We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn

2.5 of 5 1540 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-7845
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    209
    72
    38
    31
See reviews for
201
231
38
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (610)
  • Mar-May only
    (139)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (187)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (194)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (90)
All months
Louisa, Kentucky
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I know it's difficult to keep a hotel in tip top shape. What kept me from giving them a better rating was because our bathroom had some mold and mildew on the ceiling, something that drives me crazy! The location was good and quiet, I had checked another hotel closer to the airport and way too much noise. This was... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We originally completed a review based our dissatisfaction with the room we had at this hotel, it had a bad smell, We did not complain at the time however after completing the survey we were contacted by the manager and given a full refund, This was unexpected and the manager committed to look into our concerns and correct them. Based... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norfolk Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful property, extremely well maintained, VERY clean, friendly staff. Will definitely stay here again when I'm in Charleston. Mattress very luxurious and comfortable, very quiet, I didn't hear any noise from adjoining rooms.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Roger S, Thanks so much for this awesome review. I'm glad you felt the property was wonderful, well maintained, very clean, and you found the staff friendly. I'm also glad you enjoyed the mattress. When you return to Charleston please don't hesitate to visit us again More 

Charleston, SC, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Convenient location to all Charleston points of interest. Comfortable room with responsive staff. Though a non-smoking room it apparently had been smoking earlier and the odor lingered on. Breakfast offering had hot waffles and hot pancakes and sausage as well as rolls and fruit.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Phillips M, Thanks so much for posting this review. It was great to see that our location offered you the convenience you were looking for. I was also excited to see you felt the room was comfortable, the staff was responsive, and you were pleased with the breakfast. I am sorry that you noticed an odor in your room... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel needs major renovation. This is not the cleanest hotel. Front desk staff very nice and accommodating. The room had a mildew smell inside, I went and purchased air freshener, It served our purpose but I normally would not stay in a hotel like this with my family. I used the park and cruise. Car was safe. Driver waiting when... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear shirellf, Thank you for taking advantage of our park and cruise package. I am disappointed that you had cleanliness issues during your stay. I have brought this to the attention of our operations team to ensure none of our future guests have this issue. We have actually started the renovation process at our hotel and would love to have... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a problem with our reservation (double booked for 2 rooms = 4 rooms but we only needed two) because one cancellation did not go through. The General Manager, William Richards at the Best Western Sweetgrass really went to bat for us and cleared up the problem so we did not end up paying twice. The problem was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Helen F, Thank you for your recent stay with us. The general manager works hard to ensure that we offer the best service and is the leader of this effort. He was so excited to see you took the time to post this review. Thanks again and come back and visit soon. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For a good price, this BW had a fair breakfast & very helpful front desk with maps & list of directions for the area. The weather was great during our stay & the pool looked inviting if only it was warmer. The only negative was the ghastly rug that needs to be replaced asap.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear 947kathrynv, Thanks for this review. We really appreciate the feedback. I am pleased that you found the hotel to be a good value. You also felt the front desk staff was helpful and the breakfast was fair. You did mention that you were disappointed in the appearance of the carpeting in your room. We are replacing the carpeting as... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here while travelling with work for a few weeks, tonight is our last night before we head back to Australia. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the staff are approachable and helpful. Highlight of our stay by far has been breakfast with Carol! She works week days in the breakfast room and always greets you with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear KylieB, Thanks for taking the time to post this lovely review. We really enjoyed taking are of you while you were here. It was wonderful that the rooms were spacious and clean and the staff was approachable and helpful. Ms.Carol, our breakfast attendant, was delighted that you mentioned her by name and appreciated her service. She is definitely one... More 

Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on the first night and last night of our South Carolina vacation. Our accommodations on both nights were very large, clean and comfortable. We appreciated the extra space to spread out our gear as we packed and unpacked. The breakfast provided was ample with the standard fare, and even though the breakfast area was packed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear foreranger, Many thanks to you for this delightful review. It was awesome to see you found the accommodations spacious, clean and comfortable. You did also mention your encounters with the staff were pleasant ones. You are also absolutely correct about the renovations the property is receiving. The rooms are going to look amazing when we are done. If you... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on Nov. 2-5, 2014. Our budget couldn't afford the pricey accommodations in Charleston. This Best Western is only about 5 miles from the heart of the historic section of town and yet the rate was less than $90/night (that includes all of the usual taxes and lodging fees). The staff was friendly and made us feel welcome.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear mranderson1948, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was awesome to see that you felt we were budget friendly. I'm also pleased that you found the staff welcoming and friendly. You did mention two areas of concern. You felt the room was a little dated. We are addressing that issue as we have already... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-7845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
#28 Business Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay