We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn

2.5 of 5 1540 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-7845
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    222
    73
    41
    34
See reviews for
210
238
38
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (635)
  • Mar-May only
    (139)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (187)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (194)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (115)
All months
Bellevue, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

This is a nice hotel, they are in the midst of remodeling rooms but nothing really annoyed us. They are also working on the pool! The lobby is large and nicely decorated, the rooms are a little small but there's plenty of room to sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Monroe, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was an amazing vacation and the sweetgrass in was a great place to stay. Loved the free coffee and hot tea in the lobby! Also loved the coffee maker and fridge in the rooms. Housekeeping staff wasn't so professional but it didn't make our stay any less enjoyable. I'd definitely stay again!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I think you should let guest know when you are remodeling a hotel. We had trash, trucks, noise, drop cords, and machines. The first 2 days not to forget the water being turned off before we had showers. Did I mention this wasmy 22nd Anniverary. Really disapointed me.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear James L, Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We do appreciate the feedback as this is what we use to improve the level of service we provide. We do apologize for not meeting or exceeding your expectations while staying with us. We do value your business and hope that we did do our very best to... More 

Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The people in our surrounding rooms were shaddy. As we were with a family and had an infant with us so we didn't felt safe at all. We got the room in the last end block where some creepy guys were standing n smoking, looked kind of gangster and one night we saw 2cops across our room, I guess something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear carebears14, We cannot apologize enough for the experience you had at our hotel. We love the fact that the police frequently visit our property it normally prevents us from having the guests you witnessed while you were there. The officers love our clean bathrooms and fresh coffee. We are sorry that you did not feel safe but I can... More 

Wheelersburg, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice location. Staff very friendly. VERY good with dogs. Good parking for a RV or Semi-Truck. Clean rooms. Good walking area for dogs. Small cocktail lounge in motel with snacks. Good place to stop between northern states and going to Florida on vacationl

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Roger S, Thanks for this awesome review. We are happy that you felt the location was convenient and clean. It appears you also enjoyed the hotel because we are pet friendly and had sufficient parking for your RV. More 

Augusta, Georgia, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I reserved a King suite but one was not available upon arrival so I was provided a lesser room at a lower price which was alright but the room needed a lot of upgrades including the bath tile which was heavily marked. I was also treated to another "guest" screaming and cursing at 2 am for about an hour. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Richard S, Thanks so kindly for this review. We apologize that something happened beyond our control that prevented you from receiving the room you originally requested. We did ensure that you received a comparable non smoking room at a lesser rate. We also want to apologize that there was a guest near you that did not offer the common... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel offered a wonderful refreshing stay after a long day of traveling.The room was clean and newly redone boasting a comfortable bed with big fluffy pillows (most best westerns I have stayed in have small pillows). The staff was very helpful and professional. Jana was the best! She was very personsal and welcoming. There was a bit of construction... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear laurenstilltraveling, Thanks for this great review. I'm so glad you had the pleasure of staying in one of our newly renovated rooms. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Jana was excited to see that you enjoyed her hospitality. It was also great to see that you were not disturbed by the renovation construction going on around... More 

Bedford, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we arrived Jasmine was super nice and helpful. We chose this hotel because on the stay and cruise package. The hotel has the doors on the outside which wasn't apparent from the website. The smell of the room hit us like a wall when we walked in. It smelled like a wet basement mixed with stale cigarettes. We aren't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Brittany Murphy, Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. We really appreciate the feedback. We were so disappointed to see this review as our main goal is to provide our guests with clean odor free rooms. We did have our housekeeping supervisor go back and deep clean this room to ensure that no future guests... More 

New Orleans, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For the auto traveler, this inexpensive hotel is ten minutes from all that Charleston has to offer, from Folly Beach to Fort Sumter. It's a quiet secluded getaway at the end of a busy day of touring. And the free breakfast is a graet start for the day.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Frank P, Thanks so much for mentioning we were a great value. It was great to see you felt that we were a quiet and secluded getaway at the end of a busy touring day. Thanks so much for staying. More 

Leesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Best Western and their employees always try to go out of their way to help there quests. A good quality Breakfast and clean and comfortable rooms. We always try to stay at a Best Western when we travel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Joseph W, Thanks so much for this lovely review. We are glad you feel that we always go out of our way to help our guests. We strive to provide a WOW experience to each traveler which it seems based on what you feel we are accomplishing. We would like to thank you for being so loyal to us.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-7845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#32 Business Hotel in Charleston

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay