We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
Hotel packages
130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Special Offer
Pay Now and Save
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    945
    305
    72
    19
    8
See reviews for
424
560
32
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1349)
  • Mar-May only
    (315)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (597)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (312)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (125)
All months
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband won 7 nights at the Sonesta the hotel was wonderful in a beautiful location.The room was big and spacious staff was really helpfull and friendly we had an amazing experience just sad as I dont think we could afford it ourselfes

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boynton Beach, FL
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed 2 nights at this resort 8/28-8/30/2015. We decided to take a weekend trip to Hilton Head sort of on the spur of the moment. This resort is beautiful. The room we had was large and well appointed - the bathroom was wonderful with back lighting on the mirror that made it soft but easy for grooming. there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hilton Head
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay at the Sonesta. We were there for three nights and four days. The hotel was extremely clean. The staff was professional, courteous, and helpful. The hotel had everything that we needed to make our stay enjoyable!!! I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends. The only complaint is the hotel is a little pricey.

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had a fantastic time with us at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. Thank you for your kind words regarding the friendliness of our staff. We always love hearing that they made you feel welcome and... More 

Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We decided to take a three-day weekend during the July 4th with our family. We couldn't have picked a better location. Grounds, room, lobby, restaurants, and pool were very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Chocolate bar at night was a hit! Great cookout buffet option at the pool over this weekend along with awesome bar service near... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island for your long weekend getaway to celebrate July 4th! We are so happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay and that you got to enjoy a variety of the amenities offered at the resort. We appreciate your feedback on the resort overall as well as your special mention of... More 

Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just finished a four day stay at the Sonesta. The property is very nice and very well maintained. The lobby is beautiful. The pool is a bit small but has a zero degree entry and has a kiddie section as well as a deep section. There is a small pond with outdoor seating which is nice but watch out for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent stay and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you got to enjoy a variety of the amenities at the resort and that our staff was able to make your stay an unforgettable one. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our first trip to Hilton Head and we couldn't have picked a better hotel.The hotel was clean, had an excellent accommodating staff, the food was very good and I would recommend the Sonesta to family and friends. My only negative was the room we had our balcony overlooked the roof. We really didn't spend any time sitting on... More 

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Hi Ellen, Thank you for your excellent review after your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We love hearing that you found our on-site dining delicious and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. Please contact us directly when we... More 

Norfolk VA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here midweek with a deal from groupon last minute. The front desk staff was very nice and pleasant, even gave the kids beach balls and Frisbee. We've asked to be placed in a room facing the pool but we're told there was a $40 extra charge that was not with it to us. The room we got was facing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Thanks so much for choosing Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island for your last minute getaway. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time write a review after your visit with us. We love hearing that you got to relax and enjoy a variety of the amenities offered at the resort. We appreciate... More 

Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had a wonderful experience here. It was my BF birthday and they made everything special.. He was blown away! Everything and everyone was so nice! I'm really big on customer service so that really impressed me with the hotel. I'll well definitely return for another visit soon if not many!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your terrific review! We are delighted to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed the birthday celebration and thank you for choosing Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island for this special occasion. Please contact us directly next time so we can assist you personally with your accommodation needs. We look forward to welcoming you back! Jay Wiendl... More 

Rego Park, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I wish I could have given a higher rating but there are some disappointments along the way. Actually my family and I are still here on vacation and I can't wait to go home. The resort itself is beautiful, well maintained and clean. The staff so far is very nice. The rooms are clean but have a some kind of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Hi Brenda, Thank you so much taking the time to write your review during your visit. We appreciate your constructive comments and value your feedback which is very important to us. We made every effort to address the items you brought to our attention and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us. Thank you for choosing... More 

Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We planned a last minute vacation to visit Hilton Head and found a great summer deal here for a 3 night stay. The location is excellent (just steps from the beach), beds are very comfortable, pools and outdoor service are great, and the food was excellent. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island for your visit to the area! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for your kind words about our amenities and on-site dining. We are thrilled to hear that you hope to visit again and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

790 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (365)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (106)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (69)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (81)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (395)
Viewed
Amenities (65)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Guestroom King (32)
Viewed
Guestroom with Two Queen (50)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (72)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (46)
Viewed
Suite (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House Resort
Beach House Resort
#13 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inn at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#12 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#11 of 26 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay