We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Charleston hotels

King Charles Inn

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Save Saved
You added King Charles Inn to your Saves list
King Charles Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
90%
Ranked #9 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
tturaider07 Fort Worth, Texas
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,412)
  • Photos (678)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (198)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    880
    381
    89
    39
    23
See reviews for
305
710
43
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I recently stayed 3 nights during our anniversary trip to Charleston. This place has great reviews and did not disappoint. We were originally booked for two nights but a week prior to arrival I had called to extend an additional night with no issues. Upon the day of arrival we were greeted by everyone including the bellman... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the glowing review! I appreciate you taking the time to share your Charleston experience with others! Have a great day! More

PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and it was clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful. It is centrally located, in fact the free bus around town stops just across the street. Even though it was very hot while we were there, we didn't use the pool it is very small. That was a disappointment after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for any confusion with the Experience Package when booking. Please know that the components of the package themselves are almost $100. It included the Carriage Ride tickets, Ft. Sumter tickets and $25 Restaurant Gift Certificate + the discounted Room Rate. I appreciate your nice compliments about the hotel and hope you enjoyed Charleston. If you have any... More

Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights last week. We loved the location as it is so close to everything you need in the historic area of Charleston. The employees were top notch. The rooms were very clean. The pool was great as it was very hot the 2 days we were there. I would definitely recommend The King Charles Inn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Charleston experience with others! I appreciate your positive feedback and will certainly share your Housekeeping compliments with my staff! Thank you again and have a pleasant day! More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is pretty great, the hotel rooms are clean and the pool is nice. But don't let the pretty picture fool you, even with the nice facade it's still a Best Western hotel. The staff is professional enough,but not overly helpful. The rooms are pretty small and the hallways are very dim and grungy. Our experience wasn't bad. But,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the candid review. I am disappointed to hear we did not exceed your expectations. I am glad however, you found our hotel to be clean and were able to take advantage of our great location in the Historic District. Thank you and have a nice day! More

Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at the King Charles Inn in Charleston several times and each visit has been an excellent experience. Our trip this year involved family with 3 rooms and the staff went out of the way to make sure we were located close to each other. Everything about our visit there was a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your loyalty! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you again next year! More

Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Can't say enough about our stay! We felt welcome from the time we pulled up until we packed up. The staff was so accommodating, the manager is all hands on, everyone goes the extra mile to make you feel at home. The rooms are comfortable with extra touches. The location could not be better. We originally were booked for 1... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review! I realize there are many other hotel options in Charleston, South Carolina so I wanted to personally thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn! I also appreciate you telling others about your visit! Have a super day! More

Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here with 2 young kids and found it was an awesome location. Walking distance to market and shopping. With a stroller in hand we even walked to the waterfront. On site parking was great. Free internet was great. The pool is very small but it is a perk it is here. Lemon water down by the pool. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the honest feedback! I take our guest comments very seriously and though it pains me to hear of your Front Desk and Housekeeping experience, I see this as an opportunity to learn and grow. I will certainly share this with my staff. Thank you again! More

Weston, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed 5 nights and was very happy with these accommodations. The staff gave a big welcome as soon as I entered the lobby area. This is not a large hotel, but it has just about everything you would want, in a central location for Charleston. The room was large, nicely decorated and comfortable. Because I was traveling mostly each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed BREW Pub and Café! Exceeding the guests expectations by offering a wonderful experience is what we strive for on a daily basis! We are very proud of our little gem on Meeting Street! Thank you for choosing our hotel! More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location to shopping and dining. The facility was very clean and great decor. The staff pleasantly helpful from the moment we walked into the door as the door man greeted us and the front desk suggestions about the local attractions and dining. Would recommend this hotel for the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for recognizing our Doormen! They just love greeting and assisting our customers! I will certainly pass on your kudos! Have a great day! More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay here was perfect, and we would love to return. A great location, a few blocks from everything, the marketplace, historic homes, fine restaurants and museums. The staff is superb and accommodating, We arrived in a pouring rain, and were even given a loaner large umbrella! Our room was quiet, extremely clean and comfortable. Next time in Charleston, back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful five star review! We sincerely appreciate your business and hope to see you again! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage King Charles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TravelClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

678 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (159)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Other (44)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (473)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bedded Room (89)
Viewed
Deluxe Junior Suite (96)
Viewed
King Bedded Room (86)
Viewed
Pool (39)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston #8 Family Hotel in Charleston #9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston #23 Business Hotel in Charleston
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Newly renovated rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen TVs, IHomes and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
91

See which rooms travelers prefer