We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 54 Charleston hotels

Sleep Inn Charleston

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1524 Savannah Highway, US 17 S, Charleston, SC 29407
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Sleep Inn Charleston
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn Charleston to your Saves list
78%
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
BenjyCapps Raleigh, North Carolina
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    120
    52
    18
    18
See reviews for
115
118
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (372)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was down in Charleston just for one night and chose to stay here. Rooms were clean and nice as well as the whole property. The front desk staff were super friendly and made the stay that much better. Good little breakfast in the mornings before you go out for the day. The hotel was very convenient to downtown and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

During my trip to South Carolina I had some car problems, so I arrived quite late and had to extend our stay in Charleston for another night. Well I didn't expect to get for that the same price for which I booked, also I could see the hotel was far from full when I arrived - however I didn't expect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Checked in on the 17th of Oct. Went to the room, immediately noticed an odor in the room. Called to the front desk, let the phone ring for over 15 mins. with no answer, approx. 11:20 pm. She finally answered the phone at 11:36 pm! We were given a new room, but at 11:45 at night the last thing I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Raymond, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was spacious and clean, even with a roomy bathroom! The complimentary breakfast spread was very nice, too. We appreciated the option to bring our dog, too. Right down the street from a Krispy Creme (one of my weaknesses), though with the the complimentary breakfast you won't need it. Approximately 20 minutes from downtown Charleston.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Kristen C, Thanks so kindly for this awesome review. We love pets so we are so glad you brought yours to our inn. It was great to see you found the room clean and the bathroom spacious. Thanks again for staying with us. More

Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to stay. Friendly helpful staff, great clean room and breakfast as well. Our wifi was a bit slow, but kept going. Room had a fridge and microwave, convenient if one is traveling or in the mood for a snack. Would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear AAleR, Thanks so much for posting this review. I'm so happy you named this review "great place to stay." It made me feel great to see this is how you felt about the hotels. Thanks also for commenting about the friendly helpful staff, the clean rooms and the breakfast. We hope to see you soon. More

New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here while we were on our Honeymoon. We had a fabulous time. Our honeymoon almost never happened. While waiting to catch our flight from NYC the airline cancelled our flight due to the weather. Thank god we were able to get another flight. We did not finally get to the hotel until close to midnight.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Sophia D, Thanks so much for the lovely review. It was a great pleasure to see that you guys chose to share your honeymoon celebration with us. I am glad that as weary travelers you were greeted by someone whom you thought was fabulous. I am also happy that not only were you greeted well and the check in... More

Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

We had a nice couple days at this hotel. It was clean and was only ten minutes from downtown Charleston. It was quiet at night which is good for a night's rest before touring around in the morning. We recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Nancy M, Thanks for posting this review. It was great to see that you would recommend our hotel. I'm glad that we were conveniently located to the historic district for your traveling needs. I'm also quite pleased you found the hotel to be clean as well as quiet which was just what you needed for a good night's rest. More

Surf City, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Staff was wonderful and the rooms really clean the only complaint is the beds were not that comfortable. The lady that handles the breakfast crowd did a wonderful job and she needs to be commended. Very clean and well stocked. Ladies at front desk always very helpful and polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear SurfCityLocal2014, Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. We really appreciate your feedback. I was disappointed to see that you were not happy with our beds as they are the main reason we tend to have some many return guests. Thank you for the lovely compliment about the breakfast attendant and the front desk staff.... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

So I arrived here on a Monday night for a short business trip, upon arrival the clerk was extremely rude for no reason! Maybe she was having a bad day but you shouldn't be in customer service if you can't provide good customer service. Checked in and went to my room, thought the room was small but clean so that's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Alleycat2626, I cannot apologize enough for what you had to endure. This behavior is totally unacceptable and will be addressed. Please call the hotel directly and ask to speak to a member of management so we can discuss what I can do for you for the inconvenience. I will not tolerate guests being treated in this manner and want... More

Albany, Georgia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I arrived late on Aug. 18th. The door was locked. No one would answer the bell or respond to my knocks on the door. My company had booked my room ,but forgot to give me directions thus my late arrival. Because of the poor service I was forced to sleep in my truck. I am recommending to my company that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bill R, Manager at Sleep Inn Charleston, responded to this review

Dear Marilyn S, I was appalled to read this review and see that you were unable to check in. We have always offered 24 hour service to all of our guests. It is totally unacceptable that you had to sleep in your truck. I am begging that you will give us a chance to make this up to you. I... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sleep Inn Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Charleston

Address: 1524 Savannah Highway, US 17 S, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Charleston 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Charleston Hotel Charleston
Charleston Sleep Inn

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay