We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2455 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29414
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #45 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
MrsYb
Add Photo Write a Review

515 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    164
    152
    100
    57
    42
See reviews for
256
129
20
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (515)
  • Mar-May only
    (157)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (147)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (120)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was nice, clean and updated, nice hot breakfast was great but our room; although very clean, smelled strongly like old fried chicken. Other than that it was a great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HawthornSuites29414, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

MrsYb, Thank you for your wonderful review! Thank you for acknowledging our staff and our clean and updated hotel! I'm sorry your room smelled of old fried chicken, that's terrible! When we get a complaint about the smell of a room, we try to offer our guests another room so we combat the smell. Thank you again for your great... More 

wgc
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel in May 2015. It was relatively close to Charleston itself, but you needed a car to get into Charleston. The hotel had a lot of workers staying there which gave it a different feel, Also the room was noisy with people on the upper floors moving around at all times of the night. We also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HawthornSuites29414, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear joychild, Thank you for your feedback. We are sad to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay. It is our responsibility to make sure everyone is greeted and welcomed and although it was not our intention, we failed to do that for you. As for the noise, it's frustrating to hear people above you. The front desk... More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of 3 stayed here while we visited charleston and folly beach. I was a little worried after some of the reviews but was happy with our stay. This is a great middle of the road hotel. The room was clean and stocked. The staff was friendly and interactive with our daughter. Breakfast was better than I expected and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HawthornSuites29414, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Christinalatham, Thank you for your awesome review! It's our job to provide excellent service to our guests and in your case, it seems we did just that! Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our hardworking staff. We can't wait for your next visit! More 

Dumont, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at this hotel a few times and were satisfied with our stay. However this time was below parr There wasn't any toilet paper in the bathroom upon arrival - no pillow or blankets/sheets for the sleeper sofa - no paper towels in the kitchen area. This was particularly disturbing to us because we visit Charleston often and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
HawthornSuites29414, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

RoxC44, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay this time around. Our staff has been made aware of your issues and proper training was conducted to ensure amenities are properly supplied in the rooms. Because we do not have a stoves in our suites, we do not provide paper towels but... More 

Travelers are raving about these Charleston hotels

florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice and clean hotel. Staff was great and very knowledgeable. Close to the city of charleston and other attractions. Would recommend this to anyone. It's by excellent restaurants and nightlife. Very clean rooms a big and nice would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HawthornSuites29414, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Cheech711, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for complimenting our knowledgeable staff and our big, clean rooms! We can't wait for your next visit to our beautiful city! More 

Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lobby/breakfast area/hotel needs some updating for the price of a nightly stay. The breakfast was OK, but underwhelming for what it cost to stay. Rooms are nice. Staff is good. Toiletries need to increased in quality (felt like what you would get a motel). Not a very scenic neighborhood (my room locked out to a rusty old warehouse).

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
HawthornSuites29414, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Thank you, Dieldrich B for your review. We recently added brand new furniture to our lobby and added more seating. We also received new amenities to include Mineral Fusion shampoos, conditioners, lotions, shaving cream and deodorant. Thank you for mentioning our great staff and nice rooms. We try our utmost to provide excellent accommodations while also striving to provide excellent... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I expected more from a Wyndham hotel. The top safety lock on the door was broken. There was a gooey, sticky stain on the floor, so I made sure my family wore their shoes when walking on the carpet. The pull-out couch had a huge unidentifiable stain on it. The gym was rundown and equipment was broken. We were awoken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HawthornSuites29414, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review

Dear OneHeart95, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The issues you stated have been address and proper measure have been taken to ensure other guests have a better experience while staying at our hotel. I will tell you that our fitness center will be completely renovated this year and we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#34 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn
BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn
#38 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay