We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 214 Myrtle Beach hotels

Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

2.5 of 5 Resort   |   201 74th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Hotel website
Affiliate website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Savings Plan!
Save Saved
You added Sand Dunes Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
52%
Ranked #112 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
WestVaTraveler West Virginia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (489)
  • Photos (747)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (102)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    122
    52
    75
    114
See reviews for
330
36
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I can't even give the sand dunes villas resort one star. Parking garage had a leather arm chair in it and the hallways smelled like beer barf and garbage. Roaches walking around everywhere! You want to walk out to the beach? You have to walk past the garbage/recycling area which is gross. The bags were leaking right into the walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Prince Frederick, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were extremely disappointed with this hotel. Our room was small, dirty, old/outdated, and stinky. The mattresses were very old and uncomfortable, the room was cramped, and the water pipes were extremely loud and woke us up frequently throughout the night. The shower was moldy, the sheets had stains and were old and stretched out, the paint was chipping and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
West Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

In a word or two, its showing its age. The limestone walls at one point might have been beautiful, but now they are dirty and marked up. The carpeting is worn, the doors looked like they hadn't seen glass cleaner in weeks. The worst offense is having to go by the dumpster on the way to the beach. There were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manassas, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is by far the most disgusting hotel I have ever stepped foot in. We made our reservations in May. This was for a baseball tournament and this hotel was a lodging partner of the event! When we arrived at 1200 we were told our room wasn't ready. Okay...I understand since check in isn't until 4pm. The room was ready... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. As we are continually trying to improve our operations, your detailed feedback provides us with the opportunity to gain valuable information. We greatly appreciate the feedback. We are very disappointed in what seems to be a housecleaning issue on our end. This is not how we wish to represent our resort. However, we are... More

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We didn't rent our room through the actual resort but through an individual condo owner so Im thinking that makes all the difference. After reading the reviews I was a little worried but we really enjoyed our stay. The pool and lazy river seemed really clean. The only problem with the lazy river is it only had 3 jets working... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. As we are continually trying to improve our operations, your detailed feedback provides us with the opportunity to gain valuable information. We greatly appreciate the feedback. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return again very soon. More

Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Woke up today at 5:30 am to a big bite on my face... Turns out our room was infested with bed bugs. We took pictures and even caught some in a bag to show the staff. Management called Mr. Vaporizer to clean the room as well as our luggage, clothes, etc. (they did an excellent job). They moved us to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We were told not once but twice that our room would be overlooking the water park at Sand Dunes when reservation was made and again just yesterday when I called for verification. When we arrived today we discover that not only do we not even get a room in Sand Dunes we are put on Tower II about as far... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoyed staying at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa.. Great Location , breakfast was good and the kids loved the water park.. We would stay here again... Also the free tickets to Wild Water & Wheels was great and the buy one get one free tickets to go-carts and putt putt.. We had a great time.. The only thing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. As we are continually trying to improve our operations, your detailed feedback provides us with the opportunity to gain valuable information. We are very happy to hear you and your family enjoyed the resorts. Glad you took advantage of all the amenities included with your stay. We greatly appreciate the feedback. Hurry back soon! More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want a clean room DO NOT stay here!!! This was the nastiest room we have ever stayed in!!!! Upon arrival there was half eaten food on floor and clumps of hair. It was obvious that it had not been vacuumed at all. I went to wash my hands and the hand towel was covered with short black hair.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our post-stay survey. As we are continually trying to improve our operations, your detailed feedback provides us with the opportunity to gain valuable information. We are terribly sorry you did not have an enjoyable experience. If you will please email us your reservation info, we would like to make sure a... More

Jamestown, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a baseball tournament that ended today. Our room smelled terrible. Fixtures in the bathroom were broken and never repaired. The AC unit could not overcome the humidity- everything in the room- sheets, countertops, tile floors- was damp and sticky. Called for a wake up call- did not get one. Housekeeping is way below standard. Many friends reported... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our post-stay survey. As we are continually trying to improve our operations, your detailed feedback provides us with the opportunity to gain valuable information. We are terribly sorry you did not have an enjoyable experience. If you will please email us your reservation info, we would like to make sure a... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sand Dunes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

Address: 201 74th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Dunes Resort & Spa 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, BookIt.com and Otel so you can book your Sand Dunes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sand Dunes Resort And Spa
Sand Dunes Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sand Dunes Resort

747 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (621)
Viewed
Amenities (149)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Efficiency Room (55)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (6)
Viewed
Junior Suite (65)
Viewed
Kiddie Pool (5)
Viewed
Lazy River (8)
Viewed
Main Pool (9)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Suite (99)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach #70 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
200

See which rooms travelers prefer