We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 216 Myrtle Beach hotels

Sandcastle South Beach Resort

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2207 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sandcastle South Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
69%
Ranked #100 of 216 hotels in Myrtle Beach
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
grog1561 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Overview
  • Reviews (603)
  • Photos (569)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (105)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

603 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    158
    71
    52
    73
See reviews for
247
178
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honea Path, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel many times through the years but the maintenance and service has gone down hill. We stayed there July 2014 and was checked into a room that hadn't been cleaned with beds unmade and towels everywhere. The clerk said it would be four hours before the room could be cleaned or he could give us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First off..my tip of the hat to both Ryan and Shea at the front desk for outstanding customer service support, listening, understanding and correcting actions within their scope. As for the facility; poor maintenance and conditions; room facilities were not repaired or maintained; cable on TV not working, old TVs, air conditioning vents broken, kitchen cabinets broken; maintenance promised batteries... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just visited for a week, Wed prior to Wed after Labor Day. Some common areas needed some TLC but it was the end of the season and another SC summer. The staff was great and Lacey, the bar tender at the cabana, gave a great recommendation to Capt Benjamin's which was great. The suite was comfortable and the view fantastic!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Manager was nice when we were leaving. Scale of 1 to 5 it would get 2.5. Probably will not stay again. Outdated kitchen with old furniture in room. Musty old smells and wet carpet around air conditioning units. Room service was average. Balcony was nasty with floor cracked in spots and plastic chair nasty. Management was not friendly until we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jud S, General Manager at Sandcastle South Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment about the resort. I'm very sorry to hear about your unpleasant stay with us. We do take all of our guests comments seriously and put them to use. As of 9/02/2014 we have put new flooring in the elevators. We are also In the process of revamping our units. I would like... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We'll first of all, the room was not clean; the floor was dirty, and bathroom wasn't clean either. Then to make matters worst, the service sucked -- it took 1 1/2 hour to get the toilet serviced. There were no washcloths. And get this, cockroaches were at the door, and in the hallway -- just a mess. I will never... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abingdon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at this hotel several times in the past 10 years. Although the rooms have been upgraded with newer furnishings, it still seems a little tired. Our room was clean, as always. The registration staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our room did not have washcloths when we checked in, but they were brought to the door within... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you're expecting luxury, don't go, but if you want a decent beach hotel with an oceanfront room and comfy beds, this is the place for you. The views are great, the higher up the better, and you're steps from the sand. The rooms could use some updating, but they're clean. We've stayed here in the past and probably will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed this labor day weekend. I would not recommend this place due to poor service. We complained about the poor WIFI connectivity and little action was taken to rectify the problem. They do not replace the condiments in the rooms in timely manner. In addition, the elevators are poorly maintained - wet and have malodor. I loved the location... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jud S, General Manager at Sandcastle South Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor. I am very sorry to hear about your stay with the Sandcastle South. We take all of our guest comments and put them to use. We are in the process of getting new floors in the elevators. Unfortunately due to the holiday weekend we were unable to have a... More

Roxboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here one other time and it was nice but the second time we stayed in August the week before Labor Day , it was bad the room was dirty the cleaning staff would take the dirty towels n wash clothes but would not leave wash clothes we had to go down to the office and ask .... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harrisville, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good part of this resort is that everyone has an ocean frontview. It's in a good location, staff was friendly. This is an older resort with not many updates. Ice machines were old and usually not working, elevators had no air conditioning which was a real problem when the weather was in the high 90's and elevator was full.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sandcastle South Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sandcastle South Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle South Beach Resort

Address: 2207 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandcastle South Beach Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Sandcastle South Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandcastle Hotel Myrtle Beach

569 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (161)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (58)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (397)
Viewed
Amenities (1)
Viewed
Beach (4)
Viewed
Deluxe Efficiency Room (40)
Viewed
Deluxe Ocean Front Suite (39)
Viewed
Efficiency Room (38)
Viewed
Executive Efficiency Room (38)
Viewed
Executive Ocean Front King Room (39)
Viewed
Executive Ocean Front Suite (49)
Viewed
Ocean Front Room (36)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)
Viewed
Two Room Suite (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Myrtle Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach #100 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach #100 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sandcastle South Beach is located in Myrtle Beach South Carolina. Accommodations to please everyone will entice you to stay longer. Pools, jacuzzi, whirlpools, kiddie pool, and endless river ride offer a wide variety of water sports. Our Sandcastle South Restaurant, Oceans 22 Lounge, and seasonal poolside cabana bar will help to make your vacation a memorable experience. Sun bathe on the oceanfront lawn. Leave your footprints in our sand! Wake to the sound of gentle breezes and breathtaking waves, see the reflection of the sunrise dancing on the blue water. The view from your balcony will take your breath away. Enjoy it all with us. The place to be. The place to come back to. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
242

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sandcastle South Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer