We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 215 Myrtle Beach hotels

South Wind On The Ocean

Save Saved
You added South Wind On The Ocean to your Saves list
5310 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel amenities
South Wind On The Ocean
Ranked #62 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    14
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
44
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (73)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a wonderful family vacation. Units are large with plenty of space and the view was spectacular. Just a great time and the ambiance of South Wind was a major factor. Would go back in a heartbeat. We had to call maintenance on a minor issue and they were there in 10 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Jim L, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay was. We are happy to see that you had a fantastic time and that you and your children had a memorable vacation. We hope that when you return to the Myrtle Beach area, we will have the opportunity to serve you... More

North Arlington, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay. I love having a washer & dryer in my unit. Laurie in the office is so pleasant and makes the check in so easy. We stayed twice this year. In April & August. We come every year in August.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear GolferGirl3rdPlace, Thank for sharing your thoughts with us for South Wind on the Ocean. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy some of the many perks of our spacious condos like the presence of the washer and dryers in all of the units. Laurie is one of our best and we are happy to hear... More

Dunkirk, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Southwind is in a quiet and convenient location close to restaurants. .etc. lots of parking and housekeeping services are excellent. Of note when I booked reservations and checkwd in we were never advised that all pools and hot tubs would be closed all week for renovation. We paid a tidy sum and had we been given an option we would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear M0ther0fTw0, I can't apologize enough that we weren't more forthcoming with the closing of the pool decks. Unfortunately due to short notice given to us by the management company, we were unable to make our guests aware of the situation prior to your arrival. Had we known sooner, we would have taken the time to let each of our... More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

South Wind on the Ocean is a vacation paradise. Be aware that weekends bring noise. Weekdays after a Labor Day are the best. Laurie and Kathy at the front desk are awesome. Love parking on one level. Love exercise room. Pool and lazy river and hot tubs very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear LisaJoan2014, I am so glad that you were able to enjoy our property and fantastic staff as much as we do. Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience and all of the helpful tips you have provided. We hope to have the opportunity to host you and yours again soon for another great vacation.... More

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Oh where should I start!! Upon entering the PENTHOUSE we rented through vrbo, the rooms were dusty. Nightstands dirty on top. Tv in large living room was 26 inches, eye strainer! Tv's in 2 of the 5 bedrooms came over on the ark! Tv's were 19 inches in all bedrooms. DVD player in master bedroom plays movie but no sound!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear BaybeegurlT, I apologize that you did not have the experience you were looking for and I will be sure to pass along your disappointments to the VRBO rental agency that you rented through and encourage you to do the same. While I can't speak for that management company, I can say that our units are thoroughly inspected before every... More

Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My family and I had stayed at another property 14 years in a row so we were very nervous making a switch. Nicole Hadad helped calm my concerns coming to their property and was able to get us in a great 3 bedroom condo. The room was very nice and the property was very well maintained. We heard no noise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear OhioGuy34, I am so glad that I was able to be of service to you and your family and appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful experience with future travelers. You are correct there is not a bathroom on the pool deck level but there is one on the second floor lobby level which may be a... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We saw the pictures and read reviews. We were hopeful but tried to balance expectations after reading them. What a nice surprise! The outside was beautiful as we pulled up. The unit was super clean and the layout of 4 bedrooms was nice for our 3 generations to have enough space. We spent a lot of time on the wrap... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear paddydonuts, I am so glad that you gave us a shot and were more than pleasantly surprised. With our spacious units and balconies, wonderful amenities, and convenient location we like to think we offer the whole package. I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you and yours again soon, and wish you all a fantastic fall season.... More

Concord, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I stayed again this year at South Winds on the Ocean at Myrtle Beach. This is my 10th year here. Best year yet. Never gets old. Staff is great. Especially Lorie! Always always take care of us. Rooms are excelllent and clean. My kids have grown up looking to the week at South Winds. Sourrounding area is aweome. Great community.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear 977LarryR, Thank you so much for your continued support and patronage. We can't thank you enough and appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Laurie and we hope to see you again for your 11th trip to South Wind on the Ocean. Best Wishes, Nicole Hadad More

Frederick, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

First time visiting the South Wind on the Ocean, and it will not be our last. Everyone in the family had a great time. Laurie at the front desk was sweet and helpful, and he ladies cleaning our rooms were friendly. Next year I plan on upgrading from a three bedroom to a five bedroom to accommadate more family. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Ruth D, Thank you so much for the wonderful comments in regards to your recent stay with us and letting us know the great service that Laurie and our housekeeping staff were able to provide for you. They are an awesome staff, that truly work hard to see that our guests are happy and satisfied and I will be... More

Southampton, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Absolutely terrible for the money!! I should have expected a terrible experience because as soon as we arrived, the front desk woman was SO rude!!! She had her grandkids running around behind the counter and yelling at them!! Because I mentioned to her that the reservation dept told me that I could check in around 3pm, she rudely said no,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Melissa W, I am very disappointed that we were unable to make this experience everything that you were expecting. I know I had spoken to you during your stay and tried to rectify the issues you had , but it appears that I was unsuccessful and I apologize sincerely for that. If there is anything I can do for... More

Do you own or manage South Wind On The Ocean?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to South Wind On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Wind On The Ocean

Address: 5310 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
South Wind On The Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near South Wind On The Ocean

Enlarge Map