We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Florence hotels

Fairfield Inn Florence

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Dunbarton Drive, Florence, SC 29501
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Florence to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Florence
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
38%
Ranked #24 of 38 hotels in Florence
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (202)
  • Photos (39)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (46)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    45
    55
    44
    31
See reviews for
71
58
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Riding, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pay a little more and stay at another hotel! It was clean, I'll give them that, however, this Inn is VERY old, has a horrible smell to it. The pool was green/brown, disgusting, looks like it hadn't been touch for YEARS. Customer service was the worst. Free breakfast was terrible. Surprise that this hotel had anything to do with Marriott.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ffi_flofi_gm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Florence, responded to this review

Dear becarg, Thank you for taking the time to alert us to your experience at the Fairfield Inn Florence. The comments of our guests helps us to improve. We strive to ensure that all of our guest have a pleasant stay. You didn't mention when you stayed with us. But based on your comments about the pool it must have... More

New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have been staying at the Florence Fairfield Inn for over 10 years on our road trips to Florida as Florence is the halfway point from New Jersey. The room we were first given 111 on the first floor had a broken safety latch, a bent door frame, and some crud on the tile in the bathroom.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ffi_flofi_gm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Florence, responded to this review

Dear Howard M, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience at the Fairfield Inn Florence. I apologize that the first room you went into did not meet your needs. But I am glad that we were able to quickly find a better room for you. The Fairfield Inn Florence is one of the few... More

Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We always trust the Marriott name!! That's why we picked this place on our way down to Florida! Marriott needs to take their name off this place!! Room was horrible!!! Smelled like mildew... Bathroom area was horrible... If we weren't so tired,I would have checked out and asked for a refund!!! Went to get a bucket of ice I. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ffi_flofi_gm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Florence, responded to this review

Dear Maureen125, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience about the Fairfield Inn Florence. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I understand how frustrating the experience was for you. If you would like to discuss your stay further please contact me at the hotel. I hope that you will give us another... More

New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My GPS directed us to a bad location (close, but not right). We could see the sigh and found our way. I'm happy we did. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was smaller than other Fairfields we have stayed in, but it was clean and had everything we required. The rooms on the 1st floor open to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
39 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I don't understand the reviews expecting a Fairfield Inn to be a 5-star hotel...they aren't supposed to be and never will be. Needed a hotel on the way to beach that would take pets and this fit the bill. I don't prefer Fairfield when traveling because they aren't as nice unless they are brand new. That said, this was good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ffi_flofi_gm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Florence, responded to this review

Dear Joshb2j, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about the Fairfield Inn Florence. This hotel is one of the few remaining "original, First Generation" Fairfield Inns still in operation. Even though the hotel is 25 years old we still tery to keep everything fresh and clean. We are adding a dumb bell rack and balance balls... More

Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Terrible, dirty, dirty room. My feet/socks were black after walking on the carpet for 2 min?!?! Mattress might as well have been a folded up cardboard box, towels and amenities no good either. Accommodations are simply the worst. Ice machine 2nd floor broken and I could go on. Breakfast buffet was good and staff encountered seemed friendly. Skip this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ffi_flofi_gm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Florence, responded to this review

Dear mbronke Please let me apologize for your recent stay at the Fairfield Inn Florence. Our hotel is one of the few "Original" Fairfield Inn's still in operation. Our brand has gone through some changes in the last 26 years. The Fairfield Inn Florence was recently purchased by new owners that are committed to improving the experience of all of... More

New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I have stayed at many, many Marriotts. This was the worst. And expensive for what it is. It should cost about $50 per night, not double. We checked in about 12:30am. We were exhausted after a long drive. I walk in and there is no one at the front desk. I wait a couple minutes and loudly say hello. Nothing.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ffi_flofi_gm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Florence, responded to this review

Dear ValerieR, Please accept my apology for ther inconvenience that you experienced at the Fairfield Inn Florence. I will discuss your arrival experience with the front desk agent that checked you in. Our maintenance department is addressing the issue that you had in the restroom. I truly appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention. This is the only way... More

Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Check-in perfunctory but passable. Room was clean but likely empty for sometime before us; musty and smelled of dank. Paint on walls peeling and generally shabby. Breakfast was quite good, but the harried staff couldn't keep up with the demand so much of the items were out for 10-15 mins. Again, all staff were cordial and pleasant, but the old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ffi_flofi_gm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Florence, responded to this review

Dear memjfm1, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Fairfield Inn Florence. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Our hotel is one of the few remaining "Original First Generation" Fairfield Inns still in operation today. We have recently been purchased by new owners. They are committed to improving... More

East Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed overnight at this hotel since I am a marriot chain Gold Elite member. I stay more than 70 nights at marriott hotels but the quality and layout of this hotel does not meet Marriott standards. I have stayed at more than 280 nights at marriott hotels, ths is the worst fairfield inn I have stayed. Looks like Motel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ffi_flofi_gm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Florence, responded to this review

Dear SonnyJ, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Fairfield Inn Florence. I do appreciate the feedback that I get from our guests, especially our Elite Rewards members. Your opinion is important to us. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Our hotel is one of the few remaining... More

Chesterfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I agree with the writers below that this hotel is not up to expectations for a Marriott property. While I believe the sheets, towels, etc. were clean, the hotel is very dated with a very small bathroom. It has a shabby appearance. We stayed on the second floor and the exterior deck floor has a generous downard tilt, The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ffi_flofi_gm, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Florence, responded to this review

Dear READYTOGO2014, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Fairfield Inn Florence. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Our hotel is one of the few remaining "Original First Generation" Fairfield Inns still in operation today. We have also recently been purchased by new owners. They are committed to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Fairfield Inn Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Florence

Address: 140 Dunbarton Drive, Florence, SC 29501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Florence 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Florence Hotel Florence
Fairfield Florence
Florence Fairfield Inn

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy our Southern Hospitality at the beautiful Fairfield Inn in Florence, SC. We are minutes away from Darlington NASCAR Raceway and the Florence Civic Center. Enjoy a day of shopping at Magnolia Mall, within walking distance of the hotel. We have a brand new lobby and new breakfast area where you can enjoy a delicious Hot Complimentary Breakfast. Our rooms have soft, comfortable beds and Flat Screen TV's. We feature interior Executive rooms with microwave and mini refrigerators located on the 3rd floor. Come relax by our outdoor pool and work out in our fitness room. We offer friendly exceptional service with comfortable rooms, great amenities, and complimentary high speed wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
135

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer