We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Charleston hotels

Sleep Inn Charleston

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1524 Savannah Highway, US 17 S, Charleston, SC 29407
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn Charleston to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Charleston
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
78%
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Sophia D New York City, New York
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    118
    52
    17
    17
See reviews for
113
117
15
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (366)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here while we were on our Honeymoon. We had a fabulous time. Our honeymoon almost never happened. While waiting to catch our flight from NYC the airline cancelled our flight due to the weather. Thank god we were able to get another flight. We did not finally get to the hotel until close to midnight.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a nice couple days at this hotel. It was clean and was only ten minutes from downtown Charleston. It was quiet at night which is good for a night's rest before touring around in the morning. We recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Nancy M, Thanks for posting this review. It was great to see that you would recommend our hotel. I'm glad that we were conveniently located to the historic district for your traveling needs. I'm also quite pleased you found the hotel to be clean as well as quiet which was just what you needed for a good night's rest. More

Surf City, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff was wonderful and the rooms really clean the only complaint is the beds were not that comfortable. The lady that handles the breakfast crowd did a wonderful job and she needs to be commended. Very clean and well stocked. Ladies at front desk always very helpful and polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear SurfCityLocal2014, Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. We really appreciate your feedback. I was disappointed to see that you were not happy with our beds as they are the main reason we tend to have some many return guests. Thank you for the lovely compliment about the breakfast attendant and the front desk staff.... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So I arrived here on a Monday night for a short business trip, upon arrival the clerk was extremely rude for no reason! Maybe she was having a bad day but you shouldn't be in customer service if you can't provide good customer service. Checked in and went to my room, thought the room was small but clean so that's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Alleycat2626, I cannot apologize enough for what you had to endure. This behavior is totally unacceptable and will be addressed. Please call the hotel directly and ask to speak to a member of management so we can discuss what I can do for you for the inconvenience. I will not tolerate guests being treated in this manner and want... More

Albany, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I arrived late on Aug. 18th. The door was locked. No one would answer the bell or respond to my knocks on the door. My company had booked my room ,but forgot to give me directions thus my late arrival. Because of the poor service I was forced to sleep in my truck. I am recommending to my company that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Marilyn S, I was appalled to read this review and see that you were unable to check in. We have always offered 24 hour service to all of our guests. It is totally unacceptable that you had to sleep in your truck. I am begging that you will give us a chance to make this up to you. I... More

McBee, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have stayed here several times. The rooms are okay but somewhat noisy at times. Continental Breakfast is good. Staff is friendly and helpful. The beds sleep good and the location is not bad. If you come in after around 9pm expect to park way in the back. Pool is shared with The Best Western next door and is located... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear krs12345, Thanks for the feedback and your loyalty. I am sorry that you found the room to be somewhat noisy as we normally do not receive noise complaints. We do have a system in place to ensure our guests do not have this experience. The front desk staff is trained to locate the nature of the noise and advise... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay for the price. We were right outside of Charleston, only about ten minutes to downtown. There ended up being flash flood warnings at that time we were there and were thankful we were outside of downtown where it floods.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Thanks so much for this lovely review. I'm glad that we were conveniently located to the downtown area for you. Sorry that you visited when the weather wasn't the best but you made a great choice by staying with us to avoid the low lying downtown area. Thanks for staying and please visit us again. More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This Sleep Inn is very close to downtown Charleston with easy access in and out of the city. Very well maintained and the front desk staff, especially Robin, were terrific. We had a minor problem when we first arived, but it was efficiently addressed and the rest of our stay was problem free. The breakfast was very good and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Michael L, Many thanks to you for posting such a lovely review. I really do appreciate the feedback. It was wonderful to see that you were pleased with the service you received from Robin as well as my breakfast attendant. It was great to also see that we were conveniently located to the downtown area for you and that... More

Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Location is great because it's about 4 miles from downtown! The cost of the room for only having a queen bed was not worth $179 a night. Bed is just "ok" & pillows are small. Muggy & musty smell in bathroom. This hotel needs an update, fresh new paint & new carpet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear WildBud, Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. I do apologize that you felt the room was outdated and did not believe we provided you a great value overall. We are constantly searching for ways to provide an awesome experience and the feedback that you provided will help us to accomplish this goal. I did... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We , The wife and I stayed 4 days and 3 nights . Great Cozy environment . Will Stay again. Great Breakfast , and convenience to local Restaurants and Centrally located . Clean sheets and Helpful Staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Steven J C, Thanks for the review. We really appreciate the feedback. It was great to see that you felt your stay with us was "cozy" and that you found the staff to be helpful and thoroughly enjoyed breakfast. More

Do you own or manage Sleep Inn Charleston?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sleep Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Charleston

Address: 1524 Savannah Highway, US 17 S, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Charleston 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sleep Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Sleep Inn

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Sleep Inn Charleston

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
No photo provided
Pivots Beach Club
Dance Club/ Discos