We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

4.0 of 5 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    162
    51
    11
    12
See reviews for
207
209
9
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (658)
  • Mar-May only
    (128)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (262)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (182)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (86)
All months
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A friend and I just stayed here for a long weekend getaway. The property is very nice, and from what I could see, well maintained. The pool area is gorgeous, but I could have used a map, it's so big! Check-in went smoothly, with Sam assisting me. I reserved a premium oceanfront room, but be forewarned that these rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing feedback on your weekend getaway at The Westin. We appreciate your comments that the resort is very nice, the pool area gorgeous, and that you had a nice and clean premium ocean front room. I was glad to know that Sam and Eric ensured you and your friend were well cared for as our staff always... More 

Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When the family comes and wants to stay first class I always refer them to the Westin. They came again from Charlotte and had a wonderful time - the renovations are beautiful and restaurants are great. Do not forget to save some time for the spa and treat yourself to a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a great choice for a first class experience. Delighted that your family had a wonderful time enjoying our resort, restaurants, and the renewing Heavenly Spa. We look forward to welcoming your family back in the near future for another memorable stay. - Tim Freisen, General Manager More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here 10 years ago, we thought it was so so. They have really made very nice updates! Rooms were beautiful, spacious, modern and clean. Bathrooms were very nice and a very nice bathtub! Rainshower head, makeup mirror...etc! Grounds and outdoor seating areas in beautiful settings! Starbuck cappuccinos in hotel cafe. Lovely stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing that you had a lovely stay at The Westin recently. I was delighted to know you enjoyed our beautiful and well-equipped guest rooms and bathrooms. We appreciate your comments that you had a great experience renewing in our spectacular resort grounds and that you also enjoyed the Starbucks specialties in Ingredients cafe. We certainly look forward... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall hotel was asthetically appealing. The grounds were great and lobby, hallways and grounds were kept well. My room was spacious and i actually didn't mind the walk to get to the room. The housekeeping could use a little training. Unfortunately my room also (i saw another person posted something similiar) had mold/mildew growing under the lip of the counter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing feedback on your weekend getaway to The Westin with your kids. I was glad to know you found the overall hotel, guest room, and grounds very appealing and that you also had the opportunity to indulge in the heated outdoor pool and hot tub during this time of the year. Please accept my sincere apology that... More 

Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very relaxing and enjoyable time while attending a conference for couples. Look forward to returning next year. The staff was very courteous and attending to our every need as a couple staying at the resort and to the needs of our conference.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing that you had a memorable and relaxing weekend stay at The Westin while attending a couples conference. I was glad to know our staff was very courteous and ensured you were well cared for as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back next year... More 

Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Westin Hilton Head is nicely hidden on the posh island. My husband and I attended a Christian Marriage conference held at the hotel. We were very pleased with the valet attendants, front desk customer service representatives and of course the well maintain property. The accommodations offered at the hotel were amazing and we plan on returning during the summer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing complimentary feedback on your stay at The Westin to attend a conference. I was delighted to know that you felt your accommodations were amazing, and also that you enjoyed the pizza at Ingredients. We especially appreciate your comment that you were pleased with our staff as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My fiancé and I had booked a few days at this Westin for when I was coming back from overseas. My flights got majorly screwed up and then we both set new reservations and cancelled and it was a total mess on our efforts. The hotel not only handled it all but upgraded our room and sent us strawberries and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent trip to The Westin with your fiance for an escape getaway. I was delighted to know that our staff ensured you were well cared for with incredible service and that they sent a special and renewing amenity. We especially appreciate your kind remarks on Jason providing personal and instinctive service. We look... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

great location, great staff... a must visit place... I will return. from check in, to meals... everything was a wonderful experience, the staff in the Carolina grill really makes you feel important. I miss them the most

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing you had a great weekend getaway at The Westin. Our team always strives to ensure guests are well cared for and treated special. I was delighted that you had a wonderful experience; especially in our Carolina Room. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing escape. - Tim Freisen, General Manager More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Check in time was at 12pm. I was not able to check in until 3 pm. The couple that came with us received their room. After driving two hours and very tired,I was somewhat irate.The hotel was very nice, rooms clean, and a beautiful view.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay at The Westin. I was delighted that you enjoyed our resort and our nice guest rooms as well as a beautiful view. Our published check-in time is at 4:00 p.m. with check-out at 12:00 noon, and this information is contained in the reservation confirmation as well as on our website. Based... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The folks working at this hotel were friendly and tried very hard to make sure my stay was satisfactory. Unfortunately, they couldn't overcome the building's deficiencies. First, there's the layout. If you want an oceanfront room be prepared for a hike as these rooms are barely within walking distance of the elevators. Then there's the noise level. The south wing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel M, General Manager at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing feedback on your stay at The Westin. It was great to know that our staff were friendly and strived to ensure personal and instinctive service. The configuration of our building does have the guest rooms with the best ocean/beachfront views farther from our lobby area, although we do have elevators at the beach side of both... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head

444 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (156)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (52)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Other (27)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (264)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Ocean View (35)
Viewed
King Room (40)
Viewed
King Room with Ocean View (49)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay