We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Charleston hotels

Sleep Inn Charleston

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1524 Savannah Highway, US 17 S, Charleston, SC 29407
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn Charleston to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Charleston
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
78%
Ranked #32 of 54 hotels in Charleston
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Alleycat2626 Charlotte, North Carolina
  • Overview
  • Reviews (361)
  • Photos (22)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (2)
  • Room tips (50)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    114
    51
    17
    17
See reviews for
113
112
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

So I arrived here on a Monday night for a short business trip, upon arrival the clerk was extremely rude for no reason! Maybe she was having a bad day but you shouldn't be in customer service if you can't provide good customer service. Checked in and went to my room, thought the room was small but clean so that's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Alleycat2626, I cannot apologize enough for what you had to endure. This behavior is totally unacceptable and will be addressed. Please call the hotel directly and ask to speak to a member of management so we can discuss what I can do for you for the inconvenience. I will not tolerate guests being treated in this manner and want... More

Albany, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I arrived late on Aug. 18th. The door was locked. No one would answer the bell or respond to my knocks on the door. My company had booked my room ,but forgot to give me directions thus my late arrival. Because of the poor service I was forced to sleep in my truck. I am recommending to my company that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Marilyn S, I was appalled to read this review and see that you were unable to check in. We have always offered 24 hour service to all of our guests. It is totally unacceptable that you had to sleep in your truck. I am begging that you will give us a chance to make this up to you. I... More

McBee, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here several times. The rooms are okay but somewhat noisy at times. Continental Breakfast is good. Staff is friendly and helpful. The beds sleep good and the location is not bad. If you come in after around 9pm expect to park way in the back. Pool is shared with The Best Western next door and is located... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear krs12345, Thanks for the feedback and your loyalty. I am sorry that you found the room to be somewhat noisy as we normally do not receive noise complaints. We do have a system in place to ensure our guests do not have this experience. The front desk staff is trained to locate the nature of the noise and advise... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay for the price. We were right outside of Charleston, only about ten minutes to downtown. There ended up being flash flood warnings at that time we were there and were thankful we were outside of downtown where it floods.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Thanks so much for this lovely review. I'm glad that we were conveniently located to the downtown area for you. Sorry that you visited when the weather wasn't the best but you made a great choice by staying with us to avoid the low lying downtown area. Thanks for staying and please visit us again. More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Sleep Inn is very close to downtown Charleston with easy access in and out of the city. Very well maintained and the front desk staff, especially Robin, were terrific. We had a minor problem when we first arived, but it was efficiently addressed and the rest of our stay was problem free. The breakfast was very good and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Michael L, Many thanks to you for posting such a lovely review. I really do appreciate the feedback. It was wonderful to see that you were pleased with the service you received from Robin as well as my breakfast attendant. It was great to also see that we were conveniently located to the downtown area for you and that... More

Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Location is great because it's about 4 miles from downtown! The cost of the room for only having a queen bed was not worth $179 a night. Bed is just "ok" & pillows are small. Muggy & musty smell in bathroom. This hotel needs an update, fresh new paint & new carpet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear WildBud, Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. I do apologize that you felt the room was outdated and did not believe we provided you a great value overall. We are constantly searching for ways to provide an awesome experience and the feedback that you provided will help us to accomplish this goal. I did... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We , The wife and I stayed 4 days and 3 nights . Great Cozy environment . Will Stay again. Great Breakfast , and convenience to local Restaurants and Centrally located . Clean sheets and Helpful Staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Steven J C, Thanks for the review. We really appreciate the feedback. It was great to see that you felt your stay with us was "cozy" and that you found the staff to be helpful and thoroughly enjoyed breakfast. More

Beaverdam, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed two days while visiting our Son,Daughter inlaw and Grandaughter, the room was clean, bathroom soooo small, the carpet was dirty in the hallway, breakfast was ok. you could hear people outside in the hallway unfortunely we had a family who let their two small children run up and down the hallway until 10:00 pm. The pool was nice,

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Karen H, Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I am disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. I have brought the areas of concern to the attention of the Director of Property Operations to ensure that future guests will not share this experience. More

Zwolle, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From check in to check out this place was great! Miriam and Sonja were so friendly and helpful. It is centrally located to all the attractions we wanted to visit in Charleston. Very clean and comfortable. The exterior and interior are very well maintained, and the breakfast was very good. I felt that it was reasonably priced for the area.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Anna R, Thank you for this amazing review. Mariam and Sonja were so excited to read about your satisfaction with our service. It was lovely to see that you felt the property to be well maintained and very clean. It was great to see that you will recommend us to others. Thanks so much and it was a pleasure... More

Jupiter, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You get what you pay for. The place was very small; we were tripping over our luggage and laundry. Recommend that you spend more time out than in...which is easy in Charleston - a very nice town. Typical cont'l bkfst if you like to eat in the lobby. A little far from downtown but that's part of the tradeoff for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear trade4s, Thank you for posting this review. I do apologize that you did not find our room to be spacious. Our rooms are right in line size wise with the majority of Sleep Inn properties worldwide. The king rooms are very spacious and would have probably suited you better. I am glad that you did enjoy the convenience of... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sleep Inn Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sleep Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Charleston

Address: 1524 Savannah Highway, US 17 S, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Charleston 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sleep Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Sleep Inn

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Charleston with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotel Style
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston #21 Business Hotel in Charleston #32 Romantic Hotel in Charleston #35 Family Hotel in Charleston
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
74

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Sleep Inn Charleston and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
A TripAdvisor Member
27 days ago
A TripAdvisor Member
27 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sleep Inn Charleston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer