We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandcastle South Beach Resort

Hotel website
2207 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

665 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    255
    174
    90
    58
    88
See reviews for
277
190
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (665)
  • Mar-May only
    (127)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (316)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (169)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were so excited to stay at the ocean for such a great price. We were very mistaken with choosing this property! The hotel was extremely outdated and overall the experience was awful! We were in a room on the 5th floor with two queen beds, a seating area and a small kitchen. The beds and bathrooms were covered in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grovetown, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I must first acknowledge that me and my family were very pleased by the upgrades done on our timeshare on the 11th floor. Very modern look with new furniture and appliances. A few issues: # 1 - the large frig and complete stove were replaced with a smaller dorm size frig and stove with no oven. This is a timeshare... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jud S, General Manager at Sandcastle South Beach Resort, responded to this review

We would like to take the time to thank you for your recent review. There are a few things I wanted to clarify regarding your concerns expressed. With the renovations on your floor (that we do not own) they upgraded everything to their standards. We apologize they did not supply you with a DVD player this year and removed the... More 

Gastonia, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You have to BEG to get clean towels, wash rags, dish rags, toilet paper and trash bags. Didn't ask for any other services because I make sure the towels are outside for easy pick up including the trash and I even make our beds everyday. We are not hard to please at all but without these crucial things, its impossible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jud S, General Manager at Sandcastle South Beach Resort, responded to this review

I can not stress enough how disappointed I was to read your review. Housekeeping is a service that should be provided on a daily basis to our guests. We recommend any and all complaints go directly to our management staff while on property. It is because of feedback from guests that we are able to access any issues and fix... More 

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am writing a real time review. We are here for our first out of three night stay. 3 outlets had no plate covers, headboard to Murphy bed had stains and dust bunnies and spiders webs behind it. Front staff nice, sent maintenance and housekeeping. However, HVAC unit blew at 9:00pm and room smells like smoke. Kids are currently sleeping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jud S, General Manager at Sandcastle South Beach Resort, responded to this review

It is very disheartening to hear your feedback. Though, I have looked into the issues you encountered during your stay. I do see where the front desk was able to get you moved over to another unit. I apologize sincerely for the housekeeping standards as well. I can assure you we are taking extreme measures to correct the situation. We... More 

nc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I try to be fair with my reviews, both good and bad. We have stayed at Sandcastle South at least 4 times before, and always been very pleased. That's why I didn't hesitate to book our stay last weekend for a long weekend. I knew it would be nice with no problems. I had every confidence. I know bad things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jud S, General Manager at Sandcastle South Beach Resort, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your honesty and feedback. It brings great concern to me that housekeeping was not up to par. We love our repeat guests and try our best to take care of each and every one. We take ALL of our feedback very seraiously and can assure you we are taking extreme measures to correct... More 

Summerfield, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The first few days were fine. The cleaning lady came one day when we were in the room and asked if we needed anything. I guess she didn't want to clean since we were there. I asked her to give us some towels. I assumed she would give us washcloths as well, but didn't. The next day, no one came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jud S, General Manager at Sandcastle South Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some honest feedback. It is because of honest reviews that we are able to access and take corrective measures on any complaints and/or concerns. It is very disheartening to hear your stay with us was anything but pleasant. It brings me great surprise to hear the front desk did not... More 

Lexington, SC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose to stay at the Sandcastle because we’ve stayed there before and the prices are more affordable than some of the newer hotels. We were disappointed in our 3rd floor room because it was a bit out dated and had a funny moldy smell. I even tried spraying perfume and airing it out by opening the balcony door but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the double queen room with a murphy bed (suite) It was fabulous. The lazy river was so nice and the pools and hot tubs were great. Location was fabulous and it was well worth the money. There were 6 in our group and we had a blast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jud S, General Manager at Sandcastle South Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear your stay with us was great! Please keep a look out for specials and promotions we run on our website and via email. We look forward to having you back next year! Paige Franks Assistant GM More 

Chesapeake, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed at the Sandcastle South several times and sadly, this place has steadily gone downhill every year, to the point that I will be finding somewhere new next year. The prices aren't bad if you book early but this time I waited too late and got what was available for a bit higher price than previous years. I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I will start by saying that I am torn as I write this review- I'll start with the positive side: I can say that the location is perfect, all the rooms are beach front, you get great views and the room we rented, the Executive Suite is big and spacious. It could fit a family of 6 perfectly well. Kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Lazy river(18)
  • Outdoor pool(6)
  • Very clean(5)
  • Hot tub(5)
  • Ocean front(4)
  • Parking garage(3)
  • Great Place(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

583 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (174)
Viewed
Room/suite (63)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (397)
Viewed
Amenities (1)
Viewed
Beach (4)
Viewed
Deluxe Efficiency Room (40)
Viewed
Deluxe Ocean Front Suite (39)
Viewed
Efficiency Room (38)
Viewed
Executive Efficiency Room (38)
Viewed
Executive Ocean Front King Room (39)
Viewed
Executive Ocean Front Suite (49)
Viewed
Ocean Front Room (36)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)
Viewed
Two Room Suite (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.0 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#112 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#111 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#103 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.5 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#105 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay