We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Society House

3.5 of 5 292 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Special Offer
30% off Luxury Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Society House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Society House
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    6
    11
    3
See reviews for
25
18
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is great, everything else about this place is awful. We booked two nights in apartment 204 to. We live just across the bridge from Charleston and were looking for a downtown place for out of town guests. If you have heavy luggage or have trouble walking stairs, the place is not for you - nothing on the Society... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

I’m sorry to read that the property did not meet your expectations. Regarding the cleanliness of your unit, these types of comments are not normal for us. Typically we really take our time to deep clean the floors and I’m sorry that for some reason we did not follow through with our expectations for our cleaning staff. I’m very sorry... More

Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Society House offers travelers an incredible value and a strategic location should you want to walk the streets of Charleston visiting restaurants, bars, stores and historic sites. Previous to our most recent trip, we had visited Charleston 5 times. Each time we stayed in a traditional hotel on the outskirts of the historic district and/or outside the actual peninsula.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Charleston! I’m pleased to read that the property met your expectations. As you noted, the properties location can’t be beat and the rooms are appointed for everything you would need for a one night stay to a 10 day stay. Make sure that you think of us next time... More

Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just returned home from wonderful 2 night stay in condo #304. Everything about the condo was nice, beds were comfortable, bathrooms wonderful, AC worked great, and gorgeous kitchen. Location is right in the middle of shopping and many, may places to walk to. Stairs were not bad. My parents are in their late 60s and handled the 40 or so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for picking The Society House to stay while visiting Charleston! While those stairs can be a bit daunting, I’m pleased to read that your parents were able to handle them with without any problems. I’m especially excited to read that the property met your expectations. Please come back and visit us again in the near future... More

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

A group of 9 of us travelled to Charleston for the weekend and had a great stay at the Society House. We had both suites on the far end of the 3rd floor which essentially gave us a private wing, which was perfect. We felt like we had the place to ourselves and we happily wandered between the suites. Large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing The Society House for your recent trip to Charleston! Our spacious 2 bedroom apartments are a perfect match for larger groups that would prefer to all stay in the same suite. Our fully furnished kitchen featuring stainless appliances and granite countertops makes things much easier for dining and cooking while you stay. I’m happy... More

Coral Springs, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Society House two bedroom two bath suite was such a hidden gem. I booked it through Orbitz without any research so I got extremely lucky with this one. I really did feel at home with their kitchen stocked with supplies and all the ameneities your kitchen at home has. It had beautiful wood floors, a flat screen tv, cozy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

What a delight to read! I’m pleased that we not only met your expectations but exceeded them. Our unique layout makes it suitable and comfortable for families to all stay in the same unit. No more buying more than one hotel room to accommodate everyone! Please reach out to us next time you’re in town to visit, we would happily... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Climb the steps to a lovely 2 bedroon apartment in the center of historic Charleston SC. There is plenty of room to relax between historical tours and shopping. The beds are comfy and the showers are great. You can walk to a wide variety of restaurants or ride the free trolly all over town. The kitchen and bathrooms were clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! I’m happy that the location and accommodations were right in line with what your expectations were for visiting Charleston. While the stairs can be cumbersome, that nice fully furnished 2 bedroom apartment hopefully made up for the discomfort! Please come back again and stay with us.... More

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The location is absolutely the Best! We had 2 units and they were both clean although they both could use a refreshing coat of paint. Yes the stairs are very steep and I would have hesitated on staying here if we had any senior citizens with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

We appreciate you staying with us while visiting Charleston! I’m pleased to read that the accommodations met exactly what your group was needing. Please make sure that you check us out next time visiting Charleston. I think you’ll see that we’ve got some really comparative rates for the area. Thank you for your patronage! More

dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed in apartment 203. Great directions to get there, able to park on street upon arrival which made it easy to unload car. Accommodations were fantastic, close to everything. Very comfortable beds. Will return for sure. Management was very helpful in changing reservation I messed up on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

I am so happy to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Thank you for all of your kind words! We hope that we exceeded your expectations! Please come back and see us during your next trip to Charleston, we'd love to have you! More

Parkland, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Recently stayed at Society House unit #204, the rooms were clean, AC cool, Kitchen well stocked with plates, pots pans Utensils, had large refrigerator , 5 burning electric stove, microwave, toaster, and coffee maker. This unit had 2 full bedrooms and 2 full baths that accomadated our family of 4, the units were on the side of society street, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

I am happy to hear that the accommodations were comfortable for you and your family. All units have their own unique qualities, but all units are comparable to each other in amenities. The location can’t be beat! It allows you to be just steps from everything Charleston has to offer. We hope you and your family will choose us again... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Good location nice layout but if you plan on using the fold out couch in 201 be warned it is paper thin and not made up even if you request it to be made. Tbe stairs are a problem and many of the other guests have complained about them. Still good location for a tech conference

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMofEHI, Manager at The Society House, responded to this review

I appreciate you staying with us while in town visiting for a conference. I am saddened to read that displeasure you had while staying with us. Most all of our units provide sofa beds however, I don’t recall ever seeing a request to have the sofa bed already been pulled out and made prior to your arrival. I’m certain that... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Society House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Society House

Address: 292 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Society House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Society House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Society House Hotel Charleston

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay