We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1540 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-7845
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

755 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    315
    259
    89
    52
    40
See reviews for
248
291
43
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (755)
  • Mar-May only
    (214)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (233)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (193)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (115)
All months
Clayton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Please & professional staff. Very clean facilities. Refreshing citrus water in lobby. More than a few restaurants within walking distance. Very quiet when inside room. Sheets a little starchy but otherwise very comfortable bed. Hotel layout and landscaping gave the feel of a hotel in the islands.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I don't even know where to start this hotel is terrible, everything between the bed bugs, the managers and the roaches..... uggghhh!!! Bill the manager was so disgustingly rude and condescending, nina the other manger was so clueless and such a non caring heartless individual.. The rooms,, yes rooms plural had BED BUGS!, I had a bed bug in my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate the feedback. After checking our records, we did receive a complaint that room 115 had some insect activity, however, bed bugs were never mentioned to our front desk staff, our Assistant Manager or I. We take all complaints about insect activity quite seriously. We take concerns about bed... More 

Topeka, Ks, United States
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Not a bad location from the highlights of everything. I was about 10-15 min away from everything to do. Room had a little musty smell to it. Once windows were opened it wasn't bad. Comfortable beds, and staff was pleasant and willing to help print out information on things to see and do.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Hi Marisa! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here in Charleston. I'm always happy to hear that our staff has been pleasant and helpful during your trip. We are always looking for ways to improve so we are appreciative of reviews. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you... More 

Lexington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a pretty little island in a sea of car dealerships. Pool is very nice, and the garden surrounding it. The breakfast was average to decent and the dining area was nice and had patio seating too. Our room was small, but newly updated. (I loved that there was a shelf in the shower/bath. A small detail, but so... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Hi Tania! That's a great way to describe our location here in Charleston! I'm glad you could take advantage of the newly updated rooms during your stay and all the amenities we have to offer. We hope you will be visiting the area again soon, and that we can provide you another excellent stay! More 

North Myrtle Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My trip to Charleston was to be with family for a leisurely weekend. The Best Western Sawgrass was a great choice for accommodations as it offered the comforts I would expect for a reasonably priced motel. The room as in excellent condition and the beds were the most comfortable that I have ever encountered in a motel room. All the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Hi Joyce! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here in Charleston. I'm glad you noticed our amenities and all that we have to offer! We love to hear when we meet our guests' expectations when they need hotel accommodations. We hope this means we will be seeing you again soon! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I had a truly excellent experience at this hotel back in June. We had come to the city to pay our respects and visit the sites. The staff were lovely and the hotel was very accommodating. Carol and DJ were especially wonderful and helpful :) Thank you for having us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Hi Margot! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your recent stay with us here in Charleston! It's always great to hear about guests who have a pleasant stay! Carol and DJ are definitely a great asset to our team, and it is great guests notice their excellent customer service. We hope to see you again... More 

mt airy, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was very helpful and nice, rooms very clean. The bed's are very comfortable and the swimming pool very clean and nice. Breakfast was always warm and good. We would defiantly book a few more night here next time we are in town.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Hi Donna! I'm glad that you had a great stay with us here in Charleston! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience, and I hope this means when we see you again that it will be soon! More 

Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in Charleston at this hotel for 3 days and I will be back! The staff and workers were so amazing. My room was one of the cleanest places I have stayed in years. The 2nd floor crew work really hard and should be commended for the cleanliness, I personally wan to Thank Doannle and Keanna for their commitment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Hi PCreviewer, I'm glad you had a wonderful stay! I have made sure to let all the staff know how great of a job they did. We take great pride in providing wonderful service for our guests, and we are glad you can see our efforts. We hope this means we will be seeing you again soon! More 

Saint Petersburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After staying at this hotel and being extremely happy for 7 years, this year was not in the happy camp. Between bad management, crazy guests, neighborhood kids in the pool, poor landscaping Im not sure I am going back.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kristina, I'm sorry to hear you did not have a pleasant stay with us this time around. We always appreciate feedback from past guests so that we have hopes in improving so much that we are the best hotel in Charleston. We have made improvements in every department so I hope you are willing to give us another chance... More 

Lexington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent Experience. Our room was a remodeled room on the second floor overlooking the pool. It was great! We traveled with a small dog and found the hotel to be very pet friendly. The bed is super comfortable. Loved the large pool. The breakfast more than I expected. Everyone was amazing. Will stay here again!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Hi Stephanie! It is always great to hear when our guests have a great stay with us! I'm glad you were able to take advantage of all our amenities and enjoy our newly upgraded rooms. We hope to see you again in the near future! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

310 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Pool (2)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#34 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
2.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay