We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

201 74th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    140
    64
    85
    131
See reviews for
367
40
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (555)
  • Mar-May only
    (110)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (312)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a great trip. Room was updated clean and all staff was nice! I would stay again! It was so great to walk from beach to poolside with ease. The Waterpark was fun but the lack of water pressure makes sliding pretty lame and the lazy river was really slow. All in all it was a great mini vacation.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Georgetown, Ky
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just returned from a 3-night stay at this complex and loved every minute of it! We rented a privately-owned condo through VRBO and it met our expectations and then some! We stayed in room 2729 and couldn't have found a better location in Myrtle Beach. There were 2 queen beds, a kitchenette and a moderate-sized livingroom. The best feature,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just got back from Myrtle Beach SC. with a girl frieand, we stay at Sand Dunes Resort on 74th. Ave. The room we stayed was an efficiency #2430 fourth floor. It has a King bed, pullouts couch (in a separate room) small table and 3 chairs, 2 tv, kitchen with dishwasher, Refrigerator, Microwave, Stove top, sink and a nice size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I have been staying at the Sand Dunes Resort for the last few years. It's great for the kids, they love having the option between the beach and the on site waterpark on any given day. I love the fact that it's located south in a residential neighborhood with million dollar ocean front homes away from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here during softball spring break week - March 2015. The rate per night was very inexpensive for a hotel on the beach. The hotel room we had on the 4th floor was newly renovated and very nice. It had a pleasant tan color on the walls and a nice new tile floor. The bathroom was updated as well.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would not recommend this hotel considering there was a 4-inch cockroach found in our room at 12:30 a.m. The hotel killed the cockroach and then offered us to stay at its other resort in the same area. Why would I stay at another facility owned by your company when you do not exterminate? In addition, security had no control... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The bug you are referring to is not a cockroach, it is a Palmetto Bug. Cockroaches do not get this large. One bug in your room is not an infestation. They prefer damp conditions and unfortunately we are near the ocean. They also have wings so even though we do exterminate the rooms, they can... More 

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Landrum, South Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We have just returned from a 5 day stay at this resort. We had a 3 bed/2 bath room. The room was very clean and the staff was very nice. The maid service was especially nice, going out of their way to get me a broom when I asked for one. Our first 2 days and nights there were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. According to your review, you seem very happy with the actual Resort's cleanliness, housekeeping crew, room, ect. It seems your issue is with the other guests at the Resort. We understand that at times we have unruly guests, however, we can only control the behavior to some extent. If you felt threatened in any way,... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

I was really worried about the conditions from reading reviews on here. But we just stayed here for 5 days and we did not experience any of the bad things! We stayed on the 11th floor in a one bedroom room. It looked like it was painted recently and it was very clean. The carpet was clean but it looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review. We appreciate the feedback and are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as well as being pleased with our improvements. We are sorry however that you experienced trouble with the laundry. We have someone looking into this. Thank you. Hope you were able to enjoy the... More 

Salisbury, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

By the love of my husband I was able to go to the beach for the FIRST time without the kids. I just wanted to post about this hotel we stayed at..MOST HORRIBLE experience and the people who work there were extremely rude..now normally I have patience but they gave our room key to someone else after we checked in..the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. We are sad to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay at our resort. We apologize for the confusion with your room as this is not representing our resort well. We have sent these list of issues to the appropriate staff and can assure you these areas of concern will be dealt with.... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

I gave this place a 1 star because of the housekeeping issues and the condition of parts of the unit we stayed in. We were in a three bedroom 0804. From 4-3- To 4/10. When we first walked in the unit looked clean very outdated but clean. Then we walked into the living room area. The couches were so old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review. It seems you did not have an enjoyable stay with us and we are very sorry to hear this. Thank you for the detailed feedback. This will be shared with our staff and managers on duty so that these issues can be resolved immediately. We do hope you will return... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

802 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (145)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (621)
Viewed
Amenities (149)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Efficiency Room (55)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (6)
Viewed
Junior Suite (65)
Viewed
Kiddie Pool (5)
Viewed
Lazy River (8)
Viewed
Main Pool (9)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Suite (99)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities