We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sleep Inn Charleston

2.0 of 5 1524 Savannah Highway, US 17 S, Charleston, SC 29407
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sleep Inn Charleston
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    130
    57
    18
    18
See reviews for
119
126
17
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (397)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (97)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (88)
All months
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here for one night in December while in Charleston to partake in the James Island Festival of Lights. Stayed here several years prior for one night and remembered it being a great option, so I didn't hesitate to book again. The hotel is conveniently and perfectly located minutes from downtown, about 10 minutes from James Island and 20... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We picked The Sleep Inn after a 9 hour drive from Louisville. We had stayed at Sleep Inn in Louisville on more than one occasion & have always been pleased with the cleanliness, service & value. The Sleep Inn in Charleston was undergoing renovations(we observed) We were on our honeymoon. The room had a fresh stain that looked like vomit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear deemusicdub, Please allow me to apologize for your recent experience at our hotel. I was shocked to read your review because we truly have not had many noise complaints during the renovation as the contractors have been given strict guidelines as of when they are allowed to work. We deeply apologize that we did not meet or exceed your... More 

Rock Hill, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a very nice, affordable place to stay. Room was clean and comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was great! More variety than just donuts and juice. The locate was good. Close to downtown and shopping. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Also pet friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear stacy r, Thanks for posting this review. We really enjoy the feedback. All of the staff work very hard to ensure we are providing the best service possible. All of your kind comments let us know we are definitely achieving our goal. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed for 1 night at this hotel but I was very impressed. Everything was newly renovated and clean! There were some minor issues with the shower door but overall great stay and friendly people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Ashley H, We are so pleased that you were impressed by the service you received while visiting with us. Thanks again for your feedback. More 

Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I looked at many reviews and prices but chose this Hotel for its location to being center to many attractions. The Hotel was quiet, the hotel staff very kind and knowledgeable to a veteran! The breakfast was wonderful and the lady working gives a personal touch. Only negative was the smell of smoke, wet carpet in the hallway. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear gtadennis, Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. It was great to see that we were a convenient location with helpful and knowledgeable staff members. I was disappointed to see that you experienced an odor problem in the hallway. We are looking into the company that comes to takes care of our carpets to ensure... More 

Taylors, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My first stay at this hotel due to last minute decision to stay overnight in Charleston, SC. Didn't expect the quality of the room and service to be that good for less than $100. I can honestly say that I have found my home when visiting the SC coast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Haywood S, I'm happy we were able to surprise you with the quality and level of service we provide. We are so glad you found us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Welcome to the Sleep Inn family! More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were visiting family in Charleston and we have never stayed at a Sleep Inn before bit always wanted to try staying there and always heard great things about it. So we decided to give it a try. Well let me tell you, you guys blew my mind. The entire hotel was clean and newly renovated. Our room had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Cameron M, Thanks for joining the Sleep Inn family. I'm very pleased that we were able to WOW you while you stayed with us. Thanks for sharing our excitement about our newly renovated rooms. Please come back and visit soon. More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was a bit skeptical as I've stayed at a hotel in the vicinity in West Ashley, that wasn't quite so nice. Booked this hotel through booking.com and absolutely enjoyed it. My wife and I were quite surprised, the staff was friendly and prompt. Breakfast was a bit weak, but you don't come to Charleston to eat breakfast in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Jason J, Many thanks to you for this lovely review. I'm glad you found the staff helpful and prompt. I am a little disappointed that you felt our breakfast selection to be weak as we try to offer a breakfast variety that is pleasing to our guests. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here before, this time the rooms are completely renovated and so much more classy. I really appreciate how nice & informative Monique was while checking me into my room. I will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Elaine B, Thanks for this awesome review. it seems that you are just as excited as we are about our newly renovated rooms. I'm glad that you were also satisfied with the level of service you received while staying with us. Thanks so much for taking the time to mention Monique by name. It was her pleasure to assist... More 

Germantown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Solo traveler, stayed for one night. Room was comfortable, free breakfast, free parking, front desk service was good, etc. and it's an easy 10 drive to the historic district, all at a great price. What's not to like? I will stay here again next time I'm in Charleston and want to save some $$.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear marylander10, Thanks for choosing to stay with. I'm pleased that we were able to provide you the value, service and accommodations you desired while visiting. We will be more than happy to have you stay with us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sleep Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Charleston

Address: 1524 Savannah Highway, US 17 S, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Charleston 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Sleep Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#38 Family Hotel in Charleston

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay