We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Charleston hotels

Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Bee Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
42%
Ranked #48 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
cteague58 Greenville, South Carolina
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    86
    81
    49
    76
See reviews for
91
110
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jarrettsville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is located about two miles from down town and I would not say within the average person's walking distance. The staff was very helpful, but the place needs a good updating, but was clean. We also had a problem with ants, (not alot) but they were there. I would stay here again, (only) if I could not find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dix Hills, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We attended a wedding in Charleston and stayed at the Comfort Inn at our hosts' suggestion, because it was convenient to the wedding venue. Overall, we were not pleased with the accommodations and would not return there -- and probably not to another Comfort Inn either. Issues: - They say first impressions matter. Well, in this case, that's very true.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to stop by Charleston on our way home from Myrtle Beach. We decided on this hotel because we wanted 2 beds and a sleeper sofa. Very helpful staff. Clean - friendly , We will go back there. They has a great breakfast. We had only taken in a night bag and the front desk gave me a complimentary... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here during the end of July. I came to visit my best friend as he was moving all the way to Seattle, WA! So, I wanted to be in a hotel that was close to downtown so we could walk and explore. Well, this was one of the closest Choice Hotels downtown, thus the name. However, It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Astoria, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I stayed here last week and unfortunately the place was infested with bed bugs. We are covered in bites and found two bugs the next morning. I took the bugs to the front desk and the manager did not seem surprised. Instead she rushed us unto the elevator and checked the room, she seemed to be trying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

I apologize that you had problems while you were staying with us. When we had talked about the problems you had I immediately went to the room with you so you could show me what you had found. I was extremely surprised about the problem. Please know that our hotel is not invested. We have a pest control company that... More

Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed here many times over the years as they tend to offer a discounted rate for parents of a nearby military college. However, over time they have continued to raise that rate which has made the short-comings of the hotel less acceptable. The hotel is in general need of a renovation. While it is relatively clean, furnishings and decorations... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

DO NOT STAY AT THE COMFORT INN in downtown Charleston located at 144 Bee Street! This hotel is infested with bed bugs. My family and I stayed there one night, August 13th, 2014. We found visible signs of an infestation on the bedding (blood stains and fecal matter splotches) and the one night I stayed there, my partner and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

I realize that this situation is from the same room that you and your family stayed in together and have already written a comment about so I will extend the same apology that I gave to the other occupants from your stay. I apologize that you had problems while you were staying with us. When we had talked about the... More

Sykesville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

we stayed at the Comfort Inn the night before our cruise. when our room was ready, we went up only to find out that it was not. the room stayed untouched for at least 20 minutes. Ms Huston (behind the desk) saw that we were back down and immediately gave us another room that was ready. Thank you!! the location... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

In a recent trip to Charleston we stay at the Comfort Inn. During our trip the power went out due to a very bad thunder and lightening storm. That would have been fine EXCEPT THERE WERE NO EMERGENCY LIGHTS THAT WORKED! The hallways were pitch black due to limited natural light and you could not find the exits because the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

On the day that you are referring to, we did have a very bad storm which included lighting, torrential rain, flooding and very bad wind. A lighting strike hit close to our generators causing temporary damage. We called the technician to come fix the generator. He was stuck in traffic because of the storm and with the flooding and power... More

Washington DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to save money by staying at the comfort inn. The location is unbeatable for the price BUT there were roaches and spiders in our first room. The toilet was also broken when we checked in and there was no shower curtain. The front desk did move us to another room but the second room was musty and damp.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

Address: 144 Bee Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Comfort Inn Charleston Sc

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Charleston with
any amenities