We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sleep Inn Charleston

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1524 Savannah Highway, US 17 S, Charleston, SC 29407
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Sleep Inn Charleston
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    27
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
27
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Excellent all the way: coffee maker, refrig with freezer & microwave in room and complimentary hot breakfast,. Staff very nice, room very clean. I will consider staying in any Sleep Inn based on this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Claxton, Georgia, Usa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are small & a bit overpriced to be basically in a car lot. The parking area is small, it was hectic trying to find a parking spot in a parking lot shared between two crowded hotels. The pool is also shared. But other then that very cozy beds with up to date appliances.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Hi Holli W! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us while you were visiting the beautiful city of Charleston! We are always looking for past guests to review us and see what would make our guests have a stress free stay. We are definitely looking into more space, but we hope this will not... More 

Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Charleston is a historical town, but it is the people who make it beautiful. Sade' and Brittinai were two fabulous women who checked us in and assisted my family in our needs making our stay in Charleston amazing. We asked for a roll away cot and right away we were served, even when we showed up at 1 am. Though... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear MaryannColborn! Charleston is definitely a wonderful city to live in with tons of history in the city and the beach is only 4 miles down the road! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that it left such a positive experience with you while you were here! Maybe we will see you... More 

Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a room at the last minute for two nights. The person making the reservation was nice except she failed to actually tell us the price per night. I had to call back. Check in - This person was EXTREMELY RUDE! She seemed overworked and needs a lesson in being hospitable to hotel guest. The hotel room very nice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Hi TSR108! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us while you were visiting Charleston! I'm sorry we did not make it an EXCELLENT stay instead of just a GOOD one, but reviews is what keeps us on notice about what areas we can improve in to make it that excellent experience. We hope the... More 

SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Sleep Inn. Price was reasonable, beds excellent, breakfast had many choices and there was a nice patio outside for extra seating. I think the neighborhood could be described as "up and coming" - several interesting restaurants and bars within a mile, packed on a Friday night. Bathrooms are small but for our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Hi Jac2! It's good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Sleep Inn! We hope that this positive experience will have you coming back for another visit in the near future. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Brazil
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything is as pictured on the web. Breakfast was the good. Hot options were provided. The pool is shared with the hotel next to it. No problems though. It was very clean and quiet. Ten minutes from downtown by car. I would definetively recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Hi Denise S! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were visiting the beautiful city of Charleston! Thank you for pointing out to future guests some of the great amenities we have to offer. We hope this means we will see you again soon! More 

Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms looked nice, the beds were comfortable, the staff was pleasant. That said, the bathroom pocket doors would not shut properly, we had to request a proper handle on that door to even partially close the door. Shower door was another issue: it took two of us on opposite sides of the door to close it. Next was breakfast: they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Buzz56B, I'm sorry you did not have a pleasant stay although I am not sure this is for the right Sleep Inn. We have been fully renovated so all our doors in the bathroom and shower are brand new so we have not had any issues thus far. We appreciate you taking the time to review, but I hope... More 

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Sleep Inn Charleston is a short drive to Historic Charleston and shares a parking lot and pool with the Best Western next door. Both are very nice hotels. The Sleep Inn in particular was recently painted. Service was great. The room was spacious. Parking was free. And breakfast was awesome. The hotel sits off a major highway and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Hi JSinDC! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here in Charleston! I'm delighted to hear that we could meet your expectations for hotel needs and excellent customer service. We hope to see you again in the near future! More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First the good.... a proximity card gives access to the room and very comfortable bed, and good size breakfast area/breakfast, and a small ironing board and iron in the room...... now the problem areas..... the hotel is in a crowded/rundown looking area of the city (did not know this when booking from afar). The traffic in front of the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear VAGENE, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here in Charleston. I'm sorry we did not exceed your expectations as we are always striving for improvements. We are in a great location only 4 miles from downtown and within walking distance from many great restaurants! We hope the next time you are in... More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

When I originally tried to check on a reservation that was made back in May. I was told by the choice hotel registration person that we did not have a registration for that date even though I was able to provide a reservation number. I also asked if this hotel provided the stay, cruise, and park. I was told by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Hi Smitty869! I'm glad we could accommodate you for your upcoming cruise! How exciting!! Brittinai is definitely a great asset to our staff as we strive to provide excellent customer service. We cannot wait for you to stay with us here in Charleston! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

281 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (259)
Viewed
ADA Accessible Queen Room (50)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (22)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (51)
Viewed
Standard King Room (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn
BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn
#38 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
2.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay