We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 43 Charleston B&Bs / inns

The Society House

3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   292 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% off Luxury Suites
Save Saved
You added The Society House to your Saves list
The Society House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
75%
Ranked #23 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Amanda J Coral Springs, Florida
  • Overview
  • Reviews (76)
  • Photos (42)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (24)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    26
    6
    10
    3
See reviews for
24
16
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Society House two bedroom two bath suite was such a hidden gem. I booked it through Orbitz without any research so I got extremely lucky with this one. I really did feel at home with their kitchen stocked with supplies and all the ameneities your kitchen at home has. It had beautiful wood floors, a flat screen tv, cozy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Climb the steps to a lovely 2 bedroon apartment in the center of historic Charleston SC. There is plenty of room to relax between historical tours and shopping. The beds are comfy and the showers are great. You can walk to a wide variety of restaurants or ride the free trolly all over town. The kitchen and bathrooms were clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! I’m happy that the location and accommodations were right in line with what your expectations were for visiting Charleston. While the stairs can be cumbersome, that nice fully furnished 2 bedroom apartment hopefully made up for the discomfort! Please come back again and stay with us.... More

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The location is absolutely the Best! We had 2 units and they were both clean although they both could use a refreshing coat of paint. Yes the stairs are very steep and I would have hesitated on staying here if we had any senior citizens with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

We appreciate you staying with us while visiting Charleston! I’m pleased to read that the accommodations met exactly what your group was needing. Please make sure that you check us out next time visiting Charleston. I think you’ll see that we’ve got some really comparative rates for the area. Thank you for your patronage! More

dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed in apartment 203. Great directions to get there, able to park on street upon arrival which made it easy to unload car. Accommodations were fantastic, close to everything. Very comfortable beds. Will return for sure. Management was very helpful in changing reservation I messed up on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

I am so happy to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Thank you for all of your kind words! We hope that we exceeded your expectations! Please come back and see us during your next trip to Charleston, we'd love to have you! More

Parkland, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Recently stayed at Society House unit #204, the rooms were clean, AC cool, Kitchen well stocked with plates, pots pans Utensils, had large refrigerator , 5 burning electric stove, microwave, toaster, and coffee maker. This unit had 2 full bedrooms and 2 full baths that accomadated our family of 4, the units were on the side of society street, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

I am happy to hear that the accommodations were comfortable for you and your family. All units have their own unique qualities, but all units are comparable to each other in amenities. The location can’t be beat! It allows you to be just steps from everything Charleston has to offer. We hope you and your family will choose us again... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Good location nice layout but if you plan on using the fold out couch in 201 be warned it is paper thin and not made up even if you request it to be made. Tbe stairs are a problem and many of the other guests have complained about them. Still good location for a tech conference

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

I appreciate you staying with us while in town visiting for a conference. I am saddened to read that displeasure you had while staying with us. Most all of our units provide sofa beds however, I don’t recall ever seeing a request to have the sofa bed already been pulled out and made prior to your arrival. I’m certain that... More

North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The Society House is a great downtown residence while visiting Charleston. It is unfair to label this a hotel because you have essentially have a 1-2 bedroom apartment situated in the heart of Charleston. We stayed in room 202, a 1 bedroom 1.5 bath with a restful queen bed and comfortable sofa bed. The bathroom with shower was clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

What a complete joy to read! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your day to review your recent stay with us. Your depiction on the property and its offerings is spot on. It’s not your “average” hotel, but I think the unique layouts of the units and premium location make up for not having an onsite staff.... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The location is tops bar none. It's not a hotel I knew going in it wasn't. The place was great, big and spacious ideal for people staying several days or a week.It has a full kitchen and fridge. I called ahead to make sure I had the code for the lock boxes out front. Parking is nearby. Also the gripes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

Thank you for your gracious words about your recent stay with us. You are correct – we’re not your average hotel, with our spacious accommodations and excellent location, I think it more than surpasses what a typical hotel offers. Thank you again for your kind words about your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again the next time... More

New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in room 203, on Society street. Roomy, clean, comfortable. One flight of stairs, easily manageable. The only downside is the original access to the unit. You must get a code ahead of time to open the lock box to access the units key. This was not sent to us, and took about an hour to finally retrieve. Neal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

We appreciate you choosing Society House as you lodging destination while visiting Charleston! I’m pleased to read that accommodations were a good fit for your trip. I apologize for the trouble you had accessing your unit, I’m pleased to read that our off-site after hours team was able to assist. Please come back and stay with us again in the... More

Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great experience overall. Lots of room for family of four. Our unit was up two flights of steep stairs, but we didn't mind. Living room, great kitchen, half bath, and laundry on that floor. Up another flight of stairs for two bedrooms each with own modern bathroom with big walk-in showers. One room had twin beds perfect for our teenage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

Wow – thank you so much for your candid review of your stay with us at the Society House! I’m pleased to read that the twin bed accommodations were a perfect fit for your teenage boys. Please know that as we head into our slower winter season we’ve got some maintenance projects in place that I think you will be... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Society House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Society House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Society House

Address: 292 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Society House 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Society House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Society House Hotel Charleston

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Charleston’s Historic District overlooking King Street’s world-renowned shops and boutiques, The Society House offers a new kind of luxury lodging experience. The space and privacy of a downtown apartment combined with the convenience and quality of a luxury hotel makes The Society House the perfect choice for both quick getaways and extended vacations. Within walking distance of legendary restaurants, the famed City Market, and countless touchstones to Charleston’s unique history. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
9

See which rooms travelers prefer