We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wild Dunes Resort

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
5757 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2734
Offers & Announcements
10% Off Nightly Rates!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Wild Dunes Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,629 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    913
    388
    148
    116
    64
See reviews for
668
477
20
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1629)
  • Mar-May only
    (410)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (566)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (394)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (259)
All months
There are newer reviews for Wild Dunes Resort
See the most recent reviews
Hot Springs, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the resort for 5 idyllic nights. We stayed in the Boardwalk Inn and everything about it was perfect. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much. The boardwalk from the hotel to the pavilion and to the beach was charming. The restaurants within the complex catered for every need ( breakfasts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in a Village hotel room over the 4th of July on our way home from Hilton Head. I was very disappointed in the resort. The room was a typical hotel room with two queen beds, a chair and desk, and a fridge. The beds were comfortable, but the room was showing wear - rust stains by the fridge,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Management response:

I am very sorry to hear you had such negative experiences on your most recent stay. With regard to the dining experience, both The Grand Pavilion and The Lettered Olive had some exceptionally challenging days the week of July Fourth, and we have taken corrective measures to ensure that these long waits and food errors do not occur again. As... More 

Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Large comfortable rooms, excellent staff, wonderful location at Wild Dunes with gorgeous beach and short easy drive to Charleston.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here for a week in July. We stayed in the village complex, we had two connecting rooms. Essentially a 2br Condo and it worked out great. The beach was right there (5 min walk). Golf courses were good, not great. The room itself was a little banged up, but not too bad. The Pool Pavilion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family of four (kids 17 and 19) rented a condo on the northern end of Wild Dunes for the week of July 4th. While the condo rental came with a sports/amenities card, we did not use it once. We used the pool on the grounds of the condo, which was rarely crowded. I walked the entire length of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This resort is expensive - and really didn't deliver for our 3 night stay in early July 2012. The resort failed to notify us of on-going construction ahead of our arrival. Of course, as bad luck would have it, we got a room literally overlooking the construction - and all the accompanying noise. Paid a lot of money for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The food was not good, the service was slow, took one hour and 35 minutes to get our meal. The place seemed to be in chaos,. The manager was uncaring and gave incorrect information. There were least 3 unhappy large party tables. Out of 8 meals 3 were poor, 2 were o.k and 3 were below average. We hope corrective... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

I am very sorry you had a substandard experience at our restaurant. We always seek to provide Four Diamond service and food to our guests. The night you dined at The Lettered Olive was an exceptionally difficult one for the kitchen and servers alike. I have taken measures to insure that the team at The Lettered Olive does not repeat... More 

Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This resort is located on the end of the Isle of Palms. There are 1600 acres of beautifully landscaped and manicured grounds. There are 3 main pools and most of the accommodations have their own small pools as well. You can rent bikes for your stay and this is the best way to navigate the resort and all its wonderful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to provide the very detailed and frank feedback, both positive and negative. We appreciate your detailed review and appreciate the suggestions for improvements and will work to implement them. As you can imagine, with a resort of our size with so many offerings, we work hard every day to ensure we are doing everything... More 

Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

It is hard for me to compare a resort course (my term) as I reside in Michigan and feel that we have exceptional courses and values. Nonetheless, the Dunes course has some find amenities and a joy to play. One negative I can offer is the cost for both Links and Harbor courses which I feel is excessive. As we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spring Branch, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here in one of the condos for Father's Day. Great beach, outstanding staff, wonderful local restaurants, very nice weather. A memory for years to come.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Boardwalk inn(21)
  • Lettered Olive(14)
  • Very nice(13)
  • Golf course(5)
  • Full kitchen(4)
  • Friendly and helpful(4)
  • Great Place(3)
  • Sea Island Grill(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

619 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (515)
Viewed
View from room (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (165)
Viewed
Room/suite (89)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
3.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#3 of 6 in Isle of Palms
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
#5 of 6 in Isle of Palms
3.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
15.5 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Isle of Palms & Wild Dunes Resort
24.8 mi away
The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
11.1 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay