We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 214 Myrtle Beach hotels

South Wind On The Ocean

Save Saved
You added South Wind On The Ocean to your Saves list
5310 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (65)
  • Photos (35)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
South Wind On The Ocean
Ranked #70 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    13
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First time visiting the South Wind on the Ocean, and it will not be our last. Everyone in the family had a great time. Laurie at the front desk was sweet and helpful, and he ladies cleaning our rooms were friendly. Next year I plan on upgrading from a three bedroom to a five bedroom to accommadate more family. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely terrible for the money!! I should have expected a terrible experience because as soon as we arrived, the front desk woman was SO rude!!! She had her grandkids running around behind the counter and yelling at them!! Because I mentioned to her that the reservation dept told me that I could check in around 3pm, she rudely said no,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Melissa W, I am very disappointed that we were unable to make this experience everything that you were expecting. I know I had spoken to you during your stay and tried to rectify the issues you had , but it appears that I was unsuccessful and I apologize sincerely for that. If there is anything I can do for... More

Rincon, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at SouthWind once a year over the last 6/7 years, with my sisters family as well as our mom and dad (who r in their 80's). Laurie, at the front desk has been an amazing help every year. She's gone as far as checking out the balcony (of the unit we were going to rent), to see... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Kim B, Thank you so much for sharing your great review of South Wind on the Ocean. I am so glad to hear that you have come to love Laurie as much as we do and will be sure to pass these comments along to her. Providing you with the customer service you deserve is something we strive for... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Southwind 3 different years now and have rented through VRBO. While we love the hotel itself and even the rooms we have stayed in we will never go back because of the attitudes of some of the owners. You better hope you don't hang a towel on a fence to dry or move a pool chair... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear linzg386, While you didn't rent through Vacation Myrtle Beach, I would still like to take a moment to apologize for your experience. I have never heard such comments regarding the owners on that property from any of our guests and will be sure to take a look into the matter so that every guest whether renting through us or... More

Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our first stay at the South Wind and we were not disappointed. Parking was plentiful. Rooms spacious. Staff was courteous and helpful. Housekeeping was considerate and thorough. Easy access to beach. Pools & hot tubs were clean. Plenty of pool chairs & tables. Elevators were never crowded or messy. Location was convenient to attractions and dining. We will be back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear RFamilyof5, I an so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with South Wind on the Ocean. This is a beautiful property with a lot to offer and we appreciate you taking the time to tell us about it. We can't wait to host you and yours again and wish you all a fantastic summer. Best wishes, Nicole... More

Greensboro nc
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here in the past and always had a great time but this year the room was terrible overpriced outdated nasty sectional sofa i wouldnt put my dog on that thing the refridgertor was painted with a brush a tan color and the freezer was white lol i booked a king and got a queen that didnt even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Franksmith77, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your most recent trip and we appreciate your continued patronage. As I am sure you know all of our units are individually and some have begun to show their age. With helpful comments such as these we can continue to encourage the owners to update their units to the standards that... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Not a big place so elevators do not take to long. Room was very clean on our arrival. Overall can't complain about anything. Definitely had taken the top spot for me to stay at while in Myrtle Beach. Family, friends, or solo just can't beat this place. Staff is very friendly and will help at any cause. Enjoy your stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Travis G, I am so excited to hear that we have become your number one Myrtle Beach choice; it is an honor. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about what a fantastic property South Wind on the Ocean can be. We can't wait to host you and yours again soon and wish you a fantastic... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I just returned from one of the most memorable times I had at Myrtle Beach. My family and I stayed at South Wind on the Ocean for the first time. We truly enjoyed the stay. The room very nice and clean. I stayed in room PH04, I am not sure what the housekeeper name was, but she was very nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear prudence w, I am so glad we could provide you with the wonderful Mother's Day experience that you deserve. Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your stay and I will be sure to pass them along to our staff. We hope you have a fantastic summer and that we have the opportunity to host you and yours... More

Albany NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We rented unit #1004 thru Booe Realty. The unit is exactly as described and portrayed on their web site. With the exception of wireless internet. This unit does NOT have internet and when I asked Booe Realty about this they said each unit has it's own thru the building and I need to talk to the front desk. I talked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear MrsSipster, While I can't speak for Booe Realty, I can encourage you to not count out South Wind on the Ocean for your next trip. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly for your next trip and we would be happy to help you book the vacation you were looking for. Being on site we have the opportunity... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is usually real nice and the people are always real friendly, but the room we had was VERY uncomfortable. We had to put pillows under the couch cushions so we wouldn't sink so bad into the couch. And the housekeeping DID NOT check on us every day which was extremely disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Chances723, Thank you for taking time to share your most recent experience with us, I can't apologize enough for your stay not being up to our normal caliber of performance. I can assure you that this is not a normal experience of our valued guests and I would very much like to speak to you further at your convenience... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage South Wind On The Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to South Wind On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Wind On The Ocean

Address: 5310 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
South Wind On The Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Myrtle Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#70 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach #70 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms
21

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from South Wind On The Ocean staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer