We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Belmond Charleston Place

Certificate of Excellence
4.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Special Offer
20% Discount on Suites
Belmond Charleston Place
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
Richard M Sawyer
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,288
    360
    179
    80
    46
See reviews for
344
792
49
441
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1953)
  • Mar-May only
    (473)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (523)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (519)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (438)
All months
Sawyer
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This is a wonderful property with an amazing staff, committed to making your stay perfect. Don't be afraid of the price because it's well worth it. Anyone who says money can't buy happiness hasn't stayed here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southern Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent 3 very comfortable nights at this stylish property. Without exception the staff exceeded expectations. The Palmetto Grill, Charleston Grill and Thoroughbred Grill were all excellent for hotel outlets. The room was splendid and the beds were a pleasure. Unfortunately our room door did not lock several times. On one occasion this led to an unexpected 1:00 am visit... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear JazzguySO, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. While we are glad you enjoyed our restaurants, staff and comfortable rooms, we are sorry you had an issue during your visit. I can assure you that this issue has since been fixed, but we again apologize that you had to deal with it while staying with... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Up all night -paper thin walls. I can hear every conversation from the rooms on both sides of me! This would not really be an issue if my kids and sister where in adjoining/adjacent rooms as we were promised. Instead, we are separated by loud, drunken idiots throwing things around the room and slapping each other. I can hear everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear mt w, Thank you for your feedback as we go over all of these reviews to better our guests experience. While we are glad you found the front desk to be understanding, we are sorry you had noise issues during your stay. Again we appreciate your comments. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager More 

New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We found the Belmond to be beautiful in every way. The rooms are gorgeous, the staff warm, friendly and highly professional and the location cannot be beat. We will definitely be returning to stay at the Belmond again. Thank you to everyone at the Belmond for offering us their sophisticated brand of southern hospitality!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear R L, Thank you for your kind review of Belmond Charleston Place. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and found our staff to be friendly and professional, as we all do our best to ensure excellent customer service for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Charleston again soon! Sincerely, Paul... More 

Houston
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The best thing about the Charleston Place is its location, adjacent to both King Street shopping and the market and a short walk to the major sightseeing attractions in Chaleston. The downside is the price--I am paying (with taxes etc) $600 a night (in season) for a Premier King Balcony Room. Frankly, it is not worth that price. My room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Golfdr, Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback as we read all of these reviews to better our guests' experience. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our central location, but also appreciate your comments on the rest of you and your friends' stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond... More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great Hotel, beautiful pool, grounds and building. Only downside is they are doing some pretty extensive renovations and the construction noise was noticeable during the day, other than that perfect. Impeccable service from a great staff and beautiful rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Sean S, Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us and appreciate your kind words regarding our service, staff and rooms. We hope that you will choose to come back and see us again soon. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place More 

Atanta, GA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was upgraded to one of their newly renovated rooms and it was beautifully appointed and comfortable. The sounds from the hallway were a little too loud but otherwise the room was perfect. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The location was ideal for all Charleston attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear TraveLoggin, Thank you for your kind review of Belmond Charleston Place. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed one of our newly redesigned Premier rooms and that you found our staff to be nice and helpful during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Charleston again soon! Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place More 

Charleston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I left an article of clothing in my room only to notice that it was missing long after my departure. It only took a single phone call to the security department to receive the offer of having the garment shipped to my home. Thank you. Beautiful facility and fantastic service. I checked in on a Saturday. Even though the front... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad that security was able to find your left item and send it to you directly. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place More 

Hickory, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is pure elegance! The rooms and Club Level have been newly decorated -- very sheek, yet very classically Southern. The color palattes are soothing and inviting. If you can swing for the Club Level, the food and service are excellent....good variety, newspapers, W-Fi, nice cocktails, and a quiet place to retreat. The indoor pool - which opens up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear gerrie220, Thank you for your very kind review on your recent stay. We are glad you got to enjoy our recently redesigned Club Level as well as the Club Lounge amenities, it really is a treat! It sounds like overall you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience and we... More 

Sharon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I attended a three day/three night business meeting at this hotel. Everything was absolutely perfect. Our room was newly renovated with a marble bathroom, a wonderful king size bed and plenty of space to work. The staff--front desk, concierge and bellmen were friendly and helpful. Our meals were delicious and the wait staff was superb. We hope... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Jody1975, Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing the best service possible, so we truly appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. Thank you for staying with us on business and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Sincerely, Paul Stracey General... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Club level(45)
  • Very nice(27)
  • Great location(16)
  • Room service(13)
  • Palmetto Cafe(5)
  • Flat screen(4)
  • King street(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

330 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (315)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (88)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (88)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question