We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Society House

3.5 of 5 292 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Society House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Society House
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    8
    13
    4
See reviews for
29
19
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This apartment rental is ideally located in the heart of the historic district and you can walk everywhere.Other than location its not got a lot going for it. Up stair that were very narrow to unload luggage. Parking is over a block away and expensive as it is not included in the price and you are not able to leave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rock Island, Tennessee, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really thought I was getting the best of the best--Nichole was GREAT !! However --we did not get the picture of what we saw on the web sight. The bath rooms had roaches and I thought 3 beds meant 3 beds --not 2 beds and a fold out couch. How ever the location was GREAT !!!!! For the price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Cloud, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this unit 4 months in advance. Within days of booking our unit the entire place was sold out. It is highly recommended that you plan way in advance. This was, by far, the most affordable option in the city. It was worth every penny as well. It was located in the perfect location- smack dab in the middle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Verwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

this building was run down ,dirty and unpleasant. Our room was dirty ,most lights did not work,the chairs were stained, sofa torn, curtains frayed and ripped, floor dusty and dirty,walls marked and stained, public staircase dirty,walls marked, noisey at night,windows were filthy, bathroom walls splashed with something from previous occupant, very run down as building was in foreclosure awaiting a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

We appreciate the feedback and welcome your thoughts and concerns. I’m sorry that the property did not meet your expectations. Renovation preparations are already underway at the property and I encourage you to continue to check back with us. I think you’ll find that the changes coming are really going to make this a remarkable property. More 

Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

What a disappointment! Have stayed here on at least 2 occasions a couple of years ago and loved it. The location is wonderful and such a unique property on the penisula. There are several lightbulbs out, the master toilet wouldn't flush (I fixed that myself), there were dirty dishes in the dishwasher AND in the cabinet, marks all over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

I’m sorry that the property did not meet your expectations. As I emailed, we’re heading into an exciting time at the property! We’ve got new owners and some much needed renovation preparations are already underway! We anticipate our new product being better than ever. I encourage you to check back with us for updates and timelines, we’d love to have... More 

Union, Kentucky, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

My friends and I rented a condo unit called the Society House for the weekend. It is located directly on the main shopping strip in downtown Charleston. The location is convenient but that is the only good thing that I can say about the place. The walls were beat up, there was a thick layer of dust on all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and value your impression of the property. I’m pleased to write today that the property is under new ownership with exciting changes and updates coming to all the rooms. While I understand that the product didn’t meet your expectations I think you’ll agree that the location and convenience of the hotel just can’t be beat! I... More 

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

The location is great, everything else about this place is awful. We booked two nights in apartment 204 to. We live just across the bridge from Charleston and were looking for a downtown place for out of town guests. If you have heavy luggage or have trouble walking stairs, the place is not for you - nothing on the Society... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

I’m sorry to read that the property did not meet your expectations. Regarding the cleanliness of your unit, these types of comments are not normal for us. Typically we really take our time to deep clean the floors and I’m sorry that for some reason we did not follow through with our expectations for our cleaning staff. I’m very sorry... More 

Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

The Society House offers travelers an incredible value and a strategic location should you want to walk the streets of Charleston visiting restaurants, bars, stores and historic sites. Previous to our most recent trip, we had visited Charleston 5 times. Each time we stayed in a traditional hotel on the outskirts of the historic district and/or outside the actual peninsula.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Charleston! I’m pleased to read that the property met your expectations. As you noted, the properties location can’t be beat and the rooms are appointed for everything you would need for a one night stay to a 10 day stay. Make sure that you think of us next time... More 

Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Just returned home from wonderful 2 night stay in condo #304. Everything about the condo was nice, beds were comfortable, bathrooms wonderful, AC worked great, and gorgeous kitchen. Location is right in the middle of shopping and many, may places to walk to. Stairs were not bad. My parents are in their late 60s and handled the 40 or so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for picking The Society House to stay while visiting Charleston! While those stairs can be a bit daunting, I’m pleased to read that your parents were able to handle them with without any problems. I’m especially excited to read that the property met your expectations. Please come back and visit us again in the near future... More 

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

A group of 9 of us travelled to Charleston for the weekend and had a great stay at the Society House. We had both suites on the far end of the 3rd floor which essentially gave us a private wing, which was perfect. We felt like we had the place to ourselves and we happily wandered between the suites. Large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing The Society House for your recent trip to Charleston! Our spacious 2 bedroom apartments are a perfect match for larger groups that would prefer to all stay in the same suite. Our fully furnished kitchen featuring stainless appliances and granite countertops makes things much easier for dining and cooking while you stay. I’m happy... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Society House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Society House

Address: 292 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Society House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Society House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Society House Hotel Charleston

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay