We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Mount Pleasant hotels

MainStay Suites

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 McGrath Darby Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
MainStay Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added MainStay Suites to your Saves list
66%
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
JP C Washington DC, District of Columbia
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    35
    10
    14
    18
See reviews for
56
20
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at the hotel for 9 days and the overall experience was great. While you could smell a little stale smoke in the 3rd floor hallway from the days when smoking was allowed in the hotel my room was very clean and there was no residual odor there at all. Overall, it was very pleasant and much nicer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon checking in I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel was for the price. My mother and I decided on a last minute trip to Isle of Palms. The rooms were spacious and nice. Until I opened a kitchen cabinet and found what I thought was a roach. I dismissed it until when I got up during the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Melanie R, Thank you for mentioning our value. Mainstay Suites is ideally located between Isle of Palms beaches and historic, downtown Charleston. We apologize for the bad behavior of other guests that disrupted your rest. While this is an infrequent issue, the staff is trained to address those situations. Mainstay Suites by Choice Hotels adheres to pest control best... More

Bernville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Picked this hotel because they had smoking rooms and a great deal for military. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite. Housekeeping was okay for the general things but did not pay attention to the details. Maintenance issues were not addressed properly, but hotel in now aware of them. Rooms are a little dated, but overall was a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear JB, Thank you for staying at the Mainstay Suites by Choice Hotels. We appreciated you mentioning our Front Desk team, and delighted that they provided "Wow" service. We apologize that you experienced maintenance issues during your stay. Despite our best efforts to make sure that everything is in good working order, sometimes, things break. Again, we apologize and do... More

Falling Waters, West Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Pros: Great Location- near stores, great guest services, easy drive to Isle of Palms beaches and Charleston Cons: the bathrooms were a little dirty and the AC is only in the living area of the suite. Bedrooms have fans. Not good in SC heat. Anyone sleeping on the sofa bed has to freeze for people in rooms to be comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Kellie, Many thanks for being our guest at the Mainstay Suites. We appreciated you noting our close proximity to the beaches at Isle of Palms. Mainstay is starting some bathroom updates. We realize that wear can appear as a cleanliness issue, so we are addressing this. Hope to see you back in the Low Country very soon. Fall is... More

Venice
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We love Charleston and the surrounding areas of Mount Pleasant, Sullivan's Island and Isle of Palms. This hotel is located in a great spot close to everything. They provide an excellent complimentary breakfast and best of all, their rooms are immaculate. This is my first choice when it comes to staying at a hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear SandraT, Thank you for being a repeat guest of the Mainstay Suites by Choice Hotels. We appreciate your business! Thank you for mentioning our great location and clean rooms. Hope to see you soon. More

Lexington, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We checked into this room, and then checked right back out! My children started sneezing as soon as we walked in the room. The carpets looked filthy, and had not even been vacuumed in quite some time. The bathrooms were nasty! I would never let my children stay in a place so dirty! The lady at the front desk was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear HollyC, Thank you for noting our friendly front desk associate at the Mainstay Suites. Despite our very best efforts, sometimes, errors are made and a room gets checked back into the system, before it has been completely cleaned and inspected. We regret your inconvenience. More

Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The location is great and the staff was friendly. The playpen we used on the other hand was foul. I know it was complimentary and it's weird to complain about free stuff but...yikes. I think it had some kind of cigarette burn holes in it or something. The room had a bit of a smell and the pool was dirty.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Eric C, Thank you for staying at the Mainstay. While most hotels have eliminated offering these items, we have continued to try to offer them as a service. Upon reading your review, we have checked the condition of the travel cribs. We apologize that the courtesy travel crib and pool did not meet your expectation, but do hope that... More

Massapequa, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed here as suggested by the visitors center. The hotel is just over the Arthur Ravenel bridge, just minutes from downtown Charleston. Room was clean, we ended up with a two bedroom suite with two bathrooms, which was great for the 5 of us. Breakfast was basic but good. Bagels, oatmeal, yogurt, OJ, coffee, etc. The 4th star is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear RichardN, We hope that your son is feeling much better. We wanted to thank you for staying at the Mainstay and for taking the time to write a review. It was very rewarding to the staff to read your kind comments. We hope to see you back in beautiful, historic Charleston very soon. More

Storrs, Connecticut
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We chose this Hotel because it has "suites". The so called suite was half the size of a regular hotel room. The place was filthy. Carpeting was dirty, hair on the blankets, hair in the tub, stains on the pullout mattress, hallway carpeting dirty and elevator had garbage in it. When the sofa bed was pulled out it almost touched... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Jill P, We apologize that you were dissatisfied with Mainstay Suites' room size. While it is unusual for the hotel to receive cleanliness complaints, please know that we address these seriously. We appreciated you noting the refund issue with Hotels.com. This is a good reminder to other guests than when you book through an online travel site such as... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wow. Surprised is the best way to describe the stay- everything was clean and neat from the lobby all the way to the room. We stayed in the two bedroom two bath suite which was awesome , pool area was clean and maintained , breakfast was decent. LOCATION IS THE KEY!!! Only a 15 min ride to isle of Palm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1903Oceanfront, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review

Dear FrankieVols, Thank you for staying at Mainstay Suites. We appreciated the opportunity to earn your business. We're glad that you enjoyed your vacation and the hotel, and really hope to see you again real soon. Enjoy the rest of your summer! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 400 McGrath Darby Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MainStay Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Mount Pleasant
Mainstay Suites Mount Pleasant
Main Stay Hotel

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay