We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Florence Inns & Suites

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
3821 Bancroft Road, I-95 Exit 157, Florence, SC 29501 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Florence)
Florence Inns & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Florence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
JafmK Orlando, Fl.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    11
    10
    16
See reviews for
26
22
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Orlando, Fl.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My stay was surprisisingly comfortable, friendly, and clean! The rooms are obviously newly renovated and spacious and the price was reasonable. The access was easy off 157 on 95 and 1/4 mile east. This is the perfect halfway mark between Florida and Pennsylvania and I will stay here again. They also have rooms set aside for people that bring pets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice place to stay and the price is reasonable. Paula, the new manager is very nice to deal with and has people's best interests at heart. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast is included in a quaint, clean dining room. We would definitely mark this motel as a future place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wasn't expecting much since every other hotel in the area was booked and thats what we got. It was ok and would prob give it 2 1/2 stars. It was convenient to I95 and the only restaurants that we could see were a McDonalds and a Waffle House. We ended up ordering Papa Johns since we didn't know area and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Any kind of feed back from our guest, whether good or bad, lets us know our strong points and our week points. Our hotel is bug free and that is why we prefer guest to have their breakfast in the dinning room and... More 

Mulberry, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Do not stay here. It is disgusting along with the breakfast.The sheets were not clean,we seen stains all over them.Coffee was gross,Cream cheese was bad. We were better off sleeping in our car. Anyone that rated them 5 stars must be related to them. 5 stars....NEVER!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am truly sorry you had an unsatisfactory experience with your stay and we are taking the necessary steps to correct the wrongs. We strive to make each and every guest feel at home when staying with us and anything short of that... More 

Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

My stay at this hotel was quiet and comfortable. Check-in was a breeze, and I was greeted by a friendly and welcoming staff member. We stayed in room 122. Its first-floor location made unloading a breeze, as we were able to park immediately outside the room without negotiating any hallways or steps. The grounds and parking lot were well-maintained and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay and we hope that you stay with us again. As for the issues you mentioned, I can assure you they were taken care of promptly. Furthermore, what you noticed in the bathtub was not soap scum but a... More 

ROXBORO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

Staff very helpful with dining and places of interest. Clean and quiet. All carb breakfast. Large screen TV....endless hot water, fluffy towels, and the very best pillows ever in a motel. I highly recommend stopping and spending the night there. We will on our next journey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

We stayed here on our way from MD to Florida. Staff was very pleasant even though we showed up at 4 AM, room was clean, bed was very comfortable. Very interesting room decor but I found it fun. its a good place to stop and sleep for a few hours during a long drive. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make every guest feel comfortable and well rested. We understand that traveling long distances can be very stressful and we are happy to provide a safe place to get off the road and get... More 

Melbourne, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

If my husband wasn't so tired from our drive from NJ to FL, I would have left. The room had a terrible smell, there were stains and pulls on the carpet and the outdated couch. The desk chair was torn. What really bugged me was that the pillowcases had what appeared to be make-up on them..doubt they were changed. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay. If there would have been another room to move you to we would have happily done so. I will personally check into the issues that you had mentioned and correct them immediately. Good or bad, all reviews... More 

Boynton Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

The Florence Inn &Suites is our stopover place traveling from Florida to NJ, and it works for us. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and the location perfect. Definitely worth a visit!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a pleasant review of our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. It is kind words like yours that keep our business striving as other people read these reviews to help them decide whether or not to stay with us. We will continue to do... More 

Scranton, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We got off the exit to stay at another hotel and both were closed. This one was brightly light. A little expensive without a discount but very nice. Attendent was very nice, asked me if I needed wifi and to let me know about breakfast. Breakfast was a great selection. Nice seating. Only bad was the air vents in bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rodney H, Front Office Manager at Florence Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are happy that you chose us for your overnight accommodations and that you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in making our guests feel comfortable and safe, and we hope that you wont hesitate to choose us again on you next trip through Florence,SC. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question