We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown

Hotel deals
Hotel website
45 Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29401
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    151
    71
    28
    12
    6
See reviews for
72
93
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (100)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is nice but not worth the money. The location is fair if you get a room overlooking the harbor. If not it really isn't worth it. They have free shuttle service to downtown Charleston that runs once an hour. This can be a bit of a nuisance at times. Last time in Charleston we stayed in town and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was not even close to Hilton standards. Horrible experience from the check in to check out. Parking is bad, pool is not conveniently located. Hotel staff rude. Do yourself a favor and avoid this hotel!

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robin H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the unacceptable level of service that you experienced. We try our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay, and we are very sorry that we did not achieve that. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll... More 

Hollywood, Fl
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First off, it should be acknowledged that this hotel is *not* within easy walking distance of historic Charleston. There are, however, free shuttles each hour that will bus guests to the district and pick them up each quarter after the hour. That said, the property itself is very modern and well-kept. Many rooms offer a view of the marina and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gaffney, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great hotel in a premier location in downtown Charleston. I have stayed here multiple times and don't even consider other options any more. Great restaurant and bar, easy shuttle to multiple downtown locations and easy access to the Marina.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athens, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel itself is fine but the location is not at all convenient. You should know when booking that you cannot walk anywhere. You have a view of the river and docked boats but you are not near any shops or restaurants. The hotel does provide a free shuttle to get to the interesting parts of Charleston. If you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St. Louis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the HGI Charleston Waterfront for 2 nights in May. Overall, it was a great stay and I would stay here again. The hotel is new and it is just outside the heart of downtown Charleston. It was great because it was just a short 5 min. drive to anywhere downtown and we really appreciated the free covered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Church Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time weve visited this property and it never disappoints! Very secure private parking with easy accessibility to the lobby and rooms. They upgraded us to the marina view which was AMAZING. Whats so perfect about this hotel is the ease of access to downtown and the beaches. Remember with Lockwood Drive the U turn is your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robin H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, responded to this review

It brings me a lot of pride and joy to hear that you're an avid fan of our hotel. We appreciate your business, your loyalty and your trust. Don't hesitate to call us if there's anything we can help you with for your next trip. More 

Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great stay. A little confusing as to getting into the place but once you park your car (no fee) you are good to go. Parking is under the hotel so check-in first then grab your bags as everything very accessible from there via the elevators. Great check-in experience with Gabe. Very nice room on 4th floor overlooking the river and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and location. I have passed this review onto Gabe, Jack, Linda and Rachel so that they can see what a great impact they had on your stay. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Charleston. More 

Franklin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel and staff! Always pleased with the quality of the hotel and staff of Hilton Garden. Never been disappointed. Extremely courteous staff. Always go out of their way to make sure that customer is satisfied. Look forward to my next trip to Charleston.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that our staff made your feel at home. This is really one of the things that we try to maintain in our hotel. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Charleston, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was really overpriced, compared to many of the other hotels in the area. They were all sold out for the funeral. The shuttle would not even drop off in a 1 and 1/2 block radius for an extravagant cost of $309.00 per night.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robin H, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such candid feedback of your stay. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. I hope that you will give us another chance next time you are in Charleston. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,056 reviews
King Charles Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Back to top