seasonal amenities are closed. Currently our indoor pool is open and our seasonal... More 

Hudson, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

We love Pirateland we have been going twice a years for about 14 years now. They just added a nice splash park great for kids! I personally love the lazy river . It a nice place to relax. We have rented the chalets and brought our rv, Both were good. It would be nice if they updated the chalets a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

We visited Pirateland Campground in November, 2014. It was our first long trip with our new Sunset Trail 290qb...What a fantastic campground for families it is!! We will definitely return but I doubt it will be during prime season for two reasons. 1. campsites are pretty close to one another (which was fine the dates we visited as there were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I did some primitive tent camping here and enjoyed my visit. I had a dog with me and we had and awesome time. One little thing, it rained and our tent leaked; however, we were able to go to the camping supply store and get some silicone spray and that worked find. They drive around the campground with a golf... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mount Airy, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Overall this is a great family campground with awesome access to the beach and kids activities. The kids loved how close we are to the beach and riding around on the golf carts during the day and cruising at night. The cons...the bathroom facilities are not great (we had a pop up and as soon as we left our 8... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question