We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 58 Charleston hotels

Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Bee Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston to your Saves list
Ranked #46 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
sharbear456 Region of Waterloo, Canada
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    94
    86
    52
    78
See reviews for
102
117
31
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (366)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Region of Waterloo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My granddaughter and I stayed there after a 15 hour drive from upstate NY. THe lady who checked us in was okay but not very personable. The parking was not so good. It was a blessing someone left and we were able to park there. However the room was great and the beds so comfortable we had a great night's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us when you came down for your cruise. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do understand that parking can be an issue sometimes, so we have overflow parking and free valet service for the guests who do not want to get up early to move their car back to our... More 

Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Any hotel can write their own reviews, and that's exactly what this dive must have done. I should have known this was going to suck from the gitgo- the front office guy lost my reservation !! When I spelled my name three times and he still couldn't find it, I was too tired to argue. So I took a single... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

Mark, I want to apologize for all the problems you had while you stayed with us. We want everything to be perfect for our guests and this obviously was not the case for you. I hope that you will come back and give us the chance to give you the service that you should have received the first time you... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our hotel stay would have been ok if the staff wasn't so rude! We originally booked 2 queen beds and they ended up giving us 2 double beds, which are actually full size. At check in, no one cared to tell us that they sold out of all of the queen beds, so they decided to move us. After taking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

I want to say I apologize for my front desk staff that did not give you the service you deserved. It is our goal to make sure each of our guests are pleased with every part of their stay and this obviously was not the case for you. We do have some rooms that have queen beds they are in... More 

Rock Hill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We will be staying at this hotel probably everytime we go to Charleston. I really liked that it was on the outskirts of Charleston and it is close to the interstate to go to John's Island. The free public transit also has a stop right in front of the hotel. If you want to go to downtown at night even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

I am very glad that you have chosen to stay with us at the Comfort Inn Downtown. My staff are very proud of their hotel and we are glad that reflects in our service. We get many compliments about our breakfast because of the many choices that our guests have. I apologize that the hot tub did not work in... More 

Goldsboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visiting son and grandkids for Christmas in Historic Charleston. Location was excellent. There was an adequate hot breakfast each morning. The hotel, breakfast area and rooms were clean. Staff were very helpful. Great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

Jim I hope you enjoyed the holidays with your son and grandchildren. Charleston is a wonderful place to spend Christmas. There is so much to do here, like the Festival of Lights and horse and buggy rides. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast while you stayed with us. We do have a few more options than just continental. I... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was good as a whole. Kind front desk staff and clean rooms. The breakfast consisted of muffins, toast, waffles, cereal, yogurt, fruit, coffee/tea, and eggs. Served 6-9am. Get there early to find a seat. Parking was easy in the parking lot, but we didn't get there late ever. The DASH bus is free and nearby, but it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you Bethany for staying with us while you were in Charleston. I am pleased that the staff gave you the service that you deserved. We take pride in our hotel and we make sure all of our guests feel special while they are with us. I do apologize about any problems you had with the other guests that stayed... More 

North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here 1 night (12/27-12/28)We checked in late. Hallways well lit. Room comfortable,clean and spacious. Nice breakfast area. Good selection of food. I would stay here again. Check in and check out went fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us while you were in Charleston. I will let the staff know that you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in our hotel and it means a lot that you have noticed. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Winter Haven, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I choose this hotel for stay because it fitted my budget. Room spacious and elevators were very quick. Complaints about the hotel. Needed to call front desk for password to connect to the internet. Parking is very tight on a sloped parking lot. No place to get detergent to wash clothes. I went to the front desk and received a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

I want to thank you for staying with us while you were in our beautiful historic city, Charleston. Parking can be difficult in Charleston but we do have a lot of parking garages if you are not able to find a parking spot on the streets. If you find you do not want to take your car to the historic... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We stayed as large family for 4 days, we had great time, rooms were very clean, breakfast was excellent and staff was very helpful to advise things to do in Charlston. When we decide to go back we are staying there for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

I know that there are many hotels that you could have chosen to stay at, we are pleased you chose the Comfort Inn Downtown.We strive to give each and every guest the service and experience that they deserve. I am pleased that this was the case for you and your family. We look forward to having you stay with us... More 

Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We stayed in this facility over Thanksgiving Break for one night only. As Charleston is home for me,and I was just passing through, I had no difficulty finding it, but it is not the most conveniently located. In fact, it is behind a condo building located on the main drag between the hospital district, downtown proper/historic district and the Brittlebank... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
comforinn11, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston, responded to this review

Since you had to be away from home during the Thanksgiving Holiday I am glad you chose to stay with us. You had a lot of wonderful things to say about your stay and also some things that you felt you needed to point out that were not so great. I always want to know about things that we can... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston

Address: 144 Bee Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Comfort Inn Charleston Sc

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay