We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Meeting Street Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
173 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Meeting Street Inn
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Meeting Street Inn
The Meeting Street Inn
The Meeting Street Inn
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    124
    35
    20
    5
See reviews for
71
222
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (434)
  • Mar-May only
    (102)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (128)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (122)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A Charleston classic for sure, the Meeting Street Inn boasts a great location and excellent service. Bellhops, housekeeping, front desk, and food servers all executed their duties with genuine smiles. The room rates include a wine and cheese reception in the evenings and breakfast each morning. The wines are a little iffy, but it is never fair to complain about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I enjoyed our stay. Staff was always helpful with questions/transportation. Our room was charming, clean and the bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed the daily breakfast and afternoon wine/snacks. The location of the Inn is perfect as you can walk everywhere, we didn't even rent a car when in town. It is a wonderful place to stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Traveling with girlfriends, staying at the Meeting Street Inn. Small, charming, rooms have four poster beds. Great location to the City Market, shopping, tours and historic homes. Hotel includes s lovely breakfast, many choices, coffee tea, fruits. Everything you would want. Wine and cheese in the afternoon for the guests, staff is terrific and so helpful. Great hotel for adults,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AllenBJ, Guest Relations Manager at The Meeting Street Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!! We loved having you ladies stay with us and are so happy you had a great time!! Please come visit us again on your next trip to our beautiful city!! More 

Glastonbury, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They call a relative who impersonated a taxi driver and overcharges you. Really shady and frustrating. Did this to me and my parents. Otherwise a nice hotel, wine and cheese was really cheap. Overall I wouldn't trust them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AllenBJ, Guest Relations Manager at The Meeting Street Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry your trip to the airport put a damper on your stay with us. We must clarify though that: 1. Greenway Transportation is a licensed and insured cab company and: 2. The reason we recommend them is because we have found them to be the friendliest and most reliable. When we call Greenway, we know they will show... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This inn is a great value in a great location. The highlights were the very quiet room, the courtyard, the cleanliness of the rooms, and the fact that breakfast and wine and snacks were served. The less than stellar aspects were that the breakfasts were not outstanding, just adequate, the front desk help did not seem very hospitable or glad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Too bad we only had one night here. This is a quaint old building with lots of charm. The patio is a great place to sit and have a drink. The lobby area has tea coffee water and juice available 24/7. This is an excellent location for tourists. You can walk pretty much anywhere you want to go. Breakfast is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first stay at the Meeting Street Inn in Charleston. The location is perfect; we barely had to drive anywhere at all. Restaurants, bars, shops, and even the aquarium are all within walking distance. The inn itself is charming. The courtyard is inviting and serene, the breakfast is plentiful, and the wine and cheese hour is a lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wheeling, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found The Meeting Street Inn on a website, but we were not dissapointed in any way. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. And location could not have been better. We made the choice not to rent a car, which was perfect. We walked everywhere. Everything was beautiful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Once you walk through the doors, you won't want to leave. Absolutely charming, With it's southern hospitality, amazing warm loving staff that makes you feel like a friend visiting there beautiful home from another era. An elegant wine and cheese buffet with a fragrant bouquet of peonies, people sitting in the cozy seatings in the Inn's warm inviting palour and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location, the personable staff, the charming rooms, the variety of the breakfasts, Happy Hour, the hot tub -- LOVED IT ALL! The challenge is deciding which room to stay in as they each seem to have something unique and cozy to offer. We stayed on the 2nd floor (of 4 floors), with a small private porch in the back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities