We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

3.5 of 5 425 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GreenLeadersSilver level
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    84
    30
    7
    9
See reviews for
67
135
7
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (310)
  • Mar-May only
    (111)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (72)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is at the far end of the historic district but there are still many restaurants and bars in the area. It is also close to the trolley if you don't want to walk. Overall, the place is clean and the staff is great!!! Love the front desk staff, they are very helpful and great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We have a great building, but the team definitely make the difference. Your kind words will be shared with all. Thanks again. More

Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived, we noticed the horrible location. The website said that we could park for $12 per night two blocks away or valet park for $16. When we were checking in, they had no idea of the $12 per night option. And there was no way that I was going to leave my car in a lot in this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your detailed review following your recent stay. I'm pleased you enjoyed your experience at the hotel. I'm disappointed however, that you were not aware King Street is one block from the hotel and the location of some of Charleston's great places to eat and have fun. We are located in the heart of a huge reinvestment in... More

San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two nights at this delightful hotel on the edge of Charleston's historical district. Was able to walk through the historic district, hit water, and head back all in a day's stroll. The hotel staff were all welcoming and wonderful. There was free coffee in the lobby in the mornings. And the "library" room was a nice space to relax.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit. There is major plans for the surrounding area, hopefully when you next visit you'll see the changes. Thanks again. More

Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A two night visit found me staying at the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic. My room was large, comfortable and very well presented. The staff really make the place - super friendly, warmly welcoming and very helpful. Very much made the stay a delight.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am fortunate to work with a great team of people who truly care about what they are doing. Their one goal is to ensure our guests have a great experience, and I'm glad you took the time to acknowledge that. Sharing your comments goes a long way. Thank you. More

Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are some really great things about this Holiday Inn and some rather bad too. It sells itself as in the Historic District, if it is it's only just in it on the edge and in an area that is being remodelled all around it. The hotel is new and room was great, view out of balcony was over a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay. I am delighted you found your room comfortable and enjoyed the service in the bar. Our Happy Hour prices are in some cases higher than other beverages available, because they cost up to four times as much. You can buy a PBR for one quarter of the price of one... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friend and I just spent 3 terrific nights here and are still raving about all aspects of the hotel. The location is right in the historic district, with easy access to the Visitors Center, free trolleys, etc., and our room, with 2 queen beds, was lovely. It was an outstanding value. But what makes this place special (yes, it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you. Hopefully anyone reading your review will gain a true insight about the hotel, our location, and the great restaurant we have on site. Hands down, I think we offer the best she crab soup in town. Your kind remarks about the team are certainly appreciated. We work in a beautiful building but I think our people make the... More

Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here because the conference hotel nearby was sold out. This was a good choice all around. It was new, clean, and quiet. The bedding was good and we slept well. You are also very close to many of the great dining places on King Street, and the visitor center is only a few blocks away.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review following your recent visit. Parking is always a challenge in Downtown Charleston thus we provide valet parking as our situation is a little unique. We use lifts to maximize space and only charge for those who choose the service. Glad to read we adjusted your bill accordingly. Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome... More

Atlanta
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very pleased with my stay and this hotel. Pleasant staff that knew the area well and a very clean and modern hotel. Rooms were very comfortable and wifi was fast. We had some time where we arrived and we walked to market at meeting street. I'm guessing a mile or so away. If there was a downside it would be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay. I'm glad to read you enjoyed your visit. Regarding our breakfast hours of operation, we will definitely give consideration to your comments. Thanks again. More

Falkirk
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Holiday Inn is located on the north side of the historic downtown, on a block between two of the main streets running north/south, King and Meeting, and it is easily accessed from the Interstate. The area around the hotel is quite run down, although it appears to be being regenerated. If you head south out of the hotel you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. I wish you had tried The Meeting Room our own restaurant which compares well with all the other great choices in Charlestown. We all appreciate your kind words, every team member reviews this site every day. We care, and our valued guest's feedback is the best way we can try and improve our future... More

Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and had an incredible time. Front Desk Team Members, Tammy and Rhonda were super friendly and smiley. The room was modern, new and the bed was fantastic. The pool and exercise room were great. The bar had a casual but modern ambience. The hotel is in an okay area and a block... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review about the hotel but more importantly taking the time to acknowledge Tammy and Rhonda. I am proud to work with people who truly care when they come to work everyday. Hope to see you again. Kind regards. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Address: 425 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

390 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (301)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Pool (44)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (23)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen (63)
Viewed
Standard King (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay