We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 214 Myrtle Beach hotels

Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

2.5 of 5 Resort   |   201 74th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Hotel website
Affiliate website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Savings Plan!
Save Saved
You added Sand Dunes Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
51%
Ranked #110 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
TinaKramer
  • Overview
  • Reviews (513)
  • Photos (770)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (112)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    129
    56
    80
    119
See reviews for
345
37
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beckley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I loved the room we rented through an outside agency. Room 2240. It was very clean and comfortable, Ocean front and relaxing. The resort itself needs updating. The pool area needs news chairs to tan on, most were broken. The parking is horrible.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Paid a little more in hopes of a better place to stay. Bathroom was disgusting. Afraid to put any bags or bare feet on the carpet. Sheets looked like they hadn't been changed from the previous guests. Called front desk for a change in linens and he said nobody is answering in housekeeping that we can come and get clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the lack in housekeeping and the attentiveness of the staff. This is not how we wish to represent our resort. We appreciate your feedback and will make sure these issues are addressed immediately. More

NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for our spring break. We usually stay at Lands End in North Myrtle. When we pulled in it was a nightmare trying to figure out where to park- not realizing we had to go into the parking garage. That was an awful experience as we had a SUV. So much congestion on Saturday with people coming and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just concluded yet another Great trip to the dunes. Staff was great, room was great and value was beyond compare!! We used a promo code, ABS, which gave 50% off the entire stay. So 4 nights was $428 after taxes and fees. Only thing that wasn't included was breakfast, which I didn't know until check-in. But still, it was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you and the family took advantage of all the onsite and offsite amenities we offer. We are glad to know you will be returning next year! See you soon More

Marysville, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We read some reviews that were not that great but since we had planned our trip last minute we had to go with the Sand Dunes. I'm happy to report that it was a good choice. Although outdated, the room was clean as were the facilities. Great beach location, not overly crowded and far enough off the boardwalk so it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the on site amenities as well. We do hope you will return again for another stay. Thank you for the feedback. More

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in1709 and the rooms were just fine. Staff was great, wzter park was great too.had afew hiccups that were quickly resolved. We have been a sands customer for 24 yrs......the furnishings could be updTed....but it was clean, staff was nice and the family had a great time.any problems were addressed in a timely manner. Glad we came.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We are happy to know you have been visiting our resort all these years. We hope you are enjoying all the many amenities we offer at Sands. We look forward to your next visit. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was here Aug 10 and the first night I was there I slept in the bed and was bit by fire Ants in the bed. I had an allergic reaction to the bits my hands swelled like a balloon. This place is dirty and house keeping do not do a good job of cleaning the place. I was in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I don't know where to begin. The carpeted foyer is soiled and unkept. The furniture and the decor is dated, however, had the linen been clean, the ambiance would be over looked. Once the linen was removed off of the bed, the pillows looked as if they had been vomitted on. The shower curtain has MILDEW. I called and spoke... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

We apologize that you are having issues with our housekeeping services. If you are still at our resort, please email us your room and or reservation# so we can rectify the situation. We want our guests to have an enjoyable relaxing experience always. marketing@sandsresorts.com Thank you More

High Point, United States
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did not check the reviews on this hotel...sorry we did not go to that first. The reviews were awful with rooms dirty, linens dirty, roaches and rats near the pool. We ask to cancel our reservations and were told the $50.00 processing fee would be applied to our credit card. We called and canceled right after we made the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

We are very sorry you did not actually stay at the resort and made your decision based on reviews. We wish we were given the opportunity to show you a true enjoyable Sands experience. Yes, we do charge a cancellation fee and it it clearly stated in the reservation policies. Thank you for your feedback. More

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Many of you write these reviews and aren't not impartial to the fact that this place is NOT a hotel. Let me begin by saying: THIS HOMES/APARTMENTS/VILLAS are individually owned by private owners. However the property is updated and or maintained is up to the owners. The overall cleaning etc. is done by a cleaning staff. Although I must admit,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will return very soon for another Sands' experience Thank you for the feedback. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sand Dunes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

Address: 201 74th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Dunes Resort & Spa 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sand Dunes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dunes Resort And Spa
Sand Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sand Dunes Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sand Dunes Resort

770 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (128)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (621)
Viewed
Amenities (149)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Efficiency Room (55)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (6)
Viewed
Junior Suite (65)
Viewed
Kiddie Pool (5)
Viewed
Lazy River (8)
Viewed
Main Pool (9)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Suite (99)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Myrtle Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach #72 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
200

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Sand Dunes Resort & Spa and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sand Dunes Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer