We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn at Middleton Place

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
4290 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414
Special Price
10% off Sunday-Thursday
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Inn at Middleton Place
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    162
    71
    41
    18
See reviews for
92
482
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (712)
  • Mar-May only
    (238)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (174)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (155)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (145)
All months
Daniel Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I had a wonderful weekend at the Inn (May 15-17 2015). The accommodations were practical, comfortable, quiet and with scenic views all around. Loved the natural surroundings and wildlife. Service was exceptional and the daily breakfast and "happy hour" something we looked forward to each day. We also ate the the Middleton Inn and it was a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are happy you were able to relax and unwind in our natural paradise! Middleton Place Restaurant does a great job of taking care of Inn guests, all guests of course, and the 7 minute walk to and from the restaurant in the twilight is just as wonderful. We hope to welcome you back again... More 

Boynton Beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We first fell in love with the view of the Ashley River, then our "penthouse" room with a wrap around balcony and abundant amenities, and finally, the formal grounds of a former rice plantation. We were pleasantly surprised by a wedding ceremony taking place as we were exploring the gardens--it's that beautiful! Unfortunately, we did not have time enough to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Campbellsville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Inn at Middleton Place was a great choice for our honeymoon. The room was nice and got serviced each day whenever we wanted. We were never disturbed. The staff was friendly and always helpful. They greeted you as soon as you walked in anywhere and asked how they could help you. Definitely order the Chefs special at breakfast in... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Orefield, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The whole ambience of this place resonates with the flavor, airs and distinction of the old south. With the views of one of America's oldest gardens laid out before you, what could be more thrilling than to walk the grounds early of a summer's night with a mint julep and the sounds of animals moving in their pens. You feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Midwest
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were planning to visit the Middleton Place plantation. then picked up a brochure about the Inn and discovered if we stayed there we had full access to the plantation and a hour tour--for free! The admission to the plantation is pricey, so this was a huge selling point on the Inn. We drove to the Inn, expecting a 21st... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review

Wow! I think you just sold all our staff on booking a room at The Inn, and we work here! Thank you so much for your outstanding commentary, we are so happy you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back again! More 

Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Inn at Middleton Place was everything it promised and more with its “distinctive architecture and simple rustic décor” “much unplanned and natural landscape” and their suggestion for ladies to “skip the heels” because “they tend to be uncomfortable on the dirt and sand pathways”. Not only was our attention focused upon the beauty of the natural surroundings but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlottesville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband, myself and 2 dogs had a fantastic time at Inn. Great walks and kayaking. Did not get a chance to eat at restuarant. Happy hour was a bonus, and we went each night. Highly recommended. It was a short drive to Charleston but we were glad to get back to the Inn. We did not get a chance... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Even though we reserved four months ahead of time our first Room was inaccessible.Our second room was very poor. We felt as if we were staying in a dungeon underground. The quality of the room was well below that which should have been provided

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review

Please give Brittany Handsel, our Guest Service Manager, a call to discuss your stay. We are a bit confused as to why you feel your room was inaccessible, and would like to discuss your thoughts on the Courtyard room you were then placed into. Perhaps we can suggest a different room type that works better for you on a return... More 

Goshen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really wanted to love this Inn. Unfortunately, we didn't. Staff was pleasant and room cleanliness was average. The real disappointment was how old the interior of the room was. In it's day, it was probably stunning, today it is showing it's age. The furniture has actually lost most of it's finish and room smelled musty. Two positive notes; breakfast was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review

I’m sorry that you didn't find the Inn to be as charming as the majority of our guests do, and I thank you for sharing your thoughts and opinions with us. The Inn was built in 1985 and showcases an understated elegance and outstanding value of inclusions in rate. We will certainly take a look at this specific room and... More 

Springfield Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was not the place for us! We wanted many amenities offered by most places: plush robes, room service, elevators, bellhops, regular housekeeping, walk-in shower, etc. Do not stay here if you are even slightly handicapped. Lugging suitcases up and down long staircases is not fun!!Beautiful setting, but grounds and accommodations need to be upgraded. It is a 50 minute... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review

I’m sorry we did not meet your expectations guest! We have an extensive website and Q&A available for all potential guests to make sure it is understood what we offer PRIOR to booking. We state quite clearly all the amenities we offer on property, including admission to Middleton Place ($86 value per day, per couple), a Healthy Start Breakfast and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

744 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (401)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (164)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (108)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (264)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Grand Room (51)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (45)
Viewed
Standard Room (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (79)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities