We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Society House

3.5 of 5 292 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel website
Special Offer
30% off Luxury Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Society House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Society House
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    6
    13
    4
See reviews for
26
19
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Verwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this building was run down ,dirty and unpleasant. Our room was dirty ,most lights did not work,the chairs were stained, sofa torn, curtains frayed and ripped, floor dusty and dirty,walls marked and stained, public staircase dirty,walls marked, noisey at night,windows were filthy, bathroom walls splashed with something from previous occupant, very run down as building was in foreclosure awaiting a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

We appreciate the feedback and welcome your thoughts and concerns. I’m sorry that the property did not meet your expectations. Renovation preparations are already underway at the property and I encourage you to continue to check back with us. I think you’ll find that the changes coming are really going to make this a remarkable property. More

Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a disappointment! Have stayed here on at least 2 occasions a couple of years ago and loved it. The location is wonderful and such a unique property on the penisula. There are several lightbulbs out, the master toilet wouldn't flush (I fixed that myself), there were dirty dishes in the dishwasher AND in the cabinet, marks all over the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

I’m sorry that the property did not meet your expectations. As I emailed, we’re heading into an exciting time at the property! We’ve got new owners and some much needed renovation preparations are already underway! We anticipate our new product being better than ever. I encourage you to check back with us for updates and timelines, we’d love to have... More

Union, Kentucky, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friends and I rented a condo unit called the Society House for the weekend. It is located directly on the main shopping strip in downtown Charleston. The location is convenient but that is the only good thing that I can say about the place. The walls were beat up, there was a thick layer of dust on all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and value your impression of the property. I’m pleased to write today that the property is under new ownership with exciting changes and updates coming to all the rooms. While I understand that the product didn’t meet your expectations I think you’ll agree that the location and convenience of the hotel just can’t be beat! I... More

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

The location is great, everything else about this place is awful. We booked two nights in apartment 204 to. We live just across the bridge from Charleston and were looking for a downtown place for out of town guests. If you have heavy luggage or have trouble walking stairs, the place is not for you - nothing on the Society... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

I’m sorry to read that the property did not meet your expectations. Regarding the cleanliness of your unit, these types of comments are not normal for us. Typically we really take our time to deep clean the floors and I’m sorry that for some reason we did not follow through with our expectations for our cleaning staff. I’m very sorry... More

Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

The Society House offers travelers an incredible value and a strategic location should you want to walk the streets of Charleston visiting restaurants, bars, stores and historic sites. Previous to our most recent trip, we had visited Charleston 5 times. Each time we stayed in a traditional hotel on the outskirts of the historic district and/or outside the actual peninsula.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Charleston! I’m pleased to read that the property met your expectations. As you noted, the properties location can’t be beat and the rooms are appointed for everything you would need for a one night stay to a 10 day stay. Make sure that you think of us next time... More

Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Just returned home from wonderful 2 night stay in condo #304. Everything about the condo was nice, beds were comfortable, bathrooms wonderful, AC worked great, and gorgeous kitchen. Location is right in the middle of shopping and many, may places to walk to. Stairs were not bad. My parents are in their late 60s and handled the 40 or so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for picking The Society House to stay while visiting Charleston! While those stairs can be a bit daunting, I’m pleased to read that your parents were able to handle them with without any problems. I’m especially excited to read that the property met your expectations. Please come back and visit us again in the near future... More

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

A group of 9 of us travelled to Charleston for the weekend and had a great stay at the Society House. We had both suites on the far end of the 3rd floor which essentially gave us a private wing, which was perfect. We felt like we had the place to ourselves and we happily wandered between the suites. Large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing The Society House for your recent trip to Charleston! Our spacious 2 bedroom apartments are a perfect match for larger groups that would prefer to all stay in the same suite. Our fully furnished kitchen featuring stainless appliances and granite countertops makes things much easier for dining and cooking while you stay. I’m happy... More

Coral Springs, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Society House two bedroom two bath suite was such a hidden gem. I booked it through Orbitz without any research so I got extremely lucky with this one. I really did feel at home with their kitchen stocked with supplies and all the ameneities your kitchen at home has. It had beautiful wood floors, a flat screen tv, cozy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

What a delight to read! I’m pleased that we not only met your expectations but exceeded them. Our unique layout makes it suitable and comfortable for families to all stay in the same unit. No more buying more than one hotel room to accommodate everyone! Please reach out to us next time you’re in town to visit, we would happily... More

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Climb the steps to a lovely 2 bedroon apartment in the center of historic Charleston SC. There is plenty of room to relax between historical tours and shopping. The beds are comfy and the showers are great. You can walk to a wide variety of restaurants or ride the free trolly all over town. The kitchen and bathrooms were clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! I’m happy that the location and accommodations were right in line with what your expectations were for visiting Charleston. While the stairs can be cumbersome, that nice fully furnished 2 bedroom apartment hopefully made up for the discomfort! Please come back again and stay with us.... More

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The location is absolutely the Best! We had 2 units and they were both clean although they both could use a refreshing coat of paint. Yes the stairs are very steep and I would have hesitated on staying here if we had any senior citizens with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

We appreciate you staying with us while visiting Charleston! I’m pleased to read that the accommodations met exactly what your group was needing. Please make sure that you check us out next time visiting Charleston. I think you’ll see that we’ve got some really comparative rates for the area. Thank you for your patronage! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Society House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Society House

Address: 292 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Society House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your The Society House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Society House Hotel Charleston

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay