We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

2.5 of 5 201 74th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Hotel website
Affiliate website
Offers & Announcements
FALL/WINTER Spectacular!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    133
    58
    83
    125
See reviews for
352
38
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (529)
  • Mar-May only
    (91)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (312)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
buffalo, ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we were assigned an ocean front room as planned, however, we requested a different room due to construction on the balcony. the staff moved us to a larger ocean view room we were VERY happy with. i must say thanks to the staff and the resort for making this a great 40th anniversary stay. we've stayed here many times and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Happy Belated Anniversary and thank you for leaving a review. We do apologize for the upgrades taking place during your trip but are very happy to hear how our staff stepped in and took care of your request. Thank you for your honest feedback and please come again soon. More 

Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love staying at this resort. Especially in the oceanfront rooms!! The view is amazing. Everyone there is so friendly and eager to make your stay enjoyable. The hotel rooms are comfortable, nothing fancy. Some rooms are update better than others. But our stay was good. And the location was great ............. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We are very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable time at our resort. Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will return again very soon More 

Statesville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Stayed in an ocean front room over the weekend. It was OK. A little overpriced, so not the best value. I booked this last minute and was expecting a little more for my money. The room was OK, nothing special. The decor was outdated, but it was clean. Tiles in front of sink were missing grout and were trying to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your thorough review. We apologize if you thought the resort was noisy. We are surprised to hear this since it is off season and we are not a full capacity. We hope that you shared your concerns with the manager on duty. Surely we could have found you a more quiet location. Thank you for your feedback. More 

York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there in a three bedroom apartment on the 15th floor. It was a very tired apartment. My room had dark brown splashes on the wall, dread to think what it was. No kettle or coffee machine. Glasses and cups dirty, put them in the dish washer and they came out dirty. Could have done with a good clean. Do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

We apologize that the accommodations were not to your satisfactory. We do hope you brought this to the attention of the manager on duty. I am surprised that we were not able to find you a more suitable room. We appreciate your feed back and we do hope you will return to our resort so that we may show you... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

The room had bed bugs. I took a picture before I left the room to show at the front desk. Manager called someone to come check the room but they didn't ask where the bug was and would not allow us to go to the room and show them! Manager stated that all hotels have bed bugs!! There were no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

We apologize you had this issue during your stay. We don't see a picture included, will you please email us the photo along with your reservation # so that we can follow up on this. marketing@sandsresorts,com Thank you More 

Hickory, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

My visit this past weekend was perfect. I stayed ocean front, 2 queen bed with mini fridge & microwave. very clean. staff was courteous and helpful. I loved everything being so convenient there. Store on premises, restaurant and not a long walk to pool or beach. Place has outside tables on the lawn to enjoy lunch, or just sit and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review. We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate the feedback and we hope to have you visit again soon. More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I don't know why this place has so many bad reviews? Me and my Lady had a wonderful time there. No complaints. Planning our next trip there now. We did stay in a private owned room but hotel staff was very nice and friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Sand Dunes. We look forward to your next visit. See you soon! More 

Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Just stayed there last night and omg .... the hotel is run down and obviously not taken care of at all! There was a fight in the adjoining room (no not friends of ours ... lol) and not one person came to stop it even after we called and notified them of the situation. The next morning we had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review. We would like to apologize for the lack of Customer Service from one of our staff. This is not acceptable and please be assured, we will address this immediately. We do hope you will return again so that we may show you a true and enjoyable Sands' experience. Thank you... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

My husband, child and myself just left today from our vacation at the Sand Dunes Resort and Spa. We found the condo we rented on VRBO. Our condo was 2630 and was directly on the ocean. Absolutely beautiful view. Aside from some stains on the comforter, the condo was clean. It is all tile floor, which helps with the cleanliness.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dumfries, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

My family and I stayed here and I was very hesitant due to the negative reviews and they are absolutely right. Please do not stay here with your family if you like to feel like you are in a clean hotel. To start, the elevators and hallways to get to the rooms are disgusting and look like they rarely get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. We apologize that you did not have an enjoyable experience at our resort. We appreciate the feedback and will address the issues stated. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sand Dunes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

Address: 201 74th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Dunes Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sand Dunes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sand Dunes Resort And Spa
Sand Dunes Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sand Dunes Resort
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach

786 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (140)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (621)
Viewed
Amenities (149)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Efficiency Room (55)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (6)
Viewed
Junior Suite (65)
Viewed
Kiddie Pool (5)
Viewed
Lazy River (8)
Viewed
Main Pool (9)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Suite (99)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay