We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Charleston hotels

BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1540 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-7845
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
80%
Ranked #27 of 54 hotels in Charleston
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Diane F Greenville, South Carolina
  • Overview
  • Reviews (537)
  • Photos (91)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (83)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    181
    60
    33
    25
See reviews for
176
205
31
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The room was clean (I hate carpet, it is NEVER really clean but they seem to make an effort) enough. Room wasn't horribly outdated like in many hotels. Pleasant staff (friendly front staff!) and breakfast is great! All in all, it's not the beachfront but convenient enough (bummer greedy parking prices at the beach though), it was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

While I cannot leave out the fact that the rooms are a bit dated, this hotel overall is a good place to stay. The staff was great! From the time we checked in, to when we ate breakfast and left, the staff was friendly and helpful! The rooms were clean and the bed comfy. We had no issues. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

So far one of the best BW we did stay during our long driving from AK to NC. The stuff ladies just rocked!!! They were so friendly and happy and sweet that all my impression was up from a front desk. The room was ok. Pretty clean and smell ok. Will stay here again forsure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Anastasia T, You rock! Thanks for this awesome review. I was so impressed by the title of your review" One of the best". I can't say thanks enough. We will be waiting for you to come back and visit with us again. More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

While this Best Western is in a decent location just a few miles from downtown Charleston (a very nice feature), we were left underwhelmed by the hotel itself. The rooms were a bit drab with what I can only describe as "operating room" lighting for the bathroom and the hallway sink. The pool had an opening time of either 10... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear bmk367, Thanks for the feedback because this is what we use to make improvements to enhance the guest experience. I am very disappointed that you "underwhelmed" by our property. You found the lighting in your room to be inadequate. I am having my maintenance staff look into this to ensure that we correct this issue. I am also reviewing... More

Springfield
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is actually a motel with exterior corridors. However it is clean, and the pool is nice size, There are towels and pool toys near the pool. People working at the hotel are very nice. Hotel breakfast contains hot and cold items.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear 649001, Thank for taking the time to post this review. You said the hotel was clean, the pool was a nice size equipped with toys, the staff was nice and the breakfast offered hot and cold items. It appears that you enjoyed your stay with us. We were pleased to have you stay with us. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staying in at the Best Western Hotel in Charleston, South Carolina was amazing. All though the service was a little bit good, I still enjoyed the free breakfast, the fresh air, and experiencing new things in life. I would love to recommend sharing this hotel to any one else who is willing to stay in this peaceful hotel, for families,... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear 709Margier, It was awesome to see that you would recommend the hotel. Thanks so much for that. I'm sorry that you did not have an excellent service experience. I did see that you did enjoy the breakfast, and fresh air, and all the new things Charleston had to offer. Thanks so much for giving us a great rating. More

North Canton, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The first rrom we checked into smelled something terrible. We were given a new room that was better, but still had a musty smell to it. The pool was VERY nice, and so was the staff when I checked out. I would almost consider staying again for the pool.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Brian A, I am so sorry that you were assigned a room that smelled musty. I have talked with my housekeeping supervisor and came up with a system to ensure no one else has to deal with this issue. We want to provide all of our guest with fresh clean smelling rooms and working hard to ensure that we... More

Litchfield, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked one night here so that we didn't have to do the drive up from Hilton Head the morning of our flight. Location is 10-15 min from the downtown/market area of Charleston--easy drive in and out. The facility itself was less than stellar...stains on the carpet, valance falling off the wall, mold stained grout on the bathroom tile, shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear majjc, Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I was so disappointed to read about the stains on the carpet, the falling valance, mold on the grout and the difficulty of use with the shower faucets. I have discussed these issues with the Director of Property Operations to ensure that they are addressed. We are about to... More

SLIDELL, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is located close to everything. A short drive to the beach and down town. The traffic is heavy at times in front of the hotel . The housekeeping staff and the breakfast bar (Renee) are very pleasant and work hard. The hotel is in great condition and the pool area is well kept.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Robert G, Thanks for taking the time to mention one of lovely staff members by name. Renee has not been with us long but has definitely proven she is a keeper. Thanks so much for remembering her. I was so pleased to see that we offered you the convenience to the downtown area and the beach that you were... More

Myrtle Beach, SC, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are clean and neat. Bed quite comfortable. Room is a little outdated in décor but definitely comfortable. Good value for the money. Pool is very, very nice. Breakfast very good. Parking easy and convenient.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Joyce M, I'm glad to see you thought our hotel was a "very good value." It was wonderful that you found the rooms clean and neat, the bed comfortable, the pool very nice and the breakfast to be very good. It's great that you found the parking to be easy and convenient. You did mention that you found the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-7845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Charleston with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston #28 Family Hotel in Charleston #30 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
87

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
17 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer