We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 214 Myrtle Beach hotels

Ocean Plaza Motel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ocean Plaza Motel to your Saves list
Ocean Plaza Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
31%
Ranked #176 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    25
    16
    70
See reviews for
48
39
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had reservations for 5 rooms. Got there on fri. 4-4-2014 thru 4-6-2014. On fri. we checked in about 2 pm--took our things to rooms and------rm.201, actually had feces ALL over the room including the area where bed was. Rm. 202, NOTHING was cleaned, beds weren't even made, the old towels weren't taken out (this was w/most our room!!) We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
myrtle beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had reservations with ocean plaza and after arriving had extended my stay an extra 3 days.when housekeeping came to the room which was 30 min after checkout she told me if I didn't leave the room she was calling the police. she treated me like a criminal before I was able to say one word.if u think your getting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Havelock, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is not easy to see from the road and parking is awful. Front desk service was the worst I have ever had. Cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. The pool looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in about three years. You get what you pay for. Spring for the extra money for a nicer place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walhalla, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I got here at midnight and were afraid we wouldn't be able to check in because the lobby was closed. Thankfully we were able to check in through the Polynesian resort next door. Checking in took forever with a less than friendly receptionist. There were a bunch of drunks in the lobby trying to check in (I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was the worst place we have ever stayed at. Made a bad experience to visit South Carolina. The place was so moldy it made you sick. Water drip through the ceiling from the unit above. Towels left in the bathroom from the previous guests. Coffee pot in room, but if you need coffee they will sell you some at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Easley, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I expected to be staying in a "beach style" hotel with remnants of sand. Not here. Really clean, newly remodeled and a great price. Also very energy efficient. If you open your sliding door to the balcony, the A/C goes off until it's closed again. Makes sense to me! We attended a wedding down the street. Friendly people and an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest with us again in the future. If there is anything that you may need, please do not hesitate to contact... More

Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked this room for several nights. At first I was over all pleased with my stay. After two nights in the hotel we found two large cockroaches in our room one by the air conditioner and the other in the bathroom. We also notice that the cabinet in the kitchen area smelled of mold. The over all condition of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. I thank you for voicing your concerns and bringing these issues to our attention. I will make sure that your complaints are forwarded to the... More

Townsend, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was pleased with this location. Vacationing on a budget, we took pains to find the most affordable oceanfront hotel with a kitchen in order to save on meals, and my expectations were mostly exceeded. After reading many reviews, I wasn't surprised by the older building or unenthusiastic front desk crew and opted to bring extra shampoo and toilet paper... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest with us again in the future. If there is anything that you may need, please do not hesitate to contact... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Do not waste your money on this place. It is dirty, the room was full of mold and there was blood on the door. The pool and pool area were not cleaned. The staff are very rude and the towels were all stained. This place needs to be shut down by the health department.

Was this review helpful? Yes
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out an online comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your recent stay with us. It is not typical for housekeeping to be lacking in the services that you have mentioned in your complaint, however... More

Gaston, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was at the hotel on Aug.25th thru Sept. 1st. The day we arrived we were entering the room and the key broke off in the door. We then had to ask for toilet paper and our sheets were never changed. A maid walked in the room while my son was in the shower and actually knocked on the bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out an online comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your recent stay with us. It is not typical for housekeeping to be lacking in the services that you have mentioned in your complaint, however... More

Been to Ocean Plaza Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Motel

Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Plaza Hotel
Ocean Plaza Myrtle Beach
Address: 1005 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#176 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Plaza Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Plaza Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Plaza Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.