We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
301 Savannah Highway, U.S. Highway 17, Charleston, SC 29407
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #42 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Sadie-Seyris W
Add Photo Write a Review

680 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    174
    258
    133
    68
    47
See reviews for
169
250
36
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (680)
  • Mar-May only
    (197)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (214)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (158)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (111)
All months
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
See the most recent reviews
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here while visiting. Great place, neat and clean. The clerk honored the coupon from the hotel book we picked up at the rest stop without any problems.. The place was unique due to its round shape, the restaurant was great!! A great place for the price..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest during your recent trip to Charleston. I also thank you for your nice comments and my team appreciates your 5 star review. Bob More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Business sent me in to Charleston overnight this month. This hotel is very dated. No closet, microwave or fridge. I had a room with two double beds. Quite a bit of road noise from streets below, not much of a river view. My room was small but not cramped, check in was quick and the front desk very friendly. In... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest during your recent business trip to Charleston. Bob More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed prior to a cruise, great location for the price, close to everything, about 20 minutes from airport. Free rides downtown and they set up everything for our transfer to the port in the am. Bartender was fabulously funny and we had a great time, the view was lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest prior to your cruise. We appreciate your comments and the five star review. Thank you, Bob More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best thing about this odd looking hotel are the views of the river. It's just over the river outside of the city, and is located on a major traffic artery, which can make entering and deparing a bit tricky. As expected with the more affordable rates, this was a standard issue, no frills room. Comfortable enough, clean enough, average... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel while in the area. We hope to see you again and we do offer complimentary shuttle service from 7:30 AM to 9:30PM every other hour to downtown. Thank you, Bob More 

Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here two nights. The room was clean, and well-furnished, with a desk, flat screen tv, and fridge. Not many plugs for your electronics though. The rooms are dated. No issues checking in; staff was very helpful and friendly. We had dinner at the restaurant on the top floor. Not inexpensive, but the food was good, the service was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Thank you for traveling from Hilton Head to visit Charleston and choosing our hotel. Yes Hwy 17 at times can get pretty busy going and coming from downtown. Thank you, Bob More 

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a group of 2 adults, 4 teenagers and 2 smaller children. The staff accommodated us with adjoining rooms with a beautiful view!!!! Unfortunately I do not remember the name of the nice lady in the lobby (we stayed from 6/7-6/8), but she was one of the nicest people I have come across in my many years of travel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Thank you and your family for choosing our hotel while visiting the area. My team and I really appreciate the 5 star review along with all the nice comments on staff and associates. I apologize for your disappointment with breakfast. We hope to see you again real soon. Thank you, Bob More 

Vinemont, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice, upscale "Apartment" hotel. 14th floor suite, was overlooking the Charleston Bay, the front desk was extremely helpful with discount Tickets to area attractions.... loved it. A bit more expensive than what I am used to paying but worth every penny for the experience and memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Thank you for making us your choice while visiting Charleston on your Anniversary. We thank you for the 5 star review and all the kind words about my team and hotel. We hope to see you for your next anniversary or before. Thank you, Bob More 

Johnson City, Tennessee
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I made reservations in March at this hotel for a trip we were going to take in May. I cancelled the reservations in April, (well ahead of time), because we had a death in the family. Receiving my credit card statement this month, I find out the hotel charged my account for the full stay on the day I cancelled.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

I have researched our system and emails and can not find any correspondence from you. We searched your last name and the only one we find close is from Virginia and not Tennessee. I have spoke with my assistant and made her aware of the situation. Please contact Amanda at 843-556-7100 and I can assure you will will resolve the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Charleston hotels

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Folks, please. Remember, altough this is a Holiday Inn (Riverfront) hotel, this is a "beach" type hotel. Great breakfast buffett, rooms are good. Good as in, "great" given the location and proximity and amenities available for cruisers. If your looking for luxury, this is not it. This is great for families, especially couples. A little steep, but that's due to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments and I will make sure and share with my team. We hope to see you again when your plans bring you to Charleston. Bob More 

Campobello, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

NASTY NASTY NASTY. Resturant smelled like arm pits and food was aweful. Hairs in the sheets and housekeeping never changed sheets after we complained. pool was damaged and could not use. very little effort was taken to make us happy

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview, responded to this review

First let me apologize for your stay not being what we always try and deliver which is 100% satisfaction. I also would like to remind you every effort was made to try and remedy every problem you encountered and you engaged with three different managers to include my assistant that comped you two nights stay at a value of $400.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

652 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (155)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (337)
Viewed
Amenities (61)
Viewed
Double Queen View Room (35)
Viewed
King Suite (56)
Viewed
King View Room (41)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (27)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay