We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1540 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-7845
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    248
    84
    48
    36
See reviews for
230
272
41
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (707)
  • Mar-May only
    (212)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (187)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (193)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (115)
All months
Sw Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We enjoy BW hotels and this was no exception, a good location, attractive property, professional and friendly staff at what I believe to be a reasonable rate; about $100 per night and a free breakfast for two-that sounds good to me.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Best Western Sweetgrass Inn! We would be delighted to have you back again the next time you are in the area. Have a great weekend! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Best Western Sweetgrass Inn in 2011 and thought it was a great location at a very good price. My most recent stay, April 2015, showed me how much things can change in a short period of time. The room we were given at check-in was unacceptable - it was damp and smelled of bleach to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Er T, It saddens me to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay with us! The pool was closed for renovations while you were here unfortunately, but it is open and has been fully renovated. We hope the next time you are in town that you take advantage of our newly introduced room types that were also created... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very expensive for quality..one of the older Best Westerns, but convenient to Charleston. Indifferent cleaning staff. Check your bill very carefully at check out as we had long distance phone charges added to ours.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Hi Bonnie! We are glad that we could accommodate you during your visit to the Charleston area! We hope next time you are in town that you take advantage of our newly introduced room types added during renovations this year as you will enjoy the vaulted ceilings in the rooms with an excellent view of our newly renovated pool. Thank... More 

Elkhorn, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The 2nd day we were there we came back to our room after a day full of activities to find our door had been left wide open by housekeeping. I reported it to the desk person, who did not pass the information on to anyone. later that night someone tried getting in our room, almost as if housekeeping left it... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Natolie, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us here at Best Western Sweetgrass Inn. We apologize that it was not the best experience for you, and we hope the next time you visit the area you will stay with us again to see we have made great improvements in all departments of the... More 

Conway, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is very nice, conveniently located. Landscaping and grounds, very good. Staff friendly and helpful. I plan on rebooking in next two weeks, again. Wish there had been an elevator, maybe a few extra pillows in the room. A good and comfortable experience.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Hi Paul! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Best Western Sweetgrass Inn! It is always a pleasure accommodating loyal members to the Best Western brand as we strive to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. We hope to see you the next time you visit the area! More 

KIRKWOOD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a very pleasant stay. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The breakfast was good. It was easy to drive to town. There were places to eat close to the hotel. We will stay again when we visit Charleston.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Hi Christel! We are so excited to hear you had a pleasant stay with us! We are always happy to be the hotel of choice when guests come to visit such a beautiful city like Charleston. There are so many activities and restaurants to try so you will have to come back soon to enjoy them all, and we cannot... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I made a reservation for two rooms a week ahead of my visit. Once I arrived their system showed that only one room was reserved. I showed them my reservation and they found another room for me (on the other end of the complex). So far so good. The rooms were ok, nothing special but also not disgusting. The final... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Dear Hans, Thank you for taking the time bring this error to our attention. We want all our guests to be satisfied with their experience, and we certainly did not want to let you walk away upset. We have taken further measures ensure this was an isolated incident so this will not happen again in the future. Please allow us... More 

Seal Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check in was fast but when we got to the room it wasn't ready. Personnel sent us to #249 upstairs without an elevator but a staff man helped with our luggage. The room was in good order but it smelled like a smoking room. Old and musty. Pillows did not smell fresh. Cigarette filters scattered on the property.The outer deck... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon Elaine and Lloyd, Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Sweetgrass Inn. We appreciate all the feedback we receive from guest so that we can constantly improve on service for you and other future guests. We hope next time you are in the Charleston area that you take advantage of our newest room types we... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Back to Charleston 2nd time, didn't want to pay thru nose for nice place in historic district+parking. Found online, very pleased. No parking fees, minutes to downtown, parked at visitor's center, took trolleys/walked. Fridge/Microwave, Good continental free breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon HWIDEI, Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were enjoying all that Charleston has to offer without spending too much out of pocket for your hotel accommodations. We take pride in providing reasonable rates for our guests and still being in a great area where are close to everything. We hope to see you again... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After checking into and out of a nearby motel that was bad we were glad to find this Best Western! The rooms are large and brand new. Very clean. A special thanks goes out to Carol in there breakfast room for making us feel right at home!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jeff! Our team was delighted to have you as our guest, and we are glad that we could accommodate you to make your experience a pleasant one while you were in Charleston. We strive for excellent service, and we definitely glad to have Carol as a part of our team. We hope to see you again in the near... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

313 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Pool (2)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay