We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

King Charles Inn

3.5 of 5 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Hotel website
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
King Charles Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
King Charles Inn
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    421
    101
    40
    25
See reviews for
328
768
47
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1538)
  • Mar-May only
    (303)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (429)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (485)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (321)
All months
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Yes, inn's location was perfect. I stayed for three days and was able to see quite a bit just on foot. The staff was VERY attentive.....though I would have preferred NOT to need so much attention. Shower head was replaced, heat vent did not work in bathroom, the layout of the hotel itself was quite a challenge...I never did find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid response. I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations. I hope this incident does not deter you from visiting us again in the future. More

Columbia, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We tried to change our reservation from one Sunday to another because of terrible weather conditions, we were willing to pay a change fee but they insist on charging us for the full night with no price break even though we intended on giving them the same business and had already paid. They were unwilling to help us and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

I am disappointed to read your review and would ask that you give us the opportunity to make it right. Can you call me at 843-302-0483 so we can discuss this personally? Thank you and I look forward to speaking to you soon. Maureen Sheridan General Manager More

Leawood
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location of this hotel is perfect for walking everywhere in the historic district. They have a very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel restaurant is very good and reasonable. The parking is complimentary. Our room was small, but nice with a large bathroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

I am excited to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the King Charles Inn! I hope you can return again in the future! Thank you! More

valley grove
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

King Charles Inn is in the historic dist of Charleston and easy walking to sites. They do a great breakfast, too. Very clean and friendly. There is a restaurant nx dr which is very quaint and very friendly. Food was typical but good. Market Square is within walking distance abt 2 blocks and you can spend the whole day walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! I am delighted to hear you brag about the clean rooms and friendly staff as our team is very proud of their hotel and it shows! Thanks again! More

Englewood, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel has nice rooms with comfortable beds. It is close to the attractions. It is small and not as fancy as many of the other hotels, but the price was right and it had free parking. The staff was friendly, but the front desk was very crowded at times. There is not a separate concierge desk, so sometimes you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your nice hotel experience with others! We appreciate the kind words! More

Anderson, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been staying in this hotel for years.....always good, just keeps getting better. One of the few places that has free parking. The staff is so accommodating. Bar is very complete and provides afternoon snacks. Front desk always willing to help with updates on new restaurants. I usually stay here 3-4 times a year. Hope I never have to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your loyalty over the years! The best business is certainly Repeat Business! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future! More

Unteraegeri
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The King Charles Inn has a great location in the very center of the historic downtown. It also provides parking spaces. Nice rooms, great breakfast buffet. Friendly staff. A boutique hotel you will like. All the attractions of Charleston are within easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Being located in the heart of the downtown, Historic District it sure makes your vacation easier! I am glad you enjoyed staying with us and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer! Thank you for choosing our hotel! More

Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I were so glad we chose the King Charles Inn to stay in. The room was gorgeous with a beautiful bed and soft linens. The hotel staff are fantastic. They were great to provide information on things to do and where the best places to eat were. They have a lovely courtyard and the location of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review! We believe it is ultimately the staff that creates a great experience for the guests, so I am happy to hear you felt welcomed and enjoyed your visit! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! More

Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff is amazing. DeAnn at the front desk was incredibly and polite. She was able to answer all our questions. The bar is nice, but too bright. The room was amazing with possibly the best shower I ever had. It is located in the middle of everything. It is in the middle of whatever you would like to do.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the five star review! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed DeAnn and the attentive service she provided! We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback with others! More

California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Can't beat the location if you like to walk and. Charleston is a walkable town. Rooms are good although a bit cozy. Staff is very accommodating. There on premiss bar cafe is a value and especially good for a quick breakfast. Free parking! Over all a very good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such a positive review! Our amazing location, beautiful hotel and superb service all three elements which certainly contribute to a comfortable, wonderful stay in Charleston! Thank you again for sharing! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TravelClick and Tingo so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

611 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (169)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (396)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bedded Room (89)
Viewed
Deluxe Junior Suite (96)
Viewed
King Bedded Room (86)
Viewed
Pool (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay