We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

2.5 of 5 201 74th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Affiliate website
Offers & Announcements
FALL Break-Away-Sale!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    131
    57
    83
    125
See reviews for
352
36
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (526)
  • Mar-May only
    (91)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (312)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed there in a three bedroom apartment on the 15th floor. It was a very tired apartment. My room had dark brown splashes on the wall, dread to think what it was. No kettle or coffee machine. Glasses and cups dirty, put them in the dish washer and they came out dirty. Could have done with a good clean. Do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room had bed bugs. I took a picture before I left the room to show at the front desk. Manager called someone to come check the room but they didn't ask where the bug was and would not allow us to go to the room and show them! Manager stated that all hotels have bed bugs!! There were no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

We apologize you had this issue during your stay. We don't see a picture included, will you please email us the photo along with your reservation # so that we can follow up on this. marketing@sandsresorts,com Thank you More

Hickory, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My visit this past weekend was perfect. I stayed ocean front, 2 queen bed with mini fridge & microwave. very clean. staff was courteous and helpful. I loved everything being so convenient there. Store on premises, restaurant and not a long walk to pool or beach. Place has outside tables on the lawn to enjoy lunch, or just sit and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review. We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate the feedback and we hope to have you visit again soon. More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't know why this place has so many bad reviews? Me and my Lady had a wonderful time there. No complaints. Planning our next trip there now. We did stay in a private owned room but hotel staff was very nice and friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Sand Dunes. We look forward to your next visit. See you soon! More

Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Just stayed there last night and omg .... the hotel is run down and obviously not taken care of at all! There was a fight in the adjoining room (no not friends of ours ... lol) and not one person came to stop it even after we called and notified them of the situation. The next morning we had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review. We would like to apologize for the lack of Customer Service from one of our staff. This is not acceptable and please be assured, we will address this immediately. We do hope you will return again so that we may show you a true and enjoyable Sands' experience. Thank you... More

Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

My husband, child and myself just left today from our vacation at the Sand Dunes Resort and Spa. We found the condo we rented on VRBO. Our condo was 2630 and was directly on the ocean. Absolutely beautiful view. Aside from some stains on the comforter, the condo was clean. It is all tile floor, which helps with the cleanliness.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dumfries, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

My family and I stayed here and I was very hesitant due to the negative reviews and they are absolutely right. Please do not stay here with your family if you like to feel like you are in a clean hotel. To start, the elevators and hallways to get to the rooms are disgusting and look like they rarely get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. We apologize that you did not have an enjoyable experience at our resort. We appreciate the feedback and will address the issues stated. More

Franklin, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We stayed here once before and told ourselves we wouldn't return. We decided to give it another try due to the decent price and the free tickets we would get for a waterpark and small amusement park. We regret not listening to our own advice. We checked in early and they told us they would call us as soon as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and will address the issues you shared with us. We apologize you were not satisfied with your vacation this time around. Sounds like you came during the holiday weekend when we are at full capacity. We will make sure the housekeeping manager is aware of the incident you described as well.... More

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Expected to pay much more for a location like this. Great room, terrific view, unexpected extras, at about the price of a highway chain hotel, or less. So what if it's older? We'd return in a minute! Even half price in the hotel restaurant. Great beachside pool as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and thank you for seeing the VALUE in our family friendly resort. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed all the FREE amenities offered. We hope you can return again soon for another Sands' vacation experience! More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We have been coming to Sands for 6 years- Seems every year is has gotten a little worse. It needs minor updated but most of all cleaning!!! Pools and ground where dirty with trash. Our room had two old dirty chairs on the balcony. There was food between the stove and cabinet, dust on just about everything, trash under sofa... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. We are sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable experience this time around. We are very happy to know you are a returning Sands' guests and we want you to continue to enjoy your vacations with us. We appreciate the feedback and we will address these issues. We do hope you will... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sand Dunes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

Address: 201 74th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Dunes Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sand Dunes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dunes Resort And Spa
Sand Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sand Dunes Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sand Dunes Resort

786 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (140)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (621)
Viewed
Amenities (149)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Efficiency Room (55)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (6)
Viewed
Junior Suite (65)
Viewed
Kiddie Pool (5)
Viewed
Lazy River (8)
Viewed
Main Pool (9)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Suite (99)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay