We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shem Creek Inn

Hotel website
1401 Shrimp Boat Lane, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shem Creek Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shem Creek Inn
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    152
    59
    41
    20
See reviews for
109
199
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (465)
  • Mar-May only
    (121)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (143)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (123)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Lake Shore, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Easy to get to and from, quiet rooms and a staff that goes out of their way to provide hospitable service. The continental breakfast could use an upgrade or two but over all this property is a good value of the money spent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherrill B, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review

Dear tqmbali, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I really appreciate your feedback regarding breakfast as we are always striving to improve. I have shared your comments about service with the entire team. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Granger, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We originally tried to find a hotel in downtown Charleston, but found them much too costly. When we found the Shem Creek Inn, we hoped it was as good as it sounded, and it was! The staff was very friendly-Wendy was absolutely the best! The free continental breakfast was just right (No soggy eggs or rubber pancakes.) Bagels, english muffins,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherrill B, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lynn K, I loved your review! I agree that Wendy is wonderful and a tremendous asset to us and our guests. I am delighted that you got to experience all that Shem Creek has to offer during your stay and that we took good care of you. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again. More 

Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was more than pleasantly surprised upon arrival. Great location, great views, welcoming staff (Chad & Wendy). Inn is a bit dated but clean, comfortable and in a great location. Creek side, second floor is the best. All room have balconies. There's even "real" Kleenex in the room AND beige towels vs. the standard white (boring). Simple but good continental breakfast.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherrill B, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marymoo55, Thank you so much for your kind words!! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! I have shared your comments with the team and will continue to work on improving the Inn before your next visit. See you soon! More 

Baxley, Georgia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is very nice and quiet. A little outdated but still nice. Beds sleep well and it was clean. The only reason I did not give a 5 star rating is because of the woman who was checking us in. She was rude and very hard to deal with. I was one day late to my check in (had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherrill B, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review

Dear Brittany M., I really appreciate your candor regarding your stay. I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations at check in and I am glad that you did not let that negatively affect the rest of your stay. We pride ourselves on our friendliness and I am disappointed that we let you down. Hopefully on your next... More 

Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were there for a one night stay, and we will return. We were very happy with our room on the creek side. A lot of activity (even on Sunday evening) The staff was A+++. Very nice. We loved the views from our deck and all the activity across the creek.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherrill B, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review

Dear EGO210, We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the kind words regarding the staff! We are very fortunate to have such a great team of people working at the Inn. I am so glad that you got to experience the creek view and ambience! We look forward to your next visit! More 

NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A wonderful location with a whole different feel from downtown Charleston - well worth the few minutes it takes to drive over the bridge. Good restaurant choices very close. Rooms are very reasonably priced, cozy, quiet and clean. Entire staff was really helpful & super friendly. Would return again just for staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherrill B, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review

Dear RT, We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! I have shared your review with our entire team. Our staff is our greatest asset and we are so happy to have them recognized. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Shem Creek Inn has the best location! Near Patriots Point, you are 4 miles downtown Charleston and 4 miles from Sullivan's Island. Rooms are not amazing but comfortable and clean. Staff is courteous. Breakfast is very simple. Come for a bed and the location!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherrill B, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review

Dear Abel J., Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I agree, our location is the best! We hope to see you again soon! More 

Lexington, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015 via mobile

The inn is a great place to stay in this area. The reception desk gave us an upgrade, which allowed us to get two rooms instead of one. The view of the creek and the boats from the balcony was beautiful. The only drawbacks - not enough receptacles for electronics, some trash on the floor at check in, a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherrill B, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marlene R., Thanks so much for sharing! I am so glad you got to experience the magnificent view from one of our creek side rooms during your stay. Your feedback regarding more receptacles and the troublesome door was most welcome. Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

We had no problems, but the hotel had a few flaws that disappointed. The parking area is in sad condition. It's unpaved and there are fewer than ten spots in the only nicer area under the building. We selected this hotel for the balcony (which overlooked the bleak dirt parking lot) and the fact that the bathroom boasted a tub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sherrill B, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review

Dear damionpitt, There is no excuse for the state of your bathroom during your stay. I am so sorry that we let you down. Thank you for posting the pictures and your candid feedback. Please contact me directly if you are considering coming back to our hotel so that I can ensure we exceed your expectations next time. More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

The Inn had a fantastic rate offer for the holidays and since it is one of our favorites we booked it for one night pre-cruise. As always, front desk was courteous, room was clean,standard bathroom amenities, very comfortable bed. The mudslide parking lot has been mentioned many times,so no need to be repeating the bad reviews about that. Only negative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sherrill B, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review

Dear Williamjim_11, Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay and taking advantage of one our great holiday deals. I apologize for the loud HVAC unit in your room. I hope you mentioned it to us during your stay so that it could be fixed moving forward. Please contact me when you are planning to return... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

203 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (176)
Viewed
View from room (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question