We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

South Wind On The Ocean

Certificate of Excellence
5310 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
South Wind On The Ocean
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    51
    20
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
62
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Rixeyville, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a four bedroom condo that was very nice and spacious! Great location, too! Our balcony was very big with great views! The best thing was the area is quiet! Next to us is Beach Colony and it's very busy and noisy. Great family area with pools or the beach. Happy with our choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Four Oaks, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a great vacation. The hotel was very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. It was quiet and relaxing. We had a very spacious and well maintained suite. There was a small incident with a broken towel rack but the staff had it repaired within the hour it was reported. Parking was easy. Without any hotel hassles, we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently went on vacation with my wife, parents, siblings, and nieces/nephews. Since there were a total of 11 of us, we decided to pool our resources and rent a five-bedroom unit at South Wind on the Ocean for five days. The online photos and recent reviews convinced us that this would be a great property for a family vacation.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our condo was filthy and the carpets/tile flooring were stained and disgustingly dirty. Housekeeping was terrible. The pools/hotubs were good and it was a direct ocean view condo but overall our experience here was terrible and will not return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carey B, General Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear JJ0333, Thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us. It is always disappointing to hear that we have not met our guest's expectations and I can assure you that it is not a normal occurrence at South Wind on the Ocean. I hope that you reconsider and give us a second chance to help you have the... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The South Wind building is very attractive and the amenities and property are well cared for. It sits in a quiet residential section with a Starbucks two resorts over. The sweeping balcony views are amazing and so enjoyable for sunrise and fireworks from the beach. The Shuttle Bus stop is just on the corner and you can go into town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carey B, General Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear MickeySueChe1e, I am sorry to hear that your vacation experience was not the one you were looking for. While we are not responsible for the unit that you were in, we would like to encourage you to take advantage of the beautiful and spacious condos that South Wind on the Ocean can provide. Please contact us directly next time... More 

East Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just left this amazing ocean front resort. Views are absolutely amazing, with North Myrtle able to be seen, especially at night, to your left. Great view of Wednesday fireworks to your right in Myrtle itself. Southwind is Very clean, in a nice clean area of Mid-Myrtle Beach. Condos are very well equipped, housekeeping will stop by about every other day,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carey B, General Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear momspicky, Thank you for choosing Southwind on the Ocean for your trip to Myrtle Beach. We are very happy to hear that you had another great visit and that you were impressed with the cleanliness of the resort and the great people that we have working for us. We are looking forward to having you back again soon and... More 

Alabaster, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

The good: The building and pools are all in great shape. Our family had a great time using the pool area and it's just a short walk over the dunes to the beach. The 5 bedroom unit was plenty big enough for our large family and we even turned the master closet into a bedroom for some of the kids.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carey B, General Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear NickKopp, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I am glad to hear that overall you had a good experience but I can assure you that the issues that you brought to our attention will be looked into. It is our job to give our guests the best experience and it is disappointing... More 

Statesville, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

My family of 8 stayed at Southwinds in the latter part of June. On a positive note, it is a nice place in an excellent location that is not crowded at all! On a not-so-positive note, be prepared to clean your own condo and be sure and take plenty of your own towels and toilet paper. Toward the end of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carey B, General Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Rhonda T, We hate to hear that you're not certain you will be returning to stay with us again and want to apologize for the shortcomings that you experienced. We have made some recent changes which we think will help us operate at a level that we expect and will leave a positive lasting impression on our guests and... More 

galax,virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

The good experience first. We had a nice large condo that had nice furnishings. The location was ideal for our family of 8. Now for the worst of our experience. We don't know how nice Laura was because she was not working nor was anyone in the office except from 9 AM to 4 PM. Every time we dialed, next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carey B, General Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Aldermans, We are very sorry to see that your visit was not a pleasant one with us and that we dropped the ball where housekeeping was concerned. It is our responsibility is to ensure that our guests are having a great and relaxing time, and I apologize that did not make that happen for. We do hope that you... More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

This was our first year at South Wind and we enjoyed it immensely. Located in a fairly residential area - no traffic and very quiet. The staff was very helpful and polite at all times - a special mention and thank you to Laurie - always smiling and able to handle any problem that might arise. We thoroughly enjoyed our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Carey B, General Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Maureen B, Thank you for choosing South Wind on the Ocean. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your first trip with us and hope we have the opportunity to host you and yours for many more trips to come. We hope you have a fantastic summer. Best Wishes, Carey Batchelor More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#8 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#12 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,288 reviews
2.0 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
2.6 mi away
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
0.1 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#77 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities