We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Carowinds

Certificate of Excellence
2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3675 Foothills Way, Fort Mill, SC 29708-9299
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
BEST WESTERN Carowinds
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fort Mill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Tripp C
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    74
    28
    7
    8
See reviews for
93
57
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

While traveling all over South Carolina for business, my days are long and hard on the road. One of my favorite hotels to visit is the Best Western @ Carowinds in Fort Mill, SC. When I stay here I am always confident in having a relaxing comfortable guest room and the hotel staff always exceeds the hospitality factor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staff was great but hotel needs better fit and finish. Large gaps in room doors surprised us. Free breakfast was adequate and coffee was fresh. Can walk to restaurant and great restaurants within a short drive. Cabela's just opened and Carowinds is right there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We reserved a room here since all airport hotels were booked due to a basketball tournament in Charlotte. It was the closest we could get to CLT. First impression was the seedy location, but the hotel lobby seemed OK. The clerk reeked of cigarette smoke which wasn't a good sign. Had a room on the top floor which was both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I apologize that our hotel was below your standards. On busy nights we try our very best to accommodate all guests, your request was for a top floor room we have 9 rooms on the third floor that are smoking. However most of the rooms on that floor are nonsmoking. If we are sold out... More 

Greensboro, NC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was looking for an inexpensive and clean hotel that was close to Charlotte, NC as I did not want to pay the unreasonable prices that a lot of the Charlotte, NC hotels were asking for on this particular day. As this hotel is haut across the SC/NC border and was an easy drive, I decided to stay here. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is located just off of route 77 south of Charlotte and very convenient as a stop-over on our trip from PA to Charleston, SC. The hotel itself is attractive, clean and comfortable but the adjacent properties are run down which detracts from the location. The heating/air unit was a bit loud at times during the night but otherwise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel we greatly appreciate it! We are very glad that you found our hotel clean and comfortable for your stay, we strive to make sure our guests have a relaxing clean and quiet place to stay while away from home. We look forward to seeing you in the... More 

Flower Mound, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is very nice. Great stay. The room is very comfortable, clean and quiet. Staff is friendly and very helpful. High speed wireless Internet connection. The breakfast is very nice. Good location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I hope that you will be staying with us in the future, Have a wonderful day! More 

Burlington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Always stay at this hotel on our way to Florida and have never had a problem. Would highly recommend. The staff is always very helpful. My wife had a problem getting internet loaded on her computer and the young lady at the front desk solved her problem.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, I'm very glad that you choose our hotel for your travels. Our staff is here for all your needs so I'm glad to hear that our front desk helped your wife with the internet. We want to make sure your comfortable on your travels while away from home. Have a wonderful day and we... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel was amazing!!! We got more than what we wanted!!! My Husband & I wanted a Jacuzzi Suite and was looking around for days..... We looked at another hotel and it was awful but than we can here and too our surprise this place was AWESOME!!! The Jacuzzi is in a wonderful place and the room is huge & CLEAN!!!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review! I'm so happy to hear that you had such a great experience while staying here! The Jacuzzi Suite is a favorite of many with the living room area and of course the Jacuzzi in the room so you can enjoy TV while in the tub! I'm glad you chose Best Western for... More 

Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

It's cheap and you get what you pay for. It's cheaper than most local hotels for many learned reasons. Outdated, cleanliness, absolutely terrible breakfast, horrible staff and without question we will not return. Since our company is opening an office in the area we will be staying in this area a lot. BUT NOT IN THIS HOTEL. Terrible in every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Charter Development, I'm very sorry to hear that you will no longer be staying with our hotel. During your stay an employee burned holes in the Bedspread, sheets, and mattress pad causing $109.00 in damages. We wanted to work with your company and make sure you were all happy so we did not charge for the damages and let it... More 

Welland, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

We stopped on our way to Disney World, the customer service was good, the hotel clean & well taken care of. The price was good. Everyone had a good nights sleep, the breakfast in the morning was a decent Continental breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I'm very happy to hear that our hotel meet your expectations! We hope that you had a wonderful time in Disney World and hope that you come back to see us again soon! Have a great day! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question