We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Value Place Charleston Central

Hotel website
4835 Rivers Avenue, I-526 & Rivers Ave. (exit 18), Charleston, SC 29406
Special Offer
Free Wi-FI
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Value Place Charleston Central
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at this location and it has been such a pleasure! Karen the General Manager, at the front desk, was very helpful and accommodating. Her and her staff are very friendly and make sure that everything is taken care of and running smoothly! Will be back!

Helpful?
Thank graciebabyy
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

This is a good place to stay if you're in town for business. Great weekly rates. This property is clean,secure and quiet. Close to dining and shopping. 30 minutes from downtown Charleston. Although there is a kitchenette in the suite. The do not provide dishes or pots and pans. Ample parking is provided and the property is centrally located.

Helpful?
Thank loganslyles63
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us and others. We are glad your room met your needs and you found us a good place to stay while on business. Thank you for choosing Value Place and we hope to welcome you back the next time you're in Charleston. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

I really do not believe you can find another motel where you can rent a studio with a kitchen with a full size refrigerator, stovetop, and microwave. There was also plenty of cabinets for food storage or whatever. My bed was comfortable and the noise level was low. You will definitely want to pay extra for the high speed internet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank I
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the chairs provided but were happy with your room overall. Thank you for taking time out of your hectic schedule to share your experience with us. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future. More 

North Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

I stayed at the Rivers Value Place last October and November (2014) for three weeks. It was my first visit to Charleston, and I LOVED IT! The hotel is basic, but very clean and safe. The staff and residents are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is ideal for getting around the different parts of the city. For bus people... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
Sean A, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Charlotte. We are glad to hear Karen took good care of you, that you found the property comfortable and even found a space to daydream. We look forward to your third (and beyond) stay with us. More 

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015 via mobile

I chose this place because of the price and I was not disappointed. When I arrived for checkin the studio I requested was not available so I ended up with a double for the same price. The room was clean and fresh contrary to some of the reviews I read which, admittedly, made me a bit skeptical. I had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamqueen84
Sean A, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

We appreciate hearing that we met and exceeded your expectations. We hope your interview went well and we hope you'll stay with us again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015 via mobile

Karen at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating the place is very clean it is close to the outlet malls and anything else you could want lots of people traveling for work staying here safe environment and after a hard day at work you can drop your tailgate out back fire up the grill and have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
Sean A, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words, Jerry. We'll be sure that Karen knows you were pleased and we - in a larger sense - appreciate that we're in the top ten for a road warrior such as yourself. We hope you'll stay with us again here or at any of our locations nationally. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 via mobile

My fiancé was kicked out due to room key issues. After staying there a week, no complaints...his room key stopped working, front desk kept assuring him that it was fixed and working and after 4 times back up to his room and to the front desk he began expressing a little frustration as would anybody and instead of walking up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kylieshay6
Sean A, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We're sorry to hear there were issues with your stay. We will follow up with the staff on this one. We can't speak, unfortunately, to the specifics but we will make sure that guest rules were followed and we will have the locks checked to ensure they are working, too. More 

Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

I booked and received a confirmation email from this hotel for a one night stay in a room with two beds six days prior to my arrival date. On the day I was to arrive, I received a phone call while I was taking a city trolley tour saying the hotel did not have availability for me that night. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with Value Place

Helpful?
1 Thank John C
Sean A, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Hi, John. We're sorry to hear we didn't fully honor your reservation. We occasionally oversell and do our best to accommodate everyone. We didn't fully accommodate you and that is regrettable. We are, as you point out, first and foremost an extended stay hotel but we strive to offer a great experience to every guest. More 

Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

I just stayed there last week and upon arrival, I was treated very kindly by who I believe was the owner. He told me about some of the food I need to try to the sights I need to see. He was very helpful. It was very convenient to where ever I needed to go. It was clean, and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank JenniAnderson77
Sean A, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Hi, Jenni. We're glad you had a great stay and got some insight to all the great things to do locally. We hope you'll stay with us again here or at any of our other locations. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

This is the place to stay if you are on a budget and want to be in Charleston. The hotel is clean ,if you have a vehicle, parking is free, and there is a bus stop on the corner. The $20 a week high speed internet handled video and up to 3 devices as promised. I had a conference downtown... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dana F
Sean A, Owner at Value Place Charleston Central, responded to this review

Hearing back from happy customers is one of the best things we can receive as a company. Value Place strives to serve our guest and provide them with an all-around positive experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and are pleased we were able to be a part of your travels. We hope to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
0:48
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleston
2.7 mi away
Value Place Leeds
Value Place Leeds
#30 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#1 of 59 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott North Charleston Airport/Coliseum
Courtyard by Marriott North Char...
#22 of 59 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#10 of 59 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge North Charleston
Econo Lodge North Charleston
#20 of 59 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
4.8 mi away
Value Place Charleston Northside
Value Place Charleston Northside
#53 of 59 in North Charleston
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay