We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MainStay Suites

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
400 McGrath Darby Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
MainStay Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    48
    39
    13
    19
    18
See reviews for
61
27
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (137)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My recent stay at main stay suites was the worst visit of 3 stays. The room smell like smoke as soon as we entered. The chair had stains and the carpet was not in the best shape. The final disappointment was the pool scenery. It was dirty and a frog was floating in it. We will be making this our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Sharmaine B, First, thank you for your past business and loyalty. Please accept our apology that the Mainstay Suites experience that you have come to expect did not occur. The hotel is still under the same ownership. Enhancements to the guestroom bedding is underway and other refurbishment projects are ongoing. Just last week, we welcomed a new General Manager... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hallway carpets are dirty and the pool is dirty. There is only air conditioning in the living room area and not in the bedrooms or bathrooms, so it was very HOT! And difficult to sleep. The pullout couch bed is very, very uncomfortable so we had to make the decision between being hot or being in pain. The mattresses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Mary R, Thank you for staying at the Mainstay Suites. We appreciated you mentioning that our location is very convenient to Historic downtown Charleston. Guests can also walk to the waterfront park at the Charleston Harbor from the hotel. We regret that you were uncomfortable during your stay. The low country is very humid and we regret that you... More 

North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service was not great, rooms were not great, stayed here when we relocated rooms much smaller that advertised and some of our stuff got ruined from their dishwasher not being hooked up and the refused to replace any of it. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Missy3252, Regrettably, I cannot respond to your review. It is noted that you stayed at the hotel in September 2014, and any guest service issues that might have occurred from that time period have been resolved. So, I do not have information on the issue referenced. More 

North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Very warm and welcoming front desk staff. Room had small kitchen with full size fridge. Hotel is in need of Deep clean and improvements . Continental breakfast was just adequate. Had family stay in another room and both rooms stunk of cigarette smoke in smoke free rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear RicknDee, Thank you for being a guest of the Mainstay Suites, and for mentioning our convenient location. While we adhere to Choice Hotel's requirements for breakfast, we have passed along your feedback. We regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We do hope that your travels will bring you back to the beautiful historic Charleston area soon. More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

We stayed here as part of our anniversary vacation, which was wonderful...as usual!! Love the staff especially Amy, she has made us part of the family there as well as being part of ours!! Great room great service and location!! We will Always be back! Thanks Amy we love ya ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Happy belated Anniversary! Thank you for celebrating it in the beautiful Low Country. We wish you many more happy years. We appreciated your repeat business. More 

Newnan, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Overall this was a very good choice for us. The Desk/Lobby staff was very friendly, always greeting us with a smile and cheery word. They were very helpful in recommending good eating places and places to visit. The location couldn't be better. Located at the base of the bridge, it was an easy short drive to historic Charleston and to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Happy belated Anniversary! Thank you for celebrating it in the beautiful Low Country of Charleston SC. We appreciated you mentioning our friendly staff. It is rewarding to receive that feedback. We regret that you were not familiar with the limited housekeeping service, and we will pass this along to our franchise, Choice Hotels International, for better communication of the Mainstay... More 

La Plata, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Spent 2 nights at Mainstay Suites and it provided good accomodations. As noted in other reviews it is set up for longer stays with housekeeping provided on the 3rd day of occupancy, with more frequent attention at an additional cost. The are laundry facililties on site, which can be a great advantage. The rooms were clean and well taken care... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear King A, Thank you for staying at Mainstay Suites, and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciated you mentioning our location and value. Hope to you back in the beautiful Low Country soon. More 

Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

This is an older suite hotel. The place is nice in that it does have a couch (hide-a-bed) and ottoman to rest at. We did not use the kitchen but you could save money any make meals instead of going out every night. We were there five days. Within an hour after we moved in I notified the front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Scott S, Thank you for staying at Mainstay Suite and for mentioning the convenience of a full kitchen and our location. It is our goal to provide guestrooms where everything is in good working order. Despite our best efforts, sometimes issues arise. We apologize that the drain in your bathroom was slow. We hope that your travels will bring... More 

Upstate NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

We've stayed here three times. Excellent location, love having a full kitchen and perhaps one of the best desk clerks ever, Alycia, staffs front desk. BUT property is dated and shows it. First night had to get loose toilet seat fixed (they did do it promptly). Stains on rug in elevator. Balky remote. Room switch light was pulling away from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear HistoryLuv, First, thank you for being a repeat guest of Mainstay Suites. We appreciate the opportunity to earn your business. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for recognizing the excellent guest service from our Front Desk Associate. We apologize for the maintenance issue that occurred, and it was our pleasure to address it right away. We... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

First understand that this property is designed for a multi night stay. With that being said, I thought the stay was very nice! The girl at the front desk was great and offered little tidbits about the area that was very helpful. Since these rooms are designed for longer term stay, they are larger with has a nice feel about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear TreeRollins, Thank you for your honest review of the Mainstay Suites. We appreciated your business and time to write of your experience. We hope to welcome you back to the Mainstay Suites near the Charleston Harbor soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charle...
#10 of 21 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt...
#12 of 21 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / M...
#2 of 21 in Mount Pleasant
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Charleston - Mt. Pleasant
Extended Stay America - Charlest...
#16 of 21 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
#17 of 21 in Mount Pleasant
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay