We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston

Hotel deals
Hotel website
337 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Special Offer
Rates from $179/nt
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Add Photo Write a Review

1,082 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    478
    337
    155
    66
    46
See reviews for
361
339
25
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1082)
  • Mar-May only
    (261)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (364)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (243)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (214)
All months
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had planned to stay here for two nights, but we couldn't: The room smelled too bad. We were offered another room, which I went to inspect. Same story, though -- major problems with either mold or mildew. We left immediately and got a room in another hotel nearby. We simply couldn't stay. There was no hassle at the front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our overall experience at this hotel was excellent. It is within walking distance of good restaurants, shopping, and historic places. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The inside "courtyard", for lack of a better word, is absolutely stunning. The free breakfast was great, and probably the best free breakfast we have had anywhere. That breakfast offset the fact we... More 

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is a historical landmark. It's undergoing renovation and construction during the day, but the location is great. And, the inside lobbies, grand stair case, and fountain are still as beautiful as ever. Granted, it's a hike to the Market if on foot, but it's one block from the area of King Street which is becoming party-central at/after midnight.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We are from South Carolina and we travel extensively. This is the most horrendous hotel I have EVER stayed in in ANY country!!!! It smells like mildew and it is just "prison-like," ugly and gross. First, we were met with a cute but arrogant (Mr. Coolbreeze), bellman who asked us if we needed help, AFTER we had unloaded our entire... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Location is not great, construction noise, and extremely rude front desk staff (and front office supervisor) working when I arrived and departed. I would have liked to have rated zero stars. There are much better choices and I will be sure to stay somewhere else next time I'm in Charleston.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review

I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry that you felt in any way unwelcome. This is not typical of our hotel and staff. Every guest is very important to us, and I have addressed these issues with our team. Additionally, I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel had excellent service, typical of an Embassy Suites, however the hotel needs an update. Everything is outdated...furniture, paint, carpet. It was clean but old. The location of this hotel is great. It is convenient to King Street Shopping and great restaurants. I would have a hard time recommending this hotel to my friend because of its condition.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback from your recent stay with us! Your feedback regarding our room conditions are important to us, as we are always looking for ways to improve our property. We are pleased to hear of the friendly and accommodating service you received from our staff. We are glad you thought... More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The exterior, history and lobby will invite you in. The rooms will scare you away! Usually Embassy Suites are pretty standard, but in this historic property I was expecting something even more. From a distance the property looks great! The cost is not great, but location is so I decided it was worth it. I was nicely greeted upon arrival... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We sincerely apologize that we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. We assure you that our staff is dedicated to ensuring guest comfort and we sincerely apologize for the service and room assignment issue. Your input will help us identify areas of improvement... More 

San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm Hilton Diamond Honors by virtue of my business travel and I stay at many Embassy Suites. Thus, I have a level of experience and expectation that allows me to say the following. My room was filthy and threadbare. The furniture cheap and mismatched. The dimensions were tiny. The view, from the fourth floor (top) of the hotel afforded us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback. We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. I appreciate your review as it provides feedback that... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at this hotel went out of their way to make sure my husband and I had a great weekend. The breakfast was excellent and the free afternoon cocktails added a nice touch as well. I would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our historical hotel! We are extremely delighted to hear you had a great experience. We pride ourselves on great customer service and I am pleased we were able to make your stay comfortable. Thank you very much for all of your kind remarks and positive feedback! We look... More 

Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has the great service of all Embassy Suites. It's centrally located to some of the great places of Charleston. The staff was excellent! However, the hotel property really needs updating. The colors and furniture are very dated and old. Our fridge in our room didn't work. The wet bar sink drained super slow and a number of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara G, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Embassy Suites by Hilton property. We are pleased to hear of the friendly and accommodating service you received from our staff. We're happy you enjoyed the complimentary evening reception and thought our location was convenient to downtown. We hope you consider our hotel the next time you are in Charleston, as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

381 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (157)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (68)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (156)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
King Jacuzzi Suite (29)
Viewed
King Study Suite - 1 (37)
Viewed
King Study Suite - 2 (25)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Two Doubles Suite (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (68)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#11 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#26 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay