We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Charleston hotels

BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1540 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-7845
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
80%
Ranked #21 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Rosalie W Shawano, United States
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    150
    47
    27
    25
See reviews for
140
178
30
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shawano, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was in town for my sons A-school graduation. No complaints except keep track of ALL your calls made from the hotel room. When I checked out, there were over 1/2 a page of long distance calls that I never made. They were taken off of my bill with no hassle.VERY clean. The most amazing beds and pillows to sleep... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rosalie W, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We really appreciate the feedback. I am sorry you had a problem with some errant phone calls being posted to your room. I was delighted to read, however, that you found your room clean and comfortable. Again, thank you for your comments. We hope to see you... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is a short drive into Charleston but the traffic to the historic town made the drive longer than the info said. The hotel rooms could use some updating and the room was not as clean as it should have been. Other Best Westerns that we have stayed at were superior to this one. However, the staff was very... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear 867carolw, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We really appreciate the feedback. I am sorry your did not thoroughly enjoy your visit with us. We try to offer our guests a clean, comfortable room with excellent guest service. Obviously, in your case, we did not meet our goal. I have shared your comments with our... More

Mankato, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

At best this is a 2.5 star rated MOTEL. Definitely not worth the price we paid. This is a $79-$89 motel, and at the rate it would have met our expectation. We feel cheated and all we will tell you is buyer beware. Detached motel with outside room entrances, and a bathroom you can barely turn around in, should NOT... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Paul W, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We really appreciate the feedback. I am sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your visit with us. We believe our prices are fair and reasonable when compared to the overall market. Again, thank you for your comments. More

Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a DUMP. Roaches were in the room. Doesn't feel like a safe environment. Didn't like having a hotel with rooms unattached from the entrance of the hotel itself. The back building did not feel safe. Got wet in the rain walking to the hotel for the lousy breakfast buffet. Breakfast lady works very hard she does deserve recognition.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Randi E, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We really appreciate the feedback we get from sites such as this one. I am sorry you did not thoroughly enjoy your visit with us. I have shared your comments with both our Director of Facilities as well as our pest control company. I will not tolerate... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a good time here, nice pool, fitness room, laundry, free wifi. The staff on reception were lovely, very welcoming, helpful and efficient. The hotel is a way out of town in a bit of a wilderness. Car lots, charity shops, and some nice residential areas on the Savannah highway. Taxi fare to downtown between 10 and 20 dollars. Shouldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear mikeTheenforcer, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate the feedback. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and that our staff was able to make such a positive impact upon your experience. I am certain they will be delighted when they read that their hard work was noticed... More

Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband, dog and I stayed here for a few nights at the end of March. We got in very late on Friday night (Saturday am) and were promptly checked in by the clerk. Room: Our room was in the back building facing the parking lot upstairs. We did get one of the last parking spots as it was quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear marcyn, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate the feedback and the opportunity for improvement it allows us. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would stay with us again. I am sorry about the smell in your room and the fact that you found an... More

aberdeen,md, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Close to everything and a good value for the money.Quiet which was good for sleeping.Very helpful lady at the buffet breakfast.They were also helpful at the front desk and were very professional.Lots of brochures to help with deciding what to do in the area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dewey B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit with us. We really appreciate the feedback. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed you stay with us and that our staff was able to make a positive impact upon your visit. I am certain they will be delighted when they... More

Tampa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great staff, well appointed rooms, pet friendly and conveniently located. Everything I was looking for during a family wedding and reunion Breakfast was good continental fare and staff very professional. good selection of restaurants nearby.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear James B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate the feedback. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be great. As we share these reviews with them, I am certain they will be delighted to know that their hard work was noticed... More

Macomb, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed 3 nights to tour the Charleston Historic District and Plantations. This was our first time in the area and it was a wonderful experience, although in hindsight we should have had at least another 2 days to adequately see everything we wanted to. Our stay in the hotel was very pleasant. Our room was in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Bob M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience. We appreciate the feedback and the opportunity for improvement it affords us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our Breakfast Attendant, Linda, was able to make such a positive impact upon your visit. As we share... More

Statesboro, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is fine. We went during a busy weekend when the room rates were up close to $200/night. The hotel is worth about $80-90/night. It's not new and modern, but it's very clean, comfortable, and reasonably convenient to Charleston attractions. You can certainly do worse, and if the rates are fair, you will be happy with your stay. Careful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear WorldwideHustle79, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We really appreciate the feedback. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. I admit, the Charleston market can get a bit pricey at times. Our most affordable rates are during November and December. Most weekends it is still warm enough... More

Been to BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Address: 1540 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-7845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Best Western, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.