We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Carowinds

Certificate of Excellence
2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3675 Foothills Way, Fort Mill, SC 29708-9299
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
BEST WESTERN Carowinds
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fort Mill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Chris_Ransdell Portland, Oregon, United States
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    77
    28
    7
    8
See reviews for
95
60
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (223)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Portland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything in our room and on the property worked. The room was consistently cleaned each day, the towels and amenities were of acceptable quality. There is a PC provided in the lobby for printing boarding passes or whatever. We didn't try breakfast on our 3 day stay. The fitness center is near the pool and was only unlocked once, by... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Chris, Thank you for your review. We do have to keep the pool gate locked during the winter season for safety purposes however the front desk will unlock it 24/7 as you said by request. During the summer months it will be unlocked until 10pm. We hope that you come back and see us soon and have a wonderful day! More 

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room was clean and had everything we needed. The ladies at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The breakfast had a nice selection. It was a great place to stay for our visit to Carowinds. Only weird thing was we occasionally had a faint scent of cigarette smoke in our room, even though the whole floor was non-smoking.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Andrea, Thank you for your wonderful review! we are so glad you found our hotel enjoyable for your visit to Carowinds! We do have smoking on the third floor and occasionally if the hotel is sold out and lots of people are smoking the smoke will travel some. We hope that you do stay with us in the future and... More 

Winston Salem, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in town for one night. Wanted a reasonable place to stay that was "clean" and offered some amenities without costing an arm and a leg. We were glad we chose this motel. It was very clean. Had a pleasant smell. The breakfast offered waffles,sausage,boiled eggs, cereal, bagels, fruit, juice, coffee and more. We had no problem getting full.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Barry, Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you found our hotel to be a pleasant stay. We are currently working on renovation plans with a designer and the gym will be one of the things that we do update. We are glad you still made use of it! We look forward to seeing you in the... More 

Brighton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here again on our trip North, and was not disappointed. Receptionist took ownership and was most pleasant. Close to I77, but tucked away so not the easiest to find. Everything kept clean and tidy. Morning coffee was on early, and a simple breakfast fare got us on our way quickly. Room was very clean, bed very comfortable with ample... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Bill, Thank you for your great review! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are kinda tucked away we are working a way to get our name towards the main road currently, however the tucked away aspect makes for a quiet peaceful stay so we do enjoy that just as you did. We hope to see you soon!... More 

Greenville, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent place to stay. Visit this location pretty often. Nice clean rooms. Friendly staff. Special shout out to Ronnie who is always nice and friendly. Nice breakfast. Will continue to stay here when in this area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Terry, Thanks for you excellent review! I will be sure Ronnie knows your praise! We like him here as well! He an asset to the team for sure! We are very happy that you come often and enjoy your stay! We look forward to seeing you soon! More 

Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is clean, well kept up, and has a great breakfast. For what I paid, it was perfect, and very convenient to Carowinds. The staff was efficient and personable at check in and check out, and the room was quiet. I slept like a baby.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and slept like a baby! That's what we like to hear! We look forward to seeing you soon! More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While traveling all over South Carolina for business, my days are long and hard on the road. One of my favorite hotels to visit is the Best Western @ Carowinds in Fort Mill, SC. When I stay here I am always confident in having a relaxing comfortable guest room and the hotel staff always exceeds the hospitality factor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We enjoy our regular's here and we are very pleased you are one of them! We hope to see you soon! Don't work too hard! More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff was great but hotel needs better fit and finish. Large gaps in room doors surprised us. Free breakfast was adequate and coffee was fresh. Can walk to restaurant and great restaurants within a short drive. Cabela's just opened and Carowinds is right there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are currently in the process with a designer to renovate the hotel, the gap in the door that you expressed will be mentioned thank you for bringing it to our attention. This area is very up and coming, we are having lots of new things being built around us a new outlet shopping... More 

NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We reserved a room here since all airport hotels were booked due to a basketball tournament in Charlotte. It was the closest we could get to CLT. First impression was the seedy location, but the hotel lobby seemed OK. The clerk reeked of cigarette smoke which wasn't a good sign. Had a room on the top floor which was both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I apologize that our hotel was below your standards. On busy nights we try our very best to accommodate all guests, your request was for a top floor room we have 9 rooms on the third floor that are smoking. However most of the rooms on that floor are nonsmoking. If we are sold out... More 

Greensboro, NC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

I was looking for an inexpensive and clean hotel that was close to Charlotte, NC as I did not want to pay the unreasonable prices that a lot of the Charlotte, NC hotels were asking for on this particular day. As this hotel is haut across the SC/NC border and was an easy drive, I decided to stay here. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elizabeth S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Carowinds, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review I am so glad that you found our hotel to be a pleasant stay that always makes us feel great! We look forward to seeing you in the future! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question