We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 214 Myrtle Beach hotels

South Wind On The Ocean

Save Saved
You added South Wind On The Ocean to your Saves list
5310 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (70)
  • Photos (35)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
South Wind On The Ocean
Ranked #72 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
43
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Oh where should I start!! Upon entering the PENTHOUSE we rented through vrbo, the rooms were dusty. Nightstands dirty on top. Tv in large living room was 26 inches, eye strainer! Tv's in 2 of the 5 bedrooms came over on the ark! Tv's were 19 inches in all bedrooms. DVD player in master bedroom plays movie but no sound!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My family and I had stayed at another property 14 years in a row so we were very nervous making a switch. Nicole Hadad helped calm my concerns coming to their property and was able to get us in a great 3 bedroom condo. The room was very nice and the property was very well maintained. We heard no noise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

the worst room 805, retro 60's not in a good way ,even Lori at the front desk stated worst room and was still trying to rent it for$1300 for 4days .Whats the deal Southwinds if this how none whites are treated ? Lori wasted NO time refunding our deposit ,805 must be the decoy room to keep non whites out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We saw the pictures and read reviews. We were hopeful but tried to balance expectations after reading them. What a nice surprise! The outside was beautiful as we pulled up. The unit was super clean and the layout of 4 bedrooms was nice for our 3 generations to have enough space. We spent a lot of time on the wrap... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Concord, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed again this year at South Winds on the Ocean at Myrtle Beach. This is my 10th year here. Best year yet. Never gets old. Staff is great. Especially Lorie! Always always take care of us. Rooms are excelllent and clean. My kids have grown up looking to the week at South Winds. Sourrounding area is aweome. Great community.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time visiting the South Wind on the Ocean, and it will not be our last. Everyone in the family had a great time. Laurie at the front desk was sweet and helpful, and he ladies cleaning our rooms were friendly. Next year I plan on upgrading from a three bedroom to a five bedroom to accommadate more family. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absolutely terrible for the money!! I should have expected a terrible experience because as soon as we arrived, the front desk woman was SO rude!!! She had her grandkids running around behind the counter and yelling at them!! Because I mentioned to her that the reservation dept told me that I could check in around 3pm, she rudely said no,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Melissa W, I am very disappointed that we were unable to make this experience everything that you were expecting. I know I had spoken to you during your stay and tried to rectify the issues you had , but it appears that I was unsuccessful and I apologize sincerely for that. If there is anything I can do for... More

Rincon, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at SouthWind once a year over the last 6/7 years, with my sisters family as well as our mom and dad (who r in their 80's). Laurie, at the front desk has been an amazing help every year. She's gone as far as checking out the balcony (of the unit we were going to rent), to see... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicole H, Manager at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear Kim B, Thank you so much for sharing your great review of South Wind on the Ocean. I am so glad to hear that you have come to love Laurie as much as we do and will be sure to pass these comments along to her. Providing you with the customer service you deserve is something we strive for... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Southwind 3 different years now and have rented through VRBO. While we love the hotel itself and even the rooms we have stayed in we will never go back because of the attitudes of some of the owners. You better hope you don't hang a towel on a fence to dry or move a pool chair... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear linzg386, While you didn't rent through Vacation Myrtle Beach, I would still like to take a moment to apologize for your experience. I have never heard such comments regarding the owners on that property from any of our guests and will be sure to take a look into the matter so that every guest whether renting through us or... More

Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our first stay at the South Wind and we were not disappointed. Parking was plentiful. Rooms spacious. Staff was courteous and helpful. Housekeeping was considerate and thorough. Easy access to beach. Pools & hot tubs were clean. Plenty of pool chairs & tables. Elevators were never crowded or messy. Location was convenient to attractions and dining. We will be back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review

Dear RFamilyof5, I an so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with South Wind on the Ocean. This is a beautiful property with a lot to offer and we appreciate you taking the time to tell us about it. We can't wait to host you and yours again and wish you all a fantastic summer. Best wishes, Nicole... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage South Wind On The Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to South Wind On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Wind On The Ocean

Address: 5310 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
South Wind On The Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Myrtle Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#72 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach #72 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms
21

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from South Wind On The Ocean staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer