We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

201 74th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

602 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    141
    148
    69
    91
    153
See reviews for
402
41
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (602)
  • Mar-May only
    (111)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (358)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We are very mixed in how we feel about this resort. The Amenities were great, right on the beach, incredible ocean front view, nice atmosphere, nice outdoor water park for our kids, nice pool (but small). The overall quality and cleanliness of the resort was poor. The room was dusty and dingy, I would not let my family sit on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us overall. We have to agree that some of our units do need upgrades and a deep clean. These units are individually owned and we have recently contacted the owners about this. These issues are being taken care of now. We do hope you will... More 

Mesa, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I'm not going to list the many physical faults with this property. Many have done so already. And, I'll give them a break since I think many budget beach hotels are generally beat up. (However, I do have to mention we got many giggles from the shadows over the beds where pictures formally hung but now were just hooks.) No,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

We thank you for the detailed and enlightening review We appreciate the feedback. As we continue to move forward and make improvements with our new owner, who is local, we will take all of these observations and recommendations to heart. We apologize and are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. Perhaps you will join us... More 

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We chose this resort because of the picture provided on the website, we were sadly disappointed with the reality! This place is extremely outdated and unclean. This was a family vacation and to celebrate my 10th wedding anniversary, sadly we are thinking of leaving a day early because the beds are horrible. I will say the pools are nice. That's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel on Friday, August 17 for three nights. The resort is great. Very clean on the beach. Hotel staff was very friendly. All the amenities were available to you. The hotel offered two restaurants, bar, convenience store, laundry facility, and spa. The pool area and lazy river were very well kept. We stayed in the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We appreciate your honest and helpful feedback are are very glad to hear you enjoyed our resort. We look forward to hosting you again in the future Hurry back More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The positive is; Outside looks nice. Inside the room was old and dated. Mold on the inside shower curtain. Front Desk isn’t much help, and I could not get my room until one and half hours after check in time. The filling I got when speaking to them about, not just these but many issues, was; they don’t care, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sands R, General Manager at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay We apologize for the lack of cleanliness and hospitality We do hope you will return and give us an opportunity to show you a positive Sands experience More 

Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's on the beach. Beyond that, not much positive about the place. The rooms aren't clean. In fact, during a weeklong stay, we had to call every day but one for basic towel service - we never got the full cleaning or basic bed making that was part of the standard package. The staff is nice but not empowered to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review We appreciate the feedback and your observations. We will pass them on to the department heads. We apologize for the lack of housekeeping in your unit and this will be addressed as well. More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is horrible. The building is absolutely filthy. The website is very deceitful. The staff is very rude and housekeeping is a joke. Upper management know about the problems and do very little. After several days of complaining we were offered a pizza dinner which we viewed as an insult. HORRIBLE place. Would not recommend to my worst enemy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Adairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ok I try not to write bad reviews. Spent over $1200 for the room. Room had a bad smell, not in good shape at all. Ocean view was a side view. Staff not friendly. First day took the kids to the water park. Noticed everyone had coolers so I get mine and return. The next day was told no coolers.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize for the troubles and we will clarify that, there are no coolers allowed in the pool/waterpark areas. This is a safety issue because we cannot monitor everyone who brings a cooler. Glass bottles and containers are an accident waiting to happen. We apologize for the mixed messages. We have alerted the WaterPark... More 

Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Totally disappointed rooms cost. 209.00.you don't get what you pay for here. Never stayed in Super 8 but they would have to be better. Disastrous feeling of uncleanliness. I disinfected and used bleach. Carpet dirty, tub did not drain. Something wrong every single day. 3 day minimum required. Looks like maid service outsourced cheap labor all foreigners. Rust on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We apologize for the lack of housekeeping service. We have recently revamped the HouseKeeping department and we are seeing many improvements in this area. New Director and new Managers. Thank you for your feedback, we do hope you will give our Resort... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were very dirty. Not worth the money. Customer service is horrible. They will do nothing to make good with their guests. We had to constantly call just to get bath towels and usually did not receive them until late at night. The beds are disgusting and old. I would not recommend staying at this hotel EVER!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sands R, Guest Relations Manager at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review We are sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay. Our apologies for the condition of the room as well as what seems to be a lack of housekeeping. This is not how we wish to represent our Resort, and we do aplogize. We appreciate the feedback. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

815 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (158)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (25)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (621)
Viewed
Amenities (149)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Efficiency Room (55)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (6)
Viewed
Junior Suite (65)
Viewed
Kiddie Pool (5)
Viewed
Lazy River (8)
Viewed
Main Pool (9)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Suite (99)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#11 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,209 reviews
3.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#22 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#32 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#47 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort
#8 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 4,108 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Sands Ocean Club Resort
#116 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Back to top