We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Inn South Forest Beach

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2 Tanglewood Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Quality Inn South Forest Beach
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
240 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our 1st stay at this hotel was August. So we decided to give it a try again. Great location. Great price....but they are renovating the entire property to become a Holiday Inn express. A little noise in the afternoon but we left for happy hour. Will be really nice after renovations. Hope the price does not go way up. Slept... More 

Helpful?
Thank txlnstr
Linda P, Director of Sales at Quality Inn South Forest Beach, responded to this review

Dear Txlnstr, Thank you coming back! And of course for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. The renovations are moving along quickly now and we are all anticipating the new hotel! When the renovation is complete, pricing will of course go up, however we will still be a great value option within walking distance to the beach,... More 

Fairfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in a great location near the beach. The breakfast was great. It is in the process of being upgraded and I understand it will be a Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were very so-so. We didn't try the pool as my son was in a resort that we visited. Its location makes it worth the price but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dic1000
Linda P, Director of Sales at Quality Inn South Forest Beach, responded to this review

Dear Dic 1000, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay during our renovations. Pricing will increase once the hotel is completed as the renovation specials will be gone, however we hope you will find our new hotel to be stunning and still great value for the location!... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is an older facility. However, the room was clean and recently updated. It is an easy walking distance to restaurants and the beach. It is pet friendly. Have I stayed in nicer hotels -- yes. Was I happy with the stay -- yes. Good room, good location, great value.

Helpful?
Thank Swapneel
Linda P, Director of Sales at Quality Inn South Forest Beach, responded to this review

Dear Swapneel, Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back once all of the renovations are completed. Kind regards, Linda NOTE to our readers - as of February 1, 2016, we will no longer be pet friendly -... More 

Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We had everything we needed for a night's rest. The motel also offers a shuttle service. We didn't stay long enough to use that service but were informed of it at check in. I highly recommend this spot.

Helpful?
Thank Angela E
Linda P, Director of Sales at Quality Inn South Forest Beach, responded to this review

Dear Angela E, Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We hope you get to come back and see us again soon! Kind regards, Linda More 

Lansing
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

I gave ti a 3 because I couldn't decide if I should give it a 1 or a 5. Its in the process of being remodeled and will soon by a Holiday Inn Express. It's getting pretty rough and run down. However - the location and property is fabulous! Close enough to walk to everything, beach, shopping, etc. Tons of... More 

Helpful?
Thank MichiganHotelstayer
Linda P, Director of Sales at Quality Inn South Forest Beach, responded to this review

Dear MichiganHotelStayer, Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor and telling everyone about our renovations! We are very excited as well to see all the upcoming changes as we are changing pretty much everything!!! We do hope you will come back and visit us after the transition. Happy Travels! Linda More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

The hotel and staff were great but the choice reservation department is terrible.asked reservation department for ground floor due to husband being disabled didn't get it he ended up falling injuring his knee and his shoulder

Helpful?
Thank Trina D
Linda P, Director of Sales at Quality Inn South Forest Beach, responded to this review

Dear Trina D, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. This is the first we have heard of any incident. Please feel free to call our General Manager, Rob Lewis with details. We do not have any ground floor rooms but all of our rooms are accessible by elevator. Kind regards, Linda More 

Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

Stated here a couple years ago when it was Comfort Inn. Nice rooms. Covered parking. Free Breakfast. I am from South Florida, so the alligators don't scare me, but there were two that were pretty good size. Not sure if Quality Inn did any updating, but it was nice enough that I would stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank doug33351
Linda P, Director of Sales at Quality Inn South Forest Beach, responded to this review

Dear doug33351, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We have changed to the Quality and are currently renovating. Once our multimillion dollar renovation is complete in the spring we will become a Holiday Inn Express. Oh - and we did have the large alligators removed from property shortly after we purchased the hotels. Since then a couple smaller... More 

Savannah
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

This property has been purchased by Holiday Inn and is currently being renovated. It will soon be a Holiday Inn Express. The hotel had reached dump status with damaged, mismatched furniture, old baths, rotten balconies and torn draperies. You can stay here during renovation for 69.00 per night but be warned, you will listen to construction noise until 6PM in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Savannahone
Linda P, Director of Sales at Quality Inn South Forest Beach, responded to this review

Dear Savannahone, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all reviews! We purchased the property with renovations in mind from the start. We are well into it now and yes - construction runs from 9am-6pm. But our location is still awesome - easy walking distance to the beach and Coligny and we have... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015 via mobile

We have stayed here many times in the past and were aware of the current construction and renovations from reading the reviews. However, upon our arrival we were informed that our reservation had been down-graded and our new reservation was going to be on a lower floor where pets are allowed. This was disappointing and unsatisfactory. Very limited parking, WiFi... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dennis H
Linda P, Director of Sales at Quality Inn South Forest Beach, responded to this review

Dear Dennis H, Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We were sorry to hear that your experience was less than satisfactory. Unfortunately on the date that you arrived we did have additional issues that popped up and I'm sure it was very frustrating for you to have to move locations once you had arrived and were ready to... More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015

Quality Inn, 2 Tanglewood Drive, Hilton Head Island, SC 29928 843-842-6662 LOCATION: Very Good. Proceed Highway 278 to Pope, stay in right lane at Coligny Round-about which will put you on South Forest Beach, stay in right lane to turn right one block at Quality Inn sign at Tanglewood Drive. Check in/community breakfast building on right (hotel building farther back)... More 

Helpful?
Thank IslaEsperanza
Linda P, Director of Sales at Quality Inn South Forest Beach, responded to this review

Dear IslaEsperanza, Thank you so much for your very kind review! Our Housekeeping team is doing their best to keep everything as clean as possible and maintenance keeps things in working order and I know they appreciate your acknowledgement! We are all very excited to see the results of the current renovation and we hope to see you back with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#6 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#12 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#15 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#13 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
2.4 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay