We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 92 Columbia hotels

Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Main Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #25 of 92 hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014
NYC949 Girl Newport Beach, CA
  • Overview
  • Reviews (337)
  • Photos (73)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (58)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    107
    52
    18
    12
See reviews for
44
73
41
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Midland, NC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed in the hotel from 11 June 2014 until 15 June 2014. On the second day, we experienced bug bites on our heads and necks. We asked they change our bedding, but it took 2 days for fresh bedding to be brought. We had to go to the local drug store for pain relief. Also, not enough coffee was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We would like to first apologize for the negative experience you encountered while staying at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel. In the event that a hotel room has bed bugs then standard procedure would be to remove the guest from a room immediately and not just change their sheets. The room... More

Newport Beach, CA
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

From the time we checked in to the time we checked out our stay was nothing short of fabulous! The service is like that from a bygone era. Cedric in the club lounge makes you feel like you have known him your whole life and really adds a lot to the stay. I was on a work trip and even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to have your feedback in reference to your Top Flight Service stay. We take great pride in our guest's satisfaction. We will continue to provide you with the service you received and look forward to your return in the future. More

Simpsonville, South Carolina
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here at the end of January 2014. The room was clean and quiet. The bed was really comfortable. We received excellent service from Cedric in the club lounge, he was very attentive and made us feel welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience while visiting our club lounge. We value our guests and expect them to receive outstanding service. Thank you for staying with the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel and we look forward to serving you in the future. More

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My first time in Columbia SC and the Sheraton stay was a great introduction to the city. The suite was nice, clean, bed and pillows were comfy, was disappointed no bathtub but the stand up shower was okay and the TV in the bathroom was a nice touch. The best part of the weekend was meeting Cedric in the club... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your accomodations while visiting Columbia. We will sing your praises to our club lounge attendant as well. He is very knowledgable of Columbia's history. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your return in the future. More

Forsyth, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Room was clean, bed was wonderful. Service on The Vault was slow and the glasses were dirty (both for Martinis and water). Service on Mezzanine Restaurant was slow when they were not busy. Location is great, on center of town. I feel Hotel is probably understaffed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. I would like to begin by apologizing for the experience you encountered in our food and beverage venues. We take great pride in the experience in all aspects of our hotel and will make sure to correct this immediately. We never want our guests to feel as if we do not have... More

Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here on our drive down to Charleston, SC. It is convenient and the service was excellent. We even ate at an Ethiopian restaurant close by. The hotel is centrally located. My wife needed a snack tobtake her medicine with and the shop was closed. The night desk went upstairs and got her 2 granola bars so she could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel. We take great pride in honoring a southern hospitality experience when staying at the Sheraton. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you in the future. More

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

After a long day at work, there is nothing better than going to the club lounge and feeling at home. Cedric always welcomes the guests with a pleasant attitude, offers beverages and provides details about the menu. He always makes me feel very special! I just need to sit down and relax. Every time that I go to the Club... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. We take great pride in our staff and the hospitable experience in which they have provided. We will pass along your praise with the club lounge experience. Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel and we look forward to your return in the future. More

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I love what they did to make this hotel. Took a beautiful old office/bank building and turned it into a hotel. 4 rooms per floor, beautifully decorated, clean as can be. Have a drink in the bar...the old safe! Food in restaurant was so-so. Very friendly staff. If you go to see the Capital this is a few blocks away.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel. The Vault Martini Lounge and our RoofTop Bar are quite popular venues in the Columbia area. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you in the future. More

Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This place used to an old bank, so it has an interesting setup inside. The rooms are par for the course with your typical Sheraton. Centrally located in Columbia, with lots of areas in walking distance. The hotel can be a little difficult to navigate due to the aforementioned layout, however it makes for a unique experience and I'd make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent response on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you feedback as our valued guest. We are delighted to hear of your pleasant experience at our unquie boutique hotel. POSH on the Mezzanine and the RoofTop Bar do not have access from all three elevators, which can sometimes be a little tricky. Please feel free to stop and... More

Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

As usual- I was in town on business and needed a place to stay for a couple nights. A friend recommended the Sheraton and I'm glad she did. The property used to be a bank. The rooms are decent sized and well appointed. Beds are perfect. My favorite parts are the rooftop bar and the vault lounge.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent response on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you feedback as our valued guest. We are delighted to hear of your appreciation for our unique boutique property and guest rooms. We are happy to hear of your enjoyment at our RoofTop Bar and Vault Martini Lounge as well. These are quite popluar venue here in the Columbia... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel

Address: 1400 Main Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Sheraton

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style
#15 Business Hotel in Columbia #21 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
135

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer