We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 93 Columbia hotels

SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   511 Lady Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown to your Saves list
87%
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
TeddyR21 Asheville, North Carolina
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    60
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
65
25
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (186)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is very conveniently located to the Vista area of Columbia. Although extremely expensive on home football weekends, it is probably worth it. Nice hotel. Rooms are very nice with standard rooms having two separate bathrooms areas, one with a sink and toilet and one with a sink and shower. Pullout sofa in living room is another plus. Standard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpringHillColaSC, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this review

TeddyR21, Thank you for your nice review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I'm happy to hear that the location of our hotel as well as the set up of our suites worked so well for your family. Hopefully you were still able to enjoy the game despite the crazy weather! We look forward to having your family stay with... More

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rate at desk was quoted as $149 for first night and $179 for second night. Bill was $159 and $189 and front desk would not consider changing. See through doors for water closet toilet and also for shower bathroom with no locks on bathroom doors. Not good for families. Pool dirty and pool shower head broken. I would have expected... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpringHillColaSC, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this review

Keith M, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay. I apologize for the miscommunication about the room rates and for the problems you experienced in the pool area. If you would please contact me at the hotel directly, I would be happy to speak with you about compensation for these issues. Sincerely,... More

Atlanta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a great hotel on every level, except for the in-room bathrooms. There are sliding-glass doors that offer almost no privacy. And even if you are okay with your family hearing everything, the fact that they let light pour into the room means you're waking whoever is still in bed. We ended up using the lobby bathroom, which is not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SpringHillColaSC, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this review

Bramc, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. I'm so glad to hear that you have enjoyed our hotel in the past, but hate to hear that our bathroom doors might be the one thing keeping your family from staying with us again. We do have a few rooms with solid doors that might be a better option... More

Conyers
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hubs and I stayed at this hotel this pass weekend for a college classmate's birthday celebration. Upon arrival, I wanted to settle my bill at check in with "cash" right then as I'm accustomed to doing at other hotel chains. However, I was told that they could not accept cash until check out which was 12 noon, the next day.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpringHillColaSC, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this review

Deborah C Conyers, Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. I'm sorry to hear that there was some confusion regarding the cash and credit card policy at check-in. I am happy to hear that the suite layout worked well for you and that you had a comfortable night's sleep. Thank... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

BEDBUGS! Hotel appears new and rooms are beautifully designed……but be careful! My wife and 2 young girls stayed the night of August 31st 2014. After enjoying the afternoon in downtown Columbia we returned to the hotel. Attempted to swim in the pool but the heater was broken and water temperature was beyond uncomfortable. Water also was cloudy and did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this review

Masinmaria, I appreciate the concern and the awareness of our guest regarding this industry wide problem. No hotel is immune to bugs of any kind and bed bug problems are on the rise as a result of a multi-faceted change in travel and economics. With this heightened awareness among our guest more times than not it is a false alarm.... More

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Recently we stayed here 1 night while in Columbia overnight. The hotel was situated well. We were greeted in a very friendly manner by the young man at the front desk. The suite was spacious and well laid out it appeared clean. Sort of a standard family suite similar to Holiday Inn Express. We had 2 queen beds and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear SouthernFam7, Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear we failed to provide you the best possible stay. Most of the problems you experienced were all manageable and I have taken immediate actions to find out how they occurred and have made progress in eliminating them from happening again. The yard... More

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Like new property and clean. Room was modern and very comfortable. Breakfast area was comfortable (and fresh strawberries were great!). Staff was courteous. Well managed and well kept property. I wasn't too sure what to make of the location at first, but soon discovered it was at the end of a section of town called the 'Vista' with a Publix... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpringHillColaSC, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this review

ilpiccs, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad to hear that you had a great stay and that you were able to enjoy so much of downtown Columbia while you were here. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Enjoy the rest of the summer! Sincerely, Audra... More

Surfside Beach, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Worst thing ever they charged me to much couldn't enjoy my vacation and now it's 2 days later and I get another 250 taken off of my card and now my account is in negative and I have to pay a 60 dollar fee. So done with this place

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpringHillColaSC, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear 827Meme, I’m sorry for the charging errors. Booking through 3rd party sites can cause some discrepancies and I apologize for any inconvenience we have caused. I have submitted for the compensation we discussed. I hope the hotel was to your liking and if in the Columbia area again you will give us another chance. Kindest Regards. Sincerely, Jacob T... More

Easton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Spent a total of six hours here while passing through on the way back from Florida. Clean room. Modern . The bathroom set up actually worked fine for our family . Very noisy air conditioning unit. Breakfast was fine . Nothing special . I did not find the front desk staff to be super friendly . Interacted twice with them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpringHillColaSC, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this review

Ortho3311, Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear that your time with us was just average. Hopefully next trip you'll be able to stay with us a little longer and enjoy a few more of our amenities. The bar is very relaxing... More

Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

So many great reviews make me feel bad for an "average" rating. This property is great for a single traveler, but not for a family. Not a true "suite", no privacy, bathroom doors do not close all the way, have frosted thin plastic, and do not lock. You can hear everything that happens in the bathroom. Hotel is modern, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SpringHillColaSC, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown, responded to this review

JD, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I hate to hear that we weren't able to meet your expectations. I appreciate you letting us know a few ways that we can improve our hotel and hopefully, sometime in the near future we'll be able to have you stay with us again. Have a wonderful week!... More

Do you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown

Address: 511 Lady Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Downtown Hotel Columbia

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown