We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Charleston hotels

Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Bee Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
44%
Ranked #47 of 54 hotels in Charleston
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
wrpech cape coral
  • Overview
  • Reviews (328)
  • Photos (54)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (65)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    88
    76
    46
    71
See reviews for
86
106
29
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, PA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stay here around twice a year to work in the area, and have been pretty satisfied. This last stay was disappointing. I awoke to find two roaches in the bath the first morning, the coffee maker had the wrong coffee pot (wasn't tall enough so the basket overflowed instead of filling the pot), and the desk chair slowly sank... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

I want to thank you for choosing our hotel from your past experiences. I apologize that your most recent stay was not up to the standards that you deserved. I wanted to let you know that since your stay with us we have moved to a one cup coffee system so there will be no more coffee pots. We have... More

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The good points were that the bed was comfy and parking and wifi is free but that's where it ends I'm afraid. The room is way overpriced for what it is (over $200 even when booked well in advance), the location isn't great as it's a taxi journey to get to any decent shops & restaurants and is described as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cape coral
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there on our trip from Florida to New Brunswick. We choose it to the "near" downtown location. Wasn't quiet near downtown, you had to go there by car, but downtown was easy to reach. Hotel was very clean, served a good breakfast and worth this acceptable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us while you were traveling from Florida to New Brunswick. We know you had many hotels to choose from and are privileged that you chose us. We hope that your trip was a pleasant one and that you arrived at your destination safely. We hope that you will come visit us again soon. More

Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay was very pleasant at this location , it was perfect for exploring Charleston. The room was clean, bed were comfortable. The area around the hotel felt safe enough to walk at night . I will stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was an okay price (a little higher than it deserved but not outrages). The breakfast was great. The WiFi was horrible. The bed was hard an absolutely no views from the hotel. The breakfast staff was great. The rest of staff was completely indifferent to guests. Worst part: I left a tablet in the room at checkout and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

I want to apologize again about the issues that you had while you stayed with us. When we spoke on the phone I assured you that I would look into the tablet that you had left behind. I had my houseman move all the furniture in your room to see if it fell behind the bed or maybe in the... More

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
50 hotel reviews
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I got a decent deal on this room through priceline. I notice they say this is "downtown" charleston, but its really not downtown. Lucky for us, it was located near MUSC where my mom was at. The place is clean, we had some issues with the vending machines, no big deal. Parking, on the other hand can be an issue.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn Downtown. We are only 1 3/4 miles from the historic district and we have a free trolley stop right next to the hotel. We do acknowledge that parking is an issue so to accommodate our guests we have overflow parking at the bank right next to us and free valet service to move... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well to start off we had a hard time even parking, I have never seen a hotel with such inadequate parking! You feel like you did not want to leave your stop for fear of not finding one again. The rooms are smaller than I am used to, bed had an imprint like someone had sat on the bed. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston. On behalf of my staff I want to apologize for you not being greeted when you walked in. It is our goal to acknowledge each of our guests personal and sometimes we unfortunately miss one. I will speak to my staff about this matter. I am not sure how you... More

Dale City, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

June 28th weekend: We arrived in SC at 3:30 am after driving an exhausting 9 hours. This was an obvious busy weekend and ALL nearby hotels were full. We had reservations elsewhere but had a horrible experience and did not receive what we asked/paid for so we were left with trying to find somewhere else. And we did at 5... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was well appointed and clean upon arrival. Housekeeping did a quick job during our 5 day stay each day. I did notice sand from my beach bag was not vacuumed up and I never heard the vacuum tuning other than in the hall late one afternoon. The bathroom was not mopped during our stay. But again, it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend and I were spending a long weekend in Charleston and we booked at Comfort Inn due to the proximity close to old city and price. The room quality is much better then we were expecting given the prior TA reviews. Anthony was very welcoming staff, however we did incur an issue upon check in. Our flights were delayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

Address: 144 Bee Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Comfort Inn Charleston Sc

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
128

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer