We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

2.5 of 5 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Special Offer
AAA members get 10% off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    358
    95
    34
    8
See reviews for
268
394
37
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (976)
  • Mar-May only
    (237)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (290)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (225)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (224)
All months
Medford, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel's location was simply perfect-right across from the Visitor's Center and the free trolley. We were surprised and delighted that we were not charged for parking since we had a Handicapped Tag. What made this visit perfect (albeit the Palmetto bug crawling up the wall was easily 3" long) was the exceptional and oh so helpful staff. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your business and taking the time to let everyone else know how your stay went. The team here is centered around customer service and we are delighted you got a chance to see that as well. Kevin Eichman General Manager More 

Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

So I came to Charleston for a job interview but decided to come in a day early to enjoy the city with my boyfriend who drove in from NC. I am a loyal Hampton inn person so of course this is where I chose to stay. It was perfectly fine, not the best, not the worst. Room was a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent business and your loyalty to Hampton Inn. We certainly do appreciate both and hope that you got the job! We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future and if you got the job, welcome you as our newest neighbor. Kevin Eichman General Manager More 

Barboursville, West Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a perfect place to stay for a couple days. Wish we had more time than just 2 nights. You have to pay for parking but the garage is right at the door. The staff was very friendly but not so helpful. I thought I had left and item and had to call back 4 different times in two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review despite your troubles getting someone to call you back. I am truly sorry for that and hope that you will call me so I can help rectify the situation. Please ask for me and if you get my voicemail, know that I will call you back the moment I get it. Kevin... More 

Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

With several of the historic hotels in Charleston undergoing renovations, we decided to stay at the Hampton Inn and would return in a flash! In addition to being clean and with excellent staff, the hotel is opposite the Visitors Center which provides excellent guidance to newcomers and operates free shuttle buses around town. Literally we walked out the hotel door,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

THANK YOU! Thanks for your business and wonderful comments about our team and our hotel. We look forward to the opportunity to be of service to you again very soon. Kevin Eichman General Manager More 

Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a great property and a perfect location. We had room 146, which is on a corner and a huge, beautiful room. Lots of leftover neat details from whatever the original building was, like the hardwoods in the lobby or the wood trim around the windows. The location is great, right across the street from the Charleston Visitor Center,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your business and wonderful review. We are delighted that you had a great time and look forward to having you as a return guest soon. Kevin Eichman General Manager More 

Myrtle Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed over night as we just wanted to check out Charleston. Overall very nice, quiet and well worth it. Room was nice for the price. My only quip would be to make sure you have cash on hand for the soda/snack machine as it would not take debit cards and my credit card would not work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing us for your short trip to Charleston. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that your card did not work in the vending machines. I will contact that vendor immediately so they can investigate all of the machines at the hotel. We look forward to being of service... More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend, another couple we were traveling with also stayed here. Natalia was working the front desk the first night. She was very helpful with dinner suggestions. After dinner, the 4 of us sat in the lobby catching up and chatted we Natalia some more. She was able to extend a few extras... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review despite the issue with your heat. I am glad that Brandon and Natalia where able to exceed your expectations with service and we hope you will give us another opportunity in the futrue to be of service to you. Kevin Eichman General Manager More 

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We actually had a huge suite, while the layout was nice, there were several issues. our heater quit working (and it was cold!) and took quite some time to fix - couple of hours. I do commend the maintenance guy, he did stick it out until it was resolved. The door lock broke twice and since our room was at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

We couldn't be more sorry for your experiences while you were a guest here. I am making an assumption as to the room you stayed in, but I feel confident we would be talking about the same room as we only have one "Huge Suite" here at the hotel. I will definitely look into the issues you experienced but want... More 

Calabash, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has seen better days judging from the room I stayed in with my wife last month. I must say that the service at the desk was most helpful and excellent but the room was just so so with an awfully uncomfortable bed. Seems like we had to do a balancing act just to stay on top of it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for your experiences here. We strive to provide the best possible service and accomodations in the area and it is apparent we missed that mark. Please reach out to me at the hotel so I can help figure out where the problems may have arisen and to see if I can help make this up... More 

Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Parking was not the best but the staff more than made up for every quirk the place had. They were wonderful. My 16 month old was ecstatic about the stuffed animal that the front desk agent gave her. The little gesture went a long way. While we were checking out early in the morning, a different front desk agent went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and your business. The team here trul loves what they do and I am so glad you got a chance to experience that! We look forward to having you as a guest again soon. Kevin Eichman General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (79)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
King Study Room (25)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Standard 2 Queen Beds Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay