We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
407 North Main Street, Greenville, SC 29601
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    69
    75
    17
    8
    11
See reviews for
49
50
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (180)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was the best value in the area during the Independence Day holiday. We secured last minute reservations for 30% less than other comparable hotels in the area. The location is still within walking distance to the downtown area. The hotel had a little bit of construction going on but was clean overall. The room was a decent size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Based on the recommendation of a friend who was staying at this hotel, we decided to give it a try. The check in process went okay and Mike worked really hard to make it better than it started out to be. The room was very nice, clean and large. The parking is not "secure" as some of the other hotels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry that things did not get off to a good start, but happy that Mike was able to turn it around for you. It was our pleasure to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Panama City Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Inconveniently located just outside of the normal walking, eating, playing area. Yucky hotel hidden in he middle of all the big buildings and you never know just down the way is a whole adorable city with lots of cute outdoor walking areas. Rooms are musty and mildewing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to see that you did not enjoy our location or our hotel. Our team would like the opportunity to talk with you about your experience. Our general manager can be reached at 864-678-8000. Our goal is to deliver an outstanding experience. When we fail to do so, we do everything we... More 

Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
157 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was recently in Greenvile on business & chose this hotel for my team. I reserved a block of rooms for all. Booking was extremely easy with confirmations emailed to me. Check in was very smooth. The room I had was super. I had a king bed that was very comfy. Love the soft & firm pillow selections. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

We had no problems with this hotel. The location is convenient, its walking distance to downtown. We found the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean, offering a nice breakfast. We did see signs saying the gym was closed but they were offering an off site option. Didn't take advantage of that as we opted to walk the trails... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Staff was welcoming and helpful. Location was perfect for our needs. Convenient to downtown and a host of other historic sites and homes. A restful time! Staff took care of minor problems immediately.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Great welcome. Great recommendations for restaurants. Very clean room. Bed was comfortable and pillows were great. Very reasonable price for a downtown hotel. Currently undergoing some renovation. This never bothered anyone. We were able to walk to all downtown areas for both sightseeing and enjoying dinner. Great restaurants are within a 10 minute walk. Pool location is next to parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 via mobile

As Priority Club members we "loyally" stay at IHG hotels throughout the country and have always been satisfied with our stay. We have also stayed at this hotel previously and enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately there was little or nothing positive about our recent experience. We were assigned a handicapped room on the first floor. We never even knew this floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We did recently have an issue with a sprinkler head that was set off in a guest room and the damage was extensive to the first floor. Our team immediately began to work on restoration. We had a restoration crew in the hotel within... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015 via mobile

Well I just have to say it was very clean. The house keeping staff does a great job. With that being said, this morning I asked Kayla at guest services if she could help me find a knife to cut an orange with. (The orange is included in the free breakfast.) Maybe even go get it cut for me. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that you did not get a helpful response from the front desk.This is an extremely rare situation as Kayla is always very happy to help with anything. I am happy to know that Ms. Mary took care of everything. Ms.... More 

Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

This is the worst Holiday Inn Express I've ever stayed in. The bed is terribly uncomfortable. The mattress was so bad, I could feel the springs. We stay in Holiday Inns quite often when we're on the road, but we will not be back to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to see that you did not have a good experience. We would like to talk with you directly to learn what room you stayed in so we are able to inspect the mattress and replace it. You can reach our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (91)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Greenville Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#17 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#2 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Greenville Haywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay