We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

201 74th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Rate this Hotel

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    137
    62
    84
    126
See reviews for
358
39
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (541)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (312)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Nashville
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It's convenient to everything, and the rates are OK. But this place needs some work. The first thing i noticed was the A/C unit is a little noisy. But if you engage the ice maker in the freezer it will drown out the A/C unit. If you are a couch potato, the TV remote will keep you busy. The big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel was nice. We got a discounted rate through a military travel agent so for the price we paid, the hotel was great. I don't know if it would be worth the full price though. The staff was pretty nonchalant, but relatively helpful. The indoor pool was FREEZING! We chose this particular hotel over another that was offered due... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Asheboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The only good thing about this resort is the fact my family owns two units there. The units that we own, live in and maintain are the best experience you will have in Myrtle Beach, but the actual "resort " as they call it? Pass and go elsewhere. These people charge exorbitant rates for substandard and outdated rooms, and you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Madison Heights, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Could not believe how much this place is changing, work going on everywhere.......what is finished looks wonderful!!! Ate diner 3 of the 4 nights at Mangos.....the prices are like 1/2 of what they use to be and the food was out of this world. As a special treat they had music in the lounge Thursday, Friday and Saturday night!! I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

1st the check in took longer than it should, the room was not worth the money way to small and beds were small and uncomfortable. Our lamps in the room did not work neither did the refrigerator. I had to call 3 times to get someone to fix the fridge....and once he did replace the fridge it still did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. We are sad to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. Could you please email us your room and reservation# to marketing@sandsresorts.com so that we can take a look at the unit you stayed in. We appreciate the feedback and would love to have you return so that we can show... More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

If you have the privilege of visiting beautiful Myrtle Beach, do yourself a favor and stay clear of the Sand Dunes! I visited the resort for a church conference and nearly left early because the accommodations were horrible. The room I stayed in was filthy! From the stains on the carpet to the dirty toilet, this place was horrible. Even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very sorry to hear this happened during your time with us. We would like to look into this further, if you will please email your room and reservation # to marketing@sandsresorts.com. Thank you for your feedback and we certainly apologize for any inconvenience. More 

Dalzell, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

My wife and I made reservations to stay at the Sea Mist down on 9th Ave S for this stay. When we arrived down there we were not impressed with the accommodations. We canceled our reservations and started looking for other hotels. As you can imagine there are a lot of hotels on all up and down the coast line.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review. We appreciate your honest feedback and we thank you for choosing Sands Dunes Resorts. Our guests are very important to us and we will use your feedback to make the experience even better. Please come again soon, we would love to have you! More 

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Hugh and very clean my kids and parents had a great time plenty of things to do. Do not listen to the review they had me so scared and I must say they are all false the rooms look amazing and there very clean

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave an honest review. We appreciate the feedback and hearing about your time with us. We look forward to having you come again. See you soon More 

Glade Spring, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

We stayed a week this past summer. We got a suite with kitchen and 2 bedrooms. The room was clean and nice. Not a 5 star resort but that is not what i was wanting. We will be coming back this year also.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review. We appreciate your business and feedback and are very excited to hear that you will be returning. We apologiz for the troubles you may have experienced, but are happy to hear our front desk staff solved the issues. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

For the last 17 years we been going to this resort for our annual golf trip this year we were very disappointed with the service and atmosphere. We couldn’t get a clean towel to save our lives we ended up using the spa towels because of no room service. The one highlight was John the scheduler for the outing he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. We are extremely sorry to hear this. First we apologize for the lack of housekeeping. This is not aceptable and will be addressed. We do hope this one incident will not deter you from returning on your annual trip. It is our goal to make sure our guests are happy and satisfied during their... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

791 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (25)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (621)
Viewed
Amenities (149)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Efficiency Room (55)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (6)
Viewed
Junior Suite (65)
Viewed
Kiddie Pool (5)
Viewed
Lazy River (8)
Viewed
Main Pool (9)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Suite (99)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question