We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Garden Resort

1210 N. Waccamaw Dr., Garden City Beach, SC 29576
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Garden Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    34
    27
    25
    17
    24
See reviews for
75
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Seneca, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

room was dirty, maintenance man was very rude when asked to look at sink. Elevators were VERY slow. Would not give but 6 towels for 6 guests. Linen was stained. Shower curtains rings were broken. I have stayed here for many years and this is the 1st time I have ever had complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Baltimore, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I really enjoy our room 1512 and the resort. After reading some reviews before coming I was a bit worried about the usual complaints. The parking being too tight. The pool being dirty. The elevators too slow or smelly and dirty. Those complaints I think were a little nit picky. Your at a beach. It's gonna happen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Horrible stay. I don't think this resort can handle, or keep up, to accommodate the amount of guests for certain times of the year. Unless,it's always like this. It was very smelly. Especially, in the elevators-that's with them,also, feeling like 120° of pure humidity. We got soaked,in sweat, everytime we used them. The elevators were, also, constantly breaking down. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
seabreeze843, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Garden Resort, responded to this review

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. The elevators have been up and running with the high volume of traffic. The elevators never broke, they were turned off one at a time to have scheduled maintenance and inspections completed on each. The elevators are maintained and inspected periodically to keep them within the state code of... More 

Travelers are raving about these Garden City Beach hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was dissapointing from the time we got there to the time we left. We were told by the rental company (Elevate Cleans) that we could have an early check in at 2.00 instead of 4.00. We figured we could be the rush. My family of 5 left early and I drove 12 hours straight and got there around 1.30... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
seabreeze843, Manager at Royal Garden Resort, responded to this review

Royal Garden Resort would like to appoligize for the inconnviences you had during your stay in condo 910. The condos are individually owned and the owners have the choice to put their condo with any realty company they choose. Unfortuanetly every realty company has different standards and ways of running their rentals. The lady behind the desk works for Sea... More 

Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for a weekend trip, unfortunately this is one of the few places that will allow you you rent for less than a week at a time. We stayed 4 nights as opposed to a 7 night minimum at most places during peak season. We arrived late and check-in was actually easier than I anticipated it was going to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
seabreeze843, Manager at Royal Garden Resort, responded to this review

The condos are individually owned and are decorated and furnished by the owners. The condo floors in 201 had recently been shampooed; we would like to apologize for the floors being dirty and will speak with housekeeping. Sea Breeze Realty offered to come and inspect the room and have it sprayed as you stated in your review. Since the service... More 

Hanover, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

We were told when we booked that our condo was handicapped accessible. When we arrived we were told that no condos in the building are handicapped accessible. My wife had to sleep in her wheel chair in the living room. Handicapped bath room is located in management section and is locked after 4:00.

Was this review helpful? Yes
seabreeze843, Manager at Royal Garden Resort, responded to this review

We would like to apoligize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at the Royal Garden Resort. Your reservation was made through a third party. We are aware that you were assited in relocating, as well as refunding your money. We always strive to accomodate our guest every way possible and again aplogize for any incovenience you may have... More 

Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience. You do need to remember a couple of things. Each unit is owned privately and therefore decor and how well it is updated is individual. The building is older therefore the elevators were slow. But we learned the tricks and it never really bothered us. Yes...parking garage is tight but that never bothered us either.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015 via mobile

The room was exactly what was advertised on Dune Realty. No complaints about the room itself. The ocean was nice and overall resort was in a great location, not crowded. I had 3 issues during my stay: 1-The parking garage is horrendous, 2 way traffic with no room to pass. Had to back up several times and have someone direct... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chuckey, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

We stayed in room 204 at Royal Gardens last week. Pros: Great Ocean View Very comfy king size bed Cons: The room was nasty. The kitchen stove was rusted beyond belief. The cabinets were sticky with food debris on them. The shower in the smaller bathroom would not adjust and you had to stand all the way against the wall.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greeneville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

I rented 2 units this past week (June 20-27). I must say that the Maintenance staff, (especially, Sean),security staff and the Dunes Realty staff were most helpful and courteous and did a wonderful job attending to our every need. The unit 211 leaves a lot to be desired... The card said cleaned by Rise and Shine Cleaning Service... well that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

546 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (12)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (499)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
One Bedroom Condo (67)
Viewed
Pool (50)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Condo (58)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Condo (89)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City Beach
1.7 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garden City Inn
Garden City Inn
#5 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
3.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
7.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#19 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
14.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#12 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,279 reviews
10.1 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay