We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

King Charles Inn

3.5 of 5 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
King Charles Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
King Charles Inn
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    412
    98
    40
    24
See reviews for
323
756
44
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1510)
  • Mar-May only
    (303)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (429)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (457)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (321)
All months
RatherNotSay
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I realize I need to tread lightly, because I didn't actually stay here, but because I nearly booked a room here, I feel responsible to help others know what I didn't until I saw this place with my own eyes. Yes, you're close enough walking distance to the historic district, but what you DON'T SEE in the pictures of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stayed in Charleston for the night with our friends. Our hotel room was very clean and modern. The bed was comfortable and we got a good nights sleep. Hotel is located in the heart of Charleston but without the normal Charleston cost!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

In general the hotel was fine, it is centrally located and within walking distance for most things for most people! It had free wi-fi, free parking and a decent breakfast! Although I wasn't overly disappointed with my stay I do agree with some other reviewers that the place is in need of an update. Our room also smelled musty, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is perfectly situated for touring the historic district of Charleston. The staff is friendly with solid opinions about good restaurants and things to do or skip in Charleston. Free parking is a huge bonus. I would have liked a more varied menu at breakfast, but there are plenty of good choices in easy walking distance of the hotel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for recognizing our staff! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Have a great day! More

Chicago
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The difficulty of writing about this Inn is that you don't know where to begin. On Meeting Street the location is convenient to most of major tourist sites. That said the Inn needs some refurbishing. A tired place with a staff to match. EXCEPT: Monica and Taylor. There are better values in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

I am disappointed to hear our staff and hotel seemed tired. I appreciate your honest feedback but hope you give us another opportunity to impress you. Thank you for sharing. More

Southport, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here because someone else made the reservation. Fortunately, it turned out well. The King James sits right in the heart of Charleston so there is easy access to all of the downtown restaurants, the market and the horse/mule-drawn carriage tours. With a little extra walking, you're easily at the waterfront, the battery and Rainbow Row. The Saturday Open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

I am thrilled to hear you not only enjoyed our super location, great service but also our Complimentary parking. It is very rare in Charleston to have on site parking, so this is a great perk we are able to provide! Thank you for choosing our hotel! More

Krabi Town, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My family just stayed there this past weekend, for 1 night. It was a short but sweet stay. We were well taken care of from the time we arrived to when we left. Although our room did face the street, you couldn't hear the noise at all. Very pleasant stay. It was walking distance to the best restaurant in town-Hall's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for recognizing our staff! They just love providing excellent server! We appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful comments with others! More

New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here based on the reviews others have submitted. I wholeheartedly do not agree. It may be listed as a lovely affordable destination in charleston ...I don't think $419 a night is very reasonable for a seedy room.... The room was musty, the halls were dark and borderline creepy... The air conditioner made horrible noise.... It was a big... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

I am sad to hear we did not exceed your expectations. Fall is a very busy time of the year and the hotel rates in downtown Charleston are high everywhere due to the heavy demand. Please accept my apology for the less than pleasant experience. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful experience at the King Charles Inn. You truly can't beat the location. The staff was excellent, and we were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped through the door. Although the property is larger than a typical B&B it had an intimate feel due to the attention to detail found throughout the inn. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

I am excited to hear how we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for sharing your recent experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! More

Brigantine, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After much consideration, we chose to stay at King Charles Inn in Charleston, SC. What a good choice. Location was perfect, within walking distance to many attractions and restaurants. The hotel itself couldn't have been better. The staff was friendly and always willing to stop and help in any way they could. We had a room with 2 queen size... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your most positive review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Charleston and hope to see you again! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to King Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly BEST WESTERN King Charles Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston #9 Family Hotel in Charleston #10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston #20 Business Hotel in Charleston

611 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (169)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (396)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bedded Room (89)
Viewed
Deluxe Junior Suite (96)
Viewed
King Bedded Room (86)
Viewed
Pool (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay